Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
79,163 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Nissan Rogue engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Nissan Rogue:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Nissan Rogue Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #16

Apr 082014

Rogue

  • 170,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Rogue. The contact stated that the vehicle would not accelerate and felt as if the emergency brake was applied. The vehicle suddenly accelerated in high gear. The hesitation recurred intermittently for over two months. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but they could not duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 170,000.

- Lexinton, KY, USA

problem #15

Mar 012014

Rogue 6-cyl

  • 75,584 miles
Nissan Rogue 2008 would not accelerate while driving on freeway incline. Vehicle topped out at 45 mph in 65 zone. Unable to accelerate, vehicles honked and passed by. This continued until top of incline, then vehicle resumed acceleration. Took to local Nissan dealership to learn that Nissan offers extended warranty for cvt transmission and that this issue qualified for the extended warranty. Dealer ordered transmission cooler kit on 3/3/2014. Dealer has since informed me that part request is restricted and can give no timeframe of replacement. This has been going on for 2 weeks ( now 3/19). Nissan Consumer Affairs also unable to expedite part. Acceleration issue has happened 2 additional times within last two weeks, again on the freeway in the middle of 65 mph traffic. Nissan has indicated they will not provide replacement vehicle while awaiting part. I expressed concerns that this is a vehicle safety issue in which Nissan Consumer Affairs again was unable to commit to providing replacement vehicle. Case # [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Riverside , CA, USA

problem #14

Sep 132013

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
The car experienced extreme deceleration on the highway. I was unable to accelerate in a minimum 45 mile per hour highway (in puerto rico) when car decelerated and was unable to go more than 5 miles per hour after decelerating for a toll. As I changed lanes to get to the shoulder, I almost caused what could have been a fatal accident of myself and my infant daughter. I pulled over to the shoulder and shut the car off. I was in the middle of the island and could not afford a tow truck. I waited for two hours and tried starting the car again to see if I could continue. The car seemed back to normal and I made it home. The extreme acceleration has happened to me 2 other times and I cannot afford another vehicle. I recently researched this issue and there is a wide array of people having similar issues and similar experiences and close calls with vehicular accidents. Since the first incident, the car now has 130K miles and does not qualify for the extended warranty. I am an active duty member stationed overseas in puerto rico and did not receive notification that a warranty was extended. Please help me effect a Nissan recall in cvt engines in the select models mentioned in their Consumer Affairs website. Thank you for your time.

- Aguadilla, PR, USA

problem #13

Dec 172009

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 31,950 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When driving my car for about an hour, car looses speed and will not go faster than 40 miles an hour, even when pressing peddle to the floor. Took my car to Nissan dealer several times and was told could not find anything wrong with the car. Advised service dept, you would have to drive for an hour, then the problem would repeat. The dealer did maintenance on my vehicle on 09/11/12 (drained and filled cvt with new fluid). At this time my car was still under warranty and they had a fix for this known issue and I was not advised. Took my car back on 08/24/13 due still having same issue with car loosing speed while on the highway. I was told, "good news there is a fix, bad news your car is no longer under warranty. While my car was under warranty, it should have been fixed.

- Fairburn, GA, USA

problem #12

Aug 242013

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 83,500 miles
My Rogue is having intermittent problems with acceleration after driving on the highway. It does it when it slows and you try to start going again and it does it when you stop after being on the highway and try to start going again. It does not do it every time the car is driven on the highway either. I pushed the pedal to the floor and the car did not accelerate at all. Frequently, it was stuck at a the speed in which the car was in before attempting to accelerate. After exiting the freeway there was also trouble with accelerating. Additionally, there is a strange whirly noise. This continued sporadically for several miles.

- Missouri City, TX, USA

problem #11

May 052013

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
The vehicle lost all acceleration once it reaches a certain heat within the transmission, causing my car to decelerate rapidly with no option to accelerate to get out of harm's way. It has now occurred twice, putting myself and passengers in imminent danger. Nissan has said they are aware of the problem.

- Kemah, TX, USA

problem #10

Jun 142013

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 93,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is one of several similar incidents. I was on a road trip to nyc, driving on the highway with the cruise control on at 73 mph. In all incidents, I noticed that after having the cruise on for over an hour, all of a sudden the cruise would just "kick off". it would stop working. And my car would start to decelerate. Being on a main highway, traveling 73 mph with everyone around me going equally as fast, if not faster, and then all of a sudden decelerating was like putting on the brakes with no brake lights. It was positively dangerous and scary. To make matters worse, after it got down to between 60 and 65, it would not accelerate. I put my foot to the floor and there was no acceleration. I got into the right hand lane as quickly as I could, and prayed the entire time to not be killed. After about 5 minutes, I was able to accelerate up to 70. But the cruise would just kick off as soon as I set it again. Maddening, dangerous and scary. And it happened more than once. Exactly the same way each time. And only after being in the car with cruise on for over an hour.

- Farmington, NY, USA

problem #9

Jul 152013

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
After traveling 50 miles, my 2008 Nissan Rogue failed to accelerate at the first stop light. This occurred again on 7/17/2013. I traveled 50 miles and again the car failed to accelerate at the first stop. I called Nissan Consumer Affairs and they claim not to have any knowledge of this type of incident occurring in the Rogue. I researched various forums on the internet and it seems to be prevalent in Nissan's cvt transmission. The Nissan rep said that "Nissan doesn't support google" when I told her what was being reported on the internet. This is a serious safety issue that puts my family at risk of serious injury. The car is scheduled for service next week. I fear that Nissan is not being accountable for this issue from what I've read.

- Bridgewater, NJ, USA

problem #8

Jun 082013

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
The cvt transmission in the 2008 Nissan Rogue is very dangerous. The car loses acceleration after traveling a distance (over 40 miles) and when it comes to a stop, it will not take off. Saturday, June 8, 2013 I drove from college station, tx to houston, tx (85 miles). When I came a stop sign after exiting the freeway, I stopped and then attempted a right turn into oncoming traffic. Once I depressed the gas, the car rolled into the intersection and stalled with traffic barreling toward me. Cars had to swerve to avoid hitting me. This car has always had acceleration and deceleration problems since I bought it and no warning lights ever come on. The first time the car broke down was on the first road trip I took in the car. In 2012 as I was driving to atlanta, Georgia and the car broke completely down in birmingham, Alabama. I had to get a loaner from the local dealership in birmingham to complete my trip. The cvt transmission is a very, very dangerous technology and it should be recalled and a class action suit should be initiated against Nissan. Nissan has extended the warranty from 60000 to 120000 in all cvt transmission vehicles. Why would they do this if they do not think there is a problem.

- College Station, Tx , TX, USA

problem #7

May 252012

Rogue 4-cyl

  • miles
While me and my child were traveling uphill on a busy freeway, I noticed the car was decelerating. No matter how hard I pressed on the pedal to increase the speed, the car continued to slow down. Many cars behind us had to swerve from hitting us and honked for us to move out of their way. Unfortunately, it was beyond my control and the car would not move. A couple of guys had to move our vehicle out of harms way. It was very stressful and dangerous. I'm so glad we were not hit by another vehicle. I ended up replacing that transmission with a used low mileage transmission which worked for a while. It is going on a year and I've been told the cvt transmission is slipping again. I've already spent thousands on this part alone. Is there anything anyone can do about this faulty product. I can't afford to spend any more money on another faulty cvt transmission that will go bad again.

- Cedar Hill, TX, USA

problem #6

Mar 012010

Rogue

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car would lose acceleration when driving and also when starting to go from being stopped. First time it happened was driving around 60 mph on highway and the gas pedal was fully to the floor and the car would not increase in speed. The car lost speed and decreased down to 45 mph. When getting off the highway at the end of the exit the car would not move when pressing on the gas. 5 seconds later the car thrusted into the middle of the road as power kicked back in. After several phone calls to Nissan and trips to the dealership they replaced the transmission at around 60,000 miles. Care was good for about 8 months but started having same issue. Have had the car to the dealership 10 - 12 times with same issue and to this day it has not been fixed. They usually state they can not replicate the issue. Test drove the car with their top mechanic and got the acceleration issue to happen. They mechanic said Nissan is well aware of the issue and he drained fluids saying the level was to high. 6 months later same issues again. Trip after trip to the dealership they say they can't replicate the issue and send us on our way. Last time 3 other customers were at the dealership with same issue. There needs to be a recall.

- Hamburg, NJ, USA

problem #5

Jun 222012

Rogue

  • 55,000 miles
On multiple occasions while driving on freeway or around town Rogue would not accelerate properly from stop. Pedal would be pressed down but car would barely inch forward. Also, twice as I was just driving home from work this symptom started and the car just stopped running altogether. Had the vehicle towed to my mechanic and he told me I had ran out of gas both times. I know the gage read 1/4 tank both times. The acceleration issues always seem to begin when the gas is getting below half empty. It seems to be the same fuel sender issue others have complained about, and maybe it also somehow affects how the transmission performs. Either way my family and I have only owned this Rogue for a year and it was supposed to be our newer reliable car. Very unhappy. Contacted the dealer but they would not even look at it before charging me and said they have never had any problems with their Rogues. Obviously they are turning a blind eye.

- Folsom, CA, USA

problem #4

Sep 242010

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 55,788 miles
This involves a Nissan Rogue S 2008 we purchased new from the dealer. At approximately 55,000 miles while on a trip to destin, fl our cvt transmission began to malfunction on the highway. It caused car to lose speed, no longer pull, idle erratically, and not be able to get up to speeds over 55 miles an hour. It would also not pull off from stops but rather just coast out into the middle of an intersection, leaving the driver without control of the vehicle to get out of the way of oncoming traffic. We were instructed by the Nissan dealership to limp the car back to atlanta so they could replace the cvt transmission and stated they knew it was a known problem with those particular cvt's. once we got the car back, Nissan explained that they had installed a newer model of cvt in our car and that it would not happen again. Now, June 23, 2012, our car is back at the dealer with the same issue. The car now has 102,00 miles. This time we are on our way to chattanooga, Tennessee when the cvt begins to act up. Symptoms included loss of power, loss of speed and idle leaving us unable to switch lanes and get off highway due to lack of pull and power. The cars idle or RPM begins to jump erratically and redlining causing the car to lunge forward uncontrollably and then lose power back and forth. Now imagine this all while your wife and three daughters (ages 9, 4, and 9 months) are in the back seat. Virtually having no control over the car while other vehicles speed by at 70 mph trying to avoid smashing you to pieces. This time there is no limping it back to the dealership. Barely able to make it off the highway, the cvt is severely damaged and inoperable. Cvt fluid is draining rapidly out of several different locations. As well, the entire body of the car is coated in trans fluid and smoke billowing out of the hood due to the fluid coating the engine too.

- Dallas, GA, USA

problem #3

Jun 112012

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
Several times in the past few months, Rogue will not accelerate when trying to go from stopped position. No power to go uphill or pull into traffic. This does not happen all the time, only occasionally, but is happening more often. Yesterday, car did this while traveling at speed of 55+ mph. This was the first time it slowed while already at high speed. My daughter drives this vehicel and we are parking it for now as there have been several incidences where she has almost been hit by oncoming cars.

- Ennis, TX, USA

problem #2

Aug 202011

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
3 times now my 2008 Nissan Rogue has had acceleration problems on the highway. It happened the 1st time on Aug. 20, 2011 then again on Sept. 5, 2011. Both times I was driving on the highway, at 60-65mph when suddenly, the car would not go over 40mph even when the gas pedel was floored. I have read online many people are having this same issue with the cvt transmission. I feel this car is unsafe-as you can not move the car up to speed to get it out of the way of on coming traffic. I have an appointment with the Nissan dealer on Sept. 10-but they are telling me they have not heard of this problem.

- Golden, CO, USA

problem #1

Mar 102010

Rogue

  • 28,835 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Rogue. The contact stated that while reversing from a residential garage, the vehicle accelerated independently. The vehicle stopped moving when it crashed into several objects on the road, into a tree and then stalled. The failure occurred on two occasions. When the second incident occurred the driver received injuries to the back and was not taken to the hospital. The police were not notified and a report was not filed. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who informed him that there was no evidence of a failure during diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 28,835.

- Bloomington, MN, USA

Not what you are looking for?