Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,733 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Lexus ES 350 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Lexus ES 350:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Lexus ES 350 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #47

May 232016

ES 350

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Lexus ES350. The contact received an interim recall notice over two months ago for NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags). The parts were unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Oakton, VA, USA

problem #46

Sep 132016

ES 350

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Lexus ES350. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags) however, the part for the recall repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced any failures. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #45

Jun 092016

ES 350

  • 75,000 miles
"takata recall" I received NHTSA recall no. 16V-340 on June 9,2016 stating that the front passenger airbag inflators produced by takata can cause injury or death and not to drive with a passanger in the right front seat. Today is Sept 10, 2016. 90 days and not a word from Lexus regarding this recall. What's up?

- Sun City West, AZ, USA

problem #44

Sep 062016

ES 350

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Lexus ES350. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 11/17/16

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #43

Apr 012016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall. We received a notice in the mail about 6 months ago warning the front passenger airbag was recalled and it was not safe to have someone sit in the front passenger seat. We are a family of 5 and need to have someone sit in the front passenger seat to go anywhere. Despite repeated calls to Lexus, no replacement airbag has been provided. The car is effectively useless to us because we cannot go anywhere together. Lexus says they will not replace the airbag until we get yet a 3rd notice in the mail. We cannot even use our car!

- San Diego, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #42

May 232016

ES 350 6-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall; this recall was made May 23, 2016. Today is September 2, 2016. I live on the gulf coast of Texas where the temperature often exceeds 95 degrees and humidity is extremely high. The manufacture "still does not have a remedy for this defect". in the event of an inflator rupture, metal fragments could pass through the airbag cushion material, striking the vehicle occupants, and result in serious injury or death. The manufacturer suggests that passengers should not ride in the front passenger seat of the vehicle!! this is a ridiculous statement, and makes the vehicle unusable for the purpose for which it was purchased. Nhtsb should demand that Lexus provide an immediate remedy to this extremely dangerous situation or they should be required to provide me with an alternative vehicle at their expense until they remedy the defect in my vehicle. To suggest my vehicle should not be used for the purpose of carrying passengers is not acceptable. They have known about these airbag defects for several years, and still do not have remedies. Lexus should be required to provide me with a safe and serviceable vehicle now or refund me the purchase price of my vehicle so I can obtain a safe vehicle for my passengers and myself. Thank you for helping me resolve this very dangerous issue.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #41

May 232016

ES 350

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Lexus ES350. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags). However, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Asheville, NC, USA

problem #40

Jul 052016

ES 350

  • miles
Lexus advises me not to use front passenger seat more than a month ago. They still do not have an estimate of when they can fix it. So I am left with a partially usable car for an extended period of time with no end in sight

- Kendall Park, NJ, USA

problem #39

Aug 292016

ES 350

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Lexus ES350. The contact received a recall notification on May 23, 2016 for NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Temple Hill, MD, USA

problem #38

Aug 122016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall although it is about 4 month since this recall and issue was reported there is no words yet when this issue will be resolved. We are a family of 5 and have to use the front seat, but according to the letter we have received it is very dangerous to sit on the front passenger seat. The air bag light came on a few days ago. Please, advise.

- Clifton, VA, USA

problem #37

Aug 032016

ES 350

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall and ECU. My air bag light came on not registering the passenger seat when someone sits in it. No oe rarely sits in that seat, the time te light came on noone was in it. The car was still. Went to Lexus dealer cost me 450 for them to calibrate it. Still issue states it the ECU being faulty and it cost 2100 to fix, for a sensor thats crazy, this is not a typical wear and tear issue, this should be a recall too. Pay too much for a Lexus to have faulty part especially since this model has had over 5 recalls in the last 10 years since the car was made ridiculous, this should be a Lexus repair not car purchaser.

- Fredricksburg, VA, USA

problem #36

Aug 192016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall - how is it that this is this serious with so many people dying and we do not even have an estimate on when their could be a remedy. This is unacceptable. My 26 year old son drives this car and I worry every day either come up with a solution and an eta or buy the car back or give me a rental until there is a solution.

- Fairfield, CA, USA

problem #35

Jul 272016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Lexus ES350. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 10/06/16

- Albany, GA, USA

problem #34

May 202016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall. I received notice of a recall on my Lexus in may and at that time they recommended that I not carry passengers in the front passenger seat because of the airbag issue. It's now going on September and I still have not been provided repair or dealer instructions for recall repairs?

- Hudson, OH, USA

problem #33

May 232016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall, this has been since May 2016, three months has passed. Im told by Lexus I cant have a passenger in the front seat. For three months my family has not been able to utilize this car. This is unacceptable.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #32

Jul 272016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall - "passenger" airbag malfunction - Lexus sent a letter stating that the passenger airbag if deployed explode and metal fragments can injure riders and cause severe damage or death to the passenger. I drive for lift and reported to them on 7/27/16 that I can no longer ride a passenger in the front seat, therefore they need to reduce my passenger capacity from 4 to 3. lyft deactivated my driving privileges on 8/5/16 stating all drivers must be able to carry 4 or 6 passengers. I was approved a classic driver which carries 4 passengers). I contacted Lexus and was told they would look into getting me a rental. However, when I heard back from them on Thursday 8/12/16 for the 2nd time informing me that they are unable to secure a rental vehicle and that no car rental co. Will rent a vehicle to be used as a taxi and that there isn't anything they can do for me. The representative also informed me that they would not reimburse me loss wages. So far I am out of 7 days pay. Lift provide me the additional income I need for my cost of living as I live alone. The loss of income have already caused me financial hardship. My estimated monthly earnings have been between $800 & $1300+ since I started driving for lyft.

- North Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #31

May 012016

ES 350 6-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall - I am located in zone a and my vehicle is listed in the phase 1 recall which was to begin in May 2016. As of yesterday, August 9, 2016, my local Lexus service center still has not received the corrective materials, nor can they tell me when they will receive them. I frequently have passengers in the front passenger seat of my car, including my adult son. This delay is unacceptable. I want Lexus to provide me with a loaner vehicle, that does not have this takata airbag problem, until my car can be repaired. How do I obtain a loaner vehicle? I look forward to receiving your response. Thank you. Best regards, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Campbell, CA, USA

problem #30

Aug 102016

ES 350

  • 79,000 miles
Takata recall -- Lexus advised in person, and via phone, it is dangerous and not recommended for a passenger to occupy the passenger seat which will activate the air bag and create an unsafe condition. How am I supposed to operate my vehicle for personal and business use, while having 4 people in the car with my family and this is my only means of transportation. This is unacceptable and Lexus should provide alternative transportation to me at no cost since I cannot safely operate my vehicle with my family in it.

- Tallassee, AL, USA

problem #29

Jul 262016

ES 350

  • 100,000 miles
Takata recall notified default airbag installed in my vehicle that can do bodily harm I purchased this vehicle with with hope that I wouldn't have any problems with the brand name of this vehicle. The price and suppose quality of the Lexus ES350 shouldn't have such problems I'am disappointed with the manufacture

- Quitman, GA, USA

problem #28

Jun 272016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Lexus ES350. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- North Chesterfield, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?