Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,991 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Mercury Mountaineer transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Mercury Mountaineer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Mercury Mountaineer Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #35

Jan 012009

Mountaineer

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Mercury Mountaineer. The contact stated that a loud popping noise could be heard whenever the vehicle was shifted into reverse. The contact also stated that the vehicle would jerk into reverse and a burning odor was present during one of the occurrences. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop on various occasions and the contact was informed that the transmission fluid needed to be replaced. The transmission fluid was replaced on numerous occasions, but the failure continued. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 100,000. Updated 10/4/11 updated 10/21/11

- Murphy, NC, USA

problem #34

Jun 242011

Mountaineer

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mercury Mountaineer. The contact stated that the vehicle was parked, with the rear lift gate opened, when it began to roll backwards. While attempting to enter the moving vehicle, the contact was knocked down and sustained injuries. The vehicle continued to roll backwards until crashing into a tree. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. There was an investigation open under NHTSA action number: EA09013 (steering power train:automatic transmission:gear position indication (prndl) steering:column steering:column locking:anti-theft device) that may be related to the failure. The failure mileage was 82,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- New London, WI, USA

problem #33

May 242010

Mountaineer

  • 70,000 miles
I have a used 2004 Mercury Mountaineer I purchased in 12/2008 it had 53,000 miles. I have done all of the required maintenance oil changes, brake pads, fluid changes, and 60,000-mile service package. I have nothing but problems with the vehicle. The failures I have are as follows: 1. front/rear brake pads, front/rear rotors, spark plugs, -defected parts 2. battery 3. tires-constant flats 4. lug torque-driver front/rear 5. hood shocks, tire pressure sensor light 6. transmission fluid leak/ front pump seal leak 7. noise at harmonic balancer 8. roar noise and shakes at all speeds 9. hub assemblies making noise front left/right side; unless replaced vehicle unsafe to drive per Ford dealership 10. Brake pads- front/rear need to be replaced going bad (second time needing to be replaced) 11. Needs front alignment-pulls to the right side 12. Fuel filter 13. Needs all new tires 14. Ignition coil -defective needs to be replaced 15. Vehicle gear shifter is stuck while driving won't shift at all sometimes stays stuck at certain speed won't move 16.universal joints 17. Axle housing gasket repairs and corrections done on vehicle: 1.new brake pads on front/rear, replaced spark plugs, resurfaced front/rear rotors.- 8/2009 2.battery replaced- 4/2010 3.tires-flats repaired/patched -8/2010,11/2010,2/2011 4.have not repaired/replaced 5.have not repaired/replaced 6.replaced seal, transmission filter and fluid changed, replaced seal-oil-6/2011 7.have not repaired/replaced 8. vehicle is shaking and loud roar noise hasn't been fixed-6/2011 9.hub assemblies front left/right side replaced -6/2011 10.have not replaced/repaired 11.have not replaced/repaired 12.fuel filter replaced-6/2011 13. Bought brand new set of tires -6/2011 14.ignition coil replaced-10/2009 15. Have not repaired/replaced 16. Have not repaired/replaced 17. Axle housing gasket replaced-04/2011.

- The Woodlands, TX, USA

problem #32

May 302011

Mountaineer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 114,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Automatic transmission shifter completely broke off when changing from park to drive on a 2004 Mercury Mountaineer.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #31

Jul 012010

Mountaineer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mercury Mountaineer. The contact stated that the vehicle began to experience a very hard shift when changing gears and driving any speed. The vehicle would also surge forward slightly during the hard shifts. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they were unable to diagnose the failure. The contact also stated that the gear shift lever felt abnormally loose whenever operated. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 68,000 and the current mileage was 71,000. Updated 3/7/11 updated 03/14/11

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #30

Dec 252010

Mountaineer 6-cyl

  • 67,848 miles
Have a little over 67,000 miles on vehicle. Driving at highway speed transmission indicator came on, O/D indicator flashes and service engine indicator came on. Transmission shifts roughly from 1st gear to 2nd, and does not have overdrive. Service station ran diagnostic which resulted in 4 service codes: PO732, PO735, PO775, and PO1744. These codes were also confirmed by aamco transmission. The result appears to be transmission solenoid pack, along with rebuild of the transmission.

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #29

Dec 152010

Mountaineer 8-cyl

  • 47,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Mercury Mountaineer V8, 47,000 miles. Transmission is shot. It slipped in and out or reverse (creating a very dangerous situation since I could not control the vehicle when it was in reverse) and it struggled to shift gears in drive. No warning light before the problems began. The vehicle aged out of warranty in July 2010. Ford will not pay for anything (although the dealer is cutting me a break on the service costs).

- Mountain View, CA, USA

problem #28

Oct 022010

Mountaineer

  • 131,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mercury Mountaineer. The contact noticed that when driving, the transmission was unable to be shifted into second or fifth gear. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who informed the contact that the transmission needed to be replaced. The contact called the manufacturer who took a complaint but offered no further assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 131,000.

- Cedar Grove, IN, USA

problem #27

Sep 202010

Mountaineer 6-cyl

  • 69,469 miles
2004 Mercury Mountaineer. Transmission failing 69,469 miles on vehicle. Tailgate cracked also. Not sure if worth repairing.

- Tarentum, PA, USA

problem #26

Apr 012010

Mountaineer

  • 100,000 miles
Transmission rebuild at 100,000 miles, 6 yrs old. Feel like it is too soon to have this kind of problem. I understand this has been a quite a common problem too. The body panel under the back glass is also cracked.

- Coaling, AL, USA

problem #25

Jan 222010

Mountaineer

  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Mercury Mountaineer sometimes jerk really hard when put in reverse gear. Twice, it jerked so hard, I had to slam on the brakes, cause it was backing back fast. Really scared me. Other times, it jerks hard, but stays put until I press the gas. I never know when this will happen, there is no warning. Took truck to Mercury dealer once, over a year ago. Said they checked, but couldn't find anything. Vehicle is paid for. No longer have warranty. About 3 weeks ago when the last jerk occurred.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #24

Oct 232008

Mountaineer

  • 64,000 miles
2004 Mercury Mountaineer with 64,000 miles, transmission started to make noises, about a week later it would not shift. Shop said some grove in something in the transmission. Had it fixed for $3,000. Later found out the transmission was out at 10,000 miles before we bought it. Also had a 2004 Lincoln aviator with 54,000 on it and had to fix the transmission, shop said there was some grove on some part in the transmission. Very expensive problems with low miles.

- Fond Du Lac, WI, USA

problem #23

Dec 122009

Mountaineer

  • 100,000 miles
Here is the E-mail I sent to Ford regarding what is going on. : my name is leanne freeman I own a 2004 Mercury Mountaineer, I have been having transmission trouble with the car since I bought it. I am concerned that I am not the only person having this trouble I looked on the internet and was able to find 25,000 pages of people having the same trouble many of which have made contact with Ford. I am concerned that Ford knows there is a problem and has done nothing to fix it. Why have they not done some kind of recall I could see if this problem had only happened to a hand full of people but there is over 25,000 pages with each page having over 50 post per page of owners having this same problem "??? I have saved all the info from all the people having this problem if you would like me to forward it to you I will be happy to thank you for your time leanne freeman www.carcomplaints.com/Mercury/Mountaineer/2002/transmission/od_light_came_on.shtml wiki.answers.com/Q/why_would_the_transmission_on_A_mercury_mountaineer_keep_shifting_hard www.Ford-problems.com/Explorer-transmission-problems.htm townhall-talk.edmunds.com/direct/view/.F1C1B35 www.google.com/search"hl=en&ei=jsuks6K0ens0tgeig4jjbw&sa=X&oi=spell&resnum=1&ct=result&cd=1&ved=0cdyqbsga&Q=transmission+problems+on+Mercury+Mountaineer&spell=1 www.carsurvey.org/reviews/Mercury/Mountaineer/R65436/comments/page-2/ www.carcomplaints.com/Mercury/Mountaineer/2002/transmission/transmission_failure.shtml www.carsurvey.org/reviews/Mercury/Mountaineer/R65436/comments/ townhall-talk.edmunds.com/direct/view/.F0ff573.

- Hendersonville, TN, USA

problem #22

Sep 142004

Mountaineer

  • 29,225 miles
Problems with transmission in my 2004 Mercury Mountaineer. When in park and shifting in reverse it delays and then a loud hard clunk. It also clunks from going into second gear. My car is out of the standard 36,000 miles/ 3 year warranty. I am very disappoint in Ford. The car hasn't even hit 30,000 miles yet.

- Campbell, CA, USA

problem #21

Apr 182009

Mountaineer

  • 28,000 miles
During the later part of June 2008, I purchased a 2004 Mercury Mountaineer from carmax at the Chicago ridge location in Illinois which had 28,579 miles. According to the carfax report and sales person, this vehicle had successfully passed the 100 point inspection, and under normal driving condition this car had no major mechanical or electrical defects. Within the first 30 days I noticed a slight delay between shifting gears began to manifest, so naturally, I took the car immediately back to carmax. Since the problem exceeded their ability to fix it, I was instructed by carmax to take the car back to its original manufacturer, which is your organization, Ford. On July 1st 2008 a Ford mechanic at the 95th western location reported that they reprogrammed the truck, replaced vibration damper, and worked on the pulley-crankshaft. The delay ceased for a short period of time. Within the next few months, the problem reappeared in an even greater capacity than before as now the gears between the forward and reverse proceeded to produce a kick back motion. I decided to get a second written mechanical opinion from meineke transmission and muffler on 107th western, only to be told that the transmission was bad. Since the 100 point inspection on the carfax did not indicate such, as I would like to believe that carmax would not have sold me the car in that condition, I decided to get yet another written opinion. Once again, by another independent mechanic at lucha's auto repair in South Chicago, I was told that not only was the transmission bad but that it had to have been that way upon my original purchase as the year of the car (2004) is not commensurate with the degree of damage to the transmission as the car is less than six years old. Let me also state that the car is also under 50,000 miles.

- South Holland, IL, USA

problem #20

Mar 082009

Mountaineer

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Mercury Mountaineer. While the vehicle was turned off, the contact's two year old son grabbed the key and placed it in the ignition. He attempted to start the vehicle, but the engine never ignited. The child then proceeded to place the shifter in either neutral or drive and the vehicle began to roll approximately 350 feet down a hill. The vehicle crashed into a brush-hog and a Honda vehicle before finally coming to a stop when it crashed into a building. The child sustained a contusion and lacerations to his head, chest, and legs. The vehicle was towed and is currently at a salvage yard. The police stated that even though the vehicle was not started, the gears were able to be shifted, which should not have occurred. A police report was filed. The contact believes that the failure was due to a manufacturer defect and they should be held accountable. The speed was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 59,000.

- Pineville, MO, USA

problem #19

Mar 042009

Mountaineer

  • 71,000 miles
My vehicles transmission had slipped once and took it in as soon as it happened to a Mercury dealer for service and they changed fluid and filter now it don't have reverse or forward gears unless I shift it manually the dealer said if they change fluid it will get worse and it did so they are aware of the problem why wasn't a recall given for this vehicles transmission plus there is no dip stick on the transmission to check the fluid now I have a vehicle that needs a transmission that has to be replaced at a cost of 3500 dollars and is out of warranty I am very disappointed that a car company can get away with this.

- Iuka, MS, USA

problem #18

Oct 022008

Mountaineer

  • 85,000 miles
Transmission is slipping. I noticed when putting vehicle in reverse it jerks real hard into gear. Also coming to a stop and when taking off from a stop the truck will jerk.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #17

May 012008

Mountaineer

  • miles
Transmission slipping and recently within this month noticed a crack in the liftgate and the liftgate will not rise fully.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #16

Mar 242008

Mountaineer 6-cyl

  • 42,500 miles
Transmission delay and then slamming into gear, sometimes causing the vehicle to lunge forward or backward.

- Urbana, OH, USA

Read the next 15 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?