Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,601 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Nissan Murano drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Nissan Murano:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Nissan Murano Owner Comments

problem #14

May 102016


  • 135,000 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Nissan Murano. While driving at any speed, the vehicle failed to accelerate when the accelerator pedal was depressed. In addition, when the vehicle was on an incline and the accelerator pedal was depressed to go forward, the vehicle would go in reverse. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the cdt transmission failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 135,000.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #13

Mar 292016


  • 72,655 miles
Leaking transfer case. On March 15, 2016, at 72,549 miles, the cvt transmission on my 2010 Nissan Murano le failed as I was pulling out of a lowe's parking lot. Nissan had extended their warranty to 10 years or 120,000 miles so they replaced the cvt transmission free of charge and returned the vehicle to me on March 22, 2016. On March 29, 2016 I noticed a brown oily fluid leaking on my garage floor. I took it back to the same Nissan dealerership, and they said the cvt transmission was fine but now I had a leaking transfer case. Unfortunately, the transfer case was not covered under their extended warranty for the transmission and I paid over $1300 out of pocket to repair it.

- Leander, TX, USA

problem #12

Nov 082014


  • 73,908 miles
On 11/08/2014 while driving on the interstate the went suddenly from 65 mph to 40 mph with no warning. I couldn't go any faster. It was making a rattling noise as if there were loose nuts and bolts being grounded up. The short of the long is that the Nissan dealer they would have to replace the transfer case with a used one. $1950+10% tax. We picked up the vehicle ON11/19/2014. On 11/25/2014 the same symptoms occurred. The mechanic said that" it was running ok but the computer read out was off". replaced mass air flow sensor and reset idle speed. Picked up vehicle on 11/25/2014 total cost, $318.78. +tow. On 11/26/2014, my wife went to pick up the vehicle after they just changed the air flow censor while backing up the vehicle seemed to bind up and then would clunk when trying to move forward. The service manager then took the vehicle with the mechanic for a guick ride and found that the rear differential was damaged. Total cost $552.06.

- Worcester , MA, USA

problem #11

May 102015


  • 106,500 miles


As I was returning home noticed a strange drivetrain noise. I avoided using the interstate and stayed on the city streets so that if anything happened it would be at a slower speed. In just a couple miles a clattering came from the drive train and had no further ability to drive. After towing the Murano to Nissan a dealer it was determined that the transfer case had failed. The case was completely broken as caused by an internal gear failure. This happened on May 14, 2015. Cost to repair was $3800. Comments online indicate this is a common failure that Nissan fails to admit or warranty. They have increased transmission warranty to $120K but not the transfer case. Could be a serious safety issue if it had failed while traveling down the interstate at 75 mph.

- Spearfish, SD, USA

problem #10

Sep 012014

Murano 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
Vehicle service engine soon light came on and vehicle would not move after we came to a stop at a light shut off and restarted vehicle took to burdick Nissan for service. They said they had cleared the codes by adding some fluid to the tranny. Wife and I drove to lunch { low speed} light came back on returned to dealership needs new transmission it is being worked on. This is very scary and it seems to be a recurring problem for the Nissan cvt tranny.

- Oswego, NY, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #9

Sep 022014

Murano 6-cyl

  • 66,785 miles
While taking my car in for the regularly scheduled 60,000 mile maintenance, the dealership informed me the transfer case requires replacement (car was at 66,785 miles). They estimated the cost at about $3,800, but ended up coming down to $1,800 estimated. This appears to be a known issue that can cause the car to simply seize up. With two young children, this isn't something I'm willing to put off. It's very frustrating seeing this come up just as my factory warranty expired. I called Nissan America seeking assistance, and none was provided. In my case it is outside of warranty, but it's a serious known issue. I feel somewhat cheated.

- Worthington, OH, USA

problem #8

Jun 242014

Murano 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles


Purchased car Feb. 11, 2014 as a certified pre-owned vehicle and purchased an extended warranty. On or about June 24, 2014 the check engine light come on, called dealer and made an appointment for June 25, 2014. Took car in and was told it was the gears in the transfer case were damaged and had sludge build up. Was told this was covered under Nissan's original drive train warranty (5 year/50K miles), or the certified pre-owned warranty (7 year/100K miles) or the (third-party) extended warranty (5 year/50K miles) which started on 2/11/14. The dealer needed Nissan's approval to proceed with the repair under the warranty. Two weeks (July 11, 2014) later I was told Nissan denied the claim because of sludge build-up in the engine. Which was news to me because I thought this was a transfer case issue - also on July 11, 2014, I was told the entire engine had to be replaced because it was not the transfer case but a bad seal on the timing cover which cause the engine oil not to circulate properly which caused the sludge build-up in the engine. Nissan blames previous owner?S neglect in their denial of my warranty claim. Extended warranty will not cover because the vehicle is still under the original power-train warranty.

- Lemont, IL, USA

problem #7

Sep 102012

Murano 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
I was driving in rush hour traffic and was driving approximately 45 mph. A truck moved over into my lane forcing me on the shoulder of the road. As I drove home after the incident I noticed the transmission was making a high winding sound and was not shifting gear. The next day as I was driving to have it looked at the car stopped in the middle of a high traffic road. I had to pay to have it towed, rent a car for a week before getting my car back from the dealer. I am now having the same issue and nothing happened to cause the situation with the transmission. I have been researching cvt transmissions and I keep seeing the same stories from other Nissan Murano owners. I want it pulled from my car and have a standard, regular transmission or put me in a different car that does not have a cvt transmission in it, or I will nail Nissan to the wall! my mom and I walked into the dealership in 2010 and bought 3 new Nissan, ( different models ), but paid cash for all 3 vehicles. This was a $42,000 car. This was also the first year Nissan Murano came with the cvt transmission so there had not been time for any reviews, complaints, etc. I want someone to please do something about this problem or I will.

- Boerne, TX, USA

problem #6

Nov 012013

Murano 6-cyl

  • 127,000 miles
Purchased the vehicle new in January 2010, had transmission issue with car in February 2011 late at night, stopping in the middle of the road, had to call wrecker to take vehicle to dealership. There were 38,424 miles on the vehicle the transmission was replaced at not cost since it was under warranty. Was informed by the dealership that the warranty would cover for another 120,000 miles. On 11/1/13 the transmission went out again by not shifting into 4th gear. Vehicle taken to dealership and informed that the transmission had to be replaced but was no longer under warranty since I now had 127,000 miles on the car. I asked about the statement regarding the first replaced transmission and was told that is not the case and if I had paid for the transmission myself it would only be covered for 12,000 miles or 12 months. I am now faced with paying $3000 for another transmission. This makes 3 transmissions in a car not even 4 years old.

- Barnesville, GA, USA

problem #5

Oct 152013

Murano 6-cyl

  • 74,500 miles
Nissan Murano transfer case design flaw: I purchased a new 2010 Murano sl in June 2010. Vehicle was great until warranty expired. Just found out that the transfer case is leaking and could cause transmission failure and an accident if not fixed. According to 2 different Nissan mechanics (both from different dealerships), this transfer case has a 'tab' that pushes against the engine block creating this issue and leaks. Nissan designed new replacement transfer cases ($1600 - $2000 to the consumer) that don't have this tab! according to one Nissan mechanic, Nissan knows about this issue and sent 'service bulletins' to their service departments explaining how to fix or replace the transfer case. The internet is littered with consumer complaints about these transfer cases. I called Nissan usa. Was told that the transfer case is not recalled or covered under their extended transmission warranty. Nissan extended their cvt transmission warranty to 120K miles in case of an all out transmission failure but won't warrant or recall the cause - the transfer case. Fortunately, my family and I have not been in a major accident due to this. I'm forced to spend a lot of my money to fix this Nissan flaw. It's time for the NHTSA to step in before people are injured or killed in a major highway accident because of this issue. Thank you.

- Thornton, CO, USA

problem #4

Oct 252013

Murano 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles


My 2010 Nissan Murano's transfer case needs to be replaced, along with joint. In total the repairs cost $5,600. I called Nissan to request that they cover this issue, even though I am 6,000 miles beyond the warranty period. Previously during the warranty period Nissan had to replace the cvt, and based on my research, Nissan has had a long history of cvt and transfer case problems. Nissan has just informed me that they will not cover this repair, and went as far to say it was due to me not bringing my car to Nissan dealership for routine maintenance like motor oil changes. I change my own oil, and spare nothing by only using mobile 1 or other high-end oils. My research shows that I am not the only one having this issue and that Nissan has refused to issue a recall. I still have two years left to pay on this car and should have to replace the cvt and transfer case this soon.

- New Castle, DE, USA

problem #3

Oct 022012


  • 45,000 miles
I was driving at 30 mph to go home when my car lost all power with no warning. Thank goodness I didn't have my young children with me. The shop fixed my car after nine days and all was covered except the alternator. Total damage was $6,000. Two days later my car started to hesitate while driving. I quickly got rid of the car. Too bad I loved it for the first 44,000 miles. Beware.

- Mansfield, MA, USA

problem #2

Feb 172012

Murano 6-cyl

  • 30,065 miles
Total transmission failure at 55-60mph on interstate 285 westbound near 400. Almost in major wreck trying to get car that was decelerating over to service lane. Just had car in for scheduled 30K mile service the week before.

- Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #1

Jul 202011

Murano 6-cyl

  • 13,000 miles
After full stop car want accelerate. RPM 2500, no torque. Three times close rear ends last month. Car would run normally and suddenly "limp mode" would happen. Complained to Nissan (case number[xxx]) but people from india were not particular interested to help me. It is dangers to drive car like this. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Woodbury, MN, USA

Not what you are looking for?