Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,769 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Nissan Murano transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Nissan Murano:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Nissan Murano Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #28

Jun 282009


  • 72,000 miles


2004 Nissan Murano, came to a halt in traffic started bucking, took to the dealer, transfer case is cracked $4,300 repair. My private mechanic told me Nissan issued a service bulletin on 2003 - 2004 models regarding transfer case cracking, replacement with 2005 parts and new electrical switch. I contacted Nissan corporate they said they would get back to me a week later they only offered the response "we can't help you financially at this time" after viewing posts online this is a common problem in 2003 and 2004 models. Thank goodness my husband was not on the interstate when the Murano decided to die. He could have been killed. Earlier the car had an oil leak I took it to several mechanics until it was fixed. This car has only 72,000 miles on it, a transfer case should not crack.

- York, PA, USA

problem #27

May 012009


  • 95,000 miles
Two main problems with my 2004 Nissan Murano.... biggest is brake problems. Brake pads and rotors have been replaced twice and there is still a noise when braking along with bad vibration when slowing down. The vibration can be felt in the steering wheel. Also, there is a clinking noise in the engine when taking off at slow speeds. It sounds like the motor is going to drop. This has been to expensive to fix, so I continue to drive it as is. Very unhappy with the quality of this vehicle. Many repairs including small that aren't worth having the vehicle. No dealer wants to take as trade in.

- Redlands, CA, USA

problem #26

Jun 222009


  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Murano. The contact noticed that the vehicle was losing power while driving at an unknown speed. A few seconds later, the vehicle regained power. He took the vehicle to the dealer and they replaced the battery and alternator; however, the vehicle still did not have power. The dealer stated that the transmission also needed to be replaced at the estimated cost of $5,000. A report was filed with the manufacturer (number 6529588) and they stated that they would call the contact back. The current and failure mileages were 78,000.

- Valley Stream, NY, USA

problem #25

May 062009


  • 85,000 miles


I was driving my 2004 Nissan Murano down a busy street with no shoulder and I had a complete transmission failure. Luckily, I was not hit by any cars. The car had to be towed. The only fix is to replace the entire transmission. Total cost: Over $6000 I do not have $6000 to repair the vehicle. The band in the cvt transmission failed and can not be replaced. I have only 85,000 miles on the Murano. This is a common defect on '03 and '04 Muranos and Nissan does not recognize this and will not work with me to resolve this issue.

- Staunton, IL, USA

problem #24

Apr 202009


  • 71,000 miles
2004 Nissan Murano, 71,000 miles. Sudden catastrophic failure of the drive train. No warning, no indicator. Car was gently driven.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #23

Nov 242007


  • 50,000 miles
Nov 2007 had transmission failure at approx 50,000 miles. This happened on the interstate, engine suddenly cut out & had to cross over 4 lanes to get to rt shoulder. Was covered under warranty but now have transfer case on the verge of failure at 62000 miles, just 2000 outside of warranty.

- Glen Allen, VA, USA

problem #22

Sep 082008


  • 67,128 miles


While driving my 2004 Nissan Murano the vehicle would not accelerate in traffic and was forced to coast to the side of the road and restart the vehicle. My 8 year old son was with me and this could have caused an accident and injury. Superior Nissan, where I purchased the care less than 5 months prior, said that the transmission valve body and cam lobe sensor was going bad. The vehicle has only 67,000 miles on it. The dealer refused to stand behind their product and quoted us a cost of $2200 to repair. After reading hundreds of similar complaints on the internet, I feel that Nissan should be forced to recall all Murano models with the cvt transmission and repair them. This is a know problem and they are ignoring the fact they put out a defective product that could cause injuries or deaths.

- Elkins, AR, USA

problem #21

Oct 222008


  • 29,000 miles
2004 Murano sl AWD with only 29,000 miles when the vehicle was started the service engine soon light, slip light, and vdc light came on and stayed on. Upon pushing the gas pedal, it took a couple seconds for any acceleration to occur. After getting on the highway and pressing the gas pedal again, the acceleration was delayed and would only go up to about 40 mph, but the rpms were extremely high. Every time I try to take off from a stop, it takes awhile for any acceleration to occur. Feels like the transmission is slipping. Vehicle had to be towed and I had to pay for it. Now I'm being told that even with only 29,000 miles, it's not covered under warranty.

- Terre Haute, IN, USA

problem #20

Oct 012008


  • 60,000 miles
My 2004 Murano is now clocking 80,000 miles. I notice a problem within the last 20,000 miles whenever I get stuck in stop and go traffic. I would step on the gas and nothing would happen for a few seconds and suddenly it takes off. I had to slam on my brake to prevent smacking into the car in front. This problem continues throughout the stop and go traffic ordeal. My dealer informed me that he is not aware of this problem and suggested a transmission service. This problem has continued but always after driving the car for a while or when I am in stop and go traffic. This is a safety issue. I understand from the dealer that it is a pressure sensor problem that is typical for model that I have. The problem is the cost repair is half of the value of the car.

- Cypress, TX, USA

problem #19

Aug 182008


  • 75,000 miles
My 2004 Nissan Murano, with 75,000 miles started to have transmission problems. It would not accelerate, and seemed not to shift into gear. Then it just stopped. Eventually it would not shift at all, and when put into gear, the car would thump and then stall or die. The Nissan dealer, bill hood Nissan, hammond, Louisiana said they would need to replace with a new transmission...this original charge was $4,635. I cannot afford this expense so I was not able to have the work done there. After reading the Nissan owner's website postings, I found that this has been a recurring problem with a very large number of Nissan Murano much so, that I personally believe Nissan should have recalled this transmission. I am a very upset Nissan customer, as the normal drivetrain warranty is only 60,000 miles, and not the usual implied warranty of 100,000 miles. I am hoping that by positing this, others may become aware of this issue, before it is too late, and they end up making payments on a transmission replacement, -or- please purchase the extended drivetrain warranty from Nissan.

- Springfield, LA, USA

problem #18

Jul 072008


  • 63,000 miles


The transmission causes the engine to stall when stopping at a light, then jerks.

- Whitinsville, MA, USA

problem #17

Jun 282008


  • 32,000 miles
Car started to jerk forward when I was 2 hours into a 3 1/2 hour drive. This occurred when I came upon heavy highway traffic, and had to idle in traffic. Temperature outside was about 98 to 100 degrees, and the car was not overheating (no smoke/temp gauge was normal). Later on into the drive, the car began to jerk forward and cut out at stop lights. I had to turn the car off at the stop light then turn it back on to get the car to drive. Later on in the day, the car got progressively worse. It started to make a laboring/whining sound and would not accelerate beyond a particular speed or respond to the gas pedal. Eventually, turning the car off then on did not work. The car would drive about 20 feet then would not accelerate, then coast to a stop. I had to be towed from philadelphia to Virginia because there were no Nissan shops, nor auto shops open during that time of a Saturday. Sunday would not have been a business day for mechanics either. I live in Virginia.

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #16

May 072008

Murano 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
The problem occurs on a hot day in stop and go traffic where once you come to a stop, when pushing the gas pedal down it takes a good 10-30 seconds before you get any response from the transmission, and when you finally do, it's very very slow as if the car is stuck in 4th gear trying to accelerate. While driving 30mpg+, it starts to feel like the car is pulling back, in an incorrect gear. Doing a quick search shows that many other owners of a Nissan Murano experience this problem, and that the dealership says that its the pressure sensor and the transmission needs replacement, costing between $5400-$7000. I have not contacted dealership yet but after reading other customer's complaints it doesn't look like I would have any luck getting this fixed without having to pay for a whole new transmission.

- Atco, NJ, USA

problem #15

Feb 152008

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 106,000 miles
Leasing a Nissan Murano 2004. I had the transmission replaced at 26K and now at 100K the dealership is telling me that it needs to be replaced again. A transmission should last the life of the vehicle.

- Fort Pierce, FL, USA

problem #14

May 192007

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
Bad transmission and my catalytic converter went bad at 80,000. On my 2004 Nissan Murano transmission has been slipping since 70, 000.

- Monterey Park, CA, USA

problem #13

Sep 172007

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,500 miles
On two occasions within two weeks the car would not respond to the accelerator. The engine would rev up, but the car would not move. Then without warning, the car will go "into gear" and move. After two weeks the problem occurred again. Car would lose drive train power, but all other functions, radio, ac, steering would still work. The car simply would not go when the accelerator was pressed. Then the transmission would work all of a sudden and then quit all of a sudden.

- Saint Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #12

Sep 022007

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles
I have a 2004 Nissan Murano and have experienced several problems to date. First, after about one year of ownership the idler pulley bracket cracked (2/21/06) and had to be replaced. For the last year the brakes have squeaked and when brought to the dealership they reported they could not find a problem. Currently (9/02/07) I am experiencing the same idler pulley bracket problem and will have to take the care in to be serviced and inconvenienced once again.

- Corona , CA, USA

problem #11

Jul 102007

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
Issue with 2004 sl Murano. At 68K miles, felt a shudder and vibration in steering wheel, without warning. Took it to mechanic where car died while going in reverse. Took it to transmission specialist who could not diagnose issue. Towed car to Nissan dealership. Another "diagnosis" performed and confirmed transmission was issue. No specific reason give. New transmission ordered, but turned out to be defective. Car would not go in reverse. Nissan confirmed that they knew about this issue. Replacement transmission sent and installed. Rude service from dealership, no help from Nissan customer "specialist." New transmission cost was $6000 (parts and labor). Had no option but to put new transmission, because Nissan does not rebuild old transmissions.

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #10

Nov 092006

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,066 miles
: the contact stated while traveling 25 mph on dry normal road conditions, the vehicle stalled, and was able to be restarted. The vehicle stalled again, after traveling 10 yards. It was towed to the dealership, who performed a diagnostic, and determined that the alternator needed to be replaced. The check engine and battery light were illuminated prior to the incident. The stalling recurred a year later on 07/17/06 while traveling 30 mph. The check engine light was illuminated prior to the incident. The vehicle was restarted and driven to another dealership, who replaced the throttle meter. This corrected the problem. On 10/24/06, the problem recurred while traveling 30 mph, and was towed to another dealership, who could not service the vehicle due to lack of parts needed for the diagnostic. The vehicle was towed to another dealership, who determined the automatic transmission was defective, and was replaced. This remedied the problem. The contact wrote a complaint letter to the manufacturer and dealer on 10/29/06, but had yet to receive a response. Updated 12/28/2006 -

- New Carrollton, MD, USA

problem #9

Oct 202006

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
2004 Nissan Murano with 44,500 miles. Transmission disengages while car us running. Engine stays on but car decelerates. Happened 3 times while driving in the middle of a busy highway, while crossing a busy intersection, and while driving at low speeds in a neighborhood. On the highway I was able to shift the gears between neutral and drive and it finally re-engaged after several attempts.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?