Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,535 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Nissan Sentra electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Nissan Sentra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Nissan Sentra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

Oct 112011


  • 62,955 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Nissan Sentra. While driving 40 mph, the check engine light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who stated that the 02 sensor needed to be replaced. The repairs were made, but the failure recurred. The dealer stated that the ECM needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 62,955. Updated 3/18/15

- Rocklegde, FL, USA

problem #26

Jan 132013

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
I currently own a 2002 Nissan Sentra SE-R spec V and it is old but has been taken good care of and it only has 110,000 miles on it. Vehicle problems smoke black really bad, uses up to 5 quarts between oil changes, idles rough, runs rough. It has had a couple recalls I checked up on like the pre cat header it had been replaced in 03. I replaced coil packs, spark plugs, mass air flow sensor, cam sensor, and crank sensor. All this virtually did nothing and with vehicle oil consumption and fuel usage the engine is shot and will be in need of rebuild or replacement. I have read many reviews of others with the same car and have had the same and worse problems, and it just makes no sense how Nissan can screw up that bad and screw that many people out of money because of manufacturing defects. I also called Nissan and told them the problem and they basically said to bad nothing we can do you are on your own. I still own the car and feel like as many of these car owners have experienced the same issues it is obviously something Nissan did wrong and should compensate me and others with this defect.

- Evanston, IN, USA

problem #25

Sep 162014

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
On Sept 16, 2014, my 2002 Nissan Sentra would not start. Thinking it was a battery problem I had it towed to my mechanic's shop. A day or so later, the mechanics could not find what was wrong with it. I had the alarm worked on recently and the alarm installers were nice enough to swing by the shop and take a look at it. Turns out the alarm was not the issue. While talking about the car's problem, the head mechanic and head alarm installer kept mentioning the word "recall". next I had it towed to the dealership, melloy Nissan. A melloy mechanic said that the computer was bad and a replacement would cost $900. The mechanic told me it was not under warranty. I researched the emc problem online. I called Nissan usa about the emc since it seems to be a common problem with Sentra. They said they would take my complaint under consideration. On the Sept. 26th, Nissan usa said that they would pay for half of the emc's cost. The dealership called shortly later, saying the total cost of the repair would be $667. I don't know if the emc failed because of the emc box's foam curing (a common problem covered by warranty) or it was just a buggy unit (a common problem not covered by warranty). From what I have read online, it seems even if the emc's failure is due to the foam, Nissan will replace the foam, but the owner must pay for a new emc. Both should be covered. My car's mileage is slightly over 35,000 miles.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #24

May 082014

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 165,234 miles


I was traveling on the highway when the car shutoff. The RPM's shut to 0 in 5th gear. The battery was fine. I brought it to the shop and they could not make connection with the ECM. I needed an ECM. There was a recall for the crank position sensor which was performed in 2004, that recall was established because of vehicles stalling while driving. This is still a serious public safety issue. I called Nissan and they stated because of the age and mileage of the vehicle there was nothing they could for me. Searching online in Nissan forums I realized this is a common issue for that year. So I am not alone. The recall should extend until this problem is fixed period. Thank you.

- Camp Verde, AZ, USA

problem #23

Mar 152013

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 113,830 miles
I was driving when all of a sudden several lights in the car came on and the vehicle suddenly stopped in the road and was not able to restart. I took it in for repair a few days later and was told it was the cam and crank shaft sensor failure. Additionally it turned out to be a bad ECM.

- Blue Bell, PA, USA

problem #22

Feb 202013

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 79,300 miles
Service engine light on. Fault of misfire and interior engine gauge was inop. Vehicle stopped for no reason. Took vehicle to dealer service center for ECM recall they could not perform due to internal failure.

- Mountain Home, ID, USA

problem #21

May 092012


  • 130,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Nissan Sentra. The contact was traveling 70 mph when the temperature gauge fluctuated from normal to high and then back to normal. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic. The mechanic replaced the temperature sensor. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 130,000 and the current mileage was 132,000.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #20

Apr 182007

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 72,108 miles
While driving the will stop running without warning or my service engine light will come on and my car will not start. This started about 5 years ago.

- Kansas City, KS, USA

problem #19

Apr 012011


  • 179,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Nissan Sentra. The contact noticed that the check engine warning light illuminated. In addition, the vehicle would stall sporadically. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic who inspected the vehicle and determined that there was a failure within the ECM. The dealer advised the contact that his VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 03V477000 (electrical system:ignition:module). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. No repairs were performed. The current and failure mileages were 179,000.

- Wildwood, FL, USA

problem #18

Nov 162010

Sentra 4-cyl

  • miles
Over the past 3 years, I've had my 2002 Nissan Sentra ser spec V into Nissan 15 times for service. They have yet to fix it. Every 1-7 months I have to bring it back. The car has shut off and stalled on me in traffic, which is very dangerous. The ECM has been replaced twice many others have reported problems with the ECM online I believe it is bad, as well as other parts, and Nissan needs to issue recalls on this car. Problem # / date / problem / solution #1 1/31/08/service engine soon (ses) light/recall R0712 reprogram ECM (update of the software). Evap leak (#1), resecure fuel cap #2 8/23/08/ses/idle air control reset (#1): Performed idle air relearn, reset ECM set idle, adjust idle control valve. $165 #3 1/9/09/car won't start/codes P0605, PO183, P2128, P1229, P0122. Replace ECM unit (#1) due to pulling too many codes // main harness pin test, repair fuel pump wire in main harness, $449 #4 1/28/09/ses / code P0455 evap gross leak (#2). Repair fuel lines, replace "O" ring, $302. #5 6/6/09/ses, stalls on highway / code P1456 evap very small leak (#3), recurred gas cap. #6 7/12/09/ses, no power / code PO233, replace throttle chamber (#1) #7 7/21/09/ses/code P1456 evap small leak (#4), replaced vent control valve #8 7/28/09/car shuts off in traffic / performed air idle learn (#2) #9 12/2/09/car shifting hard / santa monica Nissan determines there is no communication between the sensor and the ECM (computer), which means it's an electrical problem, and they want to do a pin test for $575 #10 12/7/09/ses/replaced throttle assembly (#2) #11 12/24/09/ses/replace radiator #12 4/24/10/ses/diagnostics showed tp sensor, performed idle control learn volume (#3) #13 5/12/10/ses, car stalls / replace throttle body sensor (#3) #14 11/6/10/ses/repaired ground wire at ECM #15 11/16/10/car shuts off in traffic / replace ECM, charge $111.50 for car rental I have a document with more info and receipts I can email, fax or send to you.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #17

Oct 042010

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 119,000 miles


Right drivers side window wont go up.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #16

Dec 202008


  • 100,618 miles
Recently the ECM in my 2002 Nissan Sentra failed while driving causing lose of control of my vehicle. After researching the issue online I found that there is an active recall for the foam that covers the ECM. The problem being that the foam traps moisture causing the ECM to fry. Nissan would not cover the ECM under the recall in which I had to pay $800 for the repair. I filed a claim with Nissan for some kind of reimbursement and I was denied because of the car's mileage and being out of warranty. I feel as though I was robbed $800 due to the fact that this is a known problem with this vehicle and yet Nissan will not step up and take responsibility for their defective part. I would like some kind of reimbursement for the $800 I had to spend which technically should have been covered under an active recall on this part.

- New Port Richey, FL, USA

problem #15

May 172008

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Nissan Sentra. While attempting to drive up an exit ramp, the vehicle began to stall. The engine light illuminated and then the vehicle stalled completely. The contact had to wait five minutes to restart the vehicle and drive home. The vehicle has been diagnosed several times, but the failure still persists. The current and failure mileages were 15,000. Updated 07/10/08. Updated

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #14

Sep 082007

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 123,051 miles
My car stalled out on road twice. The mil came on; ECM failed. Nissan of union city, ga, diagnosed ECM failure; said needed replacement. I then found there is a recall concerning "sulfur" that could cause corrosion of ECM; Nissan never notified me of such. They told me they'd perform the foam and crank sensor recalls; they didn't as found out later. Advisor told me that the ECM replacement would be covered if there was burning or melting of the foam around ECM. I argued that "burning or melting" is not required for ECM failure since recall stated failures were caused by foam releasing sulfur gas during curing. I contacted Nissan na and told them my argument that Nissan should cover the ECM cost since they never notified me of the recall and that the dealers explanation for ECM failure didn't make sense according to recall. If the ECM's fail due to sulfur out gassing during curing, he cannot he say failure of the ECM was not due to the recall due to lack of burning or melting of the foam. After much delay, Nissan na finally told me about 16 days later that they were not going to cover cost of ECM replacement because dealer said the ECM failure was due to age and mileage. This is not logical. I replaced ECM. When I took apart my ECM box, I noticed they only took the foam from above the ECM and not foam below ECM and video taped. Recall calls for taking out both foams from ECM box. It's obvious they never took out ECM to inspect to say "there is no burning or melting". they failed to properly perform the recall. I contacted Nissan na about this failure, but they said my case was closed. Just today, my car stalled out again after new ECM, and it had an error code for a crankshaft position sensor malfunction. They claim to have performed the crankshaft position sensor recall. But crankshaft sensor in my car looks as old as car. I believe they didn't perform that recall as well. I think Nissan is using foam recall to cover up bad ECM's from 2000-2003 and make money.

- Palmetto, GA, USA

problem #13

Sep 182002

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,000 miles
Car stalls when driving. I first brought this car in at 36K miles stating it was difficult to start. I was told it was fine. The dealer noted it was difficult to start at 65K miles. I had numerous electrical problems with the car in the first 36K miles. Those appeared to be resolved. At 97K miles it began to refuse to start randomly. Now it turns off while driving. The dealer states the problem is with the ECM unit. I feel this is a defective part that was installed with the car. A car turning off while it is driving is a safety hazard to every car on the road. The dealer rep tells me this unit frequently goes out on these cars. This creates an unsafe vehicle.

- Prescott, AZ, USA

problem #12

Jun 202006

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 123,000 miles
Early March, I noticed on consumer reports website that there were recalls associated with my 2002 Nissan Sentra. Engine sensors. Nissan did not send me a recall notice even though they had my name and address. I registered the car when I bought it used. March 16 2006 my Nissan had 115754 kms on it when I took it into Nissan victoria for the recalls. They replaced the crankshaft/camshaft position sensors (3 in total) recall R86. Removed ECM case holder foam R87. June 20, 2006 I was heading to the highway when my engine started racing and jerking, I drove it home. The car died and I had it towed to an automotive shop around the corner from my house. I was so lucky I wasn't going down the highway with lots of traffic! the mechanic came to the conclusion fairly quickly that it might be the computer and he called the Nissan dealership. They told him that they had no problems with the computers. I rented a car in the meantime to get to work. The mechanic got a used computer from the auto wrecker and the car started right up. Apparently the foam on the ECM damaged the computer (some kind of gas-fumes) while it was curing. This is why Nissan removed the foam. Maybe they are trying to avoid another recall like for the sensors...too late... I have since discovered that a lot of people have had the same problem with the ECM. I don't trust the used ECM I have in the car because I don't know anything about it. But I feel that Nissan should either rebuild or give me a new computer. If this happens at 123,000 kms what can I expect further down the road? I have the old computer, not sure what to do with it.

- Cobble Hill, 00, USA

problem #11

Aug 142005

Sentra 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,317 miles
I drive a 2002 Nissan Sentra. I regularly maintenance this vehicle. My car completely shut off in the middle of traffic with no prior warning like a light going on in the dashboard and refused to restart! a police officer had to put flares out in the intersection so that no one would hit us. My husband and I were fortunate that no other vehicle in the intersection collided with our vehicle. The only way we could get the car to the shop was by a tow truck. It turned out that the car's computer had gone completely dead. I am grateful that we were not injured, but I consider that a car system that fails to warn the driver in advance that there is a malfunction in the computer that runs the car is highly dangerous! I would not want any driver to have this frightening experience!

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #10

May 082005

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Contact stated that while driving 70 mph the radio would not work and the entire dash system went out. When the consumer turned the ignition switch, everything started working. Contact has not took the vehicle to a service dealer.

- Newton, MS, USA

problem #9

Sep 162004

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles
I was driving on the Massachusetts turnpike at about 65 mph in the right hand lane. I smelled a burning smell, but attributed it to a factory I drove by. My foot was on the gas pedal, and all at once my car was powering down, and the spedometer was dropping at a rapid speed, despite my foot on the gas pedal. Then, the brake light came on, the engine light, and I cruised my car over to the breakdown lane. Thankfully, no cars were behind me to rear-end my vehicle. There was a lot of smoke coming out from under the hood. I put my hazards on, but everything powered off. I turned the car off, and ran far away from the car, not knowing what it would do. I called 911, and patrons stopped to assist me before the police and firemen arrived. By the time they arrived, there were flames both under the hood and under the car, and lots of black smoke, which was making its way out onto the highway, harboring other drivers' views. The fire was put out after much force, and I was able to retrieve items out of the trunk and back seat once the fire was put out. My car was towed away to an automotive company.

- Hudson, MA, USA

problem #8

Aug 112004

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 1,345 miles
Intermittently while driving at any speed and shifting any gear the vehicle stalled. The dealership inspected the vehicle 10 times on different occasions, and could not duplicate or correct the problem. There were numerous probles with engine stalling, the maf had to be replace numerous times, the check engine and the reverse light did not work properly. (the wiring harness also repeated intermittent problems) the engine would stall when the clutch was depressed and when in neutral idling and when shifting the gears. The front speaker/tweeters made cracking noises. The cooling fan would come on when not activated.

- Gainesville, FL, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?