Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,070 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Nissan Armada brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Nissan Armada:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Nissan Armada Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #53

Jan 032005

Armada 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Armada. While driving 35 mph, the contact began to feel a shuddering in the brake pedal and the brakes failed to respond. The dealer replaced the rotors. Twenty thousand miles later, the shuddering in the brake pedal recurred. The dealer replaced the rotors for the second time. Fifteen thousand miles later, the brake failure recurred for the third time. The dealer resurfaced the rotors. The current mileage was 59,236 and failure mileage was 10,000.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #52

Aug 192005

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,500 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Armada. When applying the brakes at 40 mph, the brake pedal extended down to the floor. The vehicle stopped when the emergency brake was applied. When the contact turned the vehicle off and restarted it, the brakes operated normally. The dealer changed the warped rotors at 2,500 miles. The vdc was reprogrammed at 38,581 miles. The current mileage was 60,186 and failure mileage was 2,500.

- Fontana , CA, USA

problem #51

Mar 022007

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
2004 Nissan pathfinder Armada. Purchased at 11488 miles on 11/5/05. Experienced very slight vibration when braking at high speed on way home. Also experienced periodic "groan or thump" when gently braking, mostly while turning. Vibration continued to increase until steering became unmanageable while braking. Difficult to be without a car so we couldn't take the car in until 1/10/07 at 22030 miles. Our mechanic said they were the worst warped rotors he had ever seen and had them turned. He also replaced 50% Nissan pads with Carquest ceramic pads. Two days later, the vibration was back and dramatically increased over 1000 mile road trip until we took car to dealer on 3/2/07 at 24,140 miles. Steering now completely unmanageable! dealer wouldn't honor warranty because we had Carquest pads on car. Also told us that warranty work had been done on rotors at about 7000 miles under original owner. Dealer turned rotors and installed Nissan pads and informed us that we were now back under warranty until 36000 miles or 8/07. Don't feel safe on road, especially after reading posts of complete brake failure, yet need a car to drive on trips. Please issue recall.

- Clayton, GA, USA

problem #50

Sep 212006

Armada 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brakes pulsate and steering wheel shakes while applying brake and tires are cupping AT5919 miles. Dealer said tires needed to be balanced. Then at 13539 miles still the same thing dealer turned rotors pad kit, bolt, boot kit. Then at 21985 miles same complaint dealer replaced front rotors, pad kit, slide shims, and turned rear rotors. Then at 26897 miles the dealer aligned all four tires and said I should replace them because of the cupping. I could not find all of my repair invoices for all the time that I took it in for the same problem all for the tires cupping and the brakes shuddering.I now have it in the shop again for the brake pedal going to the floor and the steering wheel shaking was told can not find problem will have to hold the car another day. Today is 9-21-06.

- Aransas Pass, TX, USA

problem #49

Sep 072006

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,800 miles
I purchased a 2004 Nissan Armada on 12-28-04. Since that time the vehicle has been in for service on several occasions. The largest problem being the bad vibration and shake of the vehicle when braking. Nissan has replaced the pads and rotors, which has not corrected the problem. On September 7, 2006 I was at Nissan again, and was told that Nissan would no longer make these required repaired repairs. I was also told by a mechanic that the real problem is that the brakes and rotors put on the 2004 Armada are too small for the weight of the vehicle, and that is why the problem exists. Nissan must correct this problem before someone is injured or killed as a result this serious mechanical problem. The next issue is with the rear sonar system. The problem is that when it rains the rear sonar goes off when the vehicle is placed in reverse. I have taken this to Nissan for repair or replacement on several occasions. The replaced the system once, and the problem has recurred. I was told by the Nissan service manager that Nissan is working to find out what the problem is with the system. However, I have not seen a service bulletin or recall for this problem. The last problem is that since June 17, 2006 Nissan has replaced four (4) radios in my vehicle. I was told that Nissan uses radios manufactured by clarion in my vehicle, and that there have been problems with the radios. If this is so Nissan should go to a more reliable company. On September 8, 2006 I made a call to Nissan customer service. I was assigned file # 5460708, and told a company representative would get in touch with me. Since Nissan is unable or unwilling to correct these important problems, especially with the brakes, I am request the assistance of your Agency in this matter.

- Springfield Gardens, NY, USA

problem #48

Jun 292006

Armada 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,700 miles
I took my Nissan Armada 2004 le to my mechanic and he said the brake rotor were warped. I bought it at 16,500 and it now has 18,500 miles. It has pulsated ever since I purchased it. My mechanic said it was odd that the rotors would warp so soon. He told me to check with Nissan before he replaced them, since many of the Armadas and titans have had brake problems. I went to the dealer and they charged me $95 dollars to diagnose and said the brake rotors were warped. The dealer bay ridge Nissan 532 65th St in brooklyn New York 11220 told me it was not covered under warrant. They knew of the defect, but said at 18,000 miles it was due to wear and tear. My mechanic said that is odd.

- Staten Is, NY, USA

problem #47

Nov 122004

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Contact stated Nissan, Armada had a serious brake system problem. On one occasion when depressing the brake pedal the vehicle steered by itself to the right side of the road, and then came to a complete stop. The road conditions were normal. The contact took the vehicle six times to the dealer for service. On four occasions the brake rotors and pads were changed. The contact said the vehicle continued to be driven at a risk of an accident.

- Kingwood, TX, USA

problem #46

Aug 272005

Armada 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,965 miles
Bought Nissan truck in May 2005 and the truck has been in the shop 6 times for bad brake pads and warped rotor.

- North Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #45

Sep 012004

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Armada 4 wheel drive. The contact complained about a brake problem, especially the front brakes. He has already decided that it was the front brakes because he could not stop the vehicle.. also, brake rotors warped and faded. There was 14,000 miles on the vehicle, and he has been having this problem since purchasing the vehicle. He refused to let his wife or family drive the vehicle because it was unsafe. At first he thought this problem was caused by the disc brakes, pads, and the rotors that rusted, but afterwards he decided that this was caused the vehicle sitting on the lot. But since the problem became progressively worse when braking hard at highway speeds. The brakes will shutter and fade. This vehicle was made with the highest towing package and when towing something he felt like he was going to crash with this vehicle because it got so worse. He contacted a dealership and spoke with the manufacturer. The dealership told him that they were going to replace the brakes by a by owner basis but had no plans in making this a recall. There has almost been several accidents with this problem. He retired from the sheriff' S department and has been to professional driving school. Therefore, the contact did know how vehicles were suppose to be handled.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #44

Mar 252004

Armada 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles
The caller complained about a brake problem. She said the brake rotors wore out. The vehicle vibrated all the time and it wad hard to keep control of vehicle. She tried to fix the problem by replacing the tires, the braking system has been replaced three times. Manufacturer said she has aftermarket wheels on vehicle, and they were no longer liable. Dealer said that was not the problem and the manufacture was trying to get out of paying for it. Vehicle is now out of warranty, and if she needed any more work done on brakes she will have to pay for it herself.

- Quinlan, TX, USA

problem #43

Feb 152004

Armada 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Nissan Armada. Consumer complained about front brake rotors problem. Took vehicle to the dealer four times, and they knew there was a problem, and they were only fixing this in short term. In two or three months this will happen again. Consumer spoken with the manufacturer, and they were aware of this problem, but will not issue a recall. When driving at any speed and going down hills, and soon as taking foot off the gas and going to apply the brakes front wheels, steering wheel and brake pedal shake very badly. This caused the car to stop.

- Las Angelios , CA, USA

problem #42

Jul 152005

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
On three occassions, at mileage 7500, 15000, and 22000, the front rotors have warped on my Nissan pathfinder armanda 4WD, causing dangerous steering and driving conditions. The problem has been described as incorrectly sized brake pads which heat up and warp the rotors. Nissan has corrected the problem in each case by grinding and/or replacing the rotors. The problem has been described as the "Armada brake issue".

- Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #41

Dec 022004

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
Caller said that 2 months after purchasing the vehicle, when he hits the brakes the car shook. The caller had the problem fixed, and 3 months later it happened again. He had it fixed again and 3 months later it happened again. The caller had it fixed 3 different times. The dealer rotated the rotors, and replaced the brake pads. The dealer said that they were still looking for the cause of the problem and what went wrong. The manufacturer advised the caller to contact NHTSA. The caller believed that he was covered under the lemon law. The manufacturer gave the caller case #4992811. The vehicle would shake so bad that it was easy to lose control of the vehicle. The dealer suggested that the problem could not be fixed. The consumer requested his money back. The rotors were warped and on another repair visit the rotors were found distorted.

- Bermuda Dunes, CA, USA

problem #40

Aug 182004

Armada

  • Manual transmission
  • 2,787 miles
Purchased 2004 Nissan Armada, June 2004 8/04 tech found front rotors to be warped causing pulsation, resurfaced front rotors 1/05tech found front rotors needing to be cut, and hardware replaced, resurfased front rotors, replaced all hardware 4/05tech verified both front brake rotors warped due to excessive heat, resurfaced both front brake rotors 6/05 again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- New Lenox, IL, USA

problem #39

Feb 232005

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,900 miles
The consumer experienced a surge when the brakes were applied, which made it difficult to stop reliably. The steering wheel shook when the brakes were applied at different speeds. The dealer replaced the rotors twice but the same problem recurs less than 3000 miles later. The harder the brakes are applied, the more violent the shaking of the steering wheel. The vehicle was driven under normal driving conditions.

- Ocean View, NJ, USA

problem #38

Mar 122005

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,500 miles
Purchased a new 2004 Armada in August 2004. Had nothing but problems with the car. I recently was involved in an accident because of brake failure. The car was taken to Nissan immediately after the body was repaired for them, to repair the brakes. Mid city Nissan in Chicago informed me that they would not repair the vehicle because the body shop damaged the brakes. This was ridiculous because the car was in the accident in the first place due to brake failure.. also, the initial inspection revealed, that previous to any body work done, the rotors/ calipers, and the pads were defective. Nissan was well aware of this problem, yet they did nit want to admit it. In addition, the employees of mid city were extremely rude and confrontational. They were not helpful in any way. Driver's side window did not always roll up, and the stereo's volume faded in and out. However, mid city did not want to repair these problems either because there was nothing wrong with the car". this was the worst truck I have ever owned, and I will never buy another Nissan. I cannot believe how poor their customer service is. I agree with a previous post, I should have brought my $40,000 to Toyota.

- Chicago , IL, USA

problem #37

Apr 102005

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,850 miles
Complete brake failure-- vehicle: 2004 Nissan Armada le this vehicle has been in the shop (dealer) several times with brake issues. The rotors have been turned and replaced and turned again. Nissan has not as of yet corrected the problem. About a week ago, I was making a stop at an intersection when the brake pedal went completely to the floor. I "pumped" the pedal and got enough pedal to be able to stop. On exam of the brake system, I found that the brake fluid reservoir was over half empty. Why? I do not know. I added fluid and the brake problem appeared to be corrected. I took the vehicle to the dealer and requested it be examined to see if they could determine if there was a leak of some kind that may have caused the fluid level to get low. In checking out the vehicle, the problem occurred again with the technician. They could not determine the cause.

- Madisonivlle, KY, USA

problem #36

Mar 282005

Armada

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have taken my 2004 Nissan Armada in for brake service four (4) times now. 14737 miles and car is almost undrivable. Nissan has known about this problem for some time, and yet no fix is available. Nissan customer service was supposed to contact my within 2 business days. No call. I am leaving for a 3 week vacation and my car is unsafe to drive. Dealer says my rotors can't be turned again(they've been turned 3 times already). Dealer says they have no rotors available. Dealer told me that "I" could check with other dealers about the availiblity of rotors. Dealer GM told me that he was also having the same problem and was waiting for rotors himself.

- Gainesville, GA, USA

problem #35

Aug 132004

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
Brakes developed a bad problem with vibrations when braking which acutally giggled the steering wheel. Problem was first repaired at 5,000 miles and they serviced it by turning the rotors. Problem reoccured at 11,000 miles and it was serviced again. This time the rotors could not be turned and they had to replace the rotors, pad kit, and boot kit. At 16,000 miles the problem once again reoccured and at the time the service dept. Said that Nissan has not found a permanent fix for this problem and they once again turned my rotors. I have since called Nissan and was told by their representative that Nissan is only providing "counter-meaures" and has not found a fix and has no date when one will be avail. I feel it is a major safety issue since these problems have occured without evening towing anything and I am pursuing the lemon law in the state of Washington. It is unreasonable to expect people to drive a vehicle which has to have a major break service perfomed every 5,000 miles just to be somewhat safe.

- Bremerton, WA, USA

problem #34

Aug 192004

Armada

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
Brakes jutter and need repair every 5,000 miles. Car has had rotors turns, pad replaced, rotors replaced. The first failure was noted with 5,000 miles on it and a repair was made. A repair was again made at 11,000 miles at that time new rotors were installed and another repair was made in March 2005 at 16,000 miles. I called Nissan and was told by their representative that the fixes were "counter-measures" and that at this time no permanent fix has been identified and there is no date for a permanent fix to this safety problem.

- Bremerton , WA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?