Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.2

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,179 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Mercedes-Benz E320 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Mercedes-Benz E320:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Mercedes-Benz E320 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Oct 052010

E320 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Strong smell of gasoline after filling gas tank.

- Lawrence, KS, USA

problem #18

May 082013

E320 6-cyl

  • 91,600 miles
Strong gasoline odor inside the cabin and garage after fill up, bought the car used from kendall Dodge in miami fl. The day before, filled up twice after that and the smell of gas is dangerously present every time. The car is no longer under warranty and repair costs over $2000.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #17

May 012008

E320 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercedes-Benz E320. The contact stated that after refueling, a fuel odor was smelled inside the cabin. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the fuel tank had failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000 and the current mileage was 125,000. Updated 05/28/13 updated 06/11/2013

- Bedford, TX, USA

problem #16

Mar 252009

E320 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Mercedes Benz E320. The contact stated that when refueling, she smelled a strong gasoline fuel odor inside and outside the vehicle cabin. The vehicle was not inspected for the failure nor repaired. The failure mileage was 25,000 and the current mileage was 67,000. Updated 4/26/13

- Calabasas, CA, USA

problem #15

Feb 142012

E320

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercedes Benz E320. The contact stated that the fuel tank was leaking. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was informed that there were multiple leaks in the fuel tank and the fuel tank needed to be replaced. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 70,000.

- Albeqerque, NM, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Jan 232012

E320 6-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
I've had the smell of fuel in my E320 base model for about 2-3 months now. I didn't pay it much attention until now (3/31/2012) when I did a little research for myself and found a leak from the fuel pump to fuel line housing. I did not take pictures but the hose line connection to the pump was cracked and upon taking hose off pump housing, the housing connection snapped completely off. In the process of trying to find another fuel pump now because vehicle is disable.

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #13

Feb 152012

E320 6-cyl

  • 33,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After filling the fuel tank completely full, I noticed a strong smell of fuel. I removed the rear passenger seat and also removed the two panels that cover the fuel sending unit. Once I removed the two panels I saw a puddle of fuel sitting in a low spot on top of the fuel sending unit. This concerns me as it is puddling and vapor is being put into the passenger compartment of the vehicle as well as the atmosphere.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #12

Jan 022012

E320

  • miles
Fuel tank leaks fuel at the top when tank is filled higher than 3/4ths. There are several hundred reports of this on these models on the internet. The issue appears to start occurring around 90-100K miles. Since Mercedes are made to go many miles this can be an issue. This is very dangerous. I have had it at a mechanic he told me that I should report this to Mercedes as it appears that the plastic fuel tank has a flaw in it. We have not fixed the problem as we want it to be investigated. Looking for guidance.

- Lenexa, KS, USA

problem #11

Oct 102011

E320

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercedes Benz E320. The contact stated that after refueling, the smell of fuel was potent inside and outside of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the dealer confirmed that the fuel lever sensor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 100,000 and the current mileage was 103,000.

- Palos Verdes Peninsula, CA, USA

problem #10

Nov 182011

E320

  • 153,114 miles
After parking my car in the garage after a refill, I notice a the smell of gas coming from my car. When I took a closer look I notice that my car was leaking gas and the smell was horrific. This is a serious emission issue that not should be happening in Mercedes Benz.

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #9

May 092011

E320

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Mercedes E320. The contact stated that the check engine light illuminated, so the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and she was informed that the fuel tank was leaking. The contact was also informed that the leak was located at the top of the fuel tank. As a result, a strong odor of fuel would emit from the vehicle during the first fifty miles of driving after refueling. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 83,000.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #8

Aug 022011

E320

  • 41,190 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercedes Benz E320. The contact stated that there was an overpowering gasoline smell inside the vehicle, interfering with the contacts ability to operate the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the dealer advised that the fuel tank was leaking abnormally and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not contacted. The contact was concerned that the leaking fuel tank could result in a fire and that the vehicle was unsafe to drive. The failure mileage was 41,190.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #7

Apr 152011

E320

  • 62,000 miles
Vehicle was acting normally up to incident. Entering highway accelerating like normal and pulled out in front of tractor trailer when suddenly car had dramatic and frightening loss of power. Full throttle did nothing. Downshifting did nothing. With truck horns blaring and near collision, I pulled off the road. Restarting cleared the problem. Dramatic loss of power has occurred three more times with no warning nor check engine light. Now light comes on with egr out of range code. Discussing this with other Mercedes diesel owners points towards soot clogged egr valve and soot clogged intake manifold. How such a problem could occur so frequently at such a low mileage with a company known for diesels is unknown.

- Fort Mill, SC, USA

problem #6

May 012011

E320

  • miles
2005 Mercedes Benz E320. Consumer states fuel filter assembly problem the consumer stated after refueling the vehicle, a strong odor of gas was present. After the fuel filter problem was diagnosed, the mechanic had no idea there was also a gas tank problem. The next month, the strong odor of gas was back again. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the consumer was informed the fumes were coming from the gas tank due to a defect in the gas tank design. A hold was discovered in the gas tank under the passenger compartment.

- Laveen, AZ, USA

problem #5

Jan 022011

E320 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
Gas leak rear tanks Mercedes E320, gas leaks out when tank is full, dealer says to not to; off tank. Cill cost $2200 to fix. No warranty. Car only 5 years old and needs new gas tank. Dealer should pay for this kind of maintenance, is replacing gas tank every 5 years typical maintenance? this could cause fire, very dangerous.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #4

Feb 012009

E320

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercedes Benz E320. The contact stated that there was an overpowering gasoline odor in the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed the failure as a fracture in the fuel tank. The manufacturer was contacted who did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 50,000 and current mileage was 77,000.

- Visalia, CA, USA

problem #3

Jan 142011

E320

  • 51,000 miles
Car bought off lease from Mercedes Benz credit at auction. Almost immediately began to smell strong fuel vapor odor when the car was filled with fuel. Determined that fuel tank is made out of plastic. This plastic fuel tank had a crack in it. It had to be replaced at my cost. I believe this should be a national recall and be paid for by Mercedes Benz. Online, there are many reports of this occurring in other Mercedes E320's like mine. The dealer admitted replacing over 20 of these fuel tanks per month.

- Stone Mountain, GA, USA

problem #2

Jan 152011

E320

  • 52,000 miles
TL-the contact owns a 2005 Mercedes Benz E320. The vehicle was parked in the contacts garage when the contact could smell a strong odor of gasoline. The vehicle was recently refueled prior to the failure. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop where the contact was told the fuel tank was leaking. The was in the process of being repaired. The failure and current mileages were 52,000. Sm.

- Stone Mountain, GA, USA

problem #1

Jan 152009

E320 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercedes-Benz E320. While the vehicle was parked he noticed a gasoline odor and a leak on the garage floor. The contact started the vehicle and the check engine light illuminated on the dashboard. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for the failure. The dealer performed a diagnostic test and it was determined that there was a spurge leak. The dealer performed a smoke test which did not determine the cause of failure. The computer was reprogrammed on January 12, 2009. The contact noticed a fuel smell every time he added fuel to the vehicle after the dealer reprogrammed the computer. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer on May 6, 2010. The dealer replaced the fuel seal in the fuel tank sending unit. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer on January 31, 2011 and the dealer advised him that the fuel tank needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not been repaired since the fuel tank was no longer under warranty. The failure mileage was 49,000 and the current mileage was 70,000. Updated 04/08/11 updated 12/28/2011

- Chattanooga, TN, USA

Not what you are looking for?