Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Kia really changed the design of the Sorento in the 2011 model year. Instead of a truck-like body-on-frame more capable of offroad adventures, the newest Sorento is a unibody construction and is much more crossover than sport utility. The changes brought a whole slew of problems, including a frustrating problem where the door that won’t open. Is it too late to go back?

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,526 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Kia Sorento engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Kia Sorento:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Kia Sorento Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #50

Aug 042016

Sorento

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Kia Sorento. The contact stated that an unknown warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the intake manifold failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 30,000. The VIN was not available.

- Coraopolis, PA, USA

problem #49

Jul 012015

Sorento

  • 52,000 miles
2011 Sorento shift really hard, sometimes I have to force it to shift by lowering speed, sometimes it does not want to shift at all and then my engine light comes on, then shifts really hard and wants to stop on me as I am driving. Sometimes at a light it does die, but then start back up. One time it would not go even with pushing the gas all the way down.

- Kansas City, KS, USA

problem #48

Jul 182016

Sorento

  • 150,000 miles
Engine was making a cyclical clicking/knocking noise. We took the vehicle to Kia dealership and they said they could not find any issues with the car. About a week later the car broke down while driving at highway speeds. After having it towed to an independent garage, we were informed the engine had a connecting rod failure. This is the exact same problem the Hyundai sonata has with the exact same theta 2.4 liter engine. Hyundai has issues a recall but Kia fails to acknowledge the issue.

- Mooresville, NC, USA

problem #47

Sep 012015

Sorento

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Kia Sorento. While driving various speeds, the check engine light illuminated. The vehicle failed to accelerate when depressing the accelerator pedal. The contact coasted the vehicle over to the side of the road, restarted the vehicle, and resumed driving. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed, but the failure could not be found. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Lake Worth, FL, USA

problem #46

Apr 112016

Sorento

  • 58,500 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Kia Sorento. While driving approximately 40 mph, an abnormal vibration emitted from the vehicle. In addition, the RPM's went to zero. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the failure could not be duplicated. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 58,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #45

May 022016

Sorento

  • 68,000 miles
At 68,000 miles the oil pressure sensor (part #94750-37100) failed and caused a sudden and immediate loss of all engine oil. In the half mile it took us to safely pull over the oil pressure light activated and the dip stick read bone dry. I have researched the issue and found it to be a common problem with Kia's, a recall should be issued to replace the part with a better engineered version. Had we not been alert / aware of what was going on the engine could have seized and all power could have been lost while in motion.

- Hudson, OH, USA

problem #44

Feb 102016

Sorento

  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Kia Sorento. The contact stated that the service engine warning light randomly flashed. While the vehicle was in park or in gear, there was an abnormal noise heard near the engine. The contact stated that there was a build up of sludge near the axle and it was uncertain what type of fluid may have been releasing. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V258000 (power train). The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V626000 (power train). The approximate failure mileage was 91,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #43

Jan 312016

Sorento

  • 68,000 miles
On 1-31-16 heard a pinging noise on the highway; then the car stalled at the exit light; started it again and loud bang blow a rod after getting back on the highway to drive it to a shop. Died on the side of the highway and had to have it towed to Kia in auburn wa. Kia stated they will not fix under the warranty because the wrong oil filter was installed and I didn't provide proper maintenance; which I took it in each and every time for oil changes to my auto shop. Same oil filter has been put into my car since 2011. Went back to my auto shop informed them they started the process of sending the oil filter in to be checked for defects, also found on 3 different web sites the filter can be used for my make and model. Now Kia want fix my car; it has been 3 weeks without a vehicle and no word from Kia; not even from their headquarters. Kia will not provide the work order stating they are not allowed to give to third party.

- Pacific, WA, USA

problem #42

Jan 042016

Sorento

  • 101,000 miles
The check engine light came on due to a issue with oil control valves and cvvt continuous variable valve timing. Seems like a known issue of Kia, I would think Kia would do the right thing and fix it under warranty or offer some sort of customer assistance for the $4800 repair peoria Kia quoted for the job. 3 Kia owner..not any more!!

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #41

Oct 012015

Sorento

  • 86,614 miles
The contact a contact owns a 2011 Kia Sorento. While attempting to park, the brake pedal was engaged and the gear was shifted into park. The vehicle abruptly moved forward and crashed into a cement wall. The contact was unable to remove the key from the ignition switch. The contact suffered injuries to the left knee that did not require medical attention. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where the vehicle was repaired, but the details were unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. A police report was not filed. The approximate failure mileage was 86,614. Updated 1/15/16

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #40

Jun 152015

Sorento

  • 32,414 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 06/15/2015, drove my car to the barn, then it will not start. I thought it's battery problem. Battery is only 1 year old. So I charged the battery. Didn't work. So I jumped it, it had a hard time starting. It finally started after 3 attempts. I got a new battery for it. Then it happened again two days later, got it started after a few attempts.took it to Kia service. They said oil ring has slow leak. Dealer changed O ring, and then several days, it had issues starting. The dealer kept my car for two days to listen and fix the knocking noise. Finally on Friday 06/27/15, it won't start at all. It has this grinding, hard start. I called the # 800-333-4542. Since it is still under warranty, they had my car towed for free, and dealer gave me a loaner car. I called Kia at # 678-385-8540 and ask what's going on as the dealer said they are waiting for Kia support team approval to test the engine. After two weeks, Kia called and told dealer to test engine. It has issues with low compression on 2 chambers and finally the decision was to replace the engine. On 7/11/2015, dealer submitted an order to have Kia ship engine. I was told, next week, I should hear from them. Nothing happened. I called the 678 # again, and was told by Ms. Kushell that she's contacting the regional manager to give priorities to my case.that it should be taken care of between 7/20 to 7/25. This morning, 7/17/15, I got a call from the dealer that the eta for engine arrival will be 7/31/2015, as there are no engines anywhere in the U.S. to date (7/17/2015), the car has been at the Kia dealer service for almost a month now. I have pending trips that I kept postponing to accommodate the issues. But this is getting out of hand, as I am getting the round around talks. Ms. Kushell said, they can ship my car to the place I'm going, but what am I supposed to do, walk the 1500miles?

- Port Saint Lucie, FL, USA

problem #39

Jun 152015

Sorento

  • 32,414 miles
On 06/15/2015, drove my car to the barn, then it will not start. I thought it's battery problem. Battery is only 1 year old. So I charged the battery. Didn't work. So I jumped it, it had a hard time starting. It finally started after 3 attempts. I got a new battery for it. Then it happened again two days later, got it started after a few attempts.took it to Kia service. They said oil ring has slow leak. Dealer changed O ring, and then several days, it had issues starting. The dealer kept my car for two days to listen and fix the knocking noise. Finally on Friday 06/27/15, it won't start at all. It has this grinding, hard start. I called the # 800-333-4542. Since it is still under warranty, they had my car towed for free, and dealer gave me a loaner car. I called Kia at # 678-385-8540 and ask what's going on as the dealer said they are waiting for Kia support team approval to test the engine. After two weeks, Kia called and told dealer to test engine. It has issues with low compression on 2 chambers and finally the decision was to replace the engine. On 7/11/2015, dealer submitted an order to have Kia ship engine. I was told, next week, I should hear from them. Nothing happened. I called the 678 # again, and was told by Ms. Kushell that she's contacting the regional manager to give priorities to my case.that it should be taken care of between 7/20 to 7/25. This morning, 7/17/15, I got a call from the dealer that the eta for engine arrival will be 7/31/2015, as there are no engines anywhere in the U.S. to date (7/17/2015), the car has been at the Kia dealer service for almost a month now. I have pending trips that I kept postponing to accommodate the issues. But this is getting out of hand, as I am getting the round around talks. Ms. Kushell said, they can ship my car to the place I'm going, but what am I supposed to do, walk the 1500miles?

- Port Saint Lucie, FL, USA

problem #38

Jun 152015

Sorento

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Kia Sorento. While driving at 20 mph, the engine stalled. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Elmont, NY, USA

problem #37

Aug 312013

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 33,716 miles
When starting vehicle, engine revs up & won't stop until vehicle is turned off. This happens intermittently & has continued to be a problem for the last 3 years. I have reported this problem several times to my Kia dealership where all regular maintenance has been serviced since I purchased this vehicle in 2010. They state they have noted this problem but since it doesn't happen all the time, nothing has been done.

- Atascadero, CA, USA

problem #36

Mar 092015

Sorento

  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Kia Sorento. While driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled. After pulling off the road and restarting the engine, the vehicle operated as normal. The contact indicated that the failure had occurred on multiple occasions and the check engine light would illuminate when the failure occurred. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who was unable the diagnose the cause of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 46,000.

- Sayreville, NJ, USA

problem #35

Mar 022015

Sorento

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Kia Sorento. While traveling approximately 40 mph, there was a loud noise coming from the front of the vehicle. Also, the contact mentioned that smoke emitted from the engine compartment. Upon pulling the vehicle over, it was further noticed that the engine compartment was on fire. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that a rod fractured into the engine affecting the other components caused a fire. Also, the mechanic diagnosed that the pistons may need to be replaced but further extensive diagnosis was required to repair the vehicle. The contact was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 10V388000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 102,000.

- Taft, CA, USA

problem #34

Feb 102015

Sorento

  • 58,000 miles
My check engine light came on twice when my gas was low and when I filled up it went off. That happened for two weeks. The third week it came on again, but my gas tank was full so I took it in for service. Turns out my vcm had to be replaced. They also stated that it was accelerating on it's own at some point. Luckily I was under 60,000 when I took it in, otherwise I was told it would not have been covered.

- Shrub Oak, NY, USA

problem #33

Dec 142014

Sorento 4-cyl

  • 27,502 miles
I was driving on the highway, in the high speed lane going 75mph when my RPM's suddenly went all the way up and then down, past 0. the car made a huge jolt but then kept driving with no tachometer. Approximately 1/2 mile later I had to slow down to get off highway and then merge onto another interstate when my car wouldn't accelerate and totally shut off. I've been having issues w fixing it at Kia. They have replaced the crank shaft sensor 2X as well as the instrument cluster. It continues to violently jerk daily, typically when accelerating around 40 mph and again stalled while in drive last week. The dealership tells me that the car is running as designed but I just have a steady foot and the engine isn't sure what gear it should be I when I'm going 40mph.

- Seekonk, MA, USA

problem #32

Jan 192015

Sorento 4-cyl

  • 69,900 miles
A vehicle abruptly stopped to turn left and I had to swerve to avoid rear-ending it resulting in head on collision with a utility pole.

- Liverpool, NY, USA

problem #31

Dec 312014

Sorento

  • 54,000 miles
My son was driving on interstate I-5 near salem, or when his car suddenly stopped and would not accelerate. The car had a 50,000 mile and $1000 service 3 months prior to this incident. I did on line research and saw several instances of Kia Sorentos stopping suddenly on the highway. Kia offered $400 to compensate our inconvenience but I think the us consumer safety is worth much more. I would appreciate your investigation of this incidence. Thank you, [xxx] the Kia representative is [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Albany, OR, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?