Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,362 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Nissan Armada engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Nissan Armada:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Nissan Armada Owner Comments

problem #14

Aug 012013

Armada 8-cyl

  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have been to the Nissan dealership multiple times and complained about the loud exhaust noise and they said it was normal for this vehicle. There are thousands of reports of this exact problem online. I have just failed my state safety inspection in Missouri and found out that the loud noise was because of a manufacturer defect on the exhaust manifolds. Both are broken in the same place. Nissan is unwilling to provide replacement parts that have been defective from the start.I believe it is unethical for Nissan to knowingly not offer replacements. My family has been at risk for years and Nissan refuses to take responsibility. What are my options to take action" how many complaints have you seen"

- Oakville, MO, USA

problem #13

Nov 252011

Armada 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Armada. While parked the contact attempted to place the vehicle into drive but the gear shifter would not move. The vehicle was towed to a transmission shop. The technician stated there were pieces of metal in the transmission line. The technician attempted to un-clog the transmission line but was unable to do so. The technician stated the transmission would have to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 83,000.....updated 12/03/12 the consume stated when she made a turn, the vehicle felt as though it was going to stop. When she stopped and looked under the vehicle, she saw a reddish color fluid leaking from the vehicle, the consumer went to the nearest repair shop where she was informed three was a transmission problem. The vehicle was then towed to a transmission shop where they replaced the radiator line which was leaking. When they attempted to replace the transmission fluid, they noticed several holes between the radiator and transmission were clogged. Updated 01/10/12

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #12

Aug 282011

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Armada. The contact stated while driving 60 mph up hill, the vehicle stopped accelerating. The contact released pressure from the accelerator pedal and when pressure was reapplied, the vehicle responded as normal. The failure recurred very frequently and the vehicle stalled on one occasion. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated the engine control module failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 75,000. Updated 11/04/11 the consumer stated the vehicle continues to stall on the slightest incline. Updatd 11/14/11

- Stanford, KY, USA

problem #11

Sep 012011

Armada 8-cyl

  • 133,862 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving fine then after stopping at a stop sign, car would not accelerate, like it is in a higher gear. After reaching 10mph it drives perfectly fine. If after stopping you cut the engine and restart, it is fine. Reverse works fine. Code P1757 comes up on test. A bad valve body. I've seen this all over the internet mostly on Nissan '05 models, maybe some '06. Very frustrating, Nissan says I need a whole new transmission. I'm thinking a recall should be looked into. It doesn't seem to happen on other year models as much.

- Brandon, MS, USA

problem #10

Dec 172010

Armada 8-cyl

  • 106,100 miles
Check engine light remained on due to catalytic converter failure. Received warranty notice from Nissan of problem with catalytic failure, however, my mileage prevented free replacement. My state require emission testing each year, therefore, without replacement I would be unable to register my truck. My truck was purchased new and is service on a regular basis. Paid for replacement.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #9

Jun 172011

Armada

  • 85,000 miles
I have noticed the air compressor running intermittently, always trying to put air in the system. Went on a 200 mile trip and the car feels very unsafe at 70 mph. Very nervous drive especially around corners. Will definitively not tow like this.

- Maple Valley, WA, USA

problem #8

Feb 032011

Armada

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Armada. While driving approximately 35 mph, smoke was seen coming from the tail pipe and the engine began exhibiting an unusual knocking noise as the service engine soon warning light illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the deale where the contact was informed that both engine manifolds were fractured and the engine would need replacing to correct the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Myersville, MD, USA

problem #7

Nov 132010

Armada

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Armada. The contact was driving approximately between 35-40 mph, the engine completely stalled without warning. The vehicle was coasted to the side of the road, and then towed to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician was unable to locate the problem. There was a recall under the NHTSA campaign id number 10V517000 (engine and engine cooling). The manufacturer was notified and they were unable to determine if the VIN was included in the recall defect until December of 2010. The contact experienced the similar failure as mentioned in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 95,000.

- Simpsonville , SC, USA

problem #6

Oct 252010

Armada

  • 71,400 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Armada. While driving approximately 40 mph the vehicle stalled. He pulled over to the side of the road, and restarted the vehicle after two attempts. The failure had occurred for three weeks, and the failure was constant. The failure happened approximately 14-16 times. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for the failure. The contact referenced recall 10V517000, engine and engine cooling and was advised by the manufacturer that this was a premature recall. The vehicle had not been repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 71,400 and the approximate current mileage was 71,745.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #5

Jul 262010

Armada

  • miles
The A/C has been cutting high and going low all on its own. Sometimes not coming on at all. I was told it is the vbc and that it is fried. No air no part in the dead of summer in the South. I asked if there was a recall because of the leaking condenser at which that could cause my problem. I was told no and no further assistance. If there is no recall or no one else is having this problem. Why is this part on back order with no etd.

- Baton Rouge , LA, USA

problem #4

Dec 192009

Armada

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Armada. The contact stated that the vehicle suddenly stalled while she was driving approximately 60 mph. Immediately after the vehicle stalled, the power steering failed. She had to wait 25 minutes in order to restart the vehicle. The failure occurred once every two months but progressed and was now a weekly occurrence. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who performed a tune up and changed the oil; however, the failure continued to occur. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer who was performing a diagnostic test when the complaint was filed. The contact viewed information on the internet that indicated that the integrated power distribution module might have caused the failure to occur. The contact had not spoken with the manufacturer. The current mileage was approximately 108,000. The failure mileage was approximately 90,000.

- Cedar Hill, TX, USA

problem #3

Aug 162008

Armada

  • 27,700 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Armada. While driving approximately 70 mph, the engine completely shut off. The contact was able to restart the engine one hour after the failure. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for a diagnostic testing. The contact was informed that the battery and alternator were operating normally; therefore, he scheduled an appointment at an authorized dealer for the vehicle to be repaired. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 27,700 and current mileage was 27,900.

- Brandon, FL, USA

problem #2

May 282006

Armada 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles
: the contact stated that while driving 70 mph on the freeway, the vehicle stalled. The engine was powerless, but the electrical system remained operational. There was sufficient momentum to pull the vehicle over to the side of the road. The vehicle was towed to a service dealer. Due to the holiday, there has been no communication with the service dealer.

- Hesperia, CA, USA

problem #1

Mar 052005

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The consumer stated that on March 5, 2005 the driver's and passenger's seat belts locked when applying the brakes, the seat belts tightened like they were choking the consumer. The middle row seat locked, but did not catch in order to keep the consumer from going forward. Also when pressing on the brakes the vehicle shook so violently that one could not hang onto the wheel. The consumer had taken the vehicle to the dealer for the brakes, and the dealer said that the vehicle needed a new brake system. In addition, the check engine light had come on. The vehicle was taken to the dealers on October 5, 2005 because the fuel pump cracked. The vehicle needed a new exhaust manifold and the engine blew out. The vehicle needed a new engine. Currently the vehicle had 12, 000 miles on it. Updated 11/29/2005 - (12/05/05) the child safety seat was replaced twice. The rear second row seat snapped and pushed forward with the child in the car seat.

- Staton Island, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?