Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.1

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,448 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Nissan Murano engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Nissan Murano:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Nissan Murano Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #72

Jun 152015

Murano 6-cyl

  • 172,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 6/15/15, while on highway my car stalled without any warning. Started up after few attempts. Service engine light came on and remained on. I scanned for error code and I've got P0340 (crank position and/or camshaft sensor(s)). On 6/26/15 I took the car to hilton head Nissan dealer in hardeeville, SC - they scanned it positive for code P0340(camshaft position sensor circuit failure) and they replaced the two sensors. They never told me about Nissan recall for sensors (NHTSA #03V4550000). I found today about this recall and called Nissan dealer on 6/27/16 - they told me the car is to old to apply the recall, despite the fact that Nissan Murano 2003 is specified on the recall and despite having the same complication identified by Nissan and NHTSA which necessitated the recall. In addition, letter written by the technical compliance department of Nissan to the NHTSA, dated 12/4/03, clearly states that my car is included in the list of recalled vehicles. No updated letter or other public information found stating that certain VIN numbers are required to have car repaired. This is a gross safety issue and I am not clear as to why they refused to service my vehicle as per the recall and I had to pay for sensors replacement. Please address. Thank you.

- Pooler, GA, USA

problem #71

Apr 082016

Murano 6-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
On 4/8/15, while about to make a left turn at a traffic light, my car stalled without any warning. Started up after two attempts. Service engine light came on and has remains on currently. Contacted Nissan specialist on a website who advised it could be crank position and/or camshaft sensor(s). I took it to Firestone to have it scanned. Positive for codes P0725(engine speed signal circuit malfunction) and P0340(camshaft position sensor circuit failure). Purchased my vehicle in August 2003. Never notified by Nissan of recall for sensors(NHTSA #03V4550000). Called local dealership on 4/9/16 who advised me that my VIN number is not on the list for my vehicle to be repaired, despite having the same complication identified by Nissan and NHTSA which necessitated the recall. In addition, letter written by thetechnical compliance department of Nissan to the NHTSA, dated 12/4/03, clearly states that my car is included in the list of recalled vehicles. No updated letter or other public information found stating that certain VIN numbers are required to have car repaired. This is a gross safety issue and I am not clear as to why they are refusing to service my vehicle as per the recall. Please address. Thank you.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #70

Mar 112015

Murano 6-cyl

  • 133,327 miles
Driving car and it cuts out while in motion. Recalls: www-ODI.NHTSA.dot.gov/owners/searchresultsbyurlcode.action?referencesearch.requestid=45839&referencesearch.urlcode=vvanyoql53pimw1 recall subject : intake air ducts/resonator report receipt date: May 19, 2009 NHTSA campaign number: 09V169000 component(s): Engine and engine cooling recall subject : wire breaking inside alternator, 1 investigation(s) report receipt date: Nov 17, 2003 NHTSA campaign number: 03V455000 component(s): Engine and engine cooling.

- Reisterstown, MD, USA

problem #69

Dec 202013

Murano

  • 89 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving my Nissan Murano going 45mph when suddenly the engine light flashed, the air went out, and the car shut off. I was pressing the gas but it wouldn't do anything and it suddenly shut off. I've been to several shops that can't find a problem so they told me about the recall on the 2003 Nissan Murano. They think it's maybe electrical or engine cooling.

- Chalmette, LA, USA

problem #68

Apr 262013

Murano 6-cyl

  • 166,000 miles
My truck would not turn over one morning, once I finally was able to get it cranked it went about a mile down the street ang just shut off. No warning, just shut off.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #67

Jul 112012

Murano 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
While driving on a major freeway I began to hear my cvt transmission making a loud winding noise that sounded like a turbine engine revving up and then my engine light came on. After I noticed something was wrong, the vehicle went from 65mph to 15mph during extremely heavy high speed traffic and then I was not able to accelerate which brought the vehicle to a complete stop on the freeway. The vehicle constantly does a bunny hop in heavy stop and go traffic which almost caused me to rear end another car because of the sudden surge of acceleration. This has been an ongoing issue since I purchased the car and is now becoming a serious safety issue.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #66

Aug 152013

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Nissan Murano. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, the vehicle stalled with the illumination of the check engine light. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where it was stated that the cam shaft position sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000. Updated 10/23/13 the consumer was informed his VIN was not included in the recall.

- Paramus, NJ, USA

problem #65

Nov 152012

Murano 6-cyl

  • 124,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Nissan Murano. The contact stated that while driving approximately 70 mph the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician replaced the air intake manifold. After the vehicle was repaired the failure recurred. NHTSA recall campaign number: 03V455000 (engine and engine cooling) could be related to the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 124,000.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #64

Jun 112012

Murano 6-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Nissan Murano. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled without warning. The check engine warning light would sporadically flash. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was advised that the crankshaft position sensor failed. The manufacturer also advised the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 03V455000 (engine and engine cooling). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 107,000 and the current mileage was 113,000.

- Washington , DC, USA

problem #63

May 022012

Murano 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
The "service engine soon" warning light has come on several times since I purchased my 2003 Nissan Murano. When in slow traffic or the engine has warmed up, when I press on the accelerator the car will not pick up speed, unless I depress it to the floor board. I'm terrified that I will be hit from the rear while waiting for my to get engine power. Doing my research online I noticed there was a recall NHTSA campaign id # 03V455000) for this exact problem on this year, make and model. I called Nissan with my VIN # and was told that my VIN# was not included in this recall. I'm very frustrated with Nissan at this point. I don't understand how if my car is doing the exact same thing as described in the recall, same year, make & model, why they would take a chance in the safety of me as well as my family. Is there anyone or anything else that I can do in order for Nissan to honor this recall since it was have a direct effect on the safety of my family, myself and other drivers if it was to cause a crash as they describe in their recall.

- North Richland Hills, TX, USA

problem #62

Apr 012011

Murano 6-cyl

  • 10,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After driving in stop and go traffic accelerator does not respond for 3-4 seconds then lunges forward and is very dangerous.

- Lafayette, IN, USA

problem #61

Nov 212011

Murano

  • 46,004 miles
My Nissan Murano was a brand new 2003 it is now 8 years old with 46015 miles. The Nissan service department in nh cared for my vehicle regularly; my first problem occurred when the engine started sending out black smoke, I fought for Nissan to take responsibility for what was happening to my vehicle, they did; it took six to eight weeks to get the oil smell flushed out of the air conditioner. I understand wear and tear but, major engine faults happening so soon; Nissan claims being the top vehicle manufactures. One of the many reasons I bought their brand. I did everything they said to keep my vehicle functioning; then it happened again; the rear powertrain reached its end, and oil leaking in the engine, the piston ball bearings is broken; and now the oil is leaking out. The average miles driven per year is 12000; my vehicle average 1500-miles yearly. I cannot nor will I battle over the 60 months/100,000 miles warranty contract; I am appealing to Nissan corporation saying, look and see in my case my vehicles" problems are unique; see the oddness of an engine with only 46015 miles having such major problems. See my maintenance records, it was not due to neglect, look at the first time I had a major problem with this engine very early in the first two years of owning it. The engine and components are faulty; I just got a bad make. A feedback card came in my mail it says, ?as a valued Nissan customer, your satisfaction throughout your ownership experience is our company?S highest priority?? so, then why hide behind the expired warranty? I was told, even if the NHTSA force a recall and Nissan found I am the cause, the Nissan board would willfully recall vehicles from 2004 up, to spite me or, single out the specific problems I now have repair them ignoring the vehicle"S young engine is completely faulty.

- Haverhill, MA, USA

problem #60

Sep 012011

Murano

  • 98,500 miles
When you come to a complete stop and then press the accelerator down the car does not move initially. If you hold the accelerator down after a few seconds the car will start to move. This has happened 4 times in the last 8 months after driving the car for about 20 mins. I have called Nissan dealership in warner robins, ga but no assistance because the warranty ran out...I just purchased this vehicle Jan 2011, they had to put in a brand new transmission a week after I purchased it but I was told months later the warranty ran out so I would have to pay for diagnostic check and this particular Murano was not under the recall for cvt. I find that hard to believe because all the posts I've read regarding this exact same problem received some form of mail regarding a recall of some sort. Today 3/25/12 my car hesitates to start.

- Warner Robins, GA, USA

problem #59

Feb 032009

Murano

  • 65,000 miles
I have a 2003 Nissan Murano at 65,000 miles the cvt transmission case cracked in half. The car was inoperable and left me stranded. After thousands of dollars in replacing the cvt transmission the transfer case has cracked again at 120,000 miles. I have contacted Nissan usa and they have persuaded me to pay for diagnostic work (although a large visible crack in the transfer case is quite obvious) and then proceeded to deny all reimbursements. This is a serious issue with hundreds on complaints online, an official Nissan tsb, yet no recall from Nissan or NHTSA.

- Woonsocket, RI, USA

problem #58

Jan 162012

Murano

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Nissan Murano. The contact stated that the check engine light was illuminated and the vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection. The dealer advised the contact that one of the five catalytic convertors was faulty and needed replacement. The contact did not have the catalytic convertor replaced. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Lansdowne, PA, USA

problem #57

Jan 132005

Murano

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Nissan Murano. The contact stated the rear differential of the vehicle failed and oil was leaking into the engine. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the contact was told that the rear differential was worn. The dealer also stated that the oil leak caused the pistons to become dry, which were destroyed. The dealer advised the contact that the pistons and the differential needed to be replaced. The failure mileage was 5,000 and the current mileage was 46,015.

- Haverhill, MA, USA

problem #56

Dec 142011

Murano 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
NHTSA recall campaign 03V455000: Camshaft position sensor failed; called Nissan and was told my VIN is not included in the list of recalled vehicles, even though symptoms are the same.

- Hoffman Estates, IL, USA

problem #55

Oct 032011

Murano 6-cyl

  • miles
Driving 60 mph when vehicle suddenly stopped running. Brake and engine lights came on. Was unable to get off roadway and other vehicle had to turn sharply to avoid hitting me. This was the first incident. Have had two incidents since.

- Franklin, KY, USA

problem #54

Oct 152011

Murano 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
Engine stalls while driving or upon moving from a stopped position (street light, stop sign). Problem found to be faulty camshaft position sensor. There is a recall for this (R3022/03V-345) but my VIN doesn't fall within the range. Perhaps this issue is more widespread.

- Leander, TX, USA

problem #53

Apr 142011

Murano 6-cyl

  • miles
The Murano seat frames are known to have a weak spot where the weld will break -causing your drivers seat to rock back and forth - or lean badly to one side. This cause sometime an unintentional sudden move which cause changing the steering wheel direction. That might cause an accident in some cases. Another major problem. Is the car get into sudden power loss after a while of driving after making a full stop. For example on traffic light or stop sign. It will take very very slow taking off and then will get the power back after few seconds. This delay may cause an accident in example of making left turn on a traffic intersection. You will not have any power to move the car for about 2-4 seconds. Thanks

- Glendora, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?