Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.2

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,179 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Mercedes-Benz E320 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Mercedes-Benz E320:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Mercedes-Benz E320 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #39

Aug 202014

E320 6-cyl

  • 106,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Fuel leak and strong odor of fuel after fill up. Fumes are highly flammable, toxic and noxious. Thought this issue was addressed under NHTSA action # EA13003 (dated Dec 19th 2014) and Mercedes is telling me they are unaware of any extended warranty to correct this highly dangerous issue and refusing to correct as agreement plainly calls for. Please help. I don't want myself or wife burned alive in my car !

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

problem #38

Jan 072013

E320 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
1. fueling the vehicle- after fueling the vehicle and filling up the tank, a very very strong odor of gasoline/fumes stays in the cabin of the vehicle days or until gas tank drops down to under half a tank. 2. fumes are so strong, causes occupants headaches and nausea 3. vehicle stopped on idle- when coming to a complete stop, vehicle begins to choke, as if its about to turn off. Need to put the car on neutral and press the accelerator to stop the car from choking. 4. turning- when making turns- the vehicle will randomly choke as if not receiving any gas, and as if its about to turn off. The power steering also goes inactive, leaving it almost impossible to make the turn. This is very dangerous especially on left hand turns at intersections. I have stopped turning in front of oncoming vehicles because I do not trust the vehicles response. I cannot predict when these episodes of non-response to acceleration will occur.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #37

Nov 202014

E320 6-cyl

  • miles
Fuel leaking from real wheel area on driver side.

- Greenwood, IN, USA

problem #36

Aug 012011

E320 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Start date is approximate. This issue has been going on for around 4 years. Car has smelled strongly of gasoline when filled over 3/4 a tank. Also, when filled over 3/4 a tank gas can be seen dripping down beside driver side rear tire. Have spent several hundred dollars trying to get issue fixed until I heard about the investigation. The "check engine" light is continuously on due to a "fuel system leak." Who knows how much this has cost me in wasted gas, and I'm constantly afraid someone is going to light a cigarette next to my car and blow themselves up.

- Mt Pleasant, SC, USA

problem #35

Jul 022014

E320 6-cyl

  • 94,500 miles
There is a strong gas odor coming from the car, which is extremely strong after the car has been parked overnight in garage. This is a very dangerous problem that should be remedied on all effected models.

- Potomac, MD, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #34

Mar 012013

E320

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercedes Benz E320. The contact stated that there were strong gasoline fumes coming from the fuel tank whenever the vehicle was driven. While driving uphill, the fuel gauge did not display the correct reading. As a safety precaution the contact only put a half tank of gasoline to ensure that the fuel would not overflow or the strong odor would not emit from the gasoline tank. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who diagnosed that the fuel tank cap was leaking and the left and right fuel tanks needed to be replaced. The vehicle was inspected, diagnosed and repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact was not included in NHTSA action number: EA13003 (fuel system, gasoline). The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #33

Jul 312013

E320 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We start notice gas fumes smell when we filled our Mercedes-Benz up with gas & as we drove our vehicle the gas smell would stop, approximately 30 miles plus. As the months went on the incident would get worst at each fill-up. Sometime around February the check engine light came on so we took the vehicle to repair shop & they found gas leakage around the fuel pump under the back seat. As of today the issue is still going on with the gas smell.

- Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #32

Mar 222014

E320 6-cyl

  • 113,000 miles
A strong fuel odor was noticed on the rear driver's side of the vehicle after driving the car with a nearly full tank of gas. I removed the access panel beneath the rear seat on the driver's side and discovered fuel collecting in the well around the fuel sending unit. This is the second time in 3 years/30,000 miles that I have had this fuel leak. The first leak was repaired 3 years ago by replacing the fuel sending unit with a Mercedes oem unit. Clearly, Mercedes has not addressed the part/materials reliability issue that so many owners of the W211 E-class are experiencing. I am convinced that this is a design flaw in the fuel system of this vehicle and a recall of this vehicle model is warranted. This very well may be the last Mercedes Benz vehicle that I ever purchase. Photos of the leaking fuel sender can be provided upon request.

- Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #31

Dec 262013

E320 6-cyl

  • 119,848 miles
I noticed a strong fuel smell after a fillup, one more than one occasion, and the repair shop diagnosed a problem with the sensors and that fuel had leaked onto the top of the tank.. they did a repair job of over $1000 in December 2013. Then 3 months later, after a fill up I again noticed the strong fuel smell when the car was parked in my garage, and this time the service repair shop said it was an actual fuel tank leak. Further online research indicates that this problem is not unique to me and has happened to many E series cars and yet Mercedes Benz hasn't addressed it with a recall (yet part wholesalers have multiple replacement tanks in stock). Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Milton, GA, USA

problem #30

May 042012

E320 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
One day I fill my tank with gas & when I get in my car I smell gasoline. I'm thinking I stepped in some gas at the gas station. I come home & park. As I exit my car & come around the passenger side I'm smelling gas. For the next few days the gas smell continues to suffocate me. I got on the internet & googled " I smell gas in my 2005 E320". I was shocked to see that lots of other people were having the same problem. The no-cost solution was not to fill your tank, only halfway but then your constantly stopping for gas smh. Why don't the dealers want to fix this problem"? is this the reputation that Mercedes wants to create?"

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #29

May 082013

E320 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I filed with your Agency last year and never heard back I am the owner of a 2005 E class. After several calls to Mercedes, the fuel tank was replaced at the dealership here in seattle last year.I paid for the repairs and Mercedes paid for the new tank. My out of pocket for this repair was close to $2000 it has been apprx 15 months and I have notice again some fuel smell inside my vehicle. Of course I was not given any paperwork for the replacement of the fuel tank, but is on record at the dealership. I fell like I am driving on top of a fuel bomb and will I be the 1st victim of a terrible accident. I feel stuck with this car and the dealership pretends to have never heard of this fuel leak and fumes penetrating the interior of the car. What is happening with this issue? do not let Mercedes get away with that. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Langley,, WA, USA

problem #28

Mar 012014

E320 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Dear sir or madam, every time we fueled up our vehicle we noticed a strong gas smell inside our garage as well as the vehicle cabin. We have called the dealer to check to see if there is any recall concerning the gas leak defect in this type of vehicle but they said there were no recall in effect. We are seriously concern about the safety of this vehicle for our family (may cause fire in the cabin, etc.) so we are request a defect investigation of the fuel system in this vehicle. Please note our car has relatively low mileage and we have other vehicles with much higher mileage but we did not experience with the similar problem. Thank you in advance for the time!

- Lorton, VA, USA

problem #27

Mar 022014

E320 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
For the past 2 years I have been smelling a strong gas smell coming from the car/garage after filling it up. I had been putting it off as no big deal, but today my whole house smelled like gas after I filled the tank last night and parked the car in the garage. We had to clear the house thinking we had some gas leak before I realized it was coming from the car. I have read that is a common problem in this car and an investigation was started last year. This seems to be a very hazardous situation as I assume it could lead to a fire or explosion. I'm afraid to go to the dealer cause I know they will probably say to replace the tank or sensor or both, all which could lead into a several thousand dollar repair. But because I am seeing that many people are having this same problem with this car and an investigation is going on, there must be something I can do to get this fixed before something bad happens. This is clearly a manufacturer problem. Please help.

- Hickory, ND, USA

problem #26

Dec 192013

E320 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
There is a very strong smell of gasoline in the cabin of the car after I fill the gas tank. The smell persists until about one-eighth to one-quarter of the tank has been used then dissipates. I have read where this is a common problem for this class and year of Mercedes. I just purchased the car. Is there a recall to solve this problem" if so, is there a reference number" if not, is there a service bulletin issued by your Agency or by Mercedes to its dealers to fix the problem. Mercedes should be compelled to fix this. The gas fumes are nearly incapacitating and certainly impair safe driving.

- Oro Valley , AZ, USA

problem #25

Sep 022013

E320 6-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
Strong smell of gasoline inside and outside of vehicle after filling up gas tank. Any recalls?

- North Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #24

Sep 202013

E320 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercedes Benz E320. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for routine maintenance when the contact was informed that there was a leak in the fuel tank valve. The technician stated that the fuel tank would need replacing. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 78,000....updated 11-18-13

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #23

Sep 042012

E320 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Mercedes-Benz E320. The contact stated that after refueling, a gasoline odor was inside the cabin. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it was found that the fuel sending unit had failed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 100,000.....updated 10-21-13 gas was leaking upwards from the sending unit, under the rear seat. Updated 10/23/13

- Valley Stream, NY, USA

problem #22

Feb 092012

E320 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
When the fuel tank is filled 100% there is a very strong fuel odor, which can be smelled in the outdoors but is extremely strong when parked in the attached garage. This odor is so strong that it enters the house, and we have to leave the garage door wide open for fear of a spark causing a fire. If one looks under the car there is no dripping. The odor does not go away until the fuel tank is no longer completely full. The fuel leak stops after we are down a couple gallons from completely full fuel tank. I have pulled the back seat and seen that the there is gasoline pooling around the fuel pump (fuel delivery module). I am concerned that a rear end collision would cause the leaking fuel to combust.

- Longmont, CO, USA

problem #21

Apr 102009

E320 6-cyl

  • 71,748 miles
In 2009 we started to notice the smell of gasoline coming into the passenger compartment and strongly from the left read wheel well following filling the tank with gas. At times the smell of gasoline would be so strong that the vehicle had to be parked outside of the garage and left open to vent the interior. In all, this vehicle has been serviced for this issue with the fuel sending seals or the fuel sending unit 9 times. All instances, save one, were reported by the dealer to be the seals as the culprit. I have all of my service documentation on these service events. Recently, as a result of a "check engine" light, my mechanic found again that the seal was leaking. On this occasion he reported fuel pooled on the top of the tank and evidence that fuel had been spilling around and down the tank...updated 09/30/13 updated 11/1/2013

- Granite Falls, NC, USA

problem #20

Mar 012013

E320 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The car has a strong gasoline smell both in the passenger compartment as well as outside the car after filling the gas tank. This smell persists for several days, until the tank gets to below 3/4 full, at which time the fuel smell goes away. The strong fuel smell returns when the tank is again refilled to full capacity. The seals around the fuel pump and sending unit at the top of the tank were replaced twice with factory Mercedes-Benz parts by a qualified mechanic, and this has not stopped the problem. There appears to be a leak in the gas tank or other fuel system component. The mechanic inspected the fuel sending unit and did not see any fuel leaks at that point, leaving me to suspect a leaking gas tank.

- Arvada, CO, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?