Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
26,294 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Nissan Murano seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Nissan Murano:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Nissan Murano Owner Comments

problem #5

Jan 042005


  • 42,224 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Murano. Whenever the contact drives the vehicle he noticed that the airbag light would appear on the dashboard. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where the contact had the airbag module, crash zone sensor, and wiring replaced, however months after the service the same failure had reoccured. The contact has noticed the failure since the day he purchased the vehicle, the current and failure mileages were 42224.

- Germantown, TN, USA

problem #4

Feb 202006

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,144 miles
I purchased my 2005 Nissan Murano in Nov 2005. On Feb 24, 2006, I brought the vehicle in to the dealer because the airbag light was flashing. They "erased all dtc's and retested the system." In March 2006, I returned with the same problem. At that time, they replaced the driver airbag module, spiral cable, and diagnostic sensor. It was ok for a year, but then started flashing again. I took it back on Oct. 12, 2007. They removed and replaced the driver side airbag module (again). Three days later, it started flashing again. I wasn't able to take it in again until March 21, 2008. At that time, they replaced the apiral cable (again) and informed me that it might not be fixed but, according to Nissan protocol, that's all they could do. If it starts flashing again, they can replace the next part. In the meantime, I have no more of an idea today that my vehicle is safe than I have ever had. Even if I take it in a 5th or 6th time, how can I be sure it will work if and when I need it? in the very beginning, they did replace the whole unit, and that didn't work. I no longer have confidence in Nissan's safety protocols.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #3

Nov 272007

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,100 miles
11/27/07 problem: Air bag light flashing. (two occurrences) diagnostic conducted 11/25/07 and 11/27/07. At the first service dealer could not determine diagnostic codes and I was asked to bring vehicle in 11/27/07 a complete diagnostic was conducted. According to dealership diagnostic codes the passenger side seat needs to be replaced with costs exceeding $1000. The seats, thus far appear to be in tack. What does seat cushion have to do with airbag or its sensor? the vehicle is less than years 2 years new with approx. 51,000 miles. Concerns: Vehicle safety and proper deployment of airbags. I was informed by dealership that this is common in Muranos and pathfinders. If so, why hasn't there been a recall w/O costs to consumer. After reviewing similar complaints submitted by other consumers, it appears to me that safety concerns exists including but not limited to the risks of injury to a passenger. In addition, the actual cause and final repair resolution remains unknown and unresolved. (see other consumer complaint no. 10208537) it is not a coincidence that my vehicle's airbag indicator failed around the same mileage as the other. Who is to say that the airbag will not malfunction in case of accident? (please also see consumer complaint no 10199625 & C.C. no. 10196794)

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #2

Jun 052007


  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles
April 2006 - air bag light flashing. Problem recurred 5 times before dealership replacement of air bag sensor and diagnostic unit in July 2005. June 2007 - air bag light flashing. Tested and found intermittent short in driver side air bag. Replaced on June 7, 2007. Problem recurred on June 8, 2007. Upon bringing vehicle to dealership, they indicated that they couldn't find anything wrong and I should bring the vehicle in without turning it off if light starts flashing again.

- Westland, MI, USA

problem #1

Aug 012006

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2005 Nissan Murano. While driving the vehicle the air bag warning lights flashed. The dealer stated that the air bag module and the cables were defective. The dealer made the repair. Approximately six months later the air bag light started flashing again. The dealer stated that the air bag module was defective and needed to be replaced. The dealer was waiting for the part to make the replacement. The vehicle's current and failure mileage were 12,000 miles. Update 05/10/07

- Marlton, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?