Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

8.0

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
89,409 miles
Total Complaints:
6 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace CVT transmission (6 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2010 Nissan Cube transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Nissan Cube:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Nissan Cube Owner Comments

problem #6

May 202016

Cube

  • CVT transmission
  • 135,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought my 2010 Cube in July 2014 and by February 2015 I had to have the transmission replaced. Luckily it was still under the extended warranty from Nissan. I was told by the dealer it could not be rebuilt but had to be replaced, this had to be authorized by Nissan. I assume they put in a new not rebuilt transmission since they had my vehicle for 2 weeks.

Now a mere 15 months later lo and behold the transmission needs to be replaced AGAIN. However, this time Nissan said they won't replace it since it is out of warranty. I say BS. A new transmission should last longer than 15 months. Evidently the issue with the CVT transmissions for the years 2009 and 2010 has not been resolved. This means they are replacing faulty parts with faulty parts.

I really do love my little Cube but if I cannot come to some kind of agreement with Nissan it will be gone and I will NEVER purchase another Nissan vehicle and anyone with ears will hear how Nissan does not stand behind their products.

- , Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #5

Apr 202016

Cube 1.8L L4 Dohc 16v

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles

Nissan is aware they are putting faulty parts on their cars and not fixing them. I have been told by several Nissan employees that Nissan is aware they put bad, failing CVTs in these vehicles. On Wednesday, 4/20 I had to have my 2010 Nissan Cube towed to the dealership 30 miles away from my job where the transmission died on me.

I contacted Nissan Consumer Affairs and began a claim; I was advised to have the dealership inspect the car and we would go from there. At the dealership, the mechanic told me that Nissan extended these warranties because of the failing transmissions and they should replace the CVT at no cost to me, and the repairs would take about 5 days including the weekend. The dealership also put me in a loaner car which I was told Nissan would cover the cost for.

After 2 days, I received a call from the dealership letting me know that Nissan Consumer is refusing to replace the transmission because my car is 10,000 miles over the extended warranty. Apparently, Nissan had extended this warranty from 60,000 to 120,000 miles because the CVTs were failing and they knew the transmissions were faulty. I contacted Nissan Consumer Affairs again and complained, and my case was escalated to the regional office. This was on Friday, 4/22. The dealership also contacted me that day and requested the loaner car back, stating that if they could not repair the car, I would be liable for the cost of the rental. I instructed the mechanic to do a full inspection on the car because I knew there were other problems and it would buy me some more time.

Monday morning, 4/25 I received a call from the mechanic at the dealership letting me know that my muffler was bad and needed to be replaced. Well, I just had this same dealership replace my muffler 1.5 years ago. Now my muffler has failed again? That's 3 mufflers on a car that's 6 years old, in addition to a failed transmission. Then, on Monday, I received a call from a regional manager who told me they were looking into my case and someone would call me back on Wednesday. On Tuesday, a different rep called me to tell me they were now looking into my case and would call me back.

On Wednesday, another, different rep called me to say they were still refusing to fix my car. So as it sits now, my car is at the dealership needing a new transmission, worth approx. $4000 according to the dealership (a faulty transmission that Nissan was aware they put on my car and is refusing to fix, mind you), a new muffler, and some other parts worth approx. $600. Plus, I've had a loaner car for 8 days now, that I am liable to pay for. This is unacceptable and disgusting. I have owned cars that were 20 years old that didn't have these types of problems... Toyotas, Hondas, Chevys, Fords, Mitsubishis, Lincolns, you name it.

This is the first Nissan I ever bought and it is the worst car I've ever seen. Not to mention, I am a mother with 4 children, working 2 jobs to support my kids, with an ex-husband who refuses to pay child support. Now I have no car because I don't have almost $5000 to fix it (is this car even worth that much?), and I'm going to lose both my jobs because I have no car to get to them. And this is all because Nissan knowingly puts bad, failing parts in their cars and refuses to help fix them. Even on their website, Nissan Consumer Affairs, there is an article about the extended warranty on these CVTs and they say they are willing to help with repairs beyond the warrant. What a bunch of lies. I guess my next step is to contact a lawyer and the news stations and newspapers, and pray for help from someone. Anyone know a good Pro-Bono lawyer???

- , Mystic, CT, USA

problem #4

Jan 102015

Cube SL 1.8L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

Replacement @ 40,000. Thought it was unusual for a transmission to go out at 40,000. I was told that there HAD been issues with the original transmissions in the 2009 and 2010 Nissan Cubes. For this reason they were extending the transmission warranty on these models to cover it.

Replacement @ 100,000. Now I am realizing that the transmissions in the 2009 and 2010 Nissan Cubes are defective and may have not ever been resolved.

I called corporate after the repair and asked about this and what my options are going to be if the "new" transmission gives out after the 20,000 miles left on the warranty. I was told not to worry about it and that they would work with me in the unlikely case that the transmission failed shortly after the warranty was up. I expressed my concern that although they had replaced my transmission for free, if transmission is still defective, I will be paying for a new transmission sooner than later.

- , Dallas, USA

problem #3

Mar 022012

Cube SL 1.8L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Thought it was unusual for a transmission to go out at 40,000. I was told that there HAD been issues with the original transmissions in the 2009 and 2010 Nissan Cubes. For this reason they were extending the transmission warranty on these models to cover it.

- , Dallas, USA

problem #2

Feb 182016

Cube SL 1.8L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 124,000 miles

I purchased my 2010 Nissan Cube with 30,000 miles. At 40k the transmission failed and Nissan fixed it. They knew the 2009 and 2010 Cube transmissions were defective so they upped the warranty to 120k on their transmissions. The transmission replacement lasted 60k and was replaced at 100k. Nissan paid for it once again. At that time I called Nissan Corp and asked why I should expect this one to last when the previous two did not. I expressed my concern that there was only 20k left on my warranty. I was told not to worry about it and if I had an issue after the warranty expired, they would work with me on it. At 124k my 3rd transmission died, I called corporate, and was told to kiss off. That is their idea of working with me. The Cubes after 2010 have a different transmission that will not fit in my car. Evidently Nissan didn't see fit to correct the defect transmissions in the 2009 and 2010 Cubes. Their solution was to replace one defective transmission with a newer defective transmission.

Replacement @ 40,000 - Thought it was unusual for a transmission to go out at 40,000. I was told that there HAD been issues with the original transmissions in the 2009 and 2010 Nissan Cubes. For this reason they were extending the transmission warranty on these models to cover it.

Replacement @ 100,000 - Now I am realizing that the transmissions in the 2009 and 2010 Nissan Cubes are defective and may have not ever been resolved. I called corporate after the repair and asked about this and what my options are going to be if the "new" transmission gives out after the 20,000 miles left on the warranty. I was told not to worry about it and that they would work with me in the unlikely case that the transmission failed shortly after the warranty was up. I expressed my concern that although they had replaced my transmission for free, if transmission is still defective, I will be paying for a new transmission sooner than later.

Needs replacement @ 124,000 - With less than 5,000 miles beyond the extended warranty, the defective transmission that Nissan once again put in my Cube 13 months ago failed and needs replacing. I called corporate, pleaded my case, and was told by Lindsey (regional talking head) several days later to go jump in the lake. They would not assist in the repair at all. At 124,000 miles this car needs its 4th transmission. You tell me, is this just bad luck or Nissan opting not to come up with a solution for a defective transmission model? When they replace my transmission at 100,000 I could have sold it, but not with a clear conscience. Nissan should have been made to either solve the problem or buy back the cars for parts (minus the transmission of course).

I loved this car. It is in great condition. It is a part of me. Even I pay for an entire replacement of the transmission, I will not be assured of it lasting very long at all. My plans were to drive it at least 3 more years.

My previous car was a 2003 Camry that son is driving. It is approaching 300,000 miles on its original transmission.

- , Dallas, USA

problem #1

Jul 282011

Cube S 1.8L

  • CVT transmission
  • 7,456 miles

My mother-in-law was driving 2010 Nissan Cube 1.8S with CVT and suddenly the car was hesitated to go after stopping in a red light. It stalled after going a few metres. She was stranded in the middle of the intersection and called for help. The car was towed to the nearby Nissan dealer and determined that the CVT transmission needs to be replaced.

My concern is:

(1) If this happens in the middle of a highway, my mom-in-law would get killed.

(2) The dealer said the car was just past 1 year anniversary and no extended warranty was purchased and therefore no courtesy vehicle will be granted. Why would a 1 yr old car with transmission problem not offering a courtesy car? This is fairly unacceptable. Even other brands like Vdub offered courtesy car if the car cannot be fixed under warranty period.

(3) No CVT replacement in stock. The dealer would only get back to me on Thursday next week (7 days of loss of use!)

(4) The original salesperson where the car was sold offered no help. It is the long weekend in Canada. Imagine that there is no car to be driven in the next 5 days and most cars are already rented out in most rental companies.

- , Markham, ON, canada

Not what you are looking for?