Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
75,426 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Mazda Tribute engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Mazda Tribute:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Mazda Tribute Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #21

Nov 162012

Tribute 4-cyl

  • 13,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Accelerator sticks and will not allow you to press the gas pedal. This happened in traffic and had to idle off to the side of the road.

- China Grove, NC, USA

problem #20

Aug 152012

Tribute

  • 78,376 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Mazda Tribute. The contact stated after receiving the notice for recall NHTSA campaign id number 12V357000 (vehicle speed control cables) the vehicle was taken to the dealer to disconnected the cruise control cable but the dealer did not provide the new redesigned housing cover. The contact mentioned that the recall repair exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The failure mileage was 78,376 and the current mileage was 80,100.

- Gibsonia , PA, USA

problem #19

Sep 192012

Tribute 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Mazda Tribute. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V357000 (vehicle speed control:cables) and took the vehicle to the dealer for recall service. The contact had not experienced any failures of the speed control cable however, he was dissatisfied with the remedy which was to deactivate the cruise control if the necessary parts were not available. The manufacturer was not contacted. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 11/13/12 the consumer stated 10/31/2012 the part was still unavailable. The consumer recieved a photo enforcement ticket because of this failure. Updated 11/29/2012

- Deer Lodge, TN, USA

problem #18

Jan 172012

Tribute 4-cyl

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My gas pedal sticks when my vehicle gets cold. I purchased this vehicle about a year ago used and when the temperature dropped the gas pedal would stick. I would be in traffic and the vehicle would go nowhere when pressing the gas pedal. This has occurred many times. They said there is a recall on the 2006 but 6 cy, I have a 4 cy that the same problem is occurring. I would like to have this vehicle included in the recall as well, because apparently it is happening to the 4 cy as well.

- Winston Salem, NC, USA

problem #17

Nov 252009

Tribute 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Have a 2006 Mazda Tribute 4cyl, and am having speed control issues when the weather is cold. The gas pedal sticks and will not depress, even when being stomped on. This issue occurs when the temperature drops below 40 degrees. It has happened when coming around a corner, or when driving in regular traffic, forcing me to coast to the shoulder, almost causing accidents. Please look into this model as well for a recall relating to this issue. Thank you

- Wake Forest, NC, USA

problem #16

Nov 012010

Tribute 4-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
When the air temp is below 60 degrees, the accelerator sticks upon acceleration. Once this happens, the gas pedal cannot be depressed unless you exert extreme force on it with your foot. This is extremely dangerous if you need to accelerate to cross traffic or similar type of situation. Once the engine warms up, or if the air temp warms up above 60 degrees, the problem will not occur.

- Kingwood, TX, USA

problem #15

Oct 302008

Tribute

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Mazda Tribute. Runs fine during warm weather. At the slightest outbreak of cold weather, accelerator does not depress, unable to get any power from the engine. Will freeze up at times while driving or not work at all. Has been doing this for years, Mazda refuses to acknowledge problem. Has almost caused numerous accidents when accelerating around a turn due to loss of power. Mazda has recalled previous model years for this problem but will not recall this model. Please change that.

- Wake Forest, NC, USA

problem #14

Oct 072011

Tribute

  • 130,000 miles
Tribute gas pedal is locking (sticking) and unable to be pressed. This problem has occurred several times lately the latest being this morning while taking my child to school trying to go up a hill I was unable to press the gas pedal which I had to abruptly pull over nearly causing an accident and scaring my child and myself. This is occurring more frequently and thus becoming more hazardous. Something needs to be done to correct this problem, it going to cause a serious accident or fatality.

- Cleveland, GA, USA

problem #13

Jan 242011

Tribute 4-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
I have several problems with my Mazda Tribute 4 cylinder 2wd. The #1 problem is that the gas peddle freezes especially when it's cold outside. I try to press down on it and it doesn't move. I have to do this a couple of times before it starts working and then I have to be careful that I don't go shooting across the rode. I was told this could be carbon buildup by the dealers serviceman. I also have to put air in the tires every week when it's cold and every other week when it's not. I had a tire pressure valve leak in one of the tires and now I think I have another. My vehicle has 54440 miles on it and the further it has been driven is 36 miles. It is used for local driving only as I would be afraid to drive it any further than that. I also need front stabilizer links. I just replaced the battery but now when I try to start the vehicle, everything lights up but it doesn't start or make any sound when I turn the key. I have to try this several times before it finally starts. I bought this vehicle new and I have all these problems. The front wheel drive is worthless, I slide all over the place and fish tail backing up in my driveway. These problems are several times a day and I don't have the money to keep fixing these problems because this vehicle should not be having these problems. I was told that the tires may need the rims cleaned to help with the tire pressure light coming on. Of course my warranty is expired as is my roadside assistance. I wouldn't buy another Mazda Tribute or recommend it to anyone. And since when does it cost $600 plus for a tune up?

- Twinsburg, OH, USA

problem #12

Feb 042008

Tribute

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Mazda Tribute. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds she noticed that the accelerator pedal would stick and the vehicle would accelerate to higher speeds. In order to stop the vehicle she would release her foot from the pedal and try to kick it until it returned to the normal position. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who stated that they were unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unknown. The VIN was unavailable.

- Sacramento , CA, USA

problem #11

Jan 212011

Tribute 6-cyl

  • 155,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While passing a slower vehicle on a two lane road, the Mazda Tribute's accelerator stuck. I let off the gas at 65mph but the engine continued to accelerate to over 4000 RPM and 85 mph. The brakes did little to slow the car(I got it down to 80mph). Trying to raise or move the gas peddle did nothing to change the speed. I was able to shift into neutral gear and as the car slowed down, I applied the hand (emergency) brake and pulled off the road onto a wide shoulder. Starting the engine again later, it started at the previous high RPM's. I called for a tow truck and did not drive it further.I have had problems with the cruise control suddenly accelerating for an instant before returning to normal settings. This has been erratic and cannot be reproduced for the service departments. Two weeks ago, the cruise control started dropping out (turns off) with out warning. The dealer could not replicate the problem., but replaced a switch without any effect.

- West End, NC, USA

problem #10

Jan 182011

Tribute

  • 105,000 miles
My gas pedal gets stuck..help!! I was on my way to work. I put my foot on the gas pedal and it was stuck. I quickly pushed the brake and was able to pull over. I remember hearing about this so I pulled up my carpet thinking it might be that. I started back on my way to work and the pedal was "sticky". after work I was trying to pull out of my parked spot. My gas pedal got stuck again. My car was accelerating on its' own. I tried the brake it would not help. I put it in neutral and it slowed down. I was finally able to stop the car. I got out of the car to see what was going on and could not figure it out. I got back in the car and tried again, it was still stuck. This was so bad because not only was it dangerous for me, I am a teacher and the students walk through the parking lot all the time. It was dangerous for everyone. I called the Mazda dealer ( I have a 2006 Tribute) asking if there was a recall, they said no. I came home and found that many people had this same problem (the Ford escape is the same as my car) their gas pedal gets stuck!!! this is horrible, common, and dangerous.

- Cherry Hill, NJ, USA

problem #9

Jan 102011

Tribute

  • 76,000 miles
My 2006 Mazda Tribute has been experiencing problems with the accelerator sticking in the idle position. This evening the pedal would not budge at all leaving the vehicle in idle and me stranded. I am concerned that this pedal problem may cause me to accelerate suddenly if I push very hard on the pedal.

- Factoryville, PA, USA

problem #8

Dec 072010

Tribute

  • 48,000 miles
The gas pedal sticks on a daily basis.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #7

Dec 032010

Tribute 4-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
2006 Mazda Tribute gas pedal sticks in cold weather to the point where the car will no go anywhere. I always warm my car up however, nothing prevents this from happening and I am worried that if I stop in traffic and start I will be in a major accident.

- Whites Creek , TN, USA

problem #6

Nov 042009

Tribute

  • 40,000 miles
Gas pedal on 2006 Mazda Tribute sticks. Sometimes you press and nothing happens and then it will take off at a high rate of speed. I have had several near misses with other vehicles in front of me due to this. I had the gas pedal replaced once under warranty less than 2 years ago (March 2008) and now have the problem again but Mazda told me that they will not replace it again unless I pay for it even though it's a recurring problem. I think this has to be a design issue given the recurrence but Mazda won't take responsibility for it and in fact demands payment even to attempt to diagnose the problem.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #5

Sep 012006

Tribute

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Mazda Tribute. The contact stated that the accelerator pedal was stuck in the "up" position and it took a lot of effort to depress it. The failure occurred intermittently especially in cold weather conditions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer; however, they offered no assistance. The manufacturer was not notified. The current mileage was approximately 66,100. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000. Updated 03/01/10 the consumer stated the accelerator pedal gets stuck in th up position and required an extreme amount of force to depress. Updated 08/20/10

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #4

Jan 102010

Tribute

  • miles
I have a 2006 V4 Mazda Tribute. About 3 out of 5 times when I go to push the gas the pedal will get stuck, I have to then press very hardly on the gas and it will just take off very fast. If I was to ever need to move my car up just a tiny bit it could cause a huge issue. There is nothing I can really do to correct it, I've looked on the internet and seen other people having the same problems.

- Conover, NC, USA

problem #3

Jan 012010

Tribute

  • 55,000 miles
I drive a 2006 Mazda Tribute. The vehicles gas pedal often gets "stuck" from a dead stop. The pedal is able to be moved but only after a significant amount of pressure is applied to the pedal. While pulling into my garage this occurred and I ended up running into my own trash can. The damage was minimal but this sticking occurs very frequently. Traffic lights, stop lights, and pulling into my own garage all seem to be burdens because of this issue. It is mostly a problem during stop and go traffic because the vehicle must be forced to go faster than the operator wants it to go in order to move. This means that I am lunging towards vehicles in front of me instead of being able to gradually ease forward. I believe it is even further more a safety issue while in parking lots due to pedestrians.

- Fort Campbell, KY, USA

problem #2

Dec 162009

Tribute

  • 108,000 miles
My gas pedal gets stuck whether it is cold or warm. This has been happening since 2007. I was told that it was due to carbon buildup and that a fuel injection cleaning was needed. My throttle bottle was replaced also. For the past several months, my pedal has been sticking again. This is quite dangerous since I cannot move forward at a light when it turns green and I cannot accelerate when already driving. I see that many people have reported the same issue to the NHTSA. I do not feel that I should have to replace my throttle body again within 2 years, especially if this is issue is widespread. Please review this issue for a possible recall.

- Prince George, VA, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?