Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,994 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Mini Cooper engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Mini Cooper:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Mini Cooper Owner Comments

problem #9

Aug 052016


  • 20,670 miles


Check engine light-- coolent thermostat sticking per alldata shows thermostat housing w/thermostat, sensor etc, shows recall for these parts updated.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #8

Jul 142016


  • 45,500 miles
Water pump failure. Began to notice small amount of liquid under car in April 2016, thought it was condensation from A/C. leak worsened and called MINIin June 2016 to check it out. Water pump failure on vehicle with 45,500 miles. Class action lawsuit settlement agreed in California in March waiting on final approval of terms due in November 2016. BMW knows this is a defective part. Water pump failure from defective part could have catastrophic effects if automobile is in motion at any speed.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #7

Jun 212016


  • 24,239 miles
Driving 45 mph on busy city four-lane road, I braked gradually in approach to red light, which is my normal braking style. Car did not come to a complete stop--brakes only worked to a point but did not completely stop car; simultaneously engine revved to very high RPM. I threw transmission into park and turned off ignition lest my car Ram car ahead of me. Very frightening. At previous two lights I had noticed that brakes were acting funny, not bringing car to a complete stop but I had left plenty of braking distance and was able to let car roll to a stop, in spite of brakes not effecting a complete stop. At those two lights the runaway engine (high RPM) did not occur or I would have pulled over right then. However, engine revving to high RPM has also occurred occasionally when pulling into garage but I had not given this a lot of thought because I have quickly turned off ignition. Now I know it's very dangerous situation. Of course I am not driving it but am having it towed to dealer for repair. The car has been serviced regularly at dealer and has 24,239 miles on it. There has never been a necessity for repairs on this MINICooper clubman.

- Walnut Creek, CA, USA

problem #6

Apr 042016


  • 10,800 miles


The contact owns a 2012 MINICooper. While the vehicle was undergoing an oil change, the technician diagnosed that there was a leakage on the oil control valve. As a result, the technician stated that the oil control valve needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 10,800.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #5

Mar 282016


  • 0 miles
Engine rattling noise (timing chain and tensioner) at all times, vehicle has only 50,000 miles

- Canovanas, PR, USA

problem #4

Nov 152015


  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 MINICooper. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 40 mph, the engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the turbo charger and the water pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 55,000. The VIN was not available.

- Fairburn, GA, USA

problem #3

Jul 142015


  • 66,000 miles


The contact owned a 2012 MINICooper. While driving approximately 20 mph, the contact crashed into the preceding vehicle after it stopped without warning. The vehicle was merged into a parking lot, where the contact noticed some minor damage to the front of the vehicle and smoke appeared under the hood as a fire started. The fire department extinguished the fire. The vehicle was destroyed. There were no injuries. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 66,000. The VIN was not available.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #2

May 202014


  • 20,705 miles
Check engine light came on. Cause: Heating fault code in diagnosis(thermostat activation). Thermostat, housing, and adapter replaced. Removed and replaced coolant, checked cooling system for leaks. 06/17/2015 check engine light has come on again, and after taking to dealership it appears to be the thermostat again.

- Webster, TX, USA

problem #1

Oct 142013

Cooper 4-cyl

  • 9,030 miles
Purchased a certified pre-owned MINInext 2012 clubman 6-speed with 6,498 miles on it 08/2013. * 10/14/2013 around 9K miles lost power on the highway and went into limp mode, maneuvered to side of highway and called roadside assistance. Towed car in to dealer who replaced 4 spark plugs said all was ok. * 10/17/2013 I pick the car up, get 3 miles from dealer on interstate and the car does it again so I maneuvered off the closest exit and called roadside assistance. Towed back into dealer and they kept car until 26th. They said the dme was bad and replaced it and 4 fuel injectors. * 10/30/2013 car did it again and I drove home in limp mode, car was shaking and sounded like a 1970 VW beetle, nearly died at every idle, rough, acceleration and I called roadside assistance and they had car towed from my driveway back to dealer./5/2013 dealer still has car.

- Alto, GA, USA

Not what you are looking for?