Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
107,908 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Nissan Quest engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Nissan Quest:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Nissan Quest Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

May 052016


  • 64,000 miles


During 05/05/2016 started having transmission issue, the car suddenly started giving starting problem and then when it will start it will not have any pickup in drive mode. After few hours everything went normal and when started driving all of sudden break got pressed and car couldn't go anywhere and check engine light came on. After diagnostic it found to be bank 1 camshaft sensor but even after replacing vehicle still behaves same with engine light on.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #20

Oct 102015


  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Quest. While driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the engine control module failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 97,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Suffield, CT, USA

problem #19

Aug 052015


  • 130,000 miles
Nissan Quest cluster loses ability to moniter fuel and temperature, which caused me to run out of fuel while travelling at a speed of 55mph. After researching online I see there is a repair but how does the dealer not see an issue with this problem. The lcd screen essentially peel away from the screen due to heat or humidity. I see this as a danger and I feel it puts my family along with others in danger.

- Panama City Beach, FL, USA

problem #18

Jun 102014


  • 103,000 miles


While driving in the freeway, the engine sudenly stalled, pulled over and tried a couple of times and engine started again, after that the stall cotinues happening with no simptoms at all, it happens at any time and any condition; during traffic driving or during high speed driving, day or night. Really dangerous because some times other drivers have problems to avoid crash with my van that does not start and can not be moved away. All kind of reviews have been performed and no success to fix this issue. I have read this is a very frequent failure for Nissan Quest vehicles; can you do anything to ask Nissan for a solution? a lot of money has been paid for sensors, relays, ECU, fuel pump and of course labor. Please help

- Bonita, CA, USA

problem #17

May 012015


  • 170,000 miles
Once started, the engine makes a ticking sound. Over the last couple of months, there have been occasions while driving, the vehicle will rapidly decelerate, engine light illuminates and not begin accelerating adequately until it is turned off and restarted. The problem has escalated to completely stalling and the engine light illuminates. After a few attempts, the vehicle will restart, but the problem is occurring more frequently. A local mechanic diagnosed the problem as the timing chains needing to be replaced. After further research, I have discovered class action lawsuits in some states for premature failure of timing chains on 2004-2009 Nissan Quest, among other models.

- West Monroe, LA, USA

problem #16

Jul 132015


  • 123,000 miles
My family's 2004 Nissan Quest spontaneously stalled while being driven on a total of five occasions since purchasing the vehicle on July 9th, 2015. The first incident occurred on about July 13th, 2015 in a parking lot while moving at a low speed of not more than ten miles an hour but every stalling incident since then was while the vehicle was being driven on roads at various speeds over ten miles and hour and under fifty miles an hour. When the vehicle is being driven before stalling there are no significant indications before hand to indicate that there is anything wrong with the vehicle except that on the last few occasions we have noticed that a second or two before stalling the check engine and slip lights glow. After stalling the vehicle restarts either on a first attempt or a second attempt. The vehicle does not stall every time it is driven either. Although I do not have any mechanical expertise, some online research into this matter suggests that on 2004 models, and fixed in later models, there may be an issue with corrosion to the ECM due to the placement of the module in a location that is subject to water intrusion.

- Warren, OH, USA

problem #15

Jun 192015


  • 120,000 miles


While driving the slip and tcs warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel as the car suddenly shuts off. It recurred several times. The vehicle was diagnosed by autozone and reads error code P0340. As a result the camshaft sensor was replaced but the problem still exists.

- Antioch, TN, USA

problem #14

Jan 152015

Quest 6-cyl

  • 111,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Quest. While waiting at a stop light, the engine surged and the vehicle was forced out into a four-way intersection. After a few seconds, the engine went back to idling normally. On February 9, 2015, while waiting at a restaurant drive thru, the engine surged forward while the brakes were engaged and crashed into the preceding vehicle. A police report was filed. There were no injuries. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 111,000. The consumer stated on three occasions, the engine revved, and lunged forward as he was braking, causing him to loose control of the vehicle which resulted in him hitting a handicap parking sign. The consumer stated in each case, his foot was on the brake, the surge came without warning, the engine choked, but did not die, after the initial surge, the engine returned to back to normal, he was unable to stop the vehicle from accelerating, and the engine was at normal operating temperature. Updated 03/02/16.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #13

May 042015


  • 110,000 miles
Over the last 6 months, the transmission in our 2004 Quest has slipped out of gear while driving down the road. This has caused a safety concern for my wife as traffic mounts around us.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #12

Mar 232015

Quest 6-cyl

  • 133,000 miles
2004 Nissan Quest. Consumer writes in regards to ECM corrosion problems. The consumer stated the vehicle stalled and it would not re-start. The dealer informed the consumer the intelligent power distribution module would also need to be replaced in order for the vehicle to run.

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #11

Oct 162013


  • 100,000 miles


Van makes a rattle when RPM's are lower than 3000. It's the timing chain as I was told by a mechanic.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #10

Jul 012014


  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Quest. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled. The contact mentioned that second before the failure occurred, the ABS and the tire pressure monitoring system light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 105,000.

- Corcoran , CA, USA

problem #9

Jul 202014

Quest 6-cyl

  • 112,065 miles
I was driving with my son and the transmission line snapped. I was scared because I didn't know what happened. Thank god my son who is disabled was not in the car. My mechanic said that this should not happen. When I got my car back my transmission is now very sick. I have always maintained all fluid changes at the correct time. My car is not the same. Now today my oil pan was "eaten" from the transmission fluid leaking. I have had many issues with my Quest. This car was not built with proper parts. I can't drive it but I have to keep it for my son is in a wheelchair and is severly disabled.

- Poughkeepsie, NY, USA

problem #8

May 222014


  • 100,000 miles
I got out of the car, turned it off and went on the house minutes later the car was on fire. The flames were big and they were in the front passenger side of the engine. I had just drove the car about an hour, there was no smell no sound no indicator lights nothing. The flames were big and car went up fast.

- East Setauket, NY, USA

problem #7

Aug 162012


  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Quest. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the engine revved with hesitation. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road where the engine was turned off. The vehicle operate normally after waiting for one hour. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis. The contact was uncertain of the malfunction detected by the trouble code. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 94,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Series, CA, USA

problem #6

Nov 272013

Quest 6-cyl

  • 147,000 miles
On November 27, 2013, while parked outside of my home, my 2004 Nissan Quest burst into flames. The car within seconds was completely engulfed in flames, and there was nothing anyone could do but get as far away from it as possible and hope there would be no injuries or fatalities. The car is totaled, and I need answers as to how a car that is parked all of a sudden bursts into flames. I believe that this needs to be investigated. My 2004 Nissan Quest cut off on me at a stop sign on October 31, 2013. When I got out of the car I could smell antifreeze. I had it towed to cowls Nissan that evening. When I got to cowls Nissan they were about to close, but I was able to rent a car from them while mine would be getting looked at and hopefully fixed the next day. The next day a representative from cowls Nissan called me and told me that the rear coolant pump needed fixing and that'"S why the car cut off and wouldn'?T start. They replaced the pump and refilled it with antifreeze. I had my windshield wipers fixed because they said as they did a courtesy multipoint inspection the wipers weren'"T working because of a wiper link issue. When I went to pick up the car I noticed on the receipt that there was an oil leak issue and air filter issue that was discovered in the multipoint inspection. They also noted that my timing chain was noisy at startup and that it would need to be diagnosed further to get to the root of the problem. At no time was I told that the car wasn't safe to drive. On November 10, 2013 I noticed that there was a humming sound coming from the car, off and on, and then the passenger side headlight went out. I took the car in to fix the headlight on 11/22/2013, but I wasn't hearing the humming sound then. I started hearing the humming sound again close to thanksgiving (11/26/2013) and planned to take the car back in after the holiday.

- Triangle, VA, USA

problem #5

Jul 032013

Quest 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
Rattling noise that increases as I accelerate. I assumed it was part of the exhaust system only to find out it is a timing chain issue which can cost at a minimum of $1800 for labor that does not include parts. I have contacted several mechanics in my area and they won't even deal with this issue due to the way Nissan has put the timing chain in the 2004 Quest.

- Jefferson, MA, USA

problem #4

Aug 202012


  • 71,000 miles
Vehicle coming off turnpike entering onto the interstate would not accelerate past 45 mph onto the interstate almost ran over by vehicles when I was coming off the ramp. Very dangerous. Managed to get van to a safe place where we had it towed to our home. We had our mechanic look at it and he diagnosed it as the timing chain tensioners needed replacing and it had jumped time. He would not touch it since this is a known problem and there is a technical service bulletin issued for this year van concerning the tensioners. Had it then towed to Nissan and they quoted 1700 to fix the mechanic even stated that it is a huge problem and he is seeing at least 1 a week with this very same issue. But Nissan wont issue a recall. Is it going to take some fatalities for them to wake up and realize this is serious. After work performed to van they called and said it is still misfiring that they found valve cover leaking oil on spark plugs another 600 dollars to fix this. I just replaced spark plugs in 2010. Also replaced brakes 3 times and tires 2 times now. Alternator also replaced. I bought this van hoping it would be a safe and reliable van for my family to enjoy for a long time it has low miles and I hate to get rid of it. I am at the point though that I keep putting money into it thinking we will be able to be safe and next thing you know something else is wrong. I feel Nissan should recall all models affected and fix this plastic tensioner on the metal chain, they know better this is a way for them to become richer off the people that trusted them. Never will my family or friends buy Nissan again> since this has happened I have talked with many people that own or have owned a Quest and they were not happy either. Please start a investigation before we lose a life.

- Myakka City, FL, USA

problem #3

Nov 302012


  • 84,000 miles
Heard a ticking noise when starting up my car but subsided after it warmed up gradually over the month it got very loud. Brought it to Nissan dealer in pompano beach and they said it was timing chain needs replacement for a cost of 2,300 dollars! I researched this and see that it is a frequently voiced complaint and is happening very prematurely 50 -90 thousand miles.. ridiculous expensive and dangerous, also ! need replacement of control arms at a cost of 800 dollars! I also see that this is a common complaint with Nissan....I am generally the only one in the van we are a family O three with three vehicles, it was garaged kept never use it to haul anything more than a suitcase once in awhile what is my recourse, what can I do to get some assistance so I can repair it before my self or passenger gets killed on the highway when the chain breaks?...

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #2

Oct 212012

Quest 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
I was driving about 50 mph when I heard a noise coming out of the engine crank noise when I stopped to check, the engine stopped and never started again I towed to garage and they say it is the timing chain.

- Hamilton, MI, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?