Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

7.1

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
8,014 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Nissan 350Z suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Nissan 350Z:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Nissan 350Z Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Oct 302007

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 13,363 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Front end mis-aligned at factory causing severe cupping of front tires at 13,000 miles. Friend had same problem. I had car into dealer 2 weeks before. Dealer did not say anything in spite of safety check. Matter of time before a blowout. After I found the problem, dealer aligned front end and pro-rated replacement tires. I wrote a letter to Nissan. Customer service says no recall planned. Very dangerous.

- Hanover Park, IL, USA

problem #20

Aug 282006

350Z

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
Front suspension, I have a 2004 Nissan 350Z and when driving there is a loud rumble. I pulled the front tires and found that both tires have wear on the inside. I called the dealer and they said that they were not aware of any problems.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #19

Aug 262006

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 0 miles
I have a 2004 Nissan 350Z which has had repeated "feathering" of the front tires. I have responded to the April 2004 tba now three (3) times. The first two times, Nissan claimed to have resolve the problem and replaced the front tires. The last time (which was less than 5000 miles ago), Nissan again claimed to have aligned the front end of the vehicle. The problem has now returned. There is no specific date for this incident since, evidently, it is occurring continuously.

- Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA

problem #18

Jul 202005

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 13,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Severe tire noise/cupping from front tires. There is feathering also. The front tires started making noise around 13,000 miles. There is now 20,000 and is almost undriveable because of the noise. The noise happens loudest when the car is braking.

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #17

Jul 182005

350Z 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
Contact states for the last 4 months the front end became very loud. It has a roaring noise in the front tire area. He talked to the dealer, and they told him the front end needed to be aligned, and he needed 2 new front tires because the inside of the tire was worn out. There were 11, 961 miles on the two front tires. Contact found a tsb on 4-04 about this problem. He did not consult the manufacturer. The dealer did not give consumer any idea why he was having this problem. It was a 2004 350Z convertible Nissan.

- Ewa Beach, HI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #16

May 302005

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
In April 2005 I purchased a Nissan 350zx from david mcdavid Nissan in houston Texas. I'm extremely disappointed the fact that the pre owned vehicle I purchase had previously been in a wreck. I wouldn't of known of this situation. I not taken the car in for service during memorial weekend, reason being the front suspension is making pop noise it seems it comes from motor mounts or joints, cracking noise in the rear right tire and the back right brake also squeaks. Had dan aldrich of the your service department not mention the car was in a wreck I would of never known. I told him how could that be if I just purchase the car back in April. I could not believe david mcdavid could sell pre owned vehicle under these conditions. I have sent the dealer customer service email with no reply

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #15

Jun 182005

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 12,548 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Oem tires (Bridgestone potenza RE040) on my Nissan 350Z started feathering on the inside of both front tires around 6000 miles. Noticed the sound had gotten more noticable around 11000 miles. Took vehicle into Nissan at 12548 miles and was told that Nissan had a problem with the front end on the 2003 model, but that it had been corrected. Heard from another source that there were several 2004 350Z cars that had the same problem.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #14

Jun 222005

350Z 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have a 2004 350Z roadster with the feathering problem. At first, it appears to be a break problem. The Nissan dealer did not cover this under warrenty even though it is covered until 12,000 miles. The stated that. " the right front may be damaged and that I needed to take it to a body shop and have the frame bent". I took it to a tire dealer and they told me it was out of alignment. My front tires were replaced and a front end alignment done at 11,000 miles. Only six months later at 16,500 the noise is still there. I took it to a differerent Nissan dealer and they stated the alignment was wayyyy off. They did a 4 wheel alignment. I was again charged $70. I called Nissan northamerica and althought they were responsive and talked to the dealer...... they ( Nissan ) calm this is not a problem with the 2004. I took the car back a week later stating that it pulled to the right a little ( there is a tsb on this ). the dealer said it was do the low tire pressure. Hmm they just had it in last week and this week the tires are already low? the checked the alignment and stated it was ok. The car drives ok... but the noise is still there especially at 20 to 30 when breaking. Only time will tell but I am not satisfied Nissan is doing what is needed to fix this problem. Tires don't wear out with 11,000 miles.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #13

Sep 092004

350Z 6-cyl

  • miles
Nissan 350Z VIN [xxx] at approx. 7700 miles car displayed roaring noise when braked. Noise became louder and consistent at low speed as mileage increased. Dealer (troy Nissan in trot, al.) showed me cupping/uneven wear on inside of front tires. As previous owner of 2003 Nissan 350Z, I recognized the problem. Repeated calls to Nissan corporate met with response that Nissan does not admit problem exists in 2004 model and refuses to replace tires as the was the practice with 2003 model. Believe this will constitute safety hazard as these cars get older and that Nissan must step up to the problem. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #12

Apr 062005

350Z 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have taken my 2004 350Z into the irvine Nissan dealership twice about the front tire noise making growling sounds. The work report only lists that there is tire ware, but no mention of my complaint about the tires. Documented oil change, tire wear, and suggest allignment (but would charge me for it). Took the car in a second time, and describbed the issue again. They refused to acknowledge the tires as an issue on 2004 vehicles, and stated on the vehicle work order order that they advised me about the tsb for 2003, and the condition does not exist on 2004. Argued with the manager who says they took the car for a drive to test the noise, but would still not do anything. Manager hung up on me. The vehicle still has the noise.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #11

May 012005

350Z

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1. purchased 2004 Nissan 350Z March 2004. By September 2004 and with only 9,000 miles, the car was experiencing a loud grinding sound upon application of the brake. The local dealership determined this was a suspension problem causing the tires to cup or feather and wear prematurely. The local dealership replaced both front tires and did an alignment. I was told the 2003 model 350Z had this problem but that it had been remedied. Obviously this problem has not been addressed properly as the same problem continues with the 2004 model. My car now has only 18,000 miles with only 9,000 of those miles on my new front tires, and the same problem has reoccurred. Customer service with Nissan's 800 number says my car is beyond the 12 month/12,000 mile warranty and they won't do anything. What should my next step be?

- Brandon, MS, USA

problem #10

May 012005

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 24,000 miles
I purchased a 2004 Nissan 350Z in August of 2003. After about 24000 miles I complained of excessive road noise comming for the tires. I was informed by the dealer that the front tire were cupping and had to be replaced. This seems to be a known problem with this car and Nissan acknowledged it on their 2003 model but continues to ignore it on their 2004 model claining that it has been addressed although they are not clear on how they addressed it. I fear that this problem if not addressed by Nissan will result in an unfortunate accident for someone unaware of the problem. It is suprising to me that auto manufacturers are not obligated to disclose these kind of known issues with their products. It seems that the dealers are notified but not the consumers who have bought their products.

- Santa Monica, CA, USA

problem #9

Apr 222005

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 6,000 miles
Vehicle front end is unable to be aligned despite four attempts by Nissan. Apparent design defect in the suspension causing tires to go bald at 6K miles. Car pulls to the right and is dangerous to drive. Car was supposed to have been fixed today. Car was picked up and died from electrical engine component failure immediately after being picked up. Car was towed back to Nissan again..

- Nanuet, NY, USA

problem #8

May 012004

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 3,000 miles
The front tires on my 04 Nissan 350Z are cupping every 3,000 miles Nissan will not repair my vehicle. They replaced one set of front tires after 8,000 miles. At 13,000 miles they refused to repair the vehicle again because it was out of an "adjustment" period of 12,000 miles. I would like Nissan to be required to honor there 3 year 36,000 mile warranty and repair my vehicle as well as replace my front tires.

- Blakely, GA, USA

problem #7

Aug 172004

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 10,000 miles
Car has progressively gotten worse, first starting having tire noise at 10,000 miles finally was able to take to dealer around 14,000 mile and dealer stated that it was just needing an alignment and tire rotation, dealer performed repair and the noise was a little better, after 1000 more miles noise got louder than before and dealer says there is nothing else they can do. There are reports of this problem everywhere yet Nissan chooses to ignore it, what am I able to do to get this fixed, it is not right that I buy a 30,000 dollar car and have to live with a problem like this. The vibrations from the tires are causing the dash and door to rattle now.

- Litchfield Park, AZ, USA

problem #6

Feb 252005

350Z 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
I purchased a 2004 Nissan 350Z in septmeber of 2003. After about 12000 miles I complained of excessive road noise comming for the tires. I was informed by the dealer that the front tire were cupping and had to be replaced. This seems to be a known problem with this car and Nissan acknowledged it on their 2003 model but continues to ignore it on their 2004 model claining that it has been addressed although they are not clear on how they addressed it. I fear that this problem if not addressed by Nissan will result in an unfortunate accident for someone unaware of the problem. It is suprising to me that auto manufacturers are not obligated to disclose these kind of known issues with their products. It seems that the dealers are notified but not the consumers who have bought their products.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #5

Jul 232004

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 19,085 miles
Front tires extremely feathered and cupped on inside of tire. Front end alignment problem produces load roar in cabin, excessive wear on tires, and poor handiling. Handling in rain extremly poor. Nissan refuses to listen to the customer or thier own service technicians on fixing the problem. Fear problem will not be recognized until fatality.

- Ballwin, MO, USA

problem #4

Oct 202004

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 13,000 miles
At about 13,000 miles my front tires started making a growling sound at or below 30 mph or while braking. Took car to Nissan to have front end inspected. Both tires were completely worn out. Nissan replaced both front tires and aligned all 4 wheels.

- Middleburg, FL, USA

problem #3

Jul 082004

350Z

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,300 miles
Consumer complained about front end noise. Consumer took the vehicle to the dealer, and was told that it was a tire defect. Front tires feathered from the inside relating to irregular tire wear. Dealer stated that they were replacing so many tires that the ones needed were back ordered. This started on September 18, 2004. The consumer stated that the problem lies with the suspension not the tire. The back tire of the vehicle is starting to feather.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #2

Oct 202004

350Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 10,000 miles
First noticed by vehicle owner at approximately 10000 miles, dealer confirmed at 12000 miles, my 2004 Nissan 350Z touring model has developed abnormal wear of inner edges of front tires--front tires forming a cupping shape. The result of this abnormal wear has created unstable handling and ride, but most importantly a safety concern with regard to tire performance and handling. Nissan has issued a service advisory bulletin acknowledging this very problem for the 2003 350Z mode, but not for the 2004 model. Nissan has indicated that the suspension is the primary problem for causing the abnormal tire wear and has authorized a partial fix to the problem. Nissan refuses to acknowledge this problem with the 2004 model--request investigation for safety concerns and consumer protection.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?