Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.2

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
72,287 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Nissan Sentra electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Nissan Sentra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Nissan Sentra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Aug 012016

Sentra

  • 198,005 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving & all gauges in dashboard turned off. The same day, the car didn't respond normally when gas pedal was pressed. The gas pedal was pressed several times before car took in gas. Parked car, & later that day restarted car. Car again didn't respond well when pressing accelerator. Gauges still non operational. Car died & battery tested by aaa. Battery found to be ok, but charging system was issue. Towed to tow yard & told alternator needed to be replaced. New, not rebuilt, alternator replaced by cousin & fuse (not sure which one) was found to be blown & replaced. Gauges worked after fuse & alternator replaced. Check engine light came on several days later. Cked car on auto zones free diagnostic tool & diagnostic trouble code U1001 can communication line & P0462 secondary code given. Car died again bout week later & towed to pep boys. Pep boys said battery needed replacement, so I had aaa test it & aaa said its the charging system. Aaa replaced the battery after much ado. Car taken back to pep boys for 'electronic diagnosis' & they said alternator! alternator tested at separate battery shop & tested fine. Later found meter fuse blown. Took to mechanic specializing in electrical & he scanned PCM & found no communication on data lines. Had blown meter fuse causing false code. Mechanic cleared out codes & test drove. He ckd charge 14.2 volts. Mechanic told me to bring it in if happens again. Well, happened again & replaced meter fuse & ck engine light on again. Electrical mechanic said it's a short somewhere & I'd have to leave car for maybe several days. Had a friend inspect under dashboard & cked under the gear shifter & ckd speedometer wires & didn't find any shorts. Googled "meter fuse Nissan Sentra" & meter fuse has created a lot of problems. Problems listed on forums. I've already spent $550, can't afford to pay Nissan $150 diagnostic fee yet.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #20

Jul 202016

Sentra

  • 140,000 miles
Tom wood Nissan carmel in refused to honor recall #report receipt date: Jul 07, 2006 NHTSA campaign number: 06V242000 component(s): Engine and engine cooling

- Westfield, IN, USA

problem #19

Jul 102015

Sentra

  • 96,027 miles
2004 Nissan Sentra shut off while driving on highway. Happened 2 times within an hour while the A/C was running, the vehicle shut off while in drive and physically moving. Service engine soon light appeared and currently displays code P0335: Crankshaft position sensor circuit malfunction. There is currently a recall for some Nissan Sentra for this exact situation, but not for my 2004 and I highly suggest this is reconsidered because this issue is affecting many people. Here are complain by other people related to same issue. Date of incident: 06/01/2015 NHTSA id number: 10726085 date of incident: 02/23/2014 NHTSA id number: 10566294 date of incident: 01/13/2014 NHTSA id number: 10560121 date of incident: 01/30/2012 NHTSA id number: 10447202 date of incident: 12/02/2011 NHTSA id number: 10438673 date of incident: 11/14/2008 NHTSA id number: 10266535 date of incident: 04/11/2009 NHTSA id number: 10265273 date of incident: 02/15/2009 NHTSA id number: 10259107 date of incident: 02/02/2007 NHTSA id number: 10181854 date of incident: 02/02/2007 NHTSA id number: 10181732 date of incident: 02/28/2004 NHTSA id number: 10094400 date of incident: 05/01/2004 NHTSA id number: 10083464 date of incident: 05/01/2004 NHTSA id number: 10082487 date of incident: 03/15/2004 NHTSA id number: 10062752

- Mclean, VA, USA

problem #18

Jul 102015

Sentra

  • 96,027 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The engine stalled due to a failed crankshaft position sensor and/or camshaft position sensor while driving I tried starting car again after 4-5 minutes started, and engine stalled again after 20-25 minutes then I started car again after 15-20 minutes and it started. I think these sensors can fail intermittently as they warm with the engine. Sensors on certain models have been recalled by Nissan and will be replaced as necessary but I'm not sure why my win number is not included in that recall while I'm having the same problem.

- Mclean, VA, USA

problem #17

Jun 012015

Sentra

  • 137,500 miles
2004 Nissan Sentra shut off while stopped in drive. Second incident, and many thereafter, was while the A/C was running, the vehicle shut off while in drive and physically moving. Service engine soon light appeared and currently displays code P0335: Crankshaft position sensor circuit malfunction. There is currently a recall for my 2003 Nissan Sentra for this exact situation, but not the my 2004 and I highly suggest this is reconsidered because this issue is affecting more that the my 2003.

- Ceres, CA, USA

problem #16

Jul 022008

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Ac never worked properly, serviced several times for the same problem.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #15

Feb 232014

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car stalled while driving. I was going the speed limit of 45 mph and without warning my car just lost power & stopped. I was lucky enough to be able to coast off the road without getting into an accident. I was on an 8-lane very busy road in a middle lane. At the first moment, the service engine light came on, then all the warning lights and the car stopped. I had the car towed. When the mechanic put it on the computer it said that the crank position sensor & camshaft sensor was the problem. It cost me $ $376 for the repair. The mechanic told me this was a common problem with Nissan. I read online where the problem was happening to my model and there was a recall of some. My car is a 1.8 model, but Nissan Consumer Affairs told me my car was not part of the recall, despite the fact that the exact malfunction happened to my car. This is a safety issue! I was lucky that there was not any other cars around me when my car stalled and I was able to coast off the road. I have retained the faulty parts that were replaced for examination. I was out of town at the time of this incident.

- South Euclid, OH, USA

problem #14

Jan 132014

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Drove the 2004 Nissan Sentra 1.8L on the highway at 60mph and the car began to decrease speed to about 30 to 40mph with RPM meter fluctuations while pressing on the gas with same pressure. On the same day the car shut off multiple times after starting it for a minute. Previously on 2 occasions while at a stop light the car would shut off while idling. The check engine light was on for awhile but would periodically turn off. Took the car to Nissan after the highway incident and they said it was the cam position sensor and crank sensor. When asked about recalls Nissan said my car was not listed under the recall campaign. Had to pay $730 to fix this problem while after reading other people's complaints for this model and other model complaints it appears this is a common problem and should be taken a look at to include in the recall.

- Kaneohe, HI, USA

problem #13

Jun 012013

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 75,294 miles
I purchased a vehicle for 4000 dollars and on the odometer it said it had 75,000 miles and the sticker said 69,204. We thought it was a good deal and investment so we took it. So this man and whoever who works with Texas auto trading Inc got the title and sticker for me. I never signed anything and a few days later the car started showing 176,00 miles on the odometer. Then on August 5, 2013 I called the individual jesus to ask for the title and he said he had gotten it with 10 more that were late I asked him why to his address and he blamed someone else wheni gave him my address several times. So it's registered to his home. So I went to get the title read it had 180,000 miles. So none of the info was right and on carfax and auto check it has different info showing proof of tampering with odometer on vehicle and title and state inspection. No evidence is on the reports of the state inspection sticker being made on 11/21/12. I called the local mesquite police and they said the seller jesus had said "he didn't know about the car and he bought it that way." I was never informed and I've been dealing with these evasive people who will not give me my money back or want to disclose his last name or anything. I looked at the reports on auto check and car fax and at the time of purchase it had more miles on it. I don't want anyone to deal with this consumer fraud and I want my money back. I can't sell or do anything with the vehicle since all info is false and I don't believe it's fair for me or anyone to have to pay the burden of all these and more expenses. They buy cars and resell them and I hope no one else has to deal with this this odometer fraud.

- Mesquite , TX, USA

problem #12

Aug 052013

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 176,944 miles
This vehicle was bought from a man at a home for "X" amount of miles. Now the odometer, title, and state inspection sticker miles do not match on different information. I bought this car I can't sell or do anything with it. All of these documents were tampered with and they are evasive and denying it all even to the cops when I have evidence and do not want to give me my money in full. I thought I bought a good car and now I know better and my life and my family is in danger with this car it is not safe and I was lied to. Complete fraud on the odometer and more.

- Mesquite, TX, USA

problem #11

Jan 302012

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 138,957 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Jan.30,2012, my car stalled while driving. I was going the speed limit of 55 mph and without warning my car just stalled. I was lucky enough to be able to coast off the road without getting into an accident. After about 10 minutes I was able to start my car. At first the service engine light was not on but after about 3 mins. The service engine light came on. I drove the car to the dealership without any problem. The invoice states: Ran the diag trouble tree. Could not get the dtc to confirm. Checked powers and grounds, all are good. Pulled the sensor and did the inspection and found the resistance to be wrong between terminal 2 & 3. they told me that the crank position sensor needed to be replaced and I approved the repair. It cost me $ $210 for the repair. I read on the safecar.gov website where the problem was happening to the 2.5L models and were recalled. My car is a 1.8L model. This is a safety issues. I was lucky that there was not any other cars around me when my car stalled and I was able to coast off the road.

- Scottsville, KY, USA

problem #10

Dec 022011

Sentra 4-cyl

  • miles
The vehicle was difficult to start and require multiple tries. The would jerk and felt like it was slipping out of gear but did not. Has completely stalled when slowing for stop light. On 12/5/11, would not crank at all. Per Nissan service center, the crankshaft senor is failing; however, there is not recall for Nissan Sentra ser spec-V only 2004 Sentra. All Nissan Sentra should be on the recall list including ser spec-vs. Concerned that there are other safety issues with Nissan Sentra that would also effect spec-V that are not being reported to spec-V owners.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #9

Oct 082009

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 16,000 miles
Most of the time when I try to turn on the car I have to try 2 or 3 times in order for it to turn. The car sounds like it will turn on but it will not, therefore I have to continue turning the key and try again. Sometimes when I accelerate the car will not response, it will take a while to do so.

- Rialto, CA, USA

problem #8

Nov 142008

Sentra

  • 83,500 miles
It takes several tries to start my 2004 Nissan Sentra and sometimes stalls right after starting the vehicle.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #7

Apr 112009

Sentra

  • 79,000 miles
4 days ago while driving my car it just shut off. The car died it just completely shut off while I was going 55 miles and hour. Luckily I was able to pull off the road and out of traffic. I tried restarting the car and after several attempts I was able to get it restarted. The check engine light came on at that point. It then went less than a mile and the same thing happened again. This time I was able to pull in and park it in a store parking lot. I took it to a repair shop and had it put on there machine to see what the problem was. I was told it was the battery so I had that replaced. When I was driving it after leaving the repair shop the car died again. At the suggestion of my sister I took the car the next day to a auto parts store they plugged in the machine to read the codes it came back P0335 the crank shaft sensor. I had to order a new one and replace it and the check engine light has yet to go off. Today while doing some research on this problem I find out that this is a problem for this vehicle. I have never heard about the recall that I keep reading about while doing this research. I am scared to drive my car and scared to drive it with my kids in it. The car is a 2004 Nissan Sentra SE with a 1.8 engine. I have not had a chance to road test it to see if it will continue to shut off now that the sensor has been replaced because I am scared to drive it for an extended period. I have yet to see if the problem has been corrected but from what I have been reading I doubt that it has been.

- Fairhope, AL, USA

problem #6

Feb 152009

Sentra

  • miles
Nissan Sentra 2004 engine automatically shuts off when driving. Could possibly cause an accident. 1.8L. I've had a mechanic run a computer test on the engine and says that the crank shaft sensor is malfunctioning, which is causing the engine to shut off. I have read about a few other people experiencing this problem and would like for you to please look into it. Thank you.

- Orange Park, FL, USA

problem #5

Mar 282007

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
Nissan Sentra 2004 has the following "problems" when trying to start car, have to pump gas and turn the key 2-3 times in weather ranging from 50F to 100F. Also, the rubber on window seal is turning/bending. I put # of failures as 365 since it is an every day occurrence.

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #4

Feb 022007

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Driving 65 on highway the vehicle stop running.

- Turners Falls, MA, USA

problem #3

May 012004

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,060 miles
2004 Nissan Sentra 1.8S: Purchased new on 3/13/2004. Mileage 2060 - jersey city, NJ: Service engine soon light came on, brought to dealer, ECM reprogrammed, dealer did not know what caused the light to come on. Erratic/rough idling still persists, vehicle shut off once while refueling. Mileage, approx. 4725 - jersey city, NJ: Service engine soon light came on and went off intermittently, dealer refused to repair due to "no hard code is stored." Erratic/rough idling persists. Vehicle shut off second time while parked. Began lemon law proceedings in New Jersey. Mileage, 5370 - myrtle beach, SC: Service engine soon light is on. Car is bucking in 1st gear (automatic), "mapp" gas or rotten egg smell (possibly excess sulfur) coming from exhaust. Error code P0171/P0174, air flow meter replaced with no further failures. Mileage, 5637 - charlotte, nc: Service engine soon light is on. Vehicle now bucks at high speeds, especially when letting up on the accelerator. After prolonged highway driving, very erratic idle, at times almost reaching 0 rpms while parked. Dealer reset ECM, could not detect any failures. Arranged to change fuel pump but finally fuel pump was not changed. Vehicle driven back to New Jersey with same failures as listed above. Since charlotte, nc service engine soon light has come on two times, and has gone away just as fast. I do not have much time to keep my only car (and new car) in and out of the dealership, since they refuse to provide a rental. My recommendation: Want to stay alive, stay away from Nissan cars and trucks.

- Union City, NJ, USA

problem #2

Mar 152004

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 705 miles
Purchased car brand new with 7 miles on it. On 3/15/04 at 495 miles on the computer died - lost engine power in heavy traffic, check engine light on. Dealer replaced computer under warranty and I accepted delivery of repaired vehicle on 3/19/04. On 3/31/04 at 720 miles - check engine light came on again, lost all engine power again in heavy traffic. Made it to dealer - was told 'nothing they could do for me' and although the car is unsafe to drive, constantly losing power in traffic - they told me to take it away, or leave it there and walk home (10 miles)...

- Worcester, MA, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?