Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

7.0

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
8,435 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Nissan 350Z suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Nissan 350Z:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Nissan 350Z Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #31

Aug 292005

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 6,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1> tires on new car wore out after 6000 miles 2> alignment of new car off so bad at purchase, that tires were unsafe after driven a few thousand miles. 3> dealer replaced front tires and realigned at 13,687 miles

- Prescott, AK, USA

problem #30

Dec 012006

350Z 6-cyl

  • 9,169 miles
Fax from (md) re the problems he has experienced with his defective 2003 Nissan touring model 350 Z. the consumer stated he received a recall letter/tsb regarding premature tire wear and a roaring noise. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealer and was told there was nothing wrong with the tires. The consumer tried to explain that he could hear the noise. The consumer examined the vehicle himself and could clearly see there was a problem. The tires were wearing on the inside toe. The dealer agreed to replaced the tires, however they had to be special ordered. The consumer returned to have the tires replaced. However, one month later within 3,000 miles the consumer had to return to the dealer for uneven tire wear. During the tire replacement for the second time, it was discovered that a rear strut needed to be replaced. The consumer requested a buy back of the vehicle due to the faulty suspension system of the vehicle.

- Joppa, MD, USA

problem #29

Apr 062006

350Z 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles
Bought a 2003 Nissan 350Z used from keyes Nissan of woodland hills, ca. Tiptronic (auto/semi-manual) transmission needed to be replaced within 45 days. Now a whining noise that is still not fixed as well as excessive heat from shifter area that causes passengers to sweat & scalding hot to touch. Car hasn't seemed to run right since. Seems every 350Z owner has the same atypical problems-tire feathering, transmissions replaced, rear axles, power window motors fail(the last 2 are my next trip to the dealer). Nissan needs to fix our nightmare. Nissan support is nonexistent as well, which makes your ordeal all the more miserable.

- Canoga Park, CA, USA

problem #28

Jan 102005

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 28,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle turned off in the middle of a rainstorm when I was driving on the highway and ended up on the road where I didn't have much of a pull out which could have been disastrous if another vehicle had not been aware due to the conditions on the roadway. The result of this is due to burning of oil which the manufacturer has no idea of what causes this! they just order a consumption test and rarely does what they are supposed to! which is replace the motor as they did in my case but not without a fight!I went to the BBB whom ordered Nissan to replace the motor along with other fixes for suspension and window motor but those are separate issues. They replaced motor but it still ended up breaking down again twice after and they don't want to fix! it broke down about 6 thousand miles after the new motor.

- Santa Rosa, CA, USA

problem #27

Jan 102004

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 29,000 miles
I was driving the car in a rainy stormy night North bound hwy 101 on January 10th 2004 when my 2003 Nissan 350Z stopped with a huge clunk in the motor compartment and came to a rolling stop to the side of the road where there was not much shoulder space and poor visibilty that night!apparently this vehicle has been burning oil 1qt pr thousand miles! I didnt know this from getting regular oil changes at aroung the 3K marker! kept getting oil consumption test but no corrective action was taken by manufacturer until I went to the BBB! then Nissan was forced to replace motor, clutch, tires which ive been having issues long before this ever occured along with the window motors in which the windows kept giving out also! my vehicle broke down again some 1000 miles after the new motor! my car kept stalling at a stop light! I had the vehicle taken to the Nissan dealer where I almost had to fight with the sevice rep to get it taken care of under warranty! about 3K miles after the new motor was replaced and installed I had the vehicle taken to get an oil change and the car was almost 3qts low again! yes the car still keeps burning oil!Nissan did not want to do anything about it! I kept calling Consumer Affairs whom kept passing my file around to one rep and another. I finally broke down 3-4 thousand miles later and have been for over a month with a vehicle that does not run and no assurance from the dealer who fixed my motor less than 7K miles ago. This car has been giving me problems since the first few months ive had it.

- Santa Rosa, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #26

May 302003

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Front tire feathering every 10-12K miles. The front tires have been replaced 4 times, this last time the tires only lasted 8K miles. Something has to be wrong with the suspension.

- White House, TN, USA

problem #25

Jul 222004

350Z 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,128 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I leased my 350Z in Aug 2003 and on 7/22/2004 with 9128 miles on the vehicle I took it in for service due to loud roaring when braking in the front end.the dealer replaced the front tires and aligned the front at no cost to me.on 2/15/2005 with 13782 miles I have now brought the car in once again with the same growing noise and the dealer once again has stated I need new front tires and another front end alignment.he stated that they would install at no cost to me but the warranty on this would be up after 8/23/2005.it appears that Nissan has only a temporary fix on for this problem and I guess I will be responsible for the tires and alignment after the 2 years.

- Lebanon, OH, USA

problem #24

Sep 012003

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 10,000 miles
While driving 20-30 mph a rumbling noise came from the front. Vehicle was taken to the dealer. Dealer replaced two sets of front tires, and the front control arm. However, the problem recurred.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #23

Nov 152003

350Z

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,279 miles
The suspension problem is reoccurring, and mis-diagnosed a. roar from front suspension under 40 mph. First attempted repair @ 7,279 miles. Changed brake pads and turned rotors. Attempt failed, roar remained. B. roar & pulls to the right at highway speed. Second attempted repair @ 7,720 miles. Changed right side compression rod. Pull to right corrected, roar remained. C. roar severe, visual damage{feathering} on inside edge of front tires. Third attempted repair @ 11,077 miles. Rotated front tires side to side, off rims {directional tires} also did four wheel alignment. Roars less, but still very noisy. At 12,000 miles noise increasing, new feathering now appearing on inside of front tires. This suspension problem not corrected

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #22

Oct 152003

350Z

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,420 miles
Tire feathering, on front end seems to be non-correctable resulting in repetitive premature replacement of tires. I was told by service mgn. That caster adjustment is at full, and can not correct for the towin causing the tire wear.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #21

Jun 012003

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The tires began to feather and wear unevenly within the first 5000 miles of owning the car. The tires began to cup. The car now has extremely loud road noise. It is loader than any normal sports car should be and is horrible to drive. It is very nerve racking. The tire wear could be dangerous and result in a flat or blow out. The tire wear is probably due to a suspension issue with the car. Nissan has service records issued. Nissan told the dealer to swap my two front wheels, but this did nothing.

- Seven Fields, PA, USA

problem #20

Nov 202003

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 3,000 miles
I recently (9-13-03) purchase a 2003 Nissan 350Z track edition with 2500 miles. I purchased it at dobbs Nissan in memphis, tn 38115. In purchasing the vehicle I notice a little road noise that I though was normal coming from a car with 18" wheels. It did not appear to be a problem at first. After my first service visit at dobbs Nissan I notice the noise getting louder, I address this problem with tj (service advisor at jim keras Nissan 2110 covington pike, memphis, tn 38128) along with a list of other problems. Tj diagnose the noise and suggested that I rotate the tires, he also indicated that the tires are scheduled to be rotated at or around 5,000 miles. My response was that the car was making the noise when I first purchase the vehicle and that it progressivly got worse. After coming to a dead end at jim keras Nissan about replacing the tires under warranty I pursued to contacting Nissan usa refering to the entire service ticket, but specifically the tires. I was refered to Firestone in which refered me to a local dealer (Firestone 4035 austin-peay hwy, memphis, tn 38128). I was scheduled to bring my car in that evening. I meet with jesse ( store manager), he evaluated all four tires and inform me that the front tires were not defective but had uneven wear, possibly due to misalingment or worn suspension components. Jesse also inform me that he didn't think it was the tires but, he was willing to absord 50% of the cost of replacing the tires per Firestone's approval. He made a call to Nissan usa (rep. Alex morgan) to get them to ok the other 50%. Nissan declined that resolution. They (Nissan usa & Firestone) are using the consumer to slove issues that should be handled by their companies. I was given the run-around from both Nissan and Firestone. Giving the nature of all complaints, I wonder when will Nissan accept the responsibility of repairing or replacing whats wrong? I hope not when someone is hurt or killed!

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #19

Dec 092003

350Z

  • miles
Tires are feathering after about 4000 miles, road noise is extremely loud, Nissan has done nothing to correct the problem, tires should not be ruined after only 4000 miles.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #18

Dec 042003

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 4,000 miles
Tire wear caused by faulty suspension. After 3000 miles tires started to "roar" when coming to a stop and tire noise while driving begins to increase.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #17

Apr 102003

350Z

  • 4,500 miles
Cupping and feathering of tires- causing road noise, poor traction, & handling. Per owner forums, due to suspension issues which effect allignment. Others have had problems recognized and fixed. My dealer and Nissan say there is no problem.

- Hiram, GA, USA

problem #16

Aug 092003

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 6,000 miles
There is a problem with the suspension of my 2003 Nissan 350Z, Nissan is not addressing or acknowledging the problem.

- Cypress, TX, USA

problem #15

Nov 182003

350Z 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
Nissan 350Z '03 suspension.

- Crawford, TX, USA

problem #14

Aug 052003

350Z 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Suspension on the 2003 Nissan 350Z is very harsh and makes ride noticably bouncy. Newer models of the car have the suspension fixed, but Nissan refuses to change out suspension on my vehicle

- Snellville, GA, USA

problem #13

Oct 102003

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 3,600 miles
I own a 2003 Nissan 350Z. I purchased the car on July 3rd, 2003. Since that purchase, the front tires have been "feathering" and all Nissan will do is pull the tires off and rotate the problem area to the outside of the wheel. Now the inside will start to "feather" thus creating the ride even rougher and more unstable. Not only is this causing excessive wear to the tires, but once rotated, it has increased the chance for a blowout even further. Nissan continues to Dodge my request for a suspension adjustment, as this is apparently the problem, by saying that it is not the suspension or the alignment, but the tires themselves (which is just not true.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #12

Nov 112003

350Z 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,900 miles
Nissan 350, problem with suspension causes tires to "cup" or "feather". this premature wear could be potentially dangerous.

- Houston, TX, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?