Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.1

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,600 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Nissan 370Z drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Nissan 370Z:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Nissan 370Z Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

May 142016

370Z

  • 39,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At around the md border, when driving home to NJ from tn, the clutch stuck to the floor. I couldn't change out of 6th gear, so I had to drive from that point without slowing enough to have to change gears or stopping. After I got off at my exit and hit a stop light, I forced it out of 6th gear before it stalled, then pumped the clutch (pressing it then lifting it back up with my foot) until I was able to get it into 1st then 3rd gear and I drove it most of the way to cherry hill Nissan in 3rd gear. At the light next to the dealership, pumped the clutch until I got it into first gear and could not change gears anymore. I had to drive the car into a parking spot then stall the engine by holding the brakes. The clutch sticking to the floor has happened to me a few times before, normally on long drives, but I was always able to pump the clutch a few times and it would return to normal. This happened at 39574 miles on the odometer. This was the first time I could not get it out of gear while driving. Being stuck in a gear is pretty scary. The concentric slave cylinder (csc) failure causes this problem. It has even happened on the 350Z and the GT-R. apparently, this is a very common problem with these cars. The first complaint on NHTSA was filed on 09/18/2010, and there have been a lot of complaints since then. Someone, please conduct a safety investigation. Edit 5/18/2016: I added a scan of my $1400 bill.

- Stratford, NJ, USA

problem #21

May 142016

370Z

  • 39,000 miles
At around the md border, when driving home to NJ from tn, the clutch stuck to the floor. I couldn't change out of 6th gear, so I had to drive from that point without slowing enough to have to change gears or stopping. After I got off at my exit and hit a stop light, I forced it out of 6th gear before it stalled, then pumped the clutch (pressing it then lifting it back up with my foot) until I was able to get it into 1st then 3rd gear and I drove it most of the way to cherry hill Nissan in 3rd gear. At the light next to the dealership, pumped the clutch until I got it into first gear and could not change gears anymore. I had to drive the car into a parking spot then stall the engine by holding the brakes. The clutch sticking to the floor has happened to me a few times before, normally on long drives, but I was always able to pump the clutch a few times and it would return to normal. This was the first time I could not get it out of gear while driving. Being stuck in a gear is pretty scary. The concentric slave cylinder (csc) failure causes this problem. It has even happened on the 350Z and the GT-R. apparently, this is a very common problem with these cars. The first complaint on NHTSA was filed on 09/18/2010, and there have been a lot of complaints since then. Someone, please conduct a safety investigation.

- Stratford, NJ, USA

problem #20

Mar 242016

370Z

  • 124,000 miles
The csc (clutch slave cylinder) failed when I was driving leaving me without any power. I cant drive my car anymore and I need to get the transmission dropped to fix it.

- Canoga Park, CA, USA

problem #19

Oct 192015

370Z

  • 51,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While pulling out or at stop red light the clutch pedal sunk to the floor, sometimes it stays on the floor, the clutch slave cylinder csc failure is a hazard.. I have had the master cylinder replaced but did not fix the issue

- Loudon, TN, USA

problem #18

Nov 212014

370Z

  • 51,000 miles
I was waiting in neutral at a red light when I noticed that the clutch pedal had sunk all the way to the floor and would not return to the engaged position. Because of this, I couldn't get the car into gear and ended up having to push the car out of the intersection onto the sidewalk where I then received a ticket for illegally parking even though the vehicle was completely undriveable. Later that week, I removed the transmission to discover that the concentric slave cylinder (csc) had disintegrated and all that was left was a few bits of rubber and plastic covered in clutch fluid. I've since replaced the part with a metal replacement that has performed flawlessly since. Incidences of csc failure are noted extensively on enthusiast forums, and Nissan has in most cases refused to repair the defect under warranty. This could be a serious safety concern if this failed while the vehicle was moving. The link to an online thread documenting many other failures is included below: www.the370Z.com/Nissan-370Z-general-discussions/25007-sticky-official-370Z-clutch-pressure-csc-failures-49.html

- Fairborn, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #17

Aug 132015

370Z

  • 58,620 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Nissan 370Z. The contact stated that the clutch failed to shift gears. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the slave cylinder seal needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 58,620.

- Gardner, KS, USA

problem #16

Jun 252014

370Z

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Constant problems with the clutch, car records shows clutch and csc has been replaced but is having problems yet again. Always feel ticking in the clutch pedal when disengaged, and clutch sticks when taking off from stop (not talking about launches or dropping gears). Also a lot of problems with electrical, like fuel gauge. Last but not least, lots of wind noise when on the freeway, and window gets stuck when closed on freeway. Have gone to dealership and of course they say theres nothing they can do even though forums show theres recalls.

- Granada Hills, CA, USA

problem #15

Aug 052015

370Z

  • 62,000 miles
This is the second major incident I've had with the transmission in my car. The first one was under warranty and the dealership replaced the entire transmission. Just yesterday and today, it feels like the clutch is failing once again. I haven't taken it in to Nissan yet, but the issues sound a lot like the dreaded csc (clutch slave cylinder) failure the Nissan refuses to recall. It's a truly problematic, expensive and life threatening issue. At best, the clutch sticks to the floor and you can't shift it into 1st gear. At worst, it happens while you're driving at highway speeds. Also, before it fails completely, the engagement point of the clutch changes drastically. The car has lunged forward because it just suddenly decides to engage the clutch. This is dangerous Nissan and absolutely abhorrent that it hasn't been resolved, failure after failure after failure. The dealerships knowingly keep a few of this part in stock, knowing it's common. 370Z owners have had enough of this!

- Farmingville, NY, USA

problem #14

Jun 072013

370Z

  • 65,000 miles
Part has failed 3 times. (1)@65K miles. Clutch slave cylinder failure.while coming to a stop I push clutch pedal in and it didnt release, and addition the clutch did not disengage creating a stopping issue. Could not get out of gear, causing the car to lunge forward when forcing to a stop.stuck in traffic. (2)@77K miles. Clutch slave cylinder failure. While coming to a 4 way stop during rush hour the clutch pedal when in and didnt come out. Unable to change gears. Car stuck in traffic. (3)@83K miles.clutch slave cylinder failure. Pulling into garage I go to push the clutch in and the car keeps moving, almost running into back walll of garage. Clutch pedal went in and didnt come back out. Clutch slave cylinder failure again. Having that same part fail with increased frequency its certainly isnt the way I drive my car. Oem part lasted 65K than oem part lasted 12K than oem part lasted 6500 miles. I love this car so much I bought a car lift to replace this part myself. Dealer charges over $1100 to replace a 75 dollar part. But it is very dangerous to have this part fail. I have been very lucky that no person was walking by the front/rear of my car while I push in the clutch pedal or had it failed while trying to park. This last time I noticed a shudder from the clutch pedal prior to part failure.

- Lake Havasu City, AZ, USA

problem #13

Jun 182015

370Z

  • 64,000 miles
Loss of clutch pedal (csc) clutch slave cylinder and (cmc) clutch master cylinder

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #12

Apr 242012

370Z

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Pushed the clutch in to shift and it never came back up. Had to tow it to a shop. Cost a bunch. Happened around 30K and at 53K. A lot of people have this issue. Almost every other day I see someone posting about the csc failure.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #11

Jun 242015

370Z

  • 65,000 miles
I was driving to work one morning when my clutch pedal became limp. I was on the freeway getting ready to shift into 6th gear when I had no clutch resistance! I nearly crashed due to the lack of engagement. I took it to the dealership and they said I was out of warranty. This very same issue was fixed under warranty at 30,000 miles. The dealership either never replaced the parts they claimed to have replaced at 30K miles or they have failed again, just 35K miles later. These parts are the master cylinder and slave cylinder in the transmission. The issue has been going on with 2009-2015 models. Actually, it has been going on as far back as 2003 with the 350Z, which was never addressed. I'm selling the car and hopefully the buyer doesn't crash and die from it. If he/she does, you should be held responsible for not addressing the issue. Many of the members on the370Z.com forum have this issue cited here: www.the370Z.com/Nissan-370Z-general-discussions/25007-sticky-official-370Z-clutch-pressure-csc-failures.html

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #10

Jun 052015

370Z 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 31,075 miles
Came to a stop at a busy intersection to make a legal right turn on red when the clutch pedal refused to come up more than in inch, causing the car to stall the in middle of the intersection repeatedly until I was able to stick it in to a gear and get it to a parking lot of a nearby hotel where the clutch pedal remained limp on the floor. Mechanic confirmed earlier this week that the clutch slave cylinder had given out. Upon further research I found multiple people with similar incidences in the same kind of car and also affecting 6 speed manual G37's and later 350Z's. when my car continued to stall in the intersection I could've been T-boned and I believe to be one of the lucky ones. It could've happened on the highway. Updated 07-16-15 updated 9/21/2015

- Mountain House, CA, USA

problem #9

Jun 252013

370Z

  • 36,500 miles
This problem of the clutch sticking has been an ongoing problem since I purchased the vehicle. I don't drive the car that often but when I do the clutch pedal does not come up once pushed to the floor. In order for the clutch pedal to return to the up position I have to pull it up with my left foot and this have become a hazard driving. The car currently have 42,242 miles.

- Wyncote, PA, USA

problem #8

Feb 102014

370Z 6-cyl

  • 27,190 miles
Concentric slave cylinder on vehicles equipped with a manual transmission leaks and fails resulting in the clutch petal to fall to the floor preventing the driver from releasing the clutch pressure plate. This prevents the driver from being able to shift gears and completely immobilizes the vehicle. The defective part is located inside the bell housing requiring the exhaust and transmission to be removed to replace it.

- Livermore, CA, USA

problem #7

May 172012

370Z 6-cyl

  • 31,060 miles
Engine was replaced at 30,295 miles (due to excessive oil use) on 5/16/12. Upon return and on May 17, 2012, while driving the car, the clutch pedal would remain at the base of the floor of the vehicle. After driving, the clutch pedal would eventually came back to it's normal position. Approximately 2 months later, this re-occurred while driving the vehicle again, but this time, the vehicle would not go into 3rd gear, (leaving me stranded in traffic)...everything eventually went back to normal. At 38,607, the clutch pedal once again remained on the floor board & on 1/26/13, the dealer diagnosed and replaced the failed clutch slave cylinder & master cylinder. On 5/27/13, at 45,769 mi, the vehicle was taken back to the dealer for the same problem (clutch pedal remained on floor)-dealer stated-couldn't duplicate the concern. On 2/05/14, approx. 52,000 mi, the vehicle was taken to the shop after the clutch pedal remained on the floor and would not shift into gear (once again stranding me in traffic). This part (slave cylinder) is a common failure in the 350Z, G37, 370Z vehicles (as indicated in various forums) because of it's poor design and has a history of failure. There are no previous warnings given and can render the car helpless while driving in traffic.

- Mansfield, TX, USA

problem #6

Sep 192012

370Z

  • 53,000 miles
Slave cylinder on my 370Z had a catastrophic failure. Nissan put an inferior slave cylinder in their 370Z models. My slave cylinder had a catastrophic failure while sitting at a stop. Thankfully I was not on the highway. The tech that replaced the part said their was virtually nothing left from the slave cylinder because it was made out of inferior material. Nissan wanted $2,000 to replace and install the same inferior part because to them it is not considered part of the drive train even though this part is required for the drive train to operate. This item should not be considered wear and tear. Had to take my vehicle to a place that specializes in Nissan 370Z to get an upgraded part put into my vehicle for less than half the cost Nissan wanted. Clutch engagement and feel is better than brand new no thanks to Nissan.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #5

Oct 012009

370Z

  • 2,500 miles
Car revs up to 2500-3000 rpms between shifts! cannot get the idle to drop lower; any attempt to punch the gas pedal and lower the idle just makes it idle faster!! problem has existed 3.5 years now, and every time I request the dealer investigate they have lame excuse of "if it isn't doing it when you bring it in, we can't troubleshoot it"! wtf? the most recent time (March 2013) the car had a "service engine" light at the same time and idle wouldn't drop below 2000 rpms for 3 days. I took it in for service and dealer found "nothing wrong" and "no codes saved in ECM memory". again, wtf" isn't this the same Toyota runaway throttle issue - same year, same Japanese car, same fuel throttle component purchased from the same inferior supplier? dealer is not documenting my requests!! are you waiting for me to have an accident and die before you fix it"

- Gaithersburg, MD, USA

problem #4

Jan 202013

370Z 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Drove to 7/11 to get gas. Turned the car off. When I got back in the car to leave the car would not start. There was an amber key on the dashboard. There have been a major number of complaints filed for this same reason. The immobilizer locked out the wheel shaft which locked out the key faub. Since the car thinks it has been stolen the car will do nothing. No Nissan dealership is open on a Sunday and they are knowingly doing nothing about the issue. I never received any notices that there could have been an issue in the 3 years I've had my car. There has been a huge number of complaints on blogs which I discovered today after attempting to get my car started again.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #3

Dec 122012

370Z 6-cyl

  • 49,072 miles
Clutch lines were designed to close to my cars catalytic converter.. leading to clutch fluid boiling while im on the highway going 65-70 when appropriate. I push down on clutch and it sticks to the floor, I can barely shift this isnt safe.. the problem could only be resolved after replacing the whole clutch set up and Nissan covered the parts but I spent nearly $1000 in labor, on a car I just bought a month or so ago.. im trying not to regret my choice of a car. They covered the parts for a reason.. think on it.

- Kennesaw, GA, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?