Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,904 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Nissan Sentra electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Nissan Sentra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Nissan Sentra Owner Comments

problem #8

Jul 232016


  • 183,000 miles


The contact owned a 2007 Nissan Sentra. While driving approximately 65 mph on the highway, smoke entered the vehicle without warning. The contact was able to coast the vehicle over to the side of the road. The driver and two passengers exited the vehicle. A fire erupted from the front of the vehicle, under the vehicle, and near the rear. The vehicle was destroyed. A police report and a fire inspection report were filed. The vehicle was towed to a yard. The dealer was notified of the failure and provided no recommendations. The contact was to check with the manufacturer to determine if they may be able to diagnose the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 183,000.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #7

Feb 092015


  • 100,000 miles
On February 9, 2015 I was driving my Nissan Sentra and everything stopped (all power) I thought it was the battery so I got a jump it started and I drove to the store. When I stopped at a store the car was dead again. After some investigation I realized the battery terminal on the positive side was not staying on the battery so therefore the power in the car could stop at any time. I researched online to see if this problem has happen with any other Nissan Sentra, and found it had so I called Nissan corporate office. I was told that the recalls for the car I have did not include the battery terminal. My concern is that if this exact problem was an issue reported and recalls done for other Sentra is it possible the same could be for my car. I think this very dangerous and Nissan should repair the car.

- Ashland, VA, USA

problem #6

Aug 202013

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 50,115 miles
8/20/13 @ 50115 miles: Vehicle air bag light was on and blinking. Nissan tech found history code 1086 stored. L/F pretensioner failed. Tech performed air bag system reprogram, which cleared the air bag light and all failure codes. 2/19/14 @ 52624 miles: Vehicle air bag light was on and blinking. Nissan tech found failure code B1086 stored. Pre ten front L/H open. Internal failure in L/F seatbelt assembly. Tech replaced L/F seatbelt assembly. Cleared failure codes and verified none returned. 7/8/14 @ 55300 miles: Vehicle air bag light was on and blinking. Nissan tech found failure code B1086 stored. Dealership recommended replacing air bag diagnostic unit. If that does not work, dealership recommends replacing air bag harness.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #5

Dec 052011

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 48,697 miles


On two occasions while making right turns, the engine failed to operate. The first occurrence, the engine restarted and appeared to operate normally. The second occurrence, the engine failed to restart and the vehicle was towed to Nissan maintenance where it was determined that the battery was leaking acid, which was ingested in to the air intake, destroying the air filter and causing severe contamination of the spark plugs and fuel injector system, as well as corrosive damage to the framing. Had this engine failed on the freeway, it would have jeopardized the lives of the occupants. Action is being addressed with the battery manufacturer, but this report is implemented to address the poor design of the vehicle which placed the battery above the air intake, without provisions for containment in the event of such an acid leak. (photos available).

- Spring , TX, USA

problem #4

Nov 132010


  • 41,000 miles
The car ran fine, until one day the electrical system seemed to die (all the lights on the dash illuminated) and the car seemed to lock itself up. The power steering stopped functioning and made it hard to drive. After pulling over to restart it, it would not. At first I thought it may be the battery, but when I took it to the dealer they were unable to figure out the exact problem. It's been nearly a week since the problem started and no resolution yet. I chose to report this because when the car began to malfunction it became very unsafe to operate. Since I was in a fairly residential area it wasn't hard for me to pull over and get help, but had I been on a major roadway I could see this problem being potentially disastrous. I also feel that this problem needs to be more closely looked at since the technicians were not able to accurately identify the problem because it had yet to be seen until I brought my car in.

- Braddock, PA, USA

problem #3

Sep 152010


  • 47,800 miles
My 2007 Nissan Sentra caught on fire while I was driving on the highway. No warning lights came on, no noise, just stalled and I was not able to pull off the road. Car was a total loss. I had taken it in to the dealer for 2 recalls (brake master cylinder and airbags) last year, but was told my car cleared both.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #2

Jan 062009

(reported on)

Sentra 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Nissan Sentra caught fire while on the highway. Consumer stated that she just recently received a recall for a brake fluid leak. She would like to know if there is anything that could be done and if this is what caused it to catch fire.

- Glastonbury, CT, USA

problem #1

Aug 032007

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 622 miles
My son bought a 2007 Nissan Sentra S on July 27, 2007. This vehicle has broke down on 08/03/07, 08/07/07, 08/10/00 and as of today it is still at a Nissan dealer. The problem with this vehicle is that three times the while driving along for no reason it the car speed drops to 5 mph. The first time it happened was at development and no other traffic. When this happened the car would only go 5 mph. No faster. The second time this happened my son had two clients in the car and was able to get off the highway. The third time this happened my son and I were returning home. We were traveling up a two lane road with many vehicles going both ways, as we got half way up the hill this happened again. We had no place to pull off and almost go hit from behind. Thank god the driver was able to get around us. We had to put the 4 ways on and was only able to go 5 mph to the top of the hill. Still with no place to pull off the road I told my son to drift the car down the hill into our home town. My son drives this car on interstate highways every day to go to work if this happens on that highway while everyone is going 65 mph he is not going to time to get off the road. I have contacted Nissan and complained and they told me they will fix the problem that was the second time it broke down. I fell this car is unsafe to be on any highway.

- Mt. Carmel, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?