Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.6

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,633 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Mazda RX-8 lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Mazda RX-8:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Mazda RX-8 Owner Comments

problem #6

Jun 292012

RX-8

  • 40,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Part numbers FE03-51-21yd (rear) and FE03-51-22yc (front). I have complained to the dealer when the car was under warranty that the headlights were not illuminating correctly my driving area at night. I took the car in to the dealer today and I was told that these parts are not covered. There has been a technical service bulletin (tsb) on this car concerning this issue for a long time. There should be a recall on these sensors because this is a severe safety issue. They were faulty to begin with. In addition they have known about it for a long time.

- Girard, OH, USA

problem #5

Jun 292012

RX-8

  • 40,600 miles
Part numbers FE03-51-21yd (rear) and FE03-51-22yc (front). I have complained to the dealer when the car was under warranty that the headlights were not illuminating correctly my driving area at night. I took the car in to the dealer today and I was told that these parts are not covered. There has been a technical service bulletin (tsb) on this car concerning this issue for a long time. There should be a recall on these sensors because this is a severe safety issue. They were faulty to begin with. In addition they have known about it for a long time.

- Girard, OH, USA

problem #4

Feb 102008

RX-8

  • miles
Defective tail light assembly;allows water/rain to enter assembly secondary to defective tail light gasket which degrades with age. 2004 Mazda Rx-8. consumer observed tail light assembly retaining water after a rain event. Consumer researched online and found that Mazda issued a "service recall" to replace the defective gasket in the tail light assemblies. Consumer did not receive recall notice because, according to the dealer, my warranty had expired and the recall was not a safety issue. My question to you, NHTSA, is why, when a service recall indicates that water in the tail light could result a short, or, the tail lights no longer working, is this a service recall and not a "safety recall?" it seems to me that if I were on a cross-country trip and at 2am, encountered a sevre winter thunder storm - rain and sleet - and my tail lights accumulated water, and shorted out, that this is not, according to your Agency, a safety issue, but a service recall, which is not valid unless the vehicle is under warranty. Since the problem is a defective gasket - which degrades over-time, and when it fails, results in the failure of the tail lights to illuminate, is not classified as safety issue by your department; I respectfully request that you provide me with the documentation (authority) that permits an automobile manufacturer to classify the possibile failure of the vehicles tail lights as a "service recall, " and not a safety (issue) recall. I would appreciate if you would forward my (this) inquiry to Mr. Lahood's office because he recently idicated befor a congressional that he takes, and considers every inquiry to his department seriously.

- Bradenton, FL, USA

problem #3

Oct 092009

RX-8

  • 43,598 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The auto leveling headlights in Mazda rx8S and certain other Mazda vehicles routinely malfunctions due to corrosion. This causes the headlights to automatically return to their lowest position in most cases too low for driving conditions causing a major hazard to all drivers both of the Mazda and other vehicles. Mazda recognized this issue with a service bulletin in 2007 however never recalled the vehicles for repair and weatherproofing. Even if the headlights are manually adjusted they will return to the lowest position once the car is started and the malfunctioning auto leveling sensors kick in. The dealership that we purchased our Mazda RX8 from does not see this as a safety issue and therefore will not repair or replace the sensors. After conferring with state law enforcement inspectors, they differ in opinion as to the auto leveling malfunction being a hazard especially if the vehicle is traveling at higher speeds. Mazda should be forced to recall and replace the malfunctioning sensors to prevent accidents due to lacking visibility.

- Bel Air, MD, USA

problem #2

Jul 312009

RX-8

  • 57,000 miles
The part number of the item is Mazda part #FE03-51-21yd and #FE03-51-22yc. This part is installed in the Mazda's vehicle the RX8. The part started to fail at around 57,000 miles within just less than two months after the warranty expired and 7,000 miles after the vehicle's manufacturer warranty expired. This part should be considered a safety component because it presents a dangerous threat to both drivers and passengers occupying the vehicle during failure and Mazda is claiming that it is not. The reason why is that when this parts fails to function properly the headlight beams cannot be regulated properly in order to see safely. Instead what will happen is that the lights will not adjust to the correct height and will not illuminate the road so that the driver cannot see ahead of the vehicle. On my vehicle specifically when the incident occurred and re-occurred I could not see no further then a range of ten to fifteen feet from my vehicle. In the research I've done I've read in the forums that this is extremely common in all the models built within the time period of 2004-2007 built before the date of November 15, 2006 (before they redesigned the part).

- Pembroke, MA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #1

Nov 142007

RX-8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mazda RX8. While driving various speeds, the vehicle will stall without warning. He took the vehicle to a local repair shop and a mechanic stated that fuel flooded the engine and causes the vehicle to stall. The engine was completely replaced. In addition, it takes several attempts to start the vehicle in cold weather conditions. The dealer stated that condensation was present and a vacuum needed to be installed, which would prevent water interference. The rear driver's side exterior lighting needed to be replaced due to the water entry. Finally, the front passenger side wheel bearing failed, which almost caused the tire to separate from the vehicle. The failure mileage was 32,000 and current mileage was 43,000. Updated 020209 the right front wheel bearing was worn. The check engine light illuminated. The front and rear coils were replaced. Updated 02/03/09.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

Not what you are looking for?