Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,848 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Mazda Tribute transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Mazda Tribute:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Mazda Tribute Owner Comments

problem #6

Nov 142003


  • 10,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Mazda Tribute. While the contact was driving approximately 35 mph, the engine completely stalled without warning. The vehicle restarted and continued traveling. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the technician informed the contact that the failure was related to the power control module. The vehicle was repaired under the service warranty. The same failure reoccurred four to five years after the replacement of the power control module. There was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 04V175000 (power train:automatic transmission:control module tcm, PCM). The contact was in the process of notifying the manufacturer to determine whether the VIN was included in the recall defect. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint.the failure mileage was approximately 10,000.

- Staley, NC, USA

problem #5

Aug 152005

Tribute 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,550 miles
1). three recalls on my vehicle: 1st - power train control module re-calibration recall 1904D. 2nd - B4000 dpfe sensor warranty extension program special service program (ssp) 59. 3rd - accelerator cable recall 2704L. Completed all recalls; last on 3/2/05. 2). 2/2005 I started experiencing intermittent problems with my vehicle: - the car stops running usually when slowing down for a stop sign or red light. The car has stopped in the middle of traffic, in the height of rush hour. The car stopped exiting a post office backing up traffic causing motorist to seek another exit. Have had various other stops but have been lucky not to cause any accidents. - the car will not start; usually upon short trips. After waiting 3 - 5 minutes have been able to start the vehicle. Have encountered this numerous times. I limit driving at night due to the unpredictability and lack of confidence in my vehicle. 3) I have had my car service at oakland Mazda (510)893-7282 (3/2/05-recall, 4/9/05, 4/19/05, 5/11/05, & 6/20/05) and have discussed the problem with the serv advisor, ken miller & service manager. The dealership informed me they thoroughly checked-out my car each time they serviced it. They have repeated the recall which mostly describes my symptoms (re-calibration recall 1904D) at least twice. They also contacted the Mazda headquarters service center for documentation on how to check out my vehicle. I also contacted the Mazda customer assistance center at (800)222-5500 in may of 2005, they told me that if necessary they could dispatch a service technician to fly in and repair my vehicle; they also sent a report to the oakland district mgr. I contacted the Mazda cust assist center again on 7/14/05, they told me that they would not be able to help me further with my car problem. 7/15- I contacted the dealership in fremont (where I bought the car) explained my problems and asked if they would consider taking a look at my car but the serv mgr never called me back.

- San Leandro, CA, USA

problem #4

Feb 232005


  • miles
I've owned this vehicle for a little over 2 years and it has been to the dealer for repairs 7 times now. No one can seem to find the reason why the check engine light stays on, why the fuel consumption is so poor, why the vehicle shifts constantly and for no reason at all, or why the vehicle "shudders" when the engine is on. The check fuel cap light has come on twice and the same part replaced twice. The canister close valve and idle air control valve have both failed. I have spent money on a fuel induction service because it was recommended by the service dealer. I had the transmission flushed because of a technical service bulletin for the torque converter - a problem that had to be identified by aamco and told to Mazda before they would try to fix the problem. I have called Mazda customer service and got anything but customer service. My problems began long before the warranty had expired; however, Mazda could care less about their lack of ability to fix ongoing problems. This vehicle is a life-safety hazard and needs to be recalled completely, not part by part. I will never buy a Mazda again. This is my third and last. The Tribute is by far the worst thing ever manufactured by Mazda. They should be embarassed to have this model on the road!

- Dumfries, VA, USA

problem #3

May 112004

Tribute 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles


2002 Mazda Tribute power control module re-calibration.. the consumer received a recall notice on May 7 regarding the powertrain control module re-calibration. Four days after the notice was received the consumer's vehicle shut down while driving 60 mph. The consumer had made an appointment for May 13 but unfortunately that was too late.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #2

Jul 072003


  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,540 miles
When slowing down or proceeding to a stop, the car completely shut down in middle of the road while the engine is still running. The brakes will freeze up and the only way to stop the car is to pull up on the hand brake. The car will restart. This has always happened in traffic and is a very dangerous situation. Brought the car into the dealership the first time on May 3, 2003. Dealer said that they replaced the idle control valve. Two weeks later, the same problem arised where the car completely died in traffic. Brought it back to the dealer on June 3, 2003, they said there was improper operation and reprogrammed the PCM. The car died down again a week later while driving slowing down in traffic on the freeway. Again brought it back to the dealer for the third time June 19, 2003. Left the car overnight and had the technician drive the car 100+ miles home, but they could not duplicate the problem and sent the car home. Car died again in traffic. Brought the car back to the dealership the fourth time on July 1, 2003, and once again dealer was unable to duplicate the car. Advised me to keep driving the car until they problem worsened. This is a very dangerous situation as the car is in motion at all times when it has died and in traffic. A potentional dangerous and fatal situation that needs to be addressed immediately! the car was purchased in June 2002, and since then it has had a master cylinder leak, air bag circuit failure, as well as fuel system electrical wiring problems. Mazda needs to be aware of the potential risk factors involved in its Tribute models and recall the cars.

- Diamond Bar, CA, USA

problem #1

May 072002


  • miles
While driving, the vehicle stalled with out warning due to a defective PCM. Also, the main bearing in the transmission failed.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

Not what you are looking for?