Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
93,665 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Nissan Armada brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Nissan Armada:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Nissan Armada Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #90

Oct 292016

Armada

  • 174,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased vehicle used in May 2015, my trusted mechanic checked it out September 2015 and reported back it was in good condition with no issues. July 2016 experienced break failure at 15 miles an hour. Again my mechanic troubleshooted the issues and said the power break booster needed to be replaced. He then referred me to Nissan for possible replacement since it is a safety issue. I spoke with corporate Nissan who advised me to take it to our local Nissan dealership to prove the issue existed, for any potential compensation. After taking the vehicle to Nissan they concluded reprogramming the delta stroke sensor would resolve the problem; which I had to pay $300 to have this done. On October 2016 inoperable break failure occurred again at 65 miles an hour while on the interstate, as I was approaching an exit ramp. This same issue occurred twice in one day, just a week later. Once as I left work going 40 miles an hour, my dashboard lit up with vdc and skid lights, in addition to my break failure light. The second time occurred going down a city street where I had to do a rolling stop through an intersection, dodging oncoming traffic, eventually hitting a curb to stop. After taking my vehicle back to Nissan for them to test drive (recreate) the problem, I was told that I could not drive my vehicle off the lot due to safety hazards. I have spent hours on the phone with corporate to resolve this safety issue; but yet Nissan refuses to fix the problem, or refund me my money for the failed reprogramming. This vehicle is geared towards families with children; and both my children were present in the vehicle during all failures. After searching the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration website, I have found hundreds of documented cases revolving around the same safety hazard. Nissan refuses to recall this part or notify owners of the existing issue.

- Johnson City, TN, USA

problem #89

Oct 022016

Armada

  • miles
While attempting to stop, without warning the brake light comes on and the brake pedal basically goes to the floor and barely works to stop the truck. The brakes grind as it is pushed. If you turn the vehicle off it seems to reset itself. We almost hit someone today trying to stop at a red light. The vehicle was moving at roughly 15-20 mph when the issue started (today). We were on a city street, braking to stop. It seems to be a consistent problem with these vehicles and I am boggled at the fact that no one is requiring Nissan to take any responsibility. Eventually someone is going to get very hurt. Having little to no control over your braking is very scary, especially with my little one in the truck with me. This is a large vehicle and would do a lot of damage if it were to hit someone the next time this happens. This seems to happen once every 2-4 weeks or so. It appears to be random.

- Commerce, TX, USA

problem #88

Sep 122016

Armada

  • 135,000 miles
I have had the same issue that many people are explaining here. I'll be driving down the road and out of no where the dash brake light will turn on. When I try to break, the brake pedal will push down to the floor and it will sound like is grinding and almost sound like a spring is loose inthere. But when I turn the car off and then turn it on, it goes away. I had this problem for a few months now and this is an accident waiting to happen, I just hope it doesn't do it on the freeway..

- Ewa Beach, HI, USA

problem #87

Aug 302016

Armada

  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While attempting to stop, without warning the brake light comes on and the brake pedal basically goes to the floor and barely works to stop the truck. The brakes grind as it is pushed. If you turn the vehicle off it seems to reset itself. We almost hit someone today trying to stop at a red light. The vehicle was moving at roughly 15-20 mph when the issue started (today). We were on a city street, braking to stop. It seems to be a consistent problem with these vehicles and I am boggled at the fact that no one is requiring Nissan to take any responsibility. Eventually someone is going to get very hurt. Having little to no control over your braking is very scary, especially with my little one in the truck with me. This is a large vehicle and would do a lot of damage if it were to hit someone the next time this happens. This seems to happen once every 2-4 weeks or so. It appears to be random.

- Apple Valley, MN, USA

problem #86

Jul 232016

Armada

  • 102,892 miles
Reading the complaints and found others the same as mine. Have taken the Nissan to the dealer at least three, maybe four times, complaining of the emergency brake engaging while driving when the emergency brake was off. This has happened when entering a freeway (highway) and driving on a city street. When taken to the dealer they could not find anything wrong. While I appreciate that others have the same problem and it is not a fluke, it is disconcerting and dangerous. The last time this happened was 7/23/16!

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #85

Jul 052016

Armada

  • 171,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Armada. While driving less than 15 mph, the brake pedal traveled to the floorboard when it was depressed. The vehicle had a delay when stopping. When the vehicle was shut off and restarted, the braking performance would return to normal. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the delta stroke sensor failed and would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 171,000.

- Johnson City, TN, USA

problem #84

Jun 212016

Armada

  • 162,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had the same issue that many people are explaining. I will be driving down the road and out of no where the dash brake light will turn on. When I proceed to stop the car the brake will push down to the floor and it will grind and almost sound like a spring. I pull over, turn the car off and then it goes away. It has happened multiple times and there is no warning as to when it will happen.

- Middletown, CT, USA

problem #83

May 312016

Armada

  • 117,000 miles
While I am driving my emergency brake light turns on and my brakes locked and it's really hard for me to break the brake pedal also shakes almost leading into an accident.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #82

Nov 052015

Armada

  • 112,869 miles
The driver side airbag is not working due to a faulty harness assembly. The fuel gauge does not measure fuel accurately. The ABS brake light comes on and the brakes stop working while you are driving. Nissan refuses to fix the issues without us paying over 3 grand even though these items were recalled on other Nissan but there is no recall on this particular Nissan. This Nissan needs to be added to the recalls. We bought the car 5 months ago from go automotive and they also refused to fix the issues.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #81

Apr 012016

Armada

  • 73,000 miles
The air bag light was flashing so I took my 2005 Armada to the dealership to find out the reason. The dealer is charging me about $500 to replace the harness. They said the air bag may not deploy if I am involved in an accident. Also, I've had two instances where my brakes got jammed and made a loud noise when I stopped at a stop sign.

- Missouri City, TX, USA

problem #80

Mar 072016

Armada

  • 77,215 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2005 Nissan Armada that have a serious braking issues that needs to bed looked into it doesn't happen all the time but when it does the brake pedal goes all the way down to the floor and make a grinding noise I spoke with Nissan Consumer Affairs they want me to take it to Nissan and have a diagnostic done, which will call me $99 that is none reimbursable apparently there was a lawsuit for this issue in California that was settle by Nissan in my research I found other Nissan owner who are having issues with there vehicles from the year 2004 - present

- Harker Heights, Tx, TX, USA

problem #79

Nov 202014

Armada

  • 55,000 miles
I was driving down the street close to my home (fortunately) and the brake light came on. I hit the brakes to test them to find that the brakes lost most power and the vehicle vibrated horribly. I finally managed to get the vehicle stopped. I then shut it off and then started it back up, which cleared the issue temporarily. A few days later I took it into the dealer who told me the vdc needed to be reprogrammed and that this was a know issue by Nissan for this vehicle. The dealer charged me to fix this known issue, yet less than 1,000 miles later the same thing happened again. Back to the dealer only to be told that now the brake booster needs replacement at a cost of another $1,000 as part of the same known issue. I called Nissan, but they flatly refuse to warranty what they know is a defective system. This vehicle has only 56,000 miles on the odometer.

- Ramona, CA, USA

problem #78

Nov 282015

Armada

  • 40,380 miles
I was driving my vehicle that I had just purchased off the parking lot of the dealer when I noticed that the brake light was on the dashboard I proceeded to stop and when I pressed on the brake pedal the vehicle delayed to come to a full stop. I also heard a weird noise sounded like a grinding noise and springs coming from the brake pedal.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #77

May 232013

Armada

  • 85,000 miles
Brake booster malfunctions during normal driving causing unsafe breaking. Brakes almost lock up when pedal is depressed. You have to pull off the road, turn truck off and back on to work, and sometimes you have to do 2 or 3 times. Dealer wants $1K to fix booster and from what I have read, it does not always work fuel gauge malfunctioned, ran out of gas 2 times when gauge still shows 1/4 tank. This is a recall on newer vehicles but mine is a 2005. Airbag light is on and dealer states needs replacing

- Bel Air, MD, USA

problem #76

Nov 182015

Armada

  • 190,000 miles
I have had numerous issues starting in 13' with the ECM being replaced after 05' Armada stalled on highway traveling 70 miles/hour in heavy traffic. Recently in early 15' I ran out of gas when fuel gauge displayed a quarter tank of gas at a red light. Also in early 15' my A/C will only work when on high. Both of these issues are known & are listed as recalls that I will be making a service appointment with my local Nissan dealer to research, correct & fix. There are numerous reports of similar & exact known issues online. Most recently in November 15' I was picking my children up from school in the rain. I was traveling home when I had to apply my breaks, but they did not perform as they should. The breaks made a spring sound, the brake peddle had little to no resistance when I applied my foot to stop & the break light came on. I had to veer off the road & ran into a fence post very lightly with minimal damage to my front chrome bumper. I turned car off & immediately checked on my two children in the back seat. We were all ok, thank god. I started Armada to find that the break light was no longer on. I hesitated to drive due to what had just happened. I was only 3 miles from home so I slowly attempted to continue home. The Armada drove perfect & the breaks functioned as they should with no issues. I googled incident to find numerous complaints & reports with similar to identical complaints/know issue reported & filed. I was blessed that my family was ok & I was able to avoid a serious potentially life threatening accident with loss of breaks one time for no reason. This was the 1st time this has happened and has not happened since. I feel this should be an immediate recall due to the severity of outcome it could cause with temporary break failure. No need for lifes to be lost or lawsuits to make it right and correct/fix issue at no cost.

- Ringgold, GA, USA

problem #75

Oct 122015

Armada

  • 224,000 miles
Brakes stutter and brake light come on with out warning car does not stop, if you turn vehicle off the problems goes away, local streets usual at speeds of 35 to 45 trying to stop at traffic light..very scary

- Snellville, GA, USA

problem #74

Sep 012015

Armada

  • 145,000 miles
Brakes failed, master cylinder brake pressure reduced when brakes where applied almost hitting stopped truck in front. Simular to report receipt date: Sep 18, 2013 NHTSA campaign number: 13V451000 component(s): Service brakes, hydraulic potential number of units affected: 3,247 my SUV also has the same issue.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #73

Aug 212015

Armada

  • 134,000 miles
SUV ran out of gas at highway speed in center lane during heavy traffic on wife and kids, gauge read 1/4 of tank. Stepped on brake didn't work had a load noise, vdc light, brake light on dash. Understand now that ABS system failed and fuel sending unit failed. Nissan has told me that they have a recall on the fuel sending unit on the same year make and model but not mine? they have tried really hard to kill my family with this faulty expensive equipment.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #72

Aug 092015

Armada

  • 137 miles
While I was driving brakes donot work I almost crash, to traumatic.

- Hughson Ca, CA, USA

problem #71

Nov 102014

Armada

  • 130,000 miles
I have a 2005 Nissan Armada for the past several months my brakes have been acting up. When I am driving my brake light comes on and I go to stop and the I can't stopmakeing a horrible noise. I have to stop my vehicle where ever I am driving and stop the car as soon as possible. I have to put it in park, shut the car off and then after a few seconds and then restart my car. This has happened several time since November and recently has happened twice in the same week. This is not safe and is an accident waiting to happen when you can't stop your car. I did take it to the dealership but since they could not find anyhting they sent me away saying that my rotors have dust on them and I can pay est $100 to pay to have them cleaned. Then recently within the last week ; my husband took the car up there when he was driving it and it did the same thing but they would not see him due to how busy they were alreay in the service department. My family is very important to me and putting them in this car is the scarest thing I have to do on the daily what happens when the brakes dont work ?? this really should be a recall to the vehicle because this is not normal and definitely is a safety issue. I hope Nissan can see that our lives are worth more than whatever the amount they would pay to have all of these cars fixed please Nissan please. Next stop BBB!!!!!!!

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?