Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
12,315 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Nissan Quest wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Nissan Quest:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Nissan Quest Owner Comments

problem #13

May 122014


  • 67,200 miles


Set of 4 new Goodyear viva 2 tires purchased from wal-mart. One tire failed due to sidewall separation at 72 mph. Was able to safely move from middle lane to right shoulder. Wal-mart replaced the tire. Tires have about 2,900 miles.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #12

Aug 232010


  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Quest. The contact was driving 45 mph when the entire front end of the vehicle began shaking violently. The tires were changed and new tires were installed but the shaking persisted. The tire sensor and air bag warning light continued to illuminate continuously. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that there were no recalls on the vehicle and did not attempt to repair or inspect the failure. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 84,000.

- Rutledge, TN, USA

problem #11

Dec 032007


  • miles
2004 Nissan Quest with faulty Goodyear tires. Consumer stated that she had to replace all four of her tires due to them slipping. The consumer was informed the tires on her vehicle were sport tires which were made for sport cars and there was no guaranteed mileage.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #10

May 292006


  • miles


Nissan & Goodyear monopoly on 2004 Quest tires. It appears that Nissan contracted with Goodyear to produce an oem proprietary 225/65/16 tire that only Goodyear carries and only in one style. When replacing the tires consumers have little choice but to go with that tire or go with a non manufacturer recommended size like 235/60/16 which could cause issues such as speedometer readings off... as far as I can determine only Nissan Quests use this 225/65/16 tire. Tread wear on the Goodyear oem tire is very poor causing an earlier than expected replacement of the tires. I have found nokian a finish tire that is sold in the usa also produces this size tire. The price is the same but the tire is a much better quality. I'll never purchase another Nissan or Goodyear product.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #9

Sep 132006

Quest 6-cyl

  • miles
I have 2004 Nissan Quest, it came with Goodyear Eagle LS2, the size 225/6516. There is only one company which makes that tire, Goodyear. I rotated tire as suggested. The tire traction is lowest one can get. After driving 20,000 miles on the tire started showing severe wear. Bubble showing on the outside wall. Wrote to Nissan 3 times, they never bothered me contact me back, called once and told about the tire problem, the answer was we cannot do anything you have to put same time I.e. Goodyear 225/6516. And good year knowing that they only manufacture that size priced that tire is $150+ each, but actually it is worth $39.99. The problem is it is just the monopoly between Nissan and Goodyear, they could have chosen different size, which will give consumer more choice.

- Bellevue, WA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #8

Oct 122006


  • miles
On 10/21/06, my wife was driving her Nissan Quest on the freeway when she suddenly heard the front right side tire blowout. The tire was taken to the Goodyear dealership where it was bought, and it was determined that the tire did not receive a puncture that would cause the tire to blowout. The tire was shredded on the outside tire wall, and it looks as if it were cut. It should be noted that the tire was not cut by any sharp object, my wife can attest to this fact because she did not see or notice any damage to the tire before she got into the car a drove away. The only thing that has been done to correct the problem is that the tire was replaced with a same size used tire until this matter is resolved.

- South Gate, CA, USA

problem #7

Jan 042005

Quest 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles


10/04 purchased a Nissan Quest sl minivan. Tires on it are Goodyear Eagle LS2 size 225/65-HR16. Late 12/04 or early 1/05 not able to navigate a 15 degree grade in 3 inches snow. Contacted dealer to no avail. Contacted Nissan. Told to contact Goodyear. Goodyear said they would replace the tires with a better tire, but in a different size, as only tire made in the original size was and is a Goodyear Eagle LS2. This action however had to have blessing of Nissan. Nissan balked stating if I changed tire size and anything happened that they determined was caused by tire size change, the "warranty" would be void on the vehicle. I was naive and bought this. But all the while, the dealer, Nissan and Goodyear said they had no such problems with this tire. Now two years down the road I find hundreds of complaints regards this issue and more, one of which the tires wear out prematurely, and and "H" rated tire on a minivan is redundant. First time this happened my wife was in heavy traffic. She could have been injured or killed. Yet Nissan and/or Goodyear are not being held accountable for an engineering/design flaw, that needs to be corrected. Goodyear should have to manufacturer other tires in this size and in an "H" rating so buyers/owners present and past have a choice when replacing. We can go to a 235/60-16 in a "T" rated tire that has much better ratings than the originals and/or other "H" rated tires in the new size. But dealers and tire manufacturers through collusion are trying to discourage replacing these with "T" rated tires. Instead insisting they be replaced with "H" rated tires, that are much more expensive, and have only similar traction ratings with regard to hydroplaning, wet, light and heavy snow that do the originals. The NHTSA should have already been on this like stink on crap, but I fail to see any mention of any such investigation on your web site. Come on, doesn't our tax dollars pay for this?

- St. Peters, MO, USA

problem #6

Jun 262006


  • miles
Nissan & Goodyear monopoly on 2004 Quest tires. It appears that Nissan contracted with Goodyear to produce an oem proprietary 225/65/16 tire that only Goodyear carries and only in one style. When replacing the tires consumers have little choice but to go with that tire or go with a non manufacturer recommended size like 235/60/16 which could cause issues such as speedometer readings off... as far as I can determine only Nissan Quests use this 225/65/16 tire. Tread wear on the Goodyear oem tire is very poor causing an earlier than expected replacement of the tires.

- Horn Lake, MS, USA

problem #5

Dec 102005


  • miles
This may not be a Nissan exclusive strategy. Consider this to be a wake up call and a potential for other "Ford-tire supplier" potential upcoming scenario. The Goodyear's Eagle LS2 225/60/17 ultra high performance are oem and even after following Nissan's computerized reminding schedules for tire rotation every 7500 miles, these tires (I have not met an exception yet, go to to mention one source for instance and read these tires' reviews.... not coincidentally, most of the complaints you'll read are Quest minivan owners) are wearing fast and not at same rate (when compared fr to I said even after proper P.M and too fast for average drivers like moms) the laughable matter on all this is that : a) these minivans are driven by moms. B) these minivans per design have ultra high performance tires (like moms are a bunch of street teens or drag racers). C) oem recommended size are extremely hard to find (almost like a well planned monopoly by auto manufacturer and tire supplier) if you go to the optional oem size 225/65/16 you will worsen the already questionable fuel efficiency of this Quest vehicle line. D) Goodyear laughs at customers like me when bringing my "sooner than expected" tire wear out conditions and they openly admit that they have no idea why Nissan required these Eagle LS2 to be oem equipment. There are Goodyear retailers that don't even adventure on selling them. E) addressing tire warranty issues is a problem that has to be re-invented. Vehicle manufacturers will not do anything for you as they recommend you to bring it up to certified tire manufacturer retailers...another huge headache for average joe (and a subject for other investigation). I am a ee for one automobile manufacturer, if NHTSA is really interested on protecting the american consumer by enforcing the treat act, please listen to early symptoms like what I am presenting to you here.

- Hartland, MI, USA

problem #4

Dec 072005

Quest 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
Nissan Quest with numerous rattles which have not been located and Goodyear Eagle LS2 are worn out at 28,000. Extreme vibration at 50 mph or above from the tires. Dealership attempted to correct rattles by adjustments however, this was unsuccessful. Dealership denied any problems with oem tires but willing to install my own choice in tires.

- Harrisburg, NC, USA

problem #3

Apr 152004

Quest 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles


The consumer noticed when the doors were shut, the lights illuminated as if the door were open. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, and they reported it was fixed. The problem returned when consumer drove the vehicle home that day. There was a problem with the hatchback door lock. When closing the door, the consumer had to bang it hard to get it closed. The sliding door was having problems as well, it must be slammed in order to close it. The dealership has attempted to fix the problems with the doors. The tire problems began about 2 weeks after the purchase of the vehicle. Tire lights are coming on, indicating that the tires are loosing air. Owner advises that one time the tire light would come on about every block. The vehicle was taken to the dealership after this. The tire had a nail in it. There is also problems with the transmission. When shifting from park to drive, it is very difficult to shift. Owner received a recall letter about this last year and in January of 2005. The recall number is not available. The dealership states that this recall is closed. The dealership won't look any further into the transmission. There is a problem with the front passenger seat, you could see the metal in the seat. The radio has been replaced three times. It is now needing to be replaced again. The car has a bad smell, like rotten eggs. The smell is coming from engine. Dealership reports it is coming from a computer chip and it still smelled after replacement. The same smell returned and then the owner returned the car to the dealership, they kept it for two months. The dealership replaced the catalytic converter. The owner advises that there is still a bad smell. The dealership reported the smell must be sulfuric acid. The owner went to the doctor in regards to the bad chemical smell that burns. The vehicle had problems with the battery. Owner paid for car rental. The drivers seat moved when the consumer applied the brakes.

- Laurel, MD, USA

problem #2

Jan 032005


  • miles
Nissan Quest 2004 has been in for service 5 times. Tire problems, console lights (possible short) and rear interior lights. The air conditioner failed, the door handle fell off, the front driver side tire was continuously losing air.

- Hopewell Junction, NY, USA

problem #1

May 242004


  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,800 miles
A newly purchased 2004 Nissan Quest with current mileage of around 4,800 miles when incident happened. While driving on highway, the driver side rear tire suddenly bent and smoke came out. Van was then towed back to dealership and found that the cross member was broken off. Dealership denied warranty coverage because service manager thought that such damage may have been caused by a collision, because he saw a few light scratches and a smaller than 2cm mark on the rim. I am sure that the van was not hit by anything when the tire was bent. The scratches and little mark could be caused by pulling over to shoulder with a bent tire. I pointed to the service manager that the joint of the broken cross member was full of rust, a sign of incomplete sealed over a period of time, obviously not a new damage caused by an accident. Even tried contacting manufacturer many times, but no solution was made because manufacturer makes decision based on dealership statement. Also, squeaking noise has been coming out from rear sliding doors, dealerships stated that they removed doors but no finding and problems still exist.

- New York, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?