Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.2

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
72,344 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Mazda Tribute engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Mazda Tribute:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Mazda Tribute Owner Comments

problem #9

Jan 082014

Tribute

  • 161,094 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Braking system (ABS) failed (I could have killed someone or myself) no back pressure going up hills resulting in failing suspension all front end has failed all door latches failed I'm terrified to operate this vehicle!!!!! recall notices where never sent to me and modern motors only completed recall numbers 7514D and 6812G why is it that recalls are closed when I obviously had issues and I never received notices? I purchased my Mazda Tribute 2004 at modern motors in 2008 as the second owner. I was never informed of these recalls and I think it's only fair that they should be done at no charge. Report receipt date: Dec 10, 2004 NHTSA campaign number: 04V583000 component(s): Vehicle speed control report receipt date: Dec 23, 2004 NHTSA campaign number: 04V605000 component(s): Latches/locks/linkages (my rear glass latches have been broken/defect) report receipt date: Mar 29, 2007 NHTSA campaign number: 07E023000 component(s): Service brakes, hydraulic report receipt date: Apr 10, 2007 NHTSA campaign number: 07V157000 component(s): Service brakes, hydraulic report receipt date: Jul 27, 2012 NHTSA campaign number: 12V357000 component(s): Engine and engine cooling, vehicle speed control report receipt date: Apr 04, 2014 NHTSA campaign number: 14V174000 component(s): Structure since I was the second owner why wasn't I informed of such defects/recalls"?" this is what modern motors has typed on my work order that needs to be done. Gasket is leaking, front axle seals are leaking, front and rear pinion seals are leaking, rear shocks are leaking, front sway bar links have play, front and rear molded rubber brake hose are cracked. Exhaust hanger is broken, gas tank strap has been modified because there was no holder to hold the tank up and on. Needs tires and alignment which I can do.

- Goshen, CT, USA

problem #8

Aug 082014

Tribute

  • 80,000 miles
Already reported.....this is additional info poor mechanic service had car for month no rental vehicle:2004 trb LX xa safety recall(s) found: 4 special service program (ssp) recall(s) found: 0 last updated: March 11, 2015 Mazda recall #: 6812G NHTSA recall #: 12V357000 recall date recall description repair description recall status 07/26/12 Tribute 3.0L engine cover modification. There may be inadequate clearance between the engine cover and the speed control (sometimes known as cruise control) cable, which could allow the engine to be stuck at full power when the accelerator pedal is fully or almost-fully depressed. Safety risk: A throttle that is stuck fully or almost fully open may result in very high vehicle speeds and make it difficult to stop or slow the vehicle, which could cause a crash, serious injury, or death. This risk exists regardless of whether or not cruise control is used. The dealer will modify the engine cover to provide sufficient clearance for the speed control cable, free of charge. Incomplete for any additional questions regarding a Mazda recall or special service program, please contact your local Mazda dealer or contact Mazda. Mazda recall #: 7514D NHTSA recall #: 14V174000 recall date recall description repair description recall status 04/04/14 Tribute lower control arm corrosion. Vehicles operated in areas where salt is used to on roadways during winter months may experience excessive corrosion at the attachment of the lower control arm. Safety risk: A separation of the lower control arm can result in a significant loss of steering control, increasing the risk of a crash. Dealers will install a newly designed reinforcement cross-brace, free of charge. Incomplete for any additional questions regarding a Mazda recall or special service program, please contact your local Mazda dealer or contact Mazda.

- Wiscsset, ME, USA

problem #7

Feb 272012

Tribute 6-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
2004 Mazda Tribute, 6 cylinder. The engine exploded upon starting, specifically the intake manifold. Upon starting, an extremely loud explosion occurred, the hood was raised about an inch and smoke and flame poured out from under the hood. I exited the vehicle and the smoked subsided and plastic parts where scattered about the parking lot. Towed the Tribute to the dealer where they stated that the intake manifold blew up and it would cost over $1000 to repair with no guarantee that the engine is not damaged. The dealer stated that they had no clue what caused the explosion. I was lucky that the car was parked and that my child was not near the car, otherwise this could have been an deadly incident.

- Orchard Park, NY, USA

problem #6

Jun 122009

Tribute

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Mazda Tribute. While driving approximately 45 mph on normal road conditions; proceeding to a traffic sign the engine began to hesitate and misfire. An independent mechanic replaced the coil pack, spark plugs and by passed the wiring harness. In addition, the fuel injection was cleaned. The vehicle was taken to an authorized Ford dealer on a separate occasion the for the identical failures. The technician recommended replacement of the wiring harness at an estimated cost of $1,300. The vehicle will be taken to an authorized dealer to have the wiring harness terminal replaced. The contact was concerned about the safety risk involved. The failure mileage was 100,000 and the current was mileage 107,000.

- Kannapolis, NC, USA

problem #5

Dec 142007

Tribute 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mazda Tribute. During the 2007 winter season, the engine suddenly revved when the vehicle was started. The contact turned off the vehicle and waited a few seconds; however, the issue recurred for approximately ten minutes. Afterwards, the failure ceased. In January of 2008, the failure recurred after parking the vehicle with the engine running. The vehicle once again began to rev. The failure occurred a total of two times; however, she never noticed the vehicle accelerating backwards or forward. The vehicle has not been taken to the dealer or spoken with the manufacturer. The current mileage was 69,350 and failure mileage was approximately 55,000. Updated 3/11/09 updated 03/16/09.

- Harbor Creek, PA, USA

problem #4

Oct 272008

Tribute

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mazda Tribute. While turning at 15 mph, the vehicle's computer can rev the engine to keep it running. However, the engine is revving up to 3,000 rpms. The failure occurs while the vehicle is in drive or reverse. A crash could occur if the contact's foot is not depressing the brake pedal at the time. The failure is intermittent and sometimes the vehicle revs up to 1,000 rpms and other times up to 3,000 rpms. The dealer from where the vehicle was purchased stated that the vehicle was fine and designed to perform in that manner. The failure has since recurred and the vehicle was taken back to the dealer, where it is currently located. The contact is attempting to trade in the vehicle. The VIN was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 66,000.

- Simpsonville, KY, USA

problem #3

Sep 042006

Tribute 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Mazda Tribute SUV completely stalled driving 35 mph, this is the fourth such incident in 2 years of engine stall, dealer has been unable to diagnose issue "unable to duplicate". this incident resulted in near rear end collision by an 18 wheel truck. Driver side front wheel bearing also failed at 50,000 miles.

- Cornelius, NC, USA

problem #2

Oct 132005

Tribute

  • miles
2004 Mazda Tribute stalls at low speeds. No warning lights, car just dies and coasts to a complete stop. Lose steering capability. Dies in a matter of 5 seconds and some times do not even have time to pull over to the side of the road. Usually restarts after 5-10 minutes of trying. This has happened 6 times in the past 3-4 weeks.

- Commack, NY, USA

problem #1

Jun 152004

Tribute 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles
When driving at any speed vehicle stalled. This caused consumer to drift to the side of the road. Consumer took vehicle to dealership on two occasions, but problem recurred.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?