Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,049 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Nissan Sentra engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Nissan Sentra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Nissan Sentra Owner Comments

problem #7

May 142016

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 111,355 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Nissan Sentra. While driving at a low speed, the contact depressed the brake pedal to make a left turn and the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart after numerous attempts. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 111,355......updated 08/11/16 the consumer the repair shop replaced the intake tube. Updated 08/17/16.

- Amston, CT, USA

problem #6

Jan 052015

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Have had the vehicle for 11/2 yrs as a certified Nissan multiple problems like 2 transmissions and a engine starting 1 month after purchase now air bag light has come on and dealer says it is a defective airbag. Nissan will not cover this. What other manufacture are they using for the airbags.

- Yucca Valley, CA, USA

problem #5

Oct 202013

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
The exhaust pipe on my Nissan Sentra 2010 started rusting for the first year. For the 3rd year that I own the car the exhaust pipe rusted through the pipe and actually broke apart and is now hanging down. Now the exhaust is coming out where the rust came eat through the metal and is making really loud noises.

- Bristol, CT, USA

problem #4

Feb 072012


  • miles


2010 Nissan Sentra. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle engine noises. The consumer stated while backing up or turning to the right, there was a noise coming from the rear side of the vehicle. The dealer replaced both front strut bearings and the right mount on 02/07/12/. even after the parts were replaced, there was still a knocking noise coming from the same place occasionally. Also, when the ignition was turned on and the vehicle reached 25 mph, the consumer heard a buzzing sound for a few seconds. The consumer believed it was coming from the lower part of the engine.

- Pasadena, TX, USA

problem #3

Jun 112010

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
Driving on highway car stops, had it in shop 4 times said nothing wrong. Heard about recall"?"

- Mineola, NY, USA

problem #2

Dec 112010

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,990 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Nissan Sentra. The contact started the vehicle, and was unable to shift from park to reverse. She then shut the vehicle off and checked outside of the vehicle to see if the wheels were straight, thinking maybe the wheels were locking the transmission. The consumer stated when she started the vehicle again, the engine began to race, she stepped on the brake again and tried to put the vehicle in reverse, when suddenly the vehicle accelerated backwards. She was unable to stop the vehicle and consequently, she hit another vehicle and a grocery cart. The consumer stated she placed the vehicle in drive, but the vehicle continued to accelerate at a high speed. She finally turned the key off and the vehicle came to a stop. The dealer was unable to diagnose the failure. The contact did inform the manufacturer. The current and failure mileages were approximately 7,000. A police report was filed. The consumer stated on five separate occasions, prior to the accident, the vehicle would surge forward. Updated evoq 02/04/11. Updated 12/11/2011 status update. 06/14/11 the consumer stated the problem is still on going. The consumer stated when the vehicle was started in the mornings, from sitting overnight, the RPM's increased to 500, with the slightest movement of the shift lever from park. The RPM's would drop once the vehicle was put in reverse. Updated 09/15/11 updated 12/05/2011 updated 12/22/11. Updated 09/10/12

- Uncasville, CT, USA

problem #1

Nov 192010


  • miles
Car would not start. I called dealership and was told that there was a known problem with the right battery cable connection and to just tighten it. I had my husband tighten it and it did start. This happened two additional times after this. Thankfully my husband was with me and he was able to jggle the cable and we did get the car started. Recently I was out alone shopping late at night coming from the mall and the car again would not start. Had my brother in law come to my rescue. I brought the car to the dealer ship today today and I was assured that this problem would not happen again. I drove home and then had to go back out for something we needed for dinner and the car again would not start. I had just left the dealership service station. Did some further research on line and found out that the recall parts wont be distributed until 11/29. So what am I suppose to do in the meantime. Also this issue can cause the car to stop suddenly at low speeds and cause accidents not to mention damage to the engine. Why was I told that the issue was resolved when I found out the recall parts were not even available at that time to resolve this issue"?" I dont feel safe driving this car and feel Nissan should replace the vehicle for me. I purchased a new car so that I would not have to worry about getting to my job etc. I had a several used cars that I put alot of money into and decided to go new to give me some piece of mind.

- Richmond, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?