Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.3

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
26,600 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Mazda 626 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Mazda 626:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Mazda 626 Owner Comments

problem #8

Oct 312014

626

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have put so much money in this car. Alternator, transmission, brakes, tires and ball joints. Now the catalytic converter needs replaced, wiper motor and quarter panels are all rusted out. I am disabled and this is my only transportation. Should all of this should of gone wrong? it will not pass inspection. I have had this car eight years.

- Franklin, PA, USA

problem #7

Sep 252004

626 4-cyl

  • 72,800 miles
1. turned air conditioner on. No cold air coming out, then shortly noticed the car heat gauge was showing hot, and fumes coming from hood. 2. pulled to the side of road. Turned off engine and waited about 20 minutes before checking the hood. The coolant reservoir had coolant. Opened the coolant tank, and there was no steam or hot fluids from the tank. 3. tried restarting after cooling and the car would not restart. Had car towed to repair store. Had to get another engine since the engine was damaged.

- Norristown, PA, USA

problem #6

Oct 152003

626

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
I purchased a brand new Mazda 626 LX 2001 model on August 19, 2001 at magnussen's Ford/Nissan/Mazda dealership in newark ca. Little did I know, I bought a lemon!!!!! I returned the vehicle numerous times and telling the service dept people that the transmission was slipping and overrunning in gear. At one point, I had a friend of mine drive the vehicle to the dealership and meet with the service dept people. This was the week before christmas 2001. Rudy diephus could not believe that I was getting a song and dance from the magnussen service dept. Rudy built and drove race cars for over thirty years, and knew I had a transmission problem. The service manager bob (who is no longer there) said that the car had to be broken in, not enough miles on the car. Bob also said that all Mazda 626's drive like this (transmission slipping/overrunning in gear). In addition, I was told to keep a journal of every time this happened. That would be a problem, writing and driving at the same time. Again, returned the vehicle back to magnussen's and met with a different svc manager. Here it is April 2002, and I was told that the transmission tech was going to run a special test on the car (line pressure check at idle and stall speeds). Sure enough, I was right! the test indicated that there was a definite problem with the transmission. After driving the vehicle out of the dealerships lot, the car was (and is) running worse than ever. The second transmission is worse than the first. I return the car and the car stays there for another week. I picked up the car on April 26, 2002, (running worse) and drove to vacaville about 100 miles one way from where I was living. I felt something funny under the hood and drove into vacaville and found a Mazda dealership. I explained the problem of the transmission and engine. They stated that there was a problem with the mounts and the car needed new mounts.

- Vacaville, CA, USA

problem #5

Jan 152003

626

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I've had numerous problems with this car since 03/2001. I purchased it new from marlin Mazda. This car has stalled several times while driving. The sunroof and corner roof between the front windshield and driver door leaked water when it would rain. January 2003 my car ran hot, the air conditioning was not blowing.they said they replaced the head on my engine and that some hose was not connected, this is why my air wasn't blowing" my car stalled on me 08/27/03. No warning lights came on. The car wasn't even hot. Towed to marlin Mazda.I paid for new battery. I asked them to chaeck under hood to be sure no other problems, they told me at least $500 to check engine thoroughly" week later stall again. This time towed to ocean Mazda, knocking noise under hood, they said it is the engine and oil pump. They tried to look up factory warranty, they're not repairing it because marlin Mazda voided my warranty(marlin said sludge in engine/ code W8.) that was a lie! I have been getting scheduled maintenance on my car. Ocean Mazda checked engine no sludge but they can't do repair work without warranty. They tried to call district manager because code W8 does not exist!!! also, I have an extended warranty which they seem to have no record of? I have spoken to Mazda american credit to get copies of loan papers that shows purchase of extended warranty. I guess the next step is a law suit. After all these headaches I don't even want this car anymore. I am already paying a high car note for extra coverage and they don't even have the descency to repair my car.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #4

Jan 152003

626

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles
I've had numerous problems with this car since 03/2001. I purchased it new from marlin Mazda. This car has stalled several times while driving. The sunroof and corner roof between the front windshield and driver door leaked water when it would rain. January 2003 my car ran hot, the air conditioning was not blowing.they said they replaced the head on my engine and that some hose was not connected, this is why my air wasn't blowing" my car stalled on me 08/27/03. No warning lights came on. The car wasn't even hot. Towed to marlin Mazda.I paid for new battery. I asked them to chaeck under hood to be sure no other problems, they told me at least $500 to check engine thoroughly" week later stall again. This time towed to ocean Mazda, knocking noise under hood, they said it is the engine and oil pump. They tried to look up factory warranty, they're not repairing it because marlin Mazda voided my warranty(marlin said sludge in engine/ code W8.) that was a lie! I have been getting scheduled maintenance on my car. Ocean Mazda checked engine no sludge but they can't do repair work without warranty. They tried to call district manager because code W8 does not exist!!! also, I have an extended warranty which they seem to have no record of? I have spoken to Mazda american credit to get copies of loan papers that shows purchase of extended warranty. I guess the next step is a law suit. After all these headaches I don't even want this car anymore. I am already paying a high car note for extra coverage and they don't even have the descency to repair my car.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #3

Jan 152003

626

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles
The engine is misfiring causing the check engine light to come on. The first two times I took the car in for this problem they replaced spark plugs and told me I was putting "bad gas" in the car; the third time they replaced a distributor cap, the fourth the ignition wires, the fifth the computer in the car, and now for the sixth attempt they are replacing valve one in the engine. The dealer has had my car for 31 days (21 business days) and as of yesterday, even after replacing the valve in the engine, the problem has still not been corrected. I've had a rental car for the 31 days they've had my car. I purchased the optional insurance because my insurance agent advised me to do so (what the rental company expects in the event of an accident is much higher than what an insurance company would pay...therefore I would be responsible for the difference). Mazda refuses to pay for the insurance on the rental car which, considering the circumstances, I believe is unreasonable. I would like to exercise my lemon law rights, however my car had over 18,000 miles on it at inception of the problem and was 18 months old. My purpose in filing this complaint is to warn other consumers against the Mazda 626 as it has been nothing but trouble for me.

- New Albany, IN, USA

problem #2

Mar 152003

626

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles
I have been having so many problems with my Mazda 626 and it's a 2001. The times that I have taken it in the shop that would tell me that nothing is wrong with my car, but of course I know my car better I do drive it more than they have too. What I discovered just today is off the map funny(like something is not right), was dealing with my odometer reading. So if I can please allow me your help before my give out on me. Thank you Mrs. Jackson

- Plymouth, NC, USA

problem #1

May 132003

626 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
In August 2001, I purchased a Mazda 626. In May 2003, I started to experience major problems with the car. At 23,000 miles, the following had to be replaced: Transmission assembly, thermostat and radiator sub-tank. At 31,000 miles, my car was in the shop for 11 days in order to replace the following: Mass air flow sensor, fuel pump and fuel pressure regulator, valve idle air control, thermostat gasket, and the throttle body gasket. My car is nearing the end of its 3 year/36,000 warranty and I am frightened about how much future repairs will cost, as well as the overall safety of the car.

- Sherman Oaks, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?