Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Keep an eye on your tire's valve stems. There are reports that they can corrode, break and take your tire from inflated to mush in "what the heck just happened" seconds flat. Otherwise, most owners say it's pretty smooth sailing with this car.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
11,997 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Mazda MAZDA5 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Mazda MAZDA5:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Mazda MAZDA5 Owner Comments

problem #12

Feb 142010

MAZDA5 4-cyl

  • 1,755 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The steering column will not lock in place.. Mazda has made 6 repair attempts. Repair dates: 11/04/09, 4/14/10, 4/28/10, 6/10/10, 8/4/10, 10/25/10. The problem persists to date.

- Woodcliff Lake, NJ, USA

problem #11

Feb 032011

MAZDA5 4-cyl

  • 27,000 miles
At about 0630hrs, 02-03-11, while operating a 2009 Mazda, Mazda5 touring. The weather was clear and the roadway, okeechobee blvd., royal palm beach, palm beach county, Florida, was dry, straight and level and of macadam construction. Traffic conditions were light to moderate. The portion of the roadway being driven upon was of four (4) lanes with a center median of concrete curbing and soil/landscaping with grass and shrubs and trees and there are left/right turn lanes in addition to the through roadway. Okeechobee blvd. Runs East and West and the area in which the incident occurred is a residential area. While driving eastbound on okeechobee blvd. In the inside lane of traffic at a speed of about 35 (thirtyfive) mph and approaching the intersection of crestwood blvd., the car suddenly began to drift to the left, without any input from the driver, and began entering into the left turn lane of okeechobee blvd, and all attempts to regain directional control of the car were thwarted by the sudden and apparent total loss of steering control, as the effort to turn or even move the steering wheel caused no change in direction and was beyond the physical strength of the driver, a 54 yoa, white female in good health and strength. As the car continued traveling further left into the intersection and with the application of braking, the right front wheel and right front lower bumper and chassis struck the curbing, traveling about 5 (five) feet before the car came to a halt in the westbound inside left turn lane of okeechobee blvd. At the crestwood blvd. Intersection. The vehicle suffered a shattered oilpan/lower crankcase and other major engine damage as well as damage to the right front suspension components, swingarm and wheel/tire along with the destruction of the front plastic bumper cover and lower plastic pans. The driver suffered minor bumps/bruising and musculo/skeletal pain to the arms, shoulders and neck.

- Royal Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #10

Sep 272010

MAZDA5 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
2009 Mazda 5 power steering failure - power steering fails completely without warning while driving. - has occurred on 5 different occasions. Warning light illuminates - problem will usually go away after a re-start but sometimes returns. VIN [xxx] - Mazda indicates this unit is not part of their recall. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Rancho Santa Margaria, CA, USA

problem #9

Jun 182010

MAZDA5

  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering light comes on during operation, unable to use power steering until the car has been turned off and back on. This has occurred twice while driving the vehicle. Received a recall notice; however the dealership says the parts are in short supply and cannot be fixed until at least December 2010.

- Mars, PA, USA

problem #8

Sep 062010

MAZDA5

  • 14,912 miles
Today September 6, 2010, lit the light of a malfunction in the steering system of a Mazda 5 2009, in heavy slow traffic, fortunately the car could drive to my house. Parked, went out and re-ignite the engine and the light disappeared.

- Guayaquil, Ecuador, 00, USA

problem #7

Mar 182010

MAZDA5

  • miles
After ten minute drive time from home, the power steering failed while driving in a parking deck. Steering failure indicator light on dash was activated. With great difficulty, I exited the deck and parked on the street. After an hour of being parked and several engine restarts, the power steering came back on. We took the 2009 Mazda5 to the dealer for repair and were told that they could find nothing wrong.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #6

Jul 012010

MAZDA5 4-cyl

  • 6,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Mazda5. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph, the power steering failed and the steering wheel became extremely stiff. The contact was able to maneuver the vehicle onto the emergency lane and shut off the engine. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure and current mileages were approximately 6,700. Updated 09/01/10. Updated 09/02/10

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #5

May 122010

MAZDA5

  • 18,800 miles
On May 12, 2010, our 2009 Mazda5 with 18,800 miles on the odometer was being driven on the freeway during rush hour in los angeles at a speed of 40-50 miles an hour when the power steering failed suddenly. As a result the car was difficult to steer and control. Fortunately, we were able to maneuver the vehicle off the freeway and call for help. The vehicle was towed to the Mazda dealer. The dealer diagnosed the problem and replaced the power steering pump and pipe. The repair took two days as parts were not immediately available.

- Agoura Hills, CA, USA

problem #4

May 212010

MAZDA5

  • 30,100 miles
1. was driving my 2009 Mazda5 in New York city in heavy traffic. As I as getting onto the Lincoln tunnel I noticed my power steering had failed and the warning light was on. As I was in heavy traffic in the tunnel I had to drive until I could get to a less congested area. After stopping I turned the car off to call the dealer. When I restarted the car the power steering had returned. 2: occurred just once. 3. I took the car to a dealer the next day, am still waiting for resolution.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #3

May 052009

MAZDA5

  • miles
Driving 20-309 mph on the 495 beltway during rush hour on Wednesday, May 5th around 4 pm when the steering wheel of my new 2009 Mazda 5 begins to lock. The power-steering wheel lock signal turns on and had to slowly get off the beltway. We had to turn off the car and turn it back on. Thankfully we were not injured. We do not understand why the steering wheel locked and wondering if there were other complaints out there.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #2

Dec 202009

MAZDA5

  • 500 miles
While driving 10 to 20 mph power steering fails followed by all electronics flashing and then by car engine dying. Control of car is very difficult and dangerous. Power steering has failed about 20 times engine failure about 10 times. Dealer told me they found hits on the onboard computer, were able to repeat the problem and eventually tracked it down to the power steering. But have failed to find a problem. They now deny all of this. I question if the car is safe.

- Evergreen, CO, USA

problem #1

Apr 122009

MAZDA5

  • 1,200 miles
The steering wheel started to uncontrollable and wobbling suddenly while driving a freeway at 60mph and ended up causing the center divider crash. The vehicle was purchased one month ago as brand new car. The power steering has been difficult to handle and finally caused this major accident. The car is waiting for inspection from insurance company and the dealer refused to take any responsibility.

- San Jose, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?