Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.4

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
120,905 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Mazda Tribute suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Mazda Tribute:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Mazda Tribute Owner Comments (Page 5 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #12

Jun 022014

Tribute 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am the current owner of this vehicle I. bought it through North shore bank off lease... I take good care of the car and have it maintained regularly. Recently the rear passenger area has been making a loud banging noise, I thought it may be a broken shock or something to that affect. I took it into Goodyear in racine wi. Come to find the whole wheel well is rotted out on the passenger side.. the mechanic said he could not fix it and take it to racine auto body also in racine, wi. They also said they have never seen anything like that happen to a car or SUV ever before. He said it has to be due to a bad factory process or some flaw that had been when the car was manufactured. They want $1600 to fix the area and I don't feel I should have to fix the flaw from the Mazda manufacturer. I feel it isn't safe to drive on the highway without more damage being added. I really would appreciate some sort of help or replacement of the factory flaw. The car is in fairly decent shape and at this point I can not afford a new car.. I don't know if there had been any other similar issues on any of your other vehicles.

- Racine, WI, USA

problem #11

May 312014

Tribute 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mazda Tribute. The contact stated while driving approximately 25 mph, the front passenger side wheel broke off of the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who stated that the cross member frame was completely covered with rust. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000. Updated 06/25/14 updated 07/1/2014 updated 8/11/14 the front cross member under the engine that suspension was attached to rusted away and broke causing the right front wheel to move into the right front inner fender, breaking the axle shaft which caused loss of steering. Updated 09/23/14

- Kittanning, PA, USA

problem #10

May 092014

Tribute 4-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
2005 Mazda Tribute. My 17 year old daughter was driving the vehicle down the freeway and she heard a loud thud. She pulled over but did not see any apparent damage. She drove home and the sound became louder. When she returned home I looked at the Tribute. The entire shock body was disengaged from the frame. The right rear shock assemble was no longer attached. The rear passenger side shock was separating from the vehicle. It had rusted completely through. The vehicle does not have rust anywhere else. This could have been a disaster. I am the original owner and have I have had the vehicle for in for most normal maintenance and tires and they never mentioned any concerned with this becoming detached. This is obviously a safety issues. I am very thankful that my daughter was not hurt. Research on this issues suggest that this is a known problem with the Tribute and escape vehicles. It is especially true for the right rear section. Why is there no recall?

- Farmington , MN, USA

problem #9

Mar 142014

Tribute 4-cyl

  • 108,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The right rear panel is rusting out and made the shock broke lose from the body and I had to take the rear underneath panel off and remove the shock. This has happen to two other Tributes that in my area that I know of.

- Aurora, WV, USA

problem #8

Mar 122014

Tribute 4WD 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
Failed strut mount - heard a rattle noise in the vehicle - this noise increased over the next few days. Looking outside the vehicle I did not see anything loose or able to cause problem. Checked inside right rear storage and found large hole to see tire. Removing the interior panel revealed the entire wheel well had rusted out leaving the strut hanging by about 2-3 inches of metal. This was banging around causing the noise. If this had fully failed during driving, it may have caused catastrophic failure of the tire leading to major accident with injury. I have stopped driving it until there is a suitable fix.

- Warren, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #7

Feb 272014

Tribute

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mazda Tribute. The contact stated that while reversing, he heard a knocking noise. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the rear passenger's side wheel housing was corroded and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 105,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Downers Grove, IL, USA

problem #6

Jan 082014

Tribute 4WD 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Pulled away from house to leave for work and at about 30 mph I heard the worst sound. It came from the rear right side of the car. It was worse over bumps, stopping etc. Took it to an auto mechanic who drove it first and brought me back to show me a rusted out wheel well with interior exposed. All remaining three wheel wells were perfect, fine he stated. I started by calling Mazda who is sending me to a dealership to have it inspected. The dealership will then pass that info on. It is outside the warranty period and I the representative told me this would not be covered. It was bought brand new in 2005 and we are the original owners. No accidents or mishaps to that area of the car. We know this will cost a bundle and read so many complaints online about the Ford escape 2005 having the exact same problem. It said the two are "mechanical siblings." I wrote down websites I visited with complaint/question forums and the quotes for repairing are astronomical for a error made on the manufacturers end. This is a safety issue when you have the potential for the shocks to go through the rear of the car right behind my sons car seat. The consumer was informed, the frame was cracked, due to a rusted out wheel well. Updated 06/10/14 updated 08/03/15. Updated 09/21/15. Updated 09/28/15.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #5

Apr 012013

Tribute 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
The right rear wheel well metal as well as the strut attachment are rusted. Parts of the wheel well dislodge while driving. Mechanics tell me that the right rear strut will become unattached. They say that this is evident on Ford escapes as well. The right rear is the only affected area. Potentially a very serious problem. Mazda claims it is out of warranty - too bad.

- Wantagh, NY, USA

problem #4

Feb 012005

Tribute

  • miles
2005 Mazda Tribute has a defect in which the vehicle pulls to the left.** answer required***. when the consumer would let go of the steering wheel the vehicle would veer to the left into oncoming traffic. The vehicle had been taken to the dealer three times for this problem but they have been unable to determine the cause. The vehicle's alignment was adjusted, all four tires were replaced and the front end suspension cradle was moved but none of these repairs corrected the problem. The manufacturer was contacted but they provided no assistance. The brakes made noise while driving at low speeds. The rotors were resurfaced then replaced but the noise persisted. At one time the brake pedal went down tot he floor.

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #3

Dec 302004

Tribute

  • miles
When the brakes of the consumer's 2005 Mazda Tribute were applied the vehicle pulled to the left or right. There was a rattle on the right side, the drivers mirror vibrated, the temperature sensor in the auto dimming mirror registered incorrectly, the wiper did not have complete contact with the window and there was a rust spot on the inside lip of the moon roof.

- Fairchild Afb, WA, USA

problem #2

Oct 012004

Tribute 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle violently swerved from side to side, became unstable. While driving in rainy weather the vehicle became unstable and felt as if was going to roll over. The consumer contacted the manufacturer but ha not received a response.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #1

Jun 122004

Tribute

  • miles
Mazda Tribute violently rolled from side to side. The vehicle would become extremely unstable. On another occasion the vehicle nearly rolled over.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

Not what you are looking for?