Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,097 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Nissan Sentra engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Nissan Sentra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Nissan Sentra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #37

Mar 032015

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 154,000 miles


Randomly while driving in a highway at 60 mph the engine suddenly stops running and then turns back on. This could result in a crash since I lose control of the vehicle at that speed. I noticed there is a recall issued by NHTSA id # 03V455000 for Nissan Sentra 2001 regarding this issue. I contacted Nissan by phone and they informed there are no recalls pending on my vehicle. I also contacted Nissan by E-mail if my vehicle was or was not included in this recall. If not, I would like to know if can include my vehicle in the recall and have it fixed.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #36

Jun 012012

Sentra 4-cyl

  • miles
2001 Nissan Sentra. Consumer states vehicle suddenly died while driving the dealer informed the consumer, his vehicle identification number was not associated with any recalls.

- Davenport, IA, USA

problem #35

Aug 012010


  • 187,000 miles
While moving and sitting at a standstill for a couple minutes at idle speed it will stall.

- Cornelia, GA, USA

problem #34

May 302011


  • miles


The contact owns a 2001 Nissan Sentra. The contact was driving approximately 55 mph when the engine exhibited low engine power with hesitation. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis where the oxygen sensor was replaced. After the repair was performed, on a separate occasion the engine stalled five times and restarted before reaching the destination. The contact discovered a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 01V357000 (engine and engine cooling: Engine: Gasoline). The VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Lutherville, MD, USA

problem #33

Apr 012011


  • 97,744 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Nissan Sentra. When attempting to start the vehicle, the contact noticed that it would vibrate and shake. The dealer was not aware of the failure. The manufacturer advised the contact to file a complaint with NHTSA. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who performed a diagnostic test and replaced the spark plugs, fuel injector and ignition coil; however, the vehicle continued to vibrate and shake. The current mileage was 98,044. The approximate failure mileage was 97,744.

- Bellmont, NE, USA

problem #32

Dec 032010


  • 151,000 miles
2001 Nissan Sentra 1.8L my car head gasket failed and it seems to be a manufacturer problem with a faulty head gasket that should be looked at. The car overheated on the highway all of the sudden in a fast traffic lane and it started loosing power on an incline, it was scary.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #31

Oct 102007


  • miles


The contact owns a 2001 Nissan Sentra. The contact stated the check engine warning light would sporadically illuminate on the dashboard. In addition, the vehicle would intermittently stall without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where she was advised that the catalytic converter was defective and would need to be replaced. The contact believed NHTSA campaign id number: 03V455000 (engine and engine cooling) was associated with the failure but the dealer advised her VIN was not included with the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer would not provide any assistance. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 191,565.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #30

Aug 122009


  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Nissan Sentra. While driving 35 mph the vehicle stalled in mid traffic. The contact stated that the vehicle has been repaired but it failed to start. The dealer had possession of the vehicle and will not repair the vehicle unless the contact paid for the repair. The current and failure mileages were not available. The VIN was not available.

- Maui, HI, USA

problem #29

Aug 282008


  • 93,900 miles
Car reads trouble code P0335 crankshaft position sensor a circuit malfunction and I read on line at that there was a recall on the same problem affecting Nissan Sentra from 2000-2003 campaign # 03V455000 so I contacted the number that I was given "1800-647-72-61 and asked them about it but they had no clue.

- Alvin, TX, USA

problem #28

Aug 202008


  • 100,000 miles
Leakage to the head gasket in 2001 Nissan Sentra. According to my mechanic, this is a problem that occurs frequently in this vehicle due to inferior materials (aluminum) used in the materials used for the head gasket. It was noticed as I was driving my daughter to school and without warning, the car began to stall on a very busy street. I have had frequent preventable maintenance serviced on my car and this was not detectable until it is too late. My mechanic has since replaced the part and had to take apart half of the engine to do so which turned out to be very costly. It cost $1,500 which is almost a third of the car's current blue book value.

- La Mirada, CA, USA

problem #27

Jul 202008

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 49,500 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Nissan Sentra. Without warning, the vehicle shut off while driving 55 mph. The check engine light had been illuminated on the instrument panel for a year. The vehicle was taken to a midas mechanic and a diagnostic was performed; however, the cause of the failure could not be identified. The failure recurred without warning while driving 40 mph. The failure mileage was 49,500 and current mileage was approximately 49,550. Updated 09/10/08 the dealer replaced the crankshaft position sensor. Updated 09/15/08.

- Bristow, VA, USA

problem #26

Jul 122001


  • 65,224 miles
This complaint has to do with the failure of the oil stick for the 2001 Nissan Sentra. I have owned the car for less than four years and have had two different oil sticks break in that time. The first time the oil stick was broken it was easily removed from the stem it rests in. On the latest break it has become lodged inside the stem. From what I can gather the standard fee most mechanics and dealerships range from $120 to $300 for the removal of the oil stick. The problem with the design of the stick is that it has a completely plastic handle that extends for a ways before joining with the metal stick. On both occasions the stick breaks well above where it joins with the metal component therefore making it impossible to remove with a magnet. This same problem has been documented numerous times online and I see it as a problem that Nissan continues to sell this oil stick. From one online forum alone I came across over 60 reports of this happening with a Nissan oil stick and almost all of them referred to either a 2000 or 2001 Sentra.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #25

May 302008


  • 132,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Nissan Sentra. While driving between 50-70 mph, the vehicle would shut off. The vehicle would immediately restart and then shut off five or ten minutes later. The first failure occurred on May 30, 2008 and has continued every time the vehicle is driven. The vehicle is currently with the dealer. NHTSA campaign id number 03V455000 (engine and engine cooling) was referenced. The current and failure mileages were 132,000.

- Boonssboro, MD, USA

problem #24

Apr 192008

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 95,152 miles
On a way home from a long trip (160 miles each way), my car suddenly stopped running on a highway. It started again and ran for another 30 miles or so and completely stopped running and did not restart. I had the car towed to a nearby garage where it was diagnosed to require a new cam position sensor. I was told to have the car towed to a nearby dealership because parts were not available. My family had to drive 200 miles to get me home. Recently, "service engine" warning light came on during two long trips, but the light went away after replacing or tightening the gas cap. At the time of the event, no warning light was on. The dealership (high point) called later and said that "the good news" was that I did not have to pay for the replacement of three recalled parts, two of which caused the failure. The car was repaired and I drove 200 miles to get it home. I had no knowledge of the recall until this incident even though the recall campaign has started before we purchased the car at a Nissan dealership as a used car on Feb. 29, 2004. Should this have been repaired before the purchase, or should we have been notified at the time of purchase, the problem would not have occurred. There were much expenses associated with towing, extra engine check as well as personal time spent on driving back and forth. I would like to know if this is in violation of a law. I recently spoke with a friend who owns a same model car. Their dealership (service department, might be under the same ownership) told them that their car would need some sensors which may sometimes cause their "service engine" light to come on. Yet no information of recall or potential severity of the problem have been given to them. This makes me wonder if some dealerships are not only neglecting recall campaign but also intentionally avoiding the recall repair.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #23

Sep 272007

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 99,469 miles
The oil dipstick handle breaks off and the balance of the dipstick is unable to be retrieved out of the dipstick cylinder unless the whole assembly is taken apart. This a very costly procedure ranging from $200-400. This has happened more than one time and it seems to me that Nissan should provide a better quality dipstick that will not deteriorate and break from what I perceive as heat related damage. Will they pay the costs for this repair?

- Upland, CA, USA

problem #22

May 302005

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Nissan Sentra. The contact stated that every summer, she has to replace the oil dip stick. She stated that the plastic top fails and as a result, the technician is unable to change the oil. The dip stick is the only type that is manufactured for this part. The dealer advised her to purchase the sticks. After the most recent failure, the dealer stated that she would have to pay $300. The engine size was unknown. The current mileage is 104,075 and the failure mileage was unknown. The consumer stated the incident happened 3 separate times. Updated 09/05/07

- Cloumbus, MS, USA

problem #21

Mar 012006

Sentra 6-cyl

  • miles
Consumer Nissan Sentra engine began to run rough before recall notice. Diagnostic read ECM had a failure code for #4 cylinder misfire P0304. The consumer requested to have the ECM replacment performed.

- Woodbury, NJ, USA

problem #20

Jul 262005

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
1. power windows (both front driver and passenger side front) failed to operate properly in my 2001 Nissan Sentra VIN: [xxx] within 12 month after it was purchased brand new. I took it to the Nissan dealer (coral springs Nissan) and was told that it was not under warranty and was not manufacturing defect. I recently search on the internet and found many other 2001 Nissan Sentra encountred the same problem. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 2. my second problem started recently where my car's engine suddenly quits running after 15-20 minutes of normal driving. If I let it cool down and wait 10-15 minutes, it starts and runs for another 10 minutes before quiting again. My Sentra was recalled once( campain#: 01V357000) in Jan 2004 to replace the fault crank shaft sensors, yet I am still having this problem. On NHTSA website I see information about campaign#: 03V455000.,however Nissan customer service is not acknowledging that crank shaft sensors in my car need to be further replaced for the second time. Please review my situation and advise. Best regards, [xxx]. updated 07/19/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Greenacres, FL, USA

problem #19

Jun 152005

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 43,500 miles
2001 Sentra gxe not driveable; engine revs and lurches on its own and will not accelerate. First time I was at home, had the car towed and replaced mass airflow sensor. $835 and less than 48 hours later, car did exact same thing only at a stoplight this time. Car died and began revving and lurching as soon as I re-started engine. Towed to original mechanic who couldn't determine problem. Car is now at dealer waiting to be looked at.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #18

Oct 032004

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,677 miles
Consumer received recall 03V455000 concerning crankshaft position sensor weld. However, there was another recall for 03V477000 ECM material which was connected to the crankshaft position sensor. Consumer did not receive the recall for the ECM. On 3/31/04 the engine sensor replacement campaign repairs were made. However, on 12/03/04 the service engine soon (ses) light came on and the vehicle was overheating. The tech replaced the knock sensor, thermostat and fan belts. Consumer had to pay for repairs.

- North Hollywood, CA, USA

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?