Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
93,665 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Nissan Armada brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Nissan Armada:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Nissan Armada Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #50

Aug 122014

Armada 8-cyl

  • 49,745 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 8/12/14 I was driving at approximately 9:15 pm and I was making a left turn onto clarkson avenue from nostrand avenue and all of a sudden my brake light came on and a I heard a spring popping noise when I had put my foot on the brakes. I was scared and drove home very slowly stopping at several lights and the spring popping and now grinding noise continued every time I put my foot on the brakes. I had to slowly press the brakes because it seems as if it lost some power. The next morning on 8/13/14 I called aaa to tow me to Nissan. Nissan told me my rotors, brake pads and brake fluid needed to be replaced and that will solve the problem. I had the repair they suggested and drove home and everything was fine. Now today on 8/14/14 the same problem occurred with the brakes again and its 8 P, M, I will have to wait until tomorrow to contact Nissan to see if they can rectify the problem.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #49

Mar 102008

Armada

  • 25,000 miles
While driving the brake lights came on and the brakes got jammed I had slow down and stop the car when I turned off the ignition and restarted the car the brakes were released and the brake light went off. I had reported this to Nissan dealer and they said after checking they could not find any malfunctions. This has happened several times since then, not only with me but also with my fried who has 2007 model of Nissan Armada, he was also told the same thing, we have reported this to Nissan dealer various times.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #48

Jun 242010

Armada 8-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Brake light comes on the dash board, push brakes and it makes this grinding noise and the brakes lose most of their power. After I put the car in park, turn off engine and turn it back on light goes off. The first time it happened was in 2010..it started happening again in 2013 a couple of times and now it does it all of the time in 2014. I have two children and a lot of the time have multiple kids in the car that do not belong to me. It is a very scary thought that the brakes will just stop working. I just got new brakes around 6 months ago and has been happening a lot more since than. I will take my car to the mechanic again and need be file every complaint with whoever I can to get this issue resolved. I have read many, many forums about people having this exact problem..why hasn't Nissan recalled this issue"?" someone is going to die!!!

- Lake Elsinore, CA, USA

problem #47

Jul 102013

Armada 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Armada. The contact stated while shifting from reverse to drive, there was a clunking noise. The contact mentioned that the vehicle hesitated and attempted to stall. In addition, the contact stated that the brake warning light illuminated. The vehicle was powered off and was able to restart. The failure would recur intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who was unable to duplicate the problem. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 99,000. Updated 09/16/14 the vehicle was repaired. Updated 1/16/15

- Hephzibah, GA, USA

problem #46

Jun 052013

Armada 8-cyl

  • 190,000 miles
On 3 occasions, my brakes have failed while I have been driving. The red brake light came on. The brakes were grinding and it was extremely difficult to stop the car. Luckily, I was traveling at low rates of speed each time this happened. The car was towed each time and the mechanic cannot determine what the problem is since it appears that the brakes reset when the car is turned off. I have read on line that many other people have experienced similar problems yet when I called Nissan, they stated that they have only recalled older vehicles for brake issues.

- Salem, NH, USA

problem #45

Jul 072014

Armada

  • 113,346 miles
I was on the highway and the brake light came on. When I was exiting the ramp I heard a loud noise and the brakes were grinding. I had to swerve out of the lane to the shoulder because I had lil to no brake power. This is not the 1st time this incident has happened to me. I don't know what the issue is but Nissan needs to resolve it fast because the next person may not be so lucky. My truck is currently at the dealership now do to the brake issue and of course they are unable to detect the problem. I am replacing the brakes and rotors and hopefully that will help elevate the problem. Someone needs to do something and fast before someone is fatally affected by this issue. I will never buy a Nissan again. If this issue does not stop I will be trading my vehicle in and not for another Nissan.

- Randallstown, MD, USA

problem #44

Jun 132014

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • 115,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brakes suddenly quit working properly, vibration, grinding, etc. Had to pump brakes to stop. I turned ignition off, set P-brake, then turned vehicle back on, the problem goes away. This has happened several times in the past, I'd say 5 or 6 times in the past 2 years. My brakes and rotors were last replaced about 6 months ago.

- Jblm, WA, USA

problem #43

Apr 012014

Armada

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Armada. The contact stated that the brakes independently and inadvertently engaged. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for diagnostic testing where it was advised that the brake booster would have to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 110,000.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #42

Mar 272014

Armada 8-cyl

  • 136,000 miles
Cannot stop vehicle on a hard stop; vehicle catches but will not stop quickly. Ran red light because unable to make hard stop.

- Peachtree City , GA, USA

problem #41

May 232013

Armada

  • miles
Unable to stop the truck quickly; not able to hard stop. Brakes mushy.

- Peachtree City, GA, USA

problem #40

Jun 012012

Armada

  • 118,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Armada. The contact stated while driving the brake lights illuminated without warning and the brake system failed to engage. The contact had to coast onto the emergency lane. The failure was experienced numerous times. The brake system returned to normal function after the vehicle was restarted. The vehicle also experienced a failure with lost of acceleration, the air bag warning light illuminated, the drivers side door and the rear hatch door failed to lock electronically. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 118,000 and the current mileage was 129,000.

- Carencro, LA, USA

problem #39

Dec 102013

Armada 8-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
While pulling my car trailer with a loaded car on the trailer the brakes on the Armada stopped working. The anti-lock brakes started pulsating really fast to the point the pedal went to the floor. I had to serve around the can in front of me and I ran the red light. This is the 4th time this SUV has done this.

- Fort Edward, NY, USA

problem #38

Nov 192011

Armada 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Armada. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the brake pedal was depressed with a delayed response accompanied by an abnormal grinding noise. In addition, the brake warning indicator illuminated. The failure was recurring. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who stated that the brake booster would need to be replaced and the ABS would require reprogramming. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000. The ABS control was reprogrammed. Also, the seat belt light flashed. The technician found an open circuit in the rear door harness. Updated 12/23/13

- West Covina, CA, USA

problem #37

Jul 232010

Armada 8-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
When traveling back from Washington D.C. in heavy traffic I looked at the speedometer of my 2005 Nissan Armada and noticed my brake light was lit up on my dash area. When I tried to apply the brakes I had very minimal braking power approximately 20-30% at best. This became a very serious and scary situation when we realized we were heading into a traffic jam! I was able to ride on the shoulder and apply the brakes until we were able to stop but by no means did I have the braking capability that we should have. The braking system seems to fix itself when you turn the ignition off and restart the car however this doesn't fix the problem. Unfortunately the vehicle doesn't provide a code when it is restarted. When I was finally able to drive my vehicle to a service station they provided me with a code to give to my Nissan dealership. After doing a little research I was astonished to find how many Nissan owners were having the same issue and how the dealership can not really fix the problem. This has happened multiple times since our 1st incident back in 2009 and it is extremely scary. I have read other peoples complaints on the internet of the same issue and Nissan supposed fixes that end up not working and costing people hundreds of dollars. I simply want to be able to drive my vehicle without fear of my brakes going out and putting myself, children and others in a dangerous situation. Nissan needs to come up with a solution and fix the problem asap because if had I not been able to pull off on to the shoulder or off into a gas station when this happens with no warning it could result in injury or possibly death. I am about ready to go to the news with this story because Nissan is not fixing the problem nor is there a recall for the issue. This can cause great injury or worse death if not handled correctly and soon.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #36

Nov 132013

Armada 8-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Wont write a whole story as there are many here to go around about the same problem. So in short, my ABS brakes are activating when brakes are applied as I come to stop sign, causing groaning, banging noises and feel spongy. Nissan you have gotten many complaints on this, so assign someone to start the needed recall and don't wait until a few people are killed to do something about it. Recall this item please..its happening to 2 of my Nissan vehicles right now..

- Morganville, NJ, USA

problem #35

Nov 022013

Armada

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Armada. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the brakes failed to operate normally and the brake warning light illuminated. The contact also mentioned that this problem has occurred on four separate occasions. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic which stated that the power brake booster delta sensor had to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 85,000. The current mileage was 122,000.

- Stafford, TX, USA

problem #34

May 032006

Armada 8-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
I was driving along and the brake light came on and when I pressed on the brake an awful spongy crunching noise. Brakes don't work. This has happened several times. I brought it to the Nissan thousand oaks dealer (where I bought it) and they told me they couldn't replicate the issue and no code showed up. Each time I had to turn off the vehicle and turn it back on to reset the brake light. Nissan told me to "bring it in" the next time it happens... unfortunately, it is not safe to drive once this happens. I have brought this up several times at the dealer with no fix. However, now I'm seeing a lot more people online posting the exact same issue and getting no resolution from Nissan. This is the brakes we're talking about here...

- Newbury Park, CA, USA

problem #33

Sep 162013

Armada

  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Armada. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, he applied the brakes and the vehicle did not respond. The brake light was illuminated and an abnormal grinding noise was emitted as the failure occurred. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 96,000.

- Carrolton , TX, USA

problem #32

Sep 032013

Armada

  • 78,000 miles
While driving at 55mph my brake light came on, as I tried to brake my brakes failed and the foot petal hit the floor making a loud shuttering sound. Suddenly my brakes kicked back in but continued to make loud sounds. When I was able to pull over I turned off the engine and when I turned the engine back on the light reset as if nothing happened. This has happened on several occasions. I am terrified. I have taken my Armada to Nissan dealership and they believe its associated with an error message C1179 "delta stroke sensor" but have done nothing to help me. Please help!

- Hollister, CA, USA

problem #31

Feb 182006

Armada 8-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
The initial incident in 2006 occurred while driving at approximately 10 mph. The brake light came on and the brakes lost power along with giving a spring sound. The vehicle was towed to the dealership and no problem was found on two different occasions. This failure to stop- like activity has continued throughout the years. Once the vehicle is turned off and restarted braking power returns to normal and the brake light goes off. Initially the activity occurred at low speeds and has more recently increased in frequency and has occurred at highway speeds. It is a frightening experience that has occurred as many times as three times in a week, putting myself and child in danger.

- Inglewood, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?