Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: For years, Nissan trucks and SUVs have had problems with coolant destroying the transmission. And for years, Nissan has done nothing about it.

The 2007 is no different than the 2006 and 2005. Just avoid it.

2.7

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,863 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Nissan Frontier fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Nissan Frontier:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Nissan Frontier Owner Comments (Page 4 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #43

Jun 132010

Frontier

  • 52 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Nissan Frontier fuel sensor problem. Many reports of this online and apparently Nissan recalled the 2006 and 2008 for the same problem (code P0463).

- San Marcos, CA, USA

problem #42

Jan 182010

Frontier

  • 38,000 miles
Had 1/4 of a tank of gas and went to fill up. After filling up my gas tank, I turned on the car, at which point the needle did not register the full tank. After driving a couple miles, the check engine light came on.

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #41

May 062010

Frontier

  • 67,000 miles
Fuel gauge in 2007 Nissan Frontier....one minute I have a full tank next its empty. Fill the truck up and gauge says I'm only 1/4 full. I see there was a recall for the 2006 and 2008 for the same reason. Did they make a change for 2007 then went back to the old way in 2008. Dealership is saying the part alone is $540 bucks and recall does not cover the 2007 models.

- Del Rio, TX, USA

problem #40

May 292010

Frontier

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Nissan, Frontier...fuel gauge went out after 42,000 mile.... why? is there any more out there.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #39

Aug 012009

Frontier

  • 30,000 miles
2007 Nissan Frontier nismo faulty gas sensor in tank. Known recall on 2006 and 2008 models. Shows an empty tank when full and empty. Unless you are keeping up with mileage, you don't know if you will run out of gas on the freeway. This can cause accidents. Nissan is aware of the same issue in 2006 and 2008 Frontier trucks. For some reason, they will not assume responsibility for the 2007 models. I talked with the dealer and they are aware of the issue but cannot take care of the problem. It will cost me over $500 to replace this. My check engine light stays on, can't be reset until this is fixed.

- Montrose, CO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #38

Jan 102009

Frontier

  • miles
The fuel gauge acts erratically, I can fill the gas tank up with fuel but the needle still shows that I'm empty. I'm sure it's the fuel sending unit. The vehicle has 44000 miles on it now, and around 38,000 miles when this occurred. The check engine light is on because of this defect.

- Goose Creek, SC, USA

problem #37

May 012010

Frontier

  • 29,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a Nissan 2007 Frontier that I bought new back in Nov. 2007. This vehicle has a bad gas pump sensor that make a warning on the panel( engine problem ) because of this problem I am unable to read how much gas is left. It always mark the tank as empty. When I took it to the dealer, they stated that because my car VIN# was not on the recalls I could do anything. I am unable to travel interstate or long distances.

- Newark, NJ, USA

problem #36

Mar 012010

Frontier

  • 61,000 miles
I have a 2007 Nissan Frontier xe. I had about 1/4 tank of gas when I decided to fill it up. Started my truck and my gas gauge read 0 and my check engine light came on. After driving a while, my gas gauge started to read a little level. As I drove the level would come up slowly until it finally read a full tank. After this happened to me, I heard about a recall Nissan was issuing on vehicles with the same symptoms, all due to a faulty fuel level sending unit called Nissan to see if my truck qualified for the recall fuel level sending unit and it didn't. Nissan customer service told me to take the truck into the dealership to get a diagnostic test run to check and see if indeed the fuel level sending unit need repair. The test the dealership ran did indeed confirm that the fuel level sending unit was faulty. Nissan told me they would log my complaint but would not pay to fix it because my truck wasn't cover under the recall even though my truck has the same problem as the other recalled vehicles.

- Lake Jackson, TX, USA

problem #35

Apr 072010

Frontier

  • 61,000 miles
I own a 2007 Nissan Frontier le. The fuel gauge sticks at 1/4 tank when the fuel level is low even though the tank is nearly empty. When refilling the tank the gauge stayed at 1/4 tank for a couple of miles before it came back to full. As of the last fill up the gauge is still reading 1/4. also the service engine soon light is lit. I have read about recall involving the fuel gauge for 2006 and 2008 Frontiers and contacted Nissan Consumer Affairs. They informed me that my 2007 is not part of the recall. I've read numerous accounts of 2007 models having the same problems as the 2006 and 2008 models so I am very displeased that Nissan is not including 2007S. It seems to be such a common problem that I should not have to pay to have it fixed. There is clearly a fault in the part or design.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #34

Apr 052010

Frontier

  • 65,000 miles
The fuel gauge on my 2007 Nissan Frontier has also stopped working correctly. As with others that have reported this issue, upon filling the tank the gauge will read empty and then during the drive it acts erratically and sometimes it will read correctly one minute and the next thing you know it's on empty again. Its very frustrating to know this was a recall in other years yet Nissan won't man up and fix these issues. I won't buy another Nissan because of the way they are handling this or should I say not handling this. It's a safety issue if you run out of gas when your gauge is obviously faulty and telling you there's fuel in the vehicle.

- Sun, LA, USA

problem #33

Apr 092010

Frontier

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After filling gas tank: The fuel gauge immediately registered "empty" and continued reading same. Current to date, no changes in reading. Its' consequences are on-going that a serious incident could occur on the highway by running out of fuel, loosing control of the vehicle. This is a current failure, and has not had repaired or replaced. Should be a manufacturer's recall for repairs. Faulty, and could be unsafe.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #32

Apr 082010

Frontier

  • 35,500 miles
After filling up the gas tank, the gas gauge does not work. It will either read empty or have an erratic reading. Nissan had a recall for these units for 2006, 2008, and 2009, but not 2007, which is the year of my Nissan Frontier. My unit failed just like the recalled units, but Nissan will not replace this obviously defective unit. The dealer will not replace the unit because it is 3 months out of warranty.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #31

Jan 012010

Frontier

  • 55,000 miles
Fuel sending unit failed 2 55,000 miles.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #30

Mar 012010

Frontier

  • 42,431 miles
I own a 2007 Nissan Frontier xe pick up. After filling up with gas on 2/28/2010 I noticed that my fuel gauge did not move to the full mark. The fuel gauge eventually (after about 30 minutes of driving) began to move to about the 3/4 full mark. My wife took the vehicle into the dealer on 3/1/2010 for a strange engine noise and to determine the problem with the fuel gauge. The service manager from the dealer informed me that there was a problem with the fuel gauge sending unit. I authorized the dealer to complete the repair, (3/3/2010) the cost was $474.38. The next day a friend called to tell me that they heard of a NHTSA recall on certain Nissan models regarding the fuel gauge malfunctioning. I consulted your website and in reading the summary of the recall discovered that it was very similar if not exact to the symptoms my vehicle had demonstrated. I called Nissan and furnished my VIN fully expecting my vehicle to be included in the recall. Unfortunately Nissan insisted my VIN was not covered in the recall. I appealed within their company asking them to consider covering the cost of the repair since the defect so closely mirrored the recall even though my VIN was technically excluded from the recall. They refused to offer any assistance towards my repair costs. I realize that I am asking a large company to show integrity since they are secure that my VIN is excluded, but I thought they would honor my request given the nature of my repair and the recall. Is there anything NHTSA can do to assist me in this? it seems a shame that even though my vehicle demonstrated nearly exact symptoms of the recall, they can deny responsibility because for whatever reason my VIN is not included in the recall at this time.

- Madera, CA, USA

problem #29

Feb 282010

Frontier

  • 56,540 miles
I own a 2007 Nissan Frontier xe and my fuel sending unit is going bad resulting in me running out of fuel on us I35 with a near rear ending. There are many recalls for this vehicle but mine does not apply for some reason.

- Princeton, KS, USA

problem #28

Mar 122010

Frontier

  • 43,000 miles
I have a 2007 Nissan Frontier just turned 43,000 miles and like so many others my fuel level sending unit went out, was told mine wasn't on recall list yet.

- Okmulgee, OK, USA

problem #27

Jul 102009

Frontier

  • 43,000 miles
Fuel sensing unit on my '07 Frontier went out. Though I'm reading many reports now of fuel gauges that don't rise to "full" at fill-up, mine was the opposite. After a few episodes of "check engine" light coming on, then clearing itself, I was heading down highway in the center lane during rush hour. Though my gauge said 1/4 tank, in fact I was out of gas, lost power, and had to coast as I made my way in heavy traffic over to the shoulder. It wouldn't start til a buddy brought a can of gas, then it started right up. Dealership diagnosed it as a toasted fsu, but because the truck was just out of warranty, I had to shell out $407 bucks to get it replaced. This issue is more than an inconvenience and an unnecessary expense...it's downright dangerous for someone caught in a situation when the fsu fails, and they can't maneuver out of a situation because of the loss of power. In my opinion, this failure, which I'm now learning is quite common, demands a recall. And if a recall is issued, how about a reimbursement for those of us who have already had to deal with this?

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #26

Mar 052010

Frontier

  • 49,000 miles
"I had 1/4 of a tank of gas and went to fill up. After filling up my gas tank, I turned on the car, at which point the needle did not register the full tank. After driving a couple miles, the check engine light came on. I went directly to the dealer and was told that it was a fuel sending unit/sensor and that it was no longer covered after 30K miles. After returning home and doing research, I went online to X.nissanhelp.com after performing a search, I came across many others who have experienced the same problem. Apparently it has something to do with the fuel sending unit. A similar problem was found on the 2000-2004 xterra models and a recall was performed when the vehicle would stop after not getting any fuel, posing a great danger. It seems that something in the unit is faulty and will corrode over time. There is a general consensus that everyone who is having the problem is experiencing the same thing after having the vehicle for over 2 yrs and with around 39K-49K. If this problem existed in previous models, and it was recalled, the 2005-2007 xterras, Frontiers, and pathfinders should get this fixed at no charge to the customer!! why wait for accidents and possible deaths, especially since the problem lies in an integral part of the vehicle. Cost of repair ranges from $300-600."

- Lafayette, CO, USA

problem #25

Mar 102010

Frontier

  • 46,000 miles
Yesterday morning the fuel gauge in my 2007 Nissan Frontier 4 X 4 (approximately 46,000 miles) appeared to work normally when it showed perhaps 30 miles left to drive before empty. It took almost 20 gallons to fill it up. After filling up fully, the fuel gauge showed about a quarter of a tank and the "service engine soon" light came on. Today the fuel gauge shows about 5/8ths of a tank left, with my having driven about 10 miles since filling up. It seems the 2007 Nissan Frontiers have the same problem as the 2006 and 2008 models that are being recalled. Unless Nissan changed parts or design in 2007, it makes no sense why the fuel gauge problem of 2006 should have skipped 2007 and reappeared in 2008! (with regard to my truck, nothing has been done to correct the fuel gauge failure. The problem looks to be persistent, and the safety issue of running out of gas in traffic is the same as for the to-be-recalled 2006 and 2008 models).

- Indianola, IA, USA

problem #24

Feb 152010

Frontier

  • 51,500 miles
I have a 2007 Nissan Frontier. Recently, when I would fill up the gas tank, the gas gauge would not move and the check engine light would come on. After traveling for about 30-45 minutes, the gas gauge would move up to full, but the check engine light would stay on. I can disconnect the battery, and the gas gauge works correctly and the check engine light goes out. All is normal until I fill up the gas tank again, and same problem. I went today to get my nc vehicle inspection, and it failed due to the check engine light, and when they put the obdii tester on, it gave them a P0463 code. After reading all the comments on the internet, it seems it is a common problem with Nissan's. it should be covered by Nissan, as they have done for other models with the same problem.

- Richfield, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?