Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,208 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Nissan Sentra seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Nissan Sentra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Nissan Sentra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #31

Sep 082016

Sentra

  • 155,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was coming to a complete stop and the breaks did not stop the car forcing me to hit someone. I always had trouble with the breaks with forced me to change them every so often. This time was tough.

- Broussard, LA, USA

problem #30

Aug 112016

Sentra

  • 50,400 miles
Airbag light started randomly blinking when I started the car. I brought it to the dealer, they said "faulty clock spring and drivers airbag assy - replace (B1049 drivers airbag open)". the cost was $1,468.32 no including tax, etc and said it was unusual for both pieces to be faulty.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #29

Jul 282016

Sentra

  • 56,886 miles
My 2008 Nissan Sentra air bag light came on in the past and I had it reset by the dealer. It stayed out for a long period of time. Later when it came on again, I learned how to reset it myself using the ignition key and I did so with success. The light would stay out for at first a month or two, then it became a week or two, but now the light comes on and my resetting it will only last for less than a day. So I took the car to the dealer this week. The dealer advised me that it is a faulty air bag. The dealer did a diagnosis/inspection and found code 81134. The dealer advised me to replace the left side seat assembly and that it would cost me approximately $3,400 to do so. Is this possible for a 2008 Nissan with only 56,000 miles on it? the air bags for this model are not on the recall list, but I'm questioning if they should be.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #28

Apr 012016

Sentra

  • 87,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. My warning light for the airbag was on so I took it to a dealer and the reset the code but after a few days the light came on again. Now it is on all the time when I am driving it. I am wondering if it was manufactured in 2007 and could be on the recall list.

- Berryville, AR, USA

problem #27

Oct 142015

Sentra

  • 103,971 miles
Air bag safety issue. On October 14, 2015 I took my car in for service at mcgrath Nissan because the "cs air bag light is flashing" more spicifly the code readout was B1134 for sensor for air bag front left side. Their diagnosis was that the entire [and very expensive at $3000] air bag module must be replaced. Nissan is uncertain whether the air bags will work or not in a front left side crash. The part was ordered and was expected to become available before end of 2015. The part was 87651ze90B frame assy-front sea and I put down a 50% deposit on the part. It is now May 30, 2016. Numerous calls to the dealership, who followed up with Nissan, occurred. The answers varried. In some of the calls statements where made that Nissan was having supplier issues. In other calls I was given a new date for arrival of the part, and part has not yet arrived. In my last call mcgrath Nissan was told by Nissan that the part should arrive in April. It is now late may and still no part. In June 2016 I am required to take my car to emissions testing (suburb of Chicago, il) and I am anticipating failing because of this part.

- Bartlett, IL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #26

Apr 012016

Sentra

  • miles
I was in an accident, and air bag failed to deploy. Brakes may have not been repaired to full functional capacity from the dealership when serviced which resulted in not braking in time and loss of control of vehicle. I looked up the vehicle on a Nissan recall website and found out that it's one of the ones on the recall list.

- Lynchburg, VA, USA

problem #25

Aug 132014

Sentra

  • 106,751 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

August 13, 2014 I took my Nissan to dealer because of air bag light on passenger side flashing. It started while driving. I was informed it was caused by right front seat belt pretensioner failure, they replaced the right front seat belt assy. Under a warranty. October 20, 2014 took back to dealer due to air bag light again flashing. Informed it was cost $975 to install a new censor. I declined work because of price. To date, 5/2/16, the light continues to flash. I also have a flashing light on my dash for a tire censor. I was told it would cost $135 to find which tire or if it was a main censor that was causing this. I declined to have it diagnosed due to the cost -$135 to find it then another cost to fix it. This has been flashing for almost two years. Car was in motion when the flashing started.

- Arnold, MO, USA

problem #24

Aug 012008

Sentra

  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Sentra. While driving approximately 50 mph, the contact's vehicle struck a deer. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was repaired for the frame damage. During a second incident, the air bags failed to deploy again and the air bag warning light illuminated. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the air bag sensor failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The failure recurred and the dealer diagnosed that the passenger side seat belt failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was diagnoised a third time for an electrical failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 112,000.

- Allentown, NJ, USA

problem #23

Feb 152016

Sentra

  • 100,000 miles
Driver airbag has come on and will not turn off. Bag has never deployed but I'm afraid it won't if I get into an accident. Dealership wants to charge me about $800 to diagnose and repair if I agree.

- Bristow, VA, USA

problem #22

Nov 152014

Sentra

  • 129,353 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Sentra. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the air bag driver module circuit needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 129,353.

- Roanoke Rapids, NC, USA

problem #21

Jul 092015

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 107,537 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Sentra. The contact stated that while parked, the front passenger curtain and door air bags deployed when the door was closed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 107,537. 847-254-5790 the consumer stated the air bag deployed after the passenger door was closed. Updated 01/28/16. The consumer stated the manufacturer was contacted and conducted an investigation. Updated 3/21/2016

- Bellbrook, OH, USA

problem #20

Jul 012015

Sentra

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Sentra. While operating the vehicle, the air bag sensor light would continuously blink off and on. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the air bag system was faulty. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 120,000. The VIN was not available.

- Aberdeen, MD, USA

problem #19

Jul 112015

Sentra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Sentra. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the clock spring needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Henrico, VA, USA

problem #18

Jan 272014

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 22,518 miles
Front passenger side airbag has turned off and air bag light is flashing on the instrument panel. Lancaster Nissan says it will not deploy in a crash. The dealer says the sensors in the seat and/or the seat is bent and won't bolt to the floor of my car. The dealer replaced the seat twice. The new seat didn't solve anything -- the air bag light is still flashing on my dash to this day. Nissan said that I needed a $675 computer chip but could not say with certainty that this would fix the problem. At this time, lancaster Nissan stated that "Nissan was done with me." This is clearly a safety issue that Nissan has refused to fix. They have failed to stay behind their product -- I do not have passengers ride in the front passenger seat due to this problem and I cannot re-sell the car in this condition.

- Columbia, PA, USA

problem #17

Nov 152014

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 129,353 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Sentra. The contact stated that the air bag light sporadically illuminated. The dealer stated that the air bag driver module circuit needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 129,353. Updated 2/11/15 updated 02/19/15

- Weldon, NC, USA

problem #16

May 122014

Sentra 4-cyl

  • miles
My air bag light randomly came on, and won't go off.

- Washington , DC, USA

problem #15

Nov 152014

Sentra

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Sentra. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was driven to the contact's residence. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the air bag module was faulty. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000.

- Weldon, NC, USA

problem #14

Nov 072014

Sentra

  • 127,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Sentra. The contact stated that the while driving approximately 45 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 127,000.

- Weldon, NC, USA

problem #13

Feb 142013

Sentra

  • miles
I was driving and hit a spot of ice and had gone off the road taking out two signs and head on into a tree. I was severely injured and taken to the trauma unit at the hospital. I had a broken femur, shattered knee, broken ankle, broken foot, lacerated liver, punctured lung and broken ribs. My air bag never deployed.

- Etters, PA, USA

problem #12

Jul 092014

Sentra

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Sentra. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The contact was then making a right turn and slightly crashed into a curb. The air bags deployed and the seat belts seized around the contact. The contact stated that the air bag and the check engine warning lights had been previously illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?