Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,499 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Nissan Murano seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Nissan Murano:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Nissan Murano Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #15

Apr 102009


  • 52,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Murano. The contact stated that while driving at low speeds over a bump, the sun visor would fall down without assistance. The sun visor would remain in an upward position when secured with velcro straps. In addition, the passenger side air bag sensor would not function. While dispensing fuel the automatic nozzle clicked off continuously. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number 06V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly). The VIN was not included in the recall. The failure was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 52,000.

- Pickering, OH, USA

problem #14

Oct 162009


  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Murano. The contact stated while driving at speeds of 55 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated. The dealer advised the vehicle was not under any recall and that the contact would have to pay out of pocket for any repairs. The vehicle was not repaired. In addition, while sitting in the driver's seat, the seat broke. The seat was repaired accordingly. The failure mileage was 98,000 and the current mileage was 111,000.

- Senatobia, MS, USA

problem #13

Jul 202005

Murano 4WD 6-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
After purchasing a 05 Nissan Murano, a month later the airbag light started to flash. Took it to the dealer and the airbag module was replaced and system was reset. In late 06 the airbag light start flashing again, the dealer reset the system, worked fine until Oct of 08 at this point my extended warranty has ended. They reset the system and pulled the code from the unit. I was then told that the spiral cable aka clockspring cable is faulty that is the reason why the airbag light turns on at random times. I was quoted a little over $2000 for the repairs and was told there is nothing that can be done since my extended warranty has ended ask to talk to a manager and was told the same thing. Also on the way home from the dealer that day the airbag light came on again, when I called them I was given the instructions on how to reset the airbag light. I ask the if the airbag system will work if there is an accident and was told they cant guarantee it will but it should if the system is reset and the light is not on. From that day to now I have to reset the system at least once every 2 weeks. The other issue that I've had is with the transmission seals leaking with causes the oil level to get low and makes it loud and increases the RPM while driving. I had the seal replaced 3 times, once under original warranty, once with extended warranty and just recently had to pay for repairs. And again asked to talk to a service manager about this since its the same part being replaced 3 times, and was told there is nothing that can be done since there is no extended warranty.

- Grayson, GA, USA

problem #12

Sep 262009


  • 60,000 miles


SRS restraint system indicator came on in 4th quarter 2009 and was referred to fitzgerald auto in chambersburg pa. No resolution was determined and dealer reset fault indicator. Recent 1st quarter 2010: Indicator came on again and have set another appointment with same Nissan dealer.

- Nottingham, MD, USA

problem #11

Nov 272009


  • 31,024 miles
2005 Nissan Murano with 31,000 miles. The airbag light was flashing and it was taken to the dealership, where I was told it was the airbag sensor module and it would have to be replaced. I was told without replacing it my airbags would not work and this was not covered under any warranty. I had to pay over $1000 or have no airbags to protect my wife and child. Looking on the internet I see this is a common problem, it looks like Nissan should be required to fix this since it is a safety issue.

- Tullahoma, TN, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #10

Oct 252009


  • 58,500 miles
We own a 2005 Nissan Murano - the driver's door and passenger door on the driver's side will not unlock with the remote or the switch - they require a manual unlock - this seems to be a common problem with these vehicles from my research online - I feel it is a safety issue that Nissan should repair at no charge to the consumer. Also, the airbag light stays on - we have had this checked, and it continues to be on - this is also another safety issue. Our vehicle is in perfect condition otherwise. We have less than 60,000 miles on the car.

- Forest Ranch, CA, USA

problem #9

Apr 012009


  • 40,000 miles


The air bag indicator light is flashing in the dash again. I had this problem fixed once before while still under warranty at the North little rock dealership. On leaving the garage within just a mile, I made a left turn and heard a crunching noise in the steering column and it came back on. I went strait back and they said they would fix it but the (second replacement part) wouldn't be in till the next day so I was given a loaner for one day. Now it's back on again. Also noted shortly after the warranty expired that the lumbar support on the drivers side no longer inflates/deflates and hasn't worked since. I have had all recalls fixed and had to replace the battery at 37,000 miles at my cost. Also had to have the dealership resurface both front rotors and replace a rear caliper under warranty that had locked up 1 & 1/2 years ago. I see that the front rotors are in need of resurfacing again even though the break pads have 1/2 of there wear left to go. Due to the highly chromed /curved dipstick, getting an accurate oil level reading is not possible at any time, so the dipstick has only been removed three time since purchasing it as it is a pointless endeavor. I own six autos that range in age from 1972 threw this 2005 Murano and of all of them, the Murano is the least trusted one. I will never own another Nissan.

- Fremont, MI, USA

problem #8

Dec 282008


  • 28,000 miles
The airbag light began flashing without apparent reason, and it has been flashing each time the vehicle has been driven since then. The vehicle is out of warranty and dealership states diagnostic will cost $85, plus cost of repair. I don't know if the airbag will deploy correctly in a crash, or if it will deploy when it is not needed, under the circumstances. Either way, this is a safety issue that needs to be addressed. I have noticed several other consumer complaints of this type. See consumer complaint numbers 1020853, 10199625, 10196794, 10193158, and 10188126. If this is a manufacturer defect, then Nissan should be responsible for repair cost.

- Humble, TX, USA

problem #7

Dec 012008

Murano 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2005 Nissan Murano air bag sensor light continued to blink. Consumer wants to know if this is a safety issue. A diagnostics determined that the contact spiral in the steering column had an open circuit and needed to be replaced or the driver's side airbag would not deploy.

- Austin, PA, USA

problem #6

Jan 152007

Murano 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Murano. The air bag warning light remains illuminated. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer twelve times due to the failure and they only performed a temporary remedy. The dealer stated that the air bag would not deploy in the event of a crash. The purchase date was unknown. The current mileage was 36,500 and failure mileage was 15,000.

- Ryderwood, WA, USA

problem #5

Feb 202006

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,144 miles


I purchased my 2005 Nissan Murano in Nov 2005. On Feb 24, 2006, I brought the vehicle in to the dealer because the airbag light was flashing. They "erased all dtc's and retested the system." In March 2006, I returned with the same problem. At that time, they replaced the driver airbag module, spiral cable, and diagnostic sensor. It was ok for a year, but then started flashing again. I took it back on Oct. 12, 2007. They removed and replaced the driver side airbag module (again). Three days later, it started flashing again. I wasn't able to take it in again until March 21, 2008. At that time, they replaced the apiral cable (again) and informed me that it might not be fixed but, according to Nissan protocol, that's all they could do. If it starts flashing again, they can replace the next part. In the meantime, I have no more of an idea today that my vehicle is safe than I have ever had. Even if I take it in a 5th or 6th time, how can I be sure it will work if and when I need it? in the very beginning, they did replace the whole unit, and that didn't work. I no longer have confidence in Nissan's safety protocols.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #4

Jan 102008

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,500 miles
While driving down the highway I could hear what could best be described as a combination click and snap. At the same time I felt the lower left side of the drivers seat move. After further investigation (pictures available), I found that a supporting bracket has sheared in two places. This causes the seat to be very loose. One of the power seat functions will cause the seat to raise up only on the right side.

- Yucca Valley, CA, USA

problem #3

May 242006

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,865 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Murano. The contact stated that the air bag indicator light continues to illuminate on the instrument panel. The vehicle has been to the dealer five times and he is still unsure if the air bags have been installed properly. The better business bureau referred him to NHTSA to file a safety complaint. The BBB stated that his vehicle was not affected by the lemon law due to the year it was manufactured. The manufacturer has done nothing but make excuses and has not offered any assistance. The current mileage was 18,000 and failure mileage was 7,865. Updated 02-01-08. The consumer stated each time the defect has been repaired the problems still persists. Updated 02/01/08

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

problem #2

Jul 142007

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,600 miles
Vehicle has entered "fail-safe" mode at least 8 times in the past year. Dealership has had the vehicle no less than 7 times following "fail-safe" events. Ground wire to ECM svc bulletin was completed. Recalled alternator was replaced (after 4th event). Airbag sensor and airbag spiral cable were replaced following separate events. Currently, carmd tool is giving a P2135 error code, and states that latest event was caused by throttle position sensor/switch and/or an "a" /"B" electrical voltage correlation error. All "fail-safe" mode events occurred during high-speed (55-65 mph) traffic on multi-lane highways, with the exception of the latest event. Three times, entry into "fail-safe" mode created extremely hazardous situations and near-accidents. Each time, after the ignition was switched off, the vehicle has restarted in normal operating mode, but the mil came on and stayed on until vehicle was serviced by dealership.

- Englewood, CO, USA

problem #1

Jul 202006

Murano 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles
: the contact stated the air bag light did not illuminate signifying a malfunction with the air bag sensor. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who determined that there were 5 essential parts to the air bag system and they would only replace 1 part. After the repair, the air bag sensor malfunctioned again. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who determined that the vehicle needed all 5 parts of the air bag system replaced however, only 1 part could be replaced per visit. The manufacturer was contacted who concurred with the dealer for the vehicle repair remedy. Updated 11/21/2006 -

- Coshocton, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?