Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
36 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
28 / 4
Average Mileage:
21,980 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Lexus ES 350 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Lexus ES 350:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Lexus ES 350 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #79

Feb 022010

ES 350

  • 16,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) re: Lexus ES350, 2007; 16,800 miles; VIN: [xxx] on February 2nd, 2010, I was driving above referenced car, with only about 16,800 miles driven on it, barely at 20 mph on a side street and our Lexus accelerated on its own, brakes failed and the car skidded and hit the pavement of a sidewalk. I took the car to the Lexus of rockville (301 762 9009) and they said although most repairs are covered under the warranty, a few are not. They initially quoted me my share of the cost to about $250 with which I agreed. Subsequently they called me and told me that my bill will be about $2300 in addition to the costs covered by the warranty. Please verify that these costs are legitimate and please re-determine why will they not release my car for a second opinion? being in doubt, I asked for the car back for taking it to another dealer, but they will not give back to me my own car (they said due to safety reasons) and coerced me into paying a bill of $2199.36 (invoice #882736), which contained almost $1800 in labor cost and the balance in parts. Please look into this incidence and the attached invoice very thoroughly. It was a manufacturing defect that the car accelerated on its own, brakes failed and the car skidded and hit the pavement. It was none of my fault and the car is still under 7 year warranty. Lexus should fully and completely reimburse me for repairs and injuries (to my right wrist). As a civic and humanitarian duty, I also urge you to please consider a recall, so that others will not be injured more seriously.

- North Potomac, MD, USA

problem #78

Jun 032008

ES 350 6-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
2007 Lexus ES350. Suspected unintended acceleration causing fatal crash. The decedent was driving, when apparently his vehicle crossed the center line and crashed head-on into a van. A passenger in the van was also killed. (attorney on behalf of decedent)

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #77

Feb 062010

ES 350

  • 55,000 miles
Gas pedal stuck and couldn't get stopped and wrapped the car around a pole to get it stopped.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #76

Mar 162007

ES 350

  • 6,045 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Lexus ES350. While attempting to pass another vehicle at speeds of 30 mph uphill, the accelerator pedal became stuck in the open throttle position. She was able to maneuver the vehicle off of the road and utilize the emergency brake to bring the vehicle to a stop. The brake pedal was depressed for the duration of the unintended acceleration. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The dealer stated that the floor mat caused the gas pedal to stick. The failure has not recurred. The failure mileage was 6,045 and the current mileage was 35,000.

- Latrobe, PA, USA

problem #75

Jun 032008

ES 350 6-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
Decedent was driving a 2007 Lexus ES350 on co. Rd. 207 in ross county, Ohio. Vehicle crossed center line and collided head-on into prison van, killing driver of Lexus and prisoner in van. Lexus driver known to be a very cautious driver and rough calculation of speed of Lexus by police investigator causes suspicion of unintended acceleration updated 03/30/10 updated 09/28/10 9/19/2011

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #74

Mar 092010

ES 350

  • 38,500 miles
My Lexus ES 350, 2007 model, accelerated twice when I removed my foot from the gas pedal. It would cut off (decelerate) only if I press the brake pedal. The recall was completed on 2/25/2010. Removing foot off the gas pedal does not slow the vehicle infact it accelerated twice. It works in some cases. The speed was 30/40.

- Lansdale, PA, USA

problem #73

Feb 232010

ES 350

  • 11,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) on February 23, 2010 at about 3 pm I was parking my 2007 Lexus ES350 in a parking space at starbucks at belgrade shopping center. When I reached the curb with my foot on the brakes I started to put the car in park and suddenly the car just took off up over the curb. I kept pressing harder and harder on the brakes with my right foot and applied the parking brake with my left foot. The car traveled up over the curb and into the grassy - wooded area beyond the parking lot. The car finally stopped. Lexus was notified and towed the vehicle to Lexus of richmond, va where the recall repairs were made. We have been afraid to drive the vehicle for fear of injury or death due to a future unexpected sudden acceleration happening again. This is the statement of [xxx] who was driving the vehicle when this event occurred.

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #72

Mar 052010

ES 350

  • 29,750 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Lexus ES 350. The contact stated while stopped at a stop light her foot came off the brake pedal and the vehicle accelerated and crashed into another vehicle. The vehicle received damage to the front end. No one was injured during the crash and a police report was not filed. The contact called the manufacturer and the manufacturer stated the crash was due to driver error. The contact stated the vehicle has lunged forward more than once while driving. The failure mileage was 29,750.

- Fairfax Station, VA, USA

problem #71

Jul 132009

ES 350

  • 30,000 miles
I had stopped for gas midpoint in a 10 hour drive. After completing my stop, I accessed interstate 40 E from the entrance ramp at which point there was a sudden independent increase surge in speed by the car and not me. I would liken it to the surge one experiences when the car is on auto control and it is adjusting to go up a steep incline. I remember feeling like the car was possessed-it had a mind of it's own. I did have the clear all weather mats in my car, which was purchased through Lexus. Since I was on the interstate and there wasn't a lot of traffic I didn't feel panicky. I tried tapping on the brake a couple of times and this didn't slow me down. I remember looking at my console trying to see what gear I was in which was indeed drive and then attempting to look at the accelerator. Because I'm short, and my seat is pretty far forward in order for my feet to reach the accelerator I didn't have a clear view of it. As quickly as it started it stopped without any help from me. I pulled over to take a look at the floor mat to see if it had slid and it had not. The all weather mat has been removed and Lexus has shortened the accelerator pedal as well as installed the new override software on my car. I have not had any further incidents of unexplainable acceleration since that one incident.

- Germantown, TN, USA

problem #70

Mar 022010

ES 350

  • 36,000 miles
I drive a Lexus 350 2007 that was just put through the recall repair last week. It still accelerates without me pushing the pedal. Just suddenly revs up. It's not the pedal like Toyota says. The pedal does not move.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #69

Feb 062007

ES 350

  • 6,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While attempting to enter freeway, after passing through tollbooth, vehicle locked at 40 mph, unable to accelerate or brake.

- Palatine, IL, USA

problem #68

Nov 242006

ES 350

  • 1,000 miles
We bought our Lexus 350 on Sep 29, 2006 within 3-5 months we had issues in acceleration pedal. We took to the workshop and stated our complaint on increase is speed the 1st 10 min of driving. The replaced the transmission. But sometimes we still have that issue. But when we take to the dealer they say they couldn't reproduce that. We are now worries about the sticky gas pedal issue. Once we even hit a cyclist is the turn when I couldn't control the speed on the turn. We tried to reduce our speed, but it was kind of accelerated to 40, where as it should be in 25. The incident happened in school zone.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #67

Nov 242007

ES 350

  • 1,000 miles
We bought our Lexus 350 on Sep 29, 2006 within 3-5 months we had issues in acceleration pedal. We took to the workshop and stated our complaint on increase is speed the 1st 10 min of driving. The replaced the transmission. But sometimes we still have that issue. But when we take to the dealer they say they couldn't reproduce that. We are now worries about the sticky gas pedal issue. Once we even hit a cyclist is the turn when I couldn't control the speed on the turn. We tried to reduce our speed, but it was kind of accelerated to 40, where as it should be in 25. The incident happened in school zone.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #66

Feb 142010

ES 350

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Lexus ES350. The contact stated that he was upset because he never received a letter about the recall. The contact received a recall notice two years ago and the repair was made; however, he was never notified what component they repaired. They only advised him to bring the vehicle into the dealer. The contact did not have any prior problems with his vehicle and was notified on yesterday to bring his vehicle into an authorized dealer again to be repaired. The contact asked again what needed to be fixed and the dealer replied that his vehicle was a part of the recall. After multiple questions, the dealer then said he was going to fix the accelerator. The contact feels that was very unprofessional and scheduled an appointment. He feels that he should have received something from the manufacturer in writing. The contact did not have an incident so there were no failures. The failure and current mileages were 15,794.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #65

Mar 012009

ES 350

  • 20,000 miles
While sitting at a red light with my foot on the brake, the engine speed increased from idle without touching the accelerator pedal. I slammed my foot down on the accelerator a few times thinking it was lodged. It depressed and returned to position without sticking. After approx. Five or more seconds the engine speed returned to idle on its own. I shut off the vehicle and restarted it. The problem hasn't occurred since - knock on wood. The speed increase was not minor as one would expect from the air conditioning turning on - the engine speed was several thousand RPM's but did not red-line.

- Chester Springs, PA, USA

problem #64

Jan 062010

ES 350

  • 43,000 miles
I bought a 2007 Lexus E350 last October. It was purchased from lujack Lexus in davenport as a certified vehicle warrantied to 100,000 miles. The car had only 35000 miles on it at time of purchase. Some time in November, my husband and I were sitting at a red light. We were the first car at the light and when it changed to green we took off at a normal speed. However, my car decided it wanted to go faster then the speed limit. I pumped the accelerator to get it to slow down and that worked the first time. I just brushed that off as a fluke not knowing Toyota vehicles were having this problem. The second time it happened, was during the first week of January when my granddaughter was off school. I was going approx 10 mph down an alley where I park my car at work. The alley was icy. I was braking to turn a corner to park my car and the car just took off on me. I had my foot on the brake but the tires were going 80 mph and I was heading for a brick wall. My daughter thought quick enough to throw my car in neutral and I pushed the off button on my car. My car raced down the alley for about 100 yds before I was able to stop it. I called the Lexus dealer and they said to take my floor mats out. I said I did not have them in because I received the recall. Besides I didn't even have my foot on the accelerator when this occurred. They said they would call me back. They called within an hour (on a Friday) and asked me to bring it in first thing Monday. They tried to tell me it was the accelerator getting stuck on the mats. I said it was a computer problem not a mechanical. They said it couldn't be but that they could put a computer chip in that would shut the gas off enough if it started to accelerate like that again. I insisted that they do something or I wanted my money back on the car. He tried to talk me out of it but I told him well when I end up dead on the road from this issue, is that when you are going to take care of this problem? it seems to be fixed now.

- Taylor Ridge, IL, USA

problem #63

Nov 072008

ES 350

  • 12,000 miles
While backing my 2007 Lexus ES 350 up my driveway, the vehicle unexpectedly accelerated and crashed into the corner of my garage. Although driving carefully and slowly, the vehicle jolted back as if the fuel injection system had kicked in. No one was injured, and I did not file an insurance claim for resulting damage to the car or the garage.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #62

Dec 092009

ES 350

  • 28,183 miles
The vehicle was involved in an accident caused by sudden acceleration. The driver was stopped for a red light. When the light turned green, the driver release the brake and then the vehicle accelerated on its own and collided with the vehicle ahead. The accident was reported to the Lexus as a product liability case, caused by a sudden or unintended acceleration. The vehicle was inspected at the magnussen Lexus dealerships, fremont, California by Lexus technicians on January 26, 2010. On February 10, 2010 the Lexus claims administrator sent us a letter stating that the vehicle revealed no evidence of any vehicle defects. I reject this assertion by Lexus and hereby requesting that NHTSA investigate this matter.

- San Ramon, CA, USA

problem #61

Oct 282009

ES 350 6-cyl

  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Lexus ES350. As the contact was driving 5 mph into her driveway, the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning causing the contact to crash into the garage door. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where the contact was informed that there were no problems with the vehicle. There were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 14000. Updated 8/4/10 the consumer no longer owns the vehicle. Updated 08/09/10

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #60

Sep 182009

ES 350

  • 8,500 miles
I have a 2007 Lexus ES 350. Last September as I was entering a freeway and speeding up in order to join the cars driving at about 60 mph, my accelerator stuck when I took my foot off and I continued with the engine revved up as I braked with both feet. I continued to brake with one foot and reach down with my other foot and got it under the accelerator and was able to lift it back up. I did not have the heavy duty carpet that is on recall. The dealer checked it out and said they could find nothing wrong. I have the receipt verifying this. It was a terrifying experience!

- Long Beach, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?