Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.5

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,903 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Nissan Murano engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Nissan Murano:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Nissan Murano Owner Comments

problem #14

Mar 182016

Murano

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The check engine light will not go off on my car-I took the car back 4 times to the dealer and it has not been fixed.

- Owings Mills, MD, USA

problem #13

Feb 012016

Murano

  • 0 miles
Vehicle with 70,000 miles has head gasket leak. Car has only been maintained by dealer for servicing. After researching many Nissan owners has had same problem with vehicle. Should these vehicles be recalled or should consumers be gauged for $40,000 for a vehicle that will only last 70,000 miles before having engine problems. Also I continuously have problems with the tire pressure monitoring system.

- Berkeley, CA, USA

problem #12

Jul 192014

Murano

  • 75,431 miles
The service engine soon light came on and the engine started to stumble as if it was fuel starved and was losing power and wanted to stall. Putting the car in neutral and goosing the gas at idle at traffic lights kept the vehicle going until I could get it to the dealership. The dealer replaced the cam and crank position sensors. One year later the same two parts failed and were replaced. They lasted less than one day and now the vehicle is at the dealership for major repairs because of either the parts or a combination of the parts and internal engine parts.

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #11

Jul 082014

Murano 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have less than 61,000 miles on my 09 Murano. I need to know why when I list my VIN, there are no recalls, yet if I search make, model, and yr.,without VIN, three are listed. Three which I have had all happen air bags, air bags and electrical system, and TPMS (tire pressure monitoring system), says TPMS was in certain states. How can you specify this recall to those states? people move, travel to those states, and yes, we use road salt here. My TPMS came on this past July and will not go off. But, seems your recall may not apply in the South. I also, in July 2014, had all 4 motor mounts replaced. Nissan said all 4 would need replacing soon after hearing a knocking when ever I started off (like at red light or stop sign). Motor could fall out. Nissan was going to charge me $800 for one (all I could afford at one time). A friend took it to a well known reputable auto store and they replaced all 4 for $900. Now Nissan would not be over charging that much, would they" yea, right. Affected parts? seems there are a lot of the 153 complaints filed refer to motor mounts. Have any motors fallen out to cause accident"

- Senatobia, MS, USA

problem #10

Sep 112014

Murano

  • miles
2009 Nissan Murano. Consumer writes in regards to engine belts and steering wheel problems. The consumer stated after he left the dealer, he heard a grinding sound when he tried to adjust the steering wheel, which he had not experienced before. The dealer stated it was a know problem, and there was nothing they could do.

- Chesterfield, MO, USA

problem #9

Mar 242014

Murano 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
New vehicle was bought September 2009. On 04/26/2011, East charlotte Nissan's mechanics changed transfer case because leaking. Vehicle had 29,505 miles. On March 24, 2014, ecn's assistant service manager said it is necessary to change transfer case and gasket because leaking. Vehicle had aprox 70,000 miles. After owner requested help to nc consumer protection, ecn's general manager replied neither of those leaks would be considered abnormal since repair was nearly three years and vehicle was driven 50,000 miles. Also, he states that owner because his financial situation wants to get vehicle fixed at no cost and that is dishonest and unethical. Owner never tried to get a free repair. He only would like to know: Why transfer case and gasket should be changed every three years because leaking? however, the first time they were changed happened after one year and seven months and with less than 30,000 miles.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #8

Mar 212014

Murano

  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We were driving and the car lost speed. We had the car towed to the Nissan dealer and they diagnosed that the battery had failed. This was the second new battery. Then, the car ran until the battery went dead and again the car stopped on the road in traffic without warning. Again the car was towed to the Nissan dealer and this time the problem was diagnosed as a bad alternator. Questions bought up that the 2008 Nissan Muranos had a campaign to replace faulty alternators but not the 2009. Problem is that without warning light on the dash that there is a problem with the charging system, the car battery goes dead and the car stops while driving. The risk of catastrophic accident is extreme.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #7

Sep 182012

Murano

  • 53,000 miles
Shortly after purchasing our 2009 Nissan Murano in Sept 2012 a loud noise was heard at times in the floor board...it was discovered to be a broken motor mount...this was replaced under 30 day warranty from place of purchase. The sunroof cover also was defective as it would not open completely at times and also required replacing. Since this time in 2013 the wipers do not work properly at all times...this has not been recreated for a tech to inspect....sometimes they do not go as fast as should if heavy rain and other times go too fast if barely drizzling, this is on the intermittent function. February 2014 was due to take in for routine oil change that day and service engine soon light came on that morning...was advised needs new catalytic converter, was at 85K, manf. Warranty went out at 80K, extended warranty we purchased and paid extra for was to cover up to 150K; however, does not cover this part. Nissan says nothing on them, funny they are the ones who made the vehicle, and regardless of this being a used vehicle (we are the second owner) this is not something you can tell in advance is going out...we have not had any noise prior and this was first time light came on. This is very costly and something that has to be fixed in order to pass inspection or I will not have a vehicle to drive.

- Clemmons, NC, USA

problem #6

Oct 072013

Murano

  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Nissan Murano. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle began to decelerate with extreme hesitation. In addition, the engine warning indicator illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was able to be driven to the contact's destination but failed to restart once the engine was turned off. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer, who stated that head gasket was fractured. The technician recommended that the engine be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 74,000.

- Augusta , GA, USA

problem #5

May 212013

Murano

  • miles
The car was taken to the Nissan dealership approximately 4 months ago and I was notified of the transfer case leaking and was quoted at least $3,000 to fix it. I was told it will eventually go and will affect my transmission but to stay on top of my oil changes and fluids to help prevent the system from failing. At my next oil change I asked if the system was checked and I was told "everything looks good." About a week ago (was not due yet for a oil change) my car would jolt into reverse and would be hesitant to go and same thing with driving forward. The car is stuck in AWD, transmission clicks when driving, and jolting occurs driving forward and reversing. Apparently this is a common problem with the transfer case failing in this type of car.

- Reading, PA, USA

problem #4

Sep 222012

Murano

  • 28,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When vehicle is accelerated from a stop, loud thump is felt and heard from floorboard. Nissan dealer refused to cover replacement of cracked front end motor mounts. Other Murano owners report the same problem. This is an obvious safety issue.

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #3

Jun 192012

Murano 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
I was driving this car and it feels like it is choking or running out of gas ( when it has gas in the tank) and engine stops in the middle of the road or freeway and steering wheel becomes very hard. When it happened first I took it to my local Nissan dealer shipr (trophy Nissan mesquite tx) they said the my air flow meter and sensor was bad they changed it and charged me $700 I took the car home after 3-4 days same problem again vehicle engine stop while driving on the road. I took the vehicle back to trophy Nissan and they kept vehicle for about 4 days and told me that they can not duplicate the problem. Again I took the vehicle with me and next day I have the same problem it feels like choking and engine stops in the middle of the road. It is really dangerous to drive this vehicle in this condition, I am not getting any help from Nissan dealer ship trophy Nissan in mesquite tx.

- Rowlett, TX, USA

problem #2

Apr 142012

Murano 6-cyl

  • 60,210 miles
Vehicle was in shop for major (60K) maintenance. Inspections showed some leakage of coolant from top of engine, diagnosis confirmed as leaking head gaskets. Have pursued complaints with Nissan dealer and Nissan Consumer Affairs. This is a major defect requiring expensive repair if not corrected could lead to engine overheating and failure.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #1

May 142012

Murano 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
I was driving at about 25-30 mph and the engine just shut down.. no warnings no lights just stopped in drive.. I then tried to start it putting it in park and could not tried about 25 min. I finally got it started by putting my foot on the brake and pushing the start button and then quickly hitting the gas, once getting it started I pulled it over off the road and let it idle. I was able to get it home with out anymore problems.. I then took it too my Nissan dealer and they could not find anything wrong computer did not read any errors.. I only have 25000 miles on the car and is less then 3 years old and always serviced.

- Ridgefield Park, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?