Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

6.5

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,972 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Mazda Tribute electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Mazda Tribute:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Mazda Tribute Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #36

Jul 242006

Tribute 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I filed a complaint yesterday. My complaint # was 10163178. This the dealership has finally diagnosed the problem with the car as a bad alternator. We hope that this will fix the problems we have experienced to date. However, the situation was dangerous, with the car shutting off while running. In all fairness to the dealership, the service technicians have been very nice and they did give us a loaner car. We still have a concern about the electrical system of the car in general (with all the things going wrong at one time). However, we trust that we will not be heading to the dealer any time soon.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #35

Jun 282005

Tribute 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles
The driver side door handle failed, I was trapped inside the car on the driver side. I had to lower the power window, reach outside of the car and open the door. I purchased a handle and paid to have the door handle replaced on 6/29/2005. The passenger side door handle failed, leaving the passenger trapped inside the car on the passenger side. Passengers had to lower the power window, reach outside the car and open the door. I purchased a handle and paid to have the door handle replaced on 3/13/2006. Recently, every time I crank my car a large cloud of gray smoke comes from the tailpipe. Today, 6/16/2006, I went to put the key into the ignition and the key would not go in. After several attempts the key went into the ignition but, the key would not turn. I was unable to start the car. With assistance from a local mechanic, after numerous attempts, the key went in, turned and the car started. It was suggested to me, do not make any stops on the way home that would require turning the car off. Once I arrived at home I turned the car off and attempted to start the car again. The key will go in but, after several attempts, the key will not turn to start the car. With the Mazda being my only vehicle I feel this is a safety issue for my son and I. while driving the Mazda the rear glass on the hatch opened. I pulled over to close the glass and it would not close and latch. With the help of a local mechanic he was able to close and engage the latch on the glass door. We avoid opening the rear glass but on accident the glass door was opened and it was the same scenario.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #34

Nov 122005

Tribute 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,500 miles
(1) 2001 Mazda Tribute/dx-V6: Normal city/highway driving within past six months (2) car would stall when approaching stop sign/stop light (rpms too low) (3) replaced ignition coil via Mazda dealers (seattle, wa, pasenda, md, pensacola, fl).

- Odenton, MD, USA

problem #33

Jul 252004

Tribute 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought a 2001 Mazda Tribute (used) in March 2003. About a month later, it began stalling frequently - mostly when I was backing out of a driveway/parking spot. I took it to the local Mazda dealership in July 2003 and they looked it over and could find no explanation, but they did a PCM update on it anyway. It continued stalling intermitently - no pattern to the stalling. I took it back in December 2003 and they again looked it over and could find no reason for it to be stalling. Since December, I've taken it to the dealership in April and twice in May 2004. In may, when Mazda recalled the Tribute for the stalling issue, I took it in for the recall - the stalling became 10 times worse, now stalling at stop lights and at random times driving down the road. We've replaced the idle speed motor, this did not help. I've contacted Mazda directly and explained to them, in exacting detail, the issues I've been having. Their suggestion was to take it to the same dealership that has already tried to fix it 5 times. The warranty is no longer in effect and the dealership charges me when I bring it in, although this problem was presented well before the end of the warranty date. I love the Tribute, but would love it more if I could get the stalling fixed.

- Mooresville, NC, USA

problem #32

May 192004

Tribute 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,464 miles
The vehicle has been back to the dealer 5 times due to the horn blowing on its on Accord. Unable to stop it from blowing. The horn was blowing on its own again today. Today, the vehicle has started on its own Accord 2 times sitting in the driveway without any personal intervention.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #31

May 082004

Tribute

  • 60,000 miles
Upon starting the vehicle, the keys failed to turn in the ignition. The vehicle will be towed to a dealership.

- Meriden, NH, USA

problem #30

Jan 122003

Tribute 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Electrical system is dangerous. Key ignition problem - back twice to dealer to fix this. Stalled during a turn - whole car died, had to use the emergency break to stop and then put into neutral to restart. PCM died totally and had to be replaced - had to be towed from my driveway (thank god or I might be dead) to nearest dealer - I am awaiting response on full correction to problem. I believe the NHTSA would be doing a disservice to american consumers for not pressing the manufacturer to recall, due to the life threatening situations regarding the electrical system of the 2001 Tribute. Does someone have to have a 10 car pile up on a freeway or hwy before they believe the urgency of this problem?

- Woodlyn, PA, USA

problem #29

Jun 142003

Tribute 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles
I have a 2001 Mazda Tribute. I couldn't turn my key to start the car. After calling the dealership, they said it was a common problem with thsi car. They said there would be no recall because it wasn't a safety issue. They also said the Ford model (the escape) also was having this problem. They are aware of the problem, but yet I had to pay to get this fixed. It is a known defect by Ford/Mazda.

- Shirley, NY, USA

problem #28

May 162001

Tribute 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Engine suddenly cuts off, leaving driver with no power steering. Remedied by putting car into neutral while still driving and turning ignition on. However, somewhat scary if it happens while cornering. Occurs about once a month.

- Norcross, GA, USA

problem #27

Dec 242002

Tribute 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30 miles
Owned my Tribute for a year before the problems began. On 3/15/02 I took it in because the low coolant light kept coming on. The dealership couldn't find a problem, but I had them do a 30K mile service and check everything from front to back. Had a rental for two days. On 6/10/02 I took it in because it suddenly started stalling dead at stops and yields. I almost wrecked due to this. Cause: Internal failure. The dealership replaced the control unit, idle air valve, coolant fan relay. I had a rental for three days. On 8/5/02 it had to be towed because the ignition switch completely locked up and wouldn't turn. Dealership put in a new ignition switch and cylinder. My keys had to be reprogrammed. I had a rental for two days. On 11/13/02 I took it in because the check engine light kept coming on and the engine did not idle smoothly. The dealership could not duplicate the problem and I used their rental for three days. On 12/24/02 the engine light came back, the engine idled rough and the entire vehicle was visibly shaking. The dealership told me that one of the six coils was bad and needs to be replaced or one wrong spark could ruin the whole engine. Looks like I have the rental for at least a week. It just went over 50K miles, so my basic warranty is up, however the emisions conrol system (engine) is warranted until 80K miles. It seems a shame that Mazda would put out such poor quality and problematic vehicles to their loyal customers. Maybe they should add that to their "zoom, zoom" commercials.

- The Woodlands, TX, USA

problem #26

Sep 182002

(reported on)

Tribute

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle will shut down while being driven with no warning. Dealership has made three attempts to correct failure, but stalling still persists.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #25

Aug 012002

Tribute 4WD

  • miles
While driving at approx. 45mph, the vehicle suddenly quits, making it very difficult to control. After managing to pull off of the road, I put the vehicle into park, turned off the ignition, then restarted with no problem. Called Mazda dealership. They were very aware of the problem and had many other Tribute owners calling them with the exact same problem. His response was that he wished he could tell me there was a replacement part available to fix the problem, but honestly, there isn't a fix. Mazda has not corrected the problem. Thousands of people are driving these vehicles, and many of them have experienced the same problem I have just described. This is a serious safety hazard, potentially deadly. Because it randomly re-occurs, you never know what the driving situation will be when it happens again. Because there is no corrective action available, we are told nothing can be done, and we must continue putting our families at risk. This is unacceptable. I propose we sell our vehicles back to Mazda, and be given the opportunity to select a differenct vehicle that does not pose this hazard.

- Cortland, NY, USA

problem #24

Apr 172002

Tribute 4WD

  • miles
This is the second time my car stalled while driving at around 40mph. Again I was going down a hill, around a bend just like the first time. The car dies, all power goes out, leaving me to try to get my car to the side of the road. No power steering, no power brakes. The first complaint, the dealership replaced the whole ignition, they said this would fix the problem. I spoke to a zone representative on 4/17/02, the day of the second complaint, who told me back when the first problem occurred, Mazda really didn't know how to solve the problem. Recently, they discovered it was a computer chip/software problem so when I called in to the dealership today, they said they knew of the problem and they just had to fix it. They had gotten a letter from Mazda stating that there were complaints about this and now they knew what the problem was. They did not attempt to contact me to let me know that when they originally fixed the problem, it wasn't complete. Further, I just had my car in for a regular service check up/oil change yesterday, 4/16/02, a day before the problem. Also, I had just had a service check up previously before the first problem when they knew about it then. So, today, the problem happened again and now, I feel unsafe driving this vehicle. How do I know there isn't something else Mazda is not telling me? I would like to see a recall on this vehicle and to have a full inspection on this part and all its components. Thank you. Nlm

- Ridgefield, CT, USA

problem #23

Apr 172002

Tribute 4WD

  • miles
This is the second time my car stalled while driving at around 40mph. Again I was going down a hill, around a bend just like the first time. The car dies, all power goes out, leaving me to try to get my car to the side of the road. No power steering, no power brakes. The first complaint, the dealership replaced the whole ignition, they said this would fix the problem. I spoke to a zone representative on 4/17/02, the day of the second complaint, who told me back when the first problem occurred, Mazda really didn't know how to solve the problem. Recently, they discovered it was a computer chip/software problem so when I called in to the dealership today, they said they knew of the problem and they just had to fix it. They had gotten a letter from Mazda stating that there were complaints about this and now they knew what the problem was. They did not attempt to contact me to let me know that when they originally fixed the problem, it wasn't complete. Further, I just had my car in for a regular service check up/oil change yesterday, 4/16/02, a day before the problem. Also, I had just had a service check up previously before the first problem when they knew about it then. So, today, the problem happened again and now, I feel unsafe driving this vehicle. How do I know there isn't something else Mazda is not telling me? I would like to see a recall on this vehicle and to have a full inspection on this part and all its components. Thank you.

- Ridgefield, CT, USA

problem #22

Feb 062002

Tribute 4WD

  • miles
The Tribute stalled while driving 20 mph. When I got it restarted, the trip odometer was reset and the radio station presets were lost. I also have intermittent problems starting the car - it makes a rattling sound and the battery light goes on.

- Red Bank, NJ, USA

problem #21

Jan 172002

Tribute

  • miles
After the vehicle sits for a period of 5-8 hours, it will not start up. It takes several times to get the vehicle started. It was taken to the dealer, where they could not replicate the problem. The vehicle seems to do this only if it is parked outside for long periods of time. When it is parked in the garage, it does not have any problems starting up, no matter how long it sits. If the vehicle is parked outdoors for several hours, it will not start easily.

- Lake Worth, FL, USA

problem #20

Dec 192001

Tribute 4WD

  • miles
Three times the car has lost power, including steering and brakes.

- Waialua, HI, USA

problem #19

Jun 092001

Tribute 4WD

  • miles
This is a second failure, the first occurring on 05/30/01. The engine quit while crossing railroad tracks with two passengers. I coasted almost clear of tracks, stopped the vehicle, put it in park and restarted the engine after two or three attempts. This same type of failure occurred, at the same location, when my wife was driving the vehicle about a little more than a week earlier.

- Lewisville, TX, USA

problem #18

Dec 052001

Tribute 4WD

  • miles
Was going down a slight hill at about 40-45 mph when I noticed the steering became stiff. Discovered the engine had quit. Braked (with some difficulty) and pulled over to a stop. Shifted into park and restarted. I am concerned that this will probably happen again, possibly in heavy traffic and could be a safety concern. I note there have been numerous complaints made to NHTSA about stalling problems in the 2001 Tribute. I have not yet notified the dealer but will do so next week.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #17

Nov 162001

Tribute 4WD

  • miles
I bought my Tribute in August and just had the first service done recently so when I was driving on Friday, November 16, 2001, I was not expecting any problem. I was going about 45 mph and all of a sudden I couldn't steer the car. The power steering had ceased and I believe the brakes also. I veered off the side of the road and stopped the car. I proceeded to find a phone to call for assistance and when I got the car towed to ridgefield Mazda I spoke with the service manager. We had a conversation about what the problem could be and he was almost certain he knew what the problem was. He told me Mazda had gotten several Tributes come in for the same problem which is the ignition fails and everything goes out like the steering etc. Just what happened to me. Obviously, Mazda knew of the problem, and I questioned how they could not notify other drivers of this malfunction. He told me it wasn't considered a recall as of yet even though they had several customers come in with the same problem. I believe this is a major problem with the vehicle and it should be recalled. The Tribute is a new vehicle and I understand there may still be kinks/bugs to work out with a new vehicle but this isn't a minor problem. I would like this checked into and if possible, make it a recall so this won't happen to other drivers. Luckily, I was able to steer the car to a safe location, but it could have been worse. I would not want to see this happen to someone else. Thank you..

- Ridgefield, CT, USA

Read the next 16 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?