Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.1

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,841 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Mazda Tribute engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Mazda Tribute:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Mazda Tribute Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #32

Oct 212010

Tribute

  • 124,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2001 Mazda Tribute, which I purchased used in 2007. The vehicle went through six master cylinders within the first few months we owned it. It has been an ok car, but frequently and I mean frequently visits the mechanic to get fixed, whereas my other (foreign-made) vehicle rarely has problems - I will never buy american again! Wednesday evening I picked up my 2001 Tribute up at the mechanic from getting four new engine coils which had just been replaced two years previously, which my mechanic says should not have gone bad. Thursday morning I had my two children in the car when I reversed out of my parking spot at a local church when the brake pedal went straight to the floor! the car kept going back and I had to use the emergency break to stop!!!! luckily I did not hit anything and no one was hurt. I had the truck towed back to the mechanic, which I had just picked it up from (this was the car's 4th visit in two weeks for broken parts). The mechanic said that the front left brake line had ruptured and the right one was cracked, so both were replaced. I am so thankful the brakes hadn't failed minutes later when my family would have been on the interstate!!! no recall has been made by Mazda for this problem, but I have seen many similar stories from this vehicle. It is a disgrace and threat to not only the driver and passengers of these vehicles, but to everyone on the road!!! I'm scared to drive my car, not knowing if it will get me home safely or even go. I would never have purchased the car if I could go back and only wish I could purchase something different now.

- Mars, PA, USA

problem #31

Apr 232006

Tribute

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
While driving on the mass. Turnpike on 04/23/06, my vehicle was suddenly engulfed in thick gray smoke. It was determined by my insurance Agency that it was a "mechanical failure', which resulted in my vehicle needing a new engine. I was unable to pay for a new engine, and was refused any assistance from Mazda usa and dealer vehicle was purchased from. Vehicle has 45,000 miles on it.

- Whiting, NJ, USA

problem #30

Sep 242006

Tribute 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles
Mazda Tribute 2001. While stopped in drive (automatic transmission; cruise control off) with foot on brake, engine suddenly revved to 4000 RPM. Had to use hard, full braking plus emergency brake to keep SUV from moving forward and hitting car in front of me. In neutral, engine revved at 4000 RPM. Turned engine off and restated -- situation has not repeated yet.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #29

Nov 072005

Tribute 4WD 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 91,185 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 11/07/05 vehicle was brought in due to stalling when slowing and stopping. The engine sensor was replaced. On 11/08/05 vehicle was bought back still stalling. Ac gasket and idle valve were replaced. We were told our engine was damaged and dealer would not fix. The day I picked up the vehicle it stalled at 60 mph. Three days later it would not start. Brought vehicle to local mechanic, fuel pump had to be replaced. The vehicle is undrivable. This is the second time I have filed a complaint about this vehicle.

- Concord, CA, USA

problem #28

Jun 282005

Tribute 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles
The driver side door handle failed, I was trapped inside the car on the driver side. I had to lower the power window, reach outside of the car and open the door. I purchased a handle and paid to have the door handle replaced on 6/29/2005. The passenger side door handle failed, leaving the passenger trapped inside the car on the passenger side. Passengers had to lower the power window, reach outside the car and open the door. I purchased a handle and paid to have the door handle replaced on 3/13/2006. Recently, every time I crank my car a large cloud of gray smoke comes from the tailpipe. Today, 6/16/2006, I went to put the key into the ignition and the key would not go in. After several attempts the key went into the ignition but, the key would not turn. I was unable to start the car. With assistance from a local mechanic, after numerous attempts, the key went in, turned and the car started. It was suggested to me, do not make any stops on the way home that would require turning the car off. Once I arrived at home I turned the car off and attempted to start the car again. The key will go in but, after several attempts, the key will not turn to start the car. With the Mazda being my only vehicle I feel this is a safety issue for my son and I. while driving the Mazda the rear glass on the hatch opened. I pulled over to close the glass and it would not close and latch. With the help of a local mechanic he was able to close and engage the latch on the glass door. We avoid opening the rear glass but on accident the glass door was opened and it was the same scenario.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #27

May 152005

Tribute 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,580 miles
Dt consumer stated while his wife was driving, the vehicle completely stalled. There were no brakes, the consumer could not get the vehicle out of gear, and she could not activate any safety items on the vehicle. The vehicle had a relay sensor replaced by a local service dealer, they stated they didn't know what was wrong with the vehicle.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #26

Aug 132004

Tribute

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,212 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving 40 - 45 mph, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle lost steering and braking capability. The consumer had to struggle to maintain control of the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to a local dealership and they were unable to duplicate the problem. In April 2004, the vehicle was involved in a recall dealing with (PCM) power train control module recalibration..

- Floral Park, NY, USA

problem #25

May 132004

Tribute

  • miles
2001 Tribute seat belt buckle cover replacement recall I503L. The consumer scheduled an appointment to have two recall done seat bet buckle cover and powertrain control module. The dealer refused to do the recall because the check engine light was on. They offered to repair the problem but refused to do the recall until the repair is done.

- Winchester, KY, USA

problem #24

Mar 032004

Tribute 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
Vehicle stalls without notice. On 3-2-04 I took the car to be fixed but the very next day it stalled again. When I called to let the wantagh service dealer know about what happened, they were very nasty and acted as if I were complaining for nothing. They made me feel like it was my problem, I don't know if this is because the car is still under warranty and they are not able to charge for their service. Yet, I purchased the extended warranty for 2 extra years, which entitles me to this service.

- Valley Stream, NY, USA

problem #23

Mar 022004

Tribute 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,973 miles
2001 Mazda Tribute V6 4WD (mfg date 06/01). While driving approx. 35 mph, vehicle lost power from an apparent engine stall. Several dash board lights illuminated with the event occurance, power steering function was lost. Vehicle speed was quickly reducing. Vehicle was pulled into a nearby parking lot. After waiting approx. A minute, engine was restarted as normal. Driving seemed normal for the 2 miles of the trip completion.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #22

Feb 022004

Tribute 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have been informed that my 2001 Mazda Tribute has a various engine parts that are not working properly, casusing it to stall when accelerating. This happened to me on the entrance ramp to the freeway, and I was very nearly rear-ended by a vehicle going between 50-65 mph. I must say, it was one of the scariest events of my life, and I am not at all pleased with the fact that this happened in a car that's barely 3 years old!

- Trophy Club, TX, USA

problem #21

Jan 022004

Tribute 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,750 miles
I have a 2001 Mazda Tribute. Recently I started having trouble starting the vehicle. It started but immediately stopped. I had to leave my foot on the gas for awhile before it would respond normally. This problem was completely random, not occurring everyday. The condition increased in frequency and finally my car started to die while I was driving it (if I released the gas for a turn, it would occasionally die). This almost caused a serious accident as I had no steering or braking when the car died. I returned the car to the dealership but they said there were no recall notices. Their diagnostic equipment could find no problems, but the manager said this was happening to several early Tributes and I should replace the idle air valve. Replacing this has fixed the problem but this is a serious defect that needs to be fixed before someone is killed.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #20

Dec 012002

Tribute 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
Vehicle stalls and loses power, and check engine light stays illuminated, since first purchasing vehicle.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #19

Sep 272003

Tribute 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
2001 Mazda Tribute stalls when coming to a stop. It starts again ok but I have to keep RPM's up to keep the engine running, otherwise it stalls. One failure so far but this seems to be a real problem with the 2001 Tribute

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #18

Sep 222003

(reported on)

Tribute

  • 27,000 miles
While traveling at 40 mph vehicle stalled in the middle of traffic. Consumer believed vehicle could have been rear ended.

- Coraopolis, PA, USA

problem #17

Aug 062003

Tribute

  • miles
Consumer states that while driving at any speed and without warning vehicle will stall, and it will be hard for the consumer to control the vehicle. Dealer notified.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #16

Aug 052003

Tribute

  • miles
Engine shuts off without notices while driving. Very dangerous. Has happened 3 times, each time while driving in traffic and almost had accidents.

- Lothian, MD, USA

problem #15

Aug 012003

Tribute

  • miles
Consumer states that while driving at any speed and without warning vehicle will stall, and it will be hard for the consumer to control the vehicle. Dealer notified.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #14

May 012001

Tribute 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles
While driving the steering wheel locked up and engine shuts off. The dealer was notified. This problem occurred intermittently and the dealer has not been able to correct the problem.

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #13

Jul 102003

Tribute

  • miles
While traveling on the highway without prior warning vehicle will shut down and restart.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?