Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
1,366 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Mazda Tribute engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Mazda Tribute:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Mazda Tribute Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #48

Sep 032002

Tribute

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had car less than 2 months, engine has cut out* times-no warning.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #47

Sep 032002

Tribute 4WD

  • miles
Engine suddenly stalled while coasting down hill.

- Webster, NY, USA

problem #46

Jun 192002

Tribute 4WD

  • miles
Engine has stalled out a total of 3 times. The 1st time was on 6/16/02 after completing a 80 degree turn on a 2 lane road. Had no power brakes or power steering. Was able to make it off the road. Engine started immediately. Very scary experience. The 2nd time was on 7/29/02. Took car to the dealership. They ordered some parts. On 8/14/02 took car back to dealership to replace the engine sensor, air flow sensor, and map sensor. On 8/19/02, the car stalled out for the 3rd time. On 8/20/02, took the car to dealership and picked up a loaner car. As of 9/02/02, I have not heard a word as to when my car will be fixed. According to the dealership, they are waiting for Mazda corporation to post new software to correct the stalling problem. Mazda needs to take care of this problem. In the 2001 models, this stalling problem has been going on for almost 2 years. In the 2002 models, it has been almost a year. Mazda needs to recall these cars before someone is seriously injuried or is killed.

- Spotsylvania, VA, USA

problem #45

Aug 222002

Tribute 4WD

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The Tribute was taken in on 8-22-02 for stalling for the third time since we had bought the car in janurary. This time I even contacted Mazda and reported the stalling problem they told me that one of their engineers would get with the service people at the Mazda dealer where I had taken it to get it fixed they sent out for 5 new parts and called me and told me that is was fixed we asked it the engineer who was out to look at it could certify that this would fix the problem the engineer could not certify it and we had to pick it up knowing that this could happen again. I am very concerned about putting my son in this car knowing that it stalls with no warning at the speed of 40mph.

- Amelia, OH, USA

problem #44

Apr 202002

Tribute

  • miles
While driving engine cut off, causing loss of power brakes, and power steering without any warning.this happened 4 times. On 4th time had an accident. Contacted dealer several times.cause unknown.

- Mountain City, TN, USA

problem #43

Apr 012002

Tribute 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
On two different occasions while driving 40 mph engine shut down with no warning. Ricart automotive has worked on truck, checking codes and egr system. Second time they replaced pass air control valve and associated gaskets. *akthe first time the dealer replaced the air control valve. The second incident, the computer was reprogrammed.

- Pataskala, OH, USA

problem #42

Aug 172002

Tribute

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine stalled going down slight incline at 30-35 mph. Lost power steering and power brakes. Narrow road with no place to pull off. Difficulty stopping vehicle safely. Very scary incident. After vehicle stopped put gear shift in park and vehicle restarted without difficulty. Proceeded to destination without further problems. Vehicle currently at dealers for repair. Dealer had advised there were problems with 2001 models but problem was fixed on all 2002 models. Obviously not true in my case!!

- Vienna, VA, USA

problem #41

Jul 252002

Tribute

  • miles
While driving at 35mph on flat surface and with no warning vehicle will shut off, and will be hard to start back up. Dealer notified.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #40

Aug 192002

Tribute 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving at 30-40 mph vehicle shut off, which caused the power steering and brake system to fail. Contacted dealer.

- Swiftwater, PA, USA

problem #39

Jul 312002

Tribute 4WD

  • miles
Car stalls out and drivers loses power steering and brakes. Dealer contacted. Factory contacted. Dealer reports factory knows of proble, but does not know what or how to fix. I am concerned about ongoing prpblem and Mazda's inability to find a fix. I bought a ynew Mazda based on it being a nice product and having a good warranty. Thus far, I am disappointed.

- Pittsford, NY, USA

problem #38

Aug 082002

Tribute

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine stalled on freeway. All electronics including brakes shut down. Unbelievable that a vehicle so new is having this problem. After more research, I'm finding many more people with the same problem. Don't wait until a fatal crash before you fix the problem.

- Tigard, OR, USA

problem #37

Jan 282002

Tribute

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving up or down a hill at 40mph vehicle will stall, causing consumer to pull emergency brake in order to stop. Dealer notified. First incident happened in January as the vehicle was being test driven.* four incidents have occured with in six months of owning the vehicle. The vehicle stalls out and looses power to the braking and steering components. Mazda cannot pinpoint the cause. The vehicle usually starts up with the exception of the last incident where consumer had to wait 10 min.

- Gastonia, NC, USA

problem #36

Jul 032002

Tribute

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle stalled twice identical to first time. Vehicle stalled while going 45mph down hill without warning before brakes were applied. There was a loss of brakes and steering. Dealer notified.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #35

Jun 022002

Tribute

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle stalled twice at 40 mph. Dealer reset idle speed, which did not remedy the problem.

- Batavia, OH, USA

problem #34

Jul 172002

Tribute 4WD

  • miles
The engine has stalled while driving on 3 different occasions. Power steering and brakes are very diffiicult to use.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #33

Nov 152001

Tribute

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle has stalled 5 times at 30-40 mph at slight down grades. Dealer could not find a problem with vehicle.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #32

Jul 062002

Tribute

  • miles
Engine quit running with no warning lights, etc. Restarted with no problem.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #31

Apr 172002

Tribute 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving, vehicle experienced total loss of electrical power, resulting in a breakdown. Vehicle had been seen by dealer. Dealer checked all grounds, wiring harness to PCM, ECU relay and reprogrammed PCM however problem still exists.

- Laurel, MD, USA

problem #30

Jun 242002

Tribute 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle has stalled out while consumer was driving. Steering wheel locked up, then engine shut down. Consumer has had this problem fixed twice before. Stalling of the vehicle caused brake and steering failures. The vehicle stalled several times. Dealer replaced mass air flow sensor and dpfe after third incident, also consumer stated vehicle was pulling to the right, the dealer perfomed an alignment.

- Mount Pleasent, PA, USA

problem #29

Jun 132002

Tribute

  • miles
While driving at 20-25 mph and without any warning vehicle stalled out and everything shut down. Contacted dealer, and the dealer could not find cause of problem.

- Incarson, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?