Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 1
Average Mileage:
36,732 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Nissan Titan seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Nissan Titan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Nissan Titan Owner Comments

problem #10

Jun 202008

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • 34,715 miles


On 6/20/2008 I went to a Nissan dealership to resolve a recall item to replace rear door wiring harness, recall # R0616. The recall was performed and in the process the dealership also replaced LH-pretensioner, seatbelt and body harness, and reset airbag warning light. On 6/03/2013, the airbag warning light came on and I went to a nearby Nissan dealership and was advised that I would have to replace the LH-pretensioner, seatbelt and body harness, I informed the service advisor that this work was already accomplished once and that I had the documents if he needed them. The service advisor then stated that since the work was accomplished five years ago that even though the parts are a safety item that they were no longer under warranty, resulting in a $574.30 charge of which I paid. My contention is that this is a safety item, and thus should not have a warranty restriction, I am not sure if the truck is even safe to drive.

- Hingham, MA, USA

problem #9

May 182013

Titan 8-cyl

  • miles
I received a recall notice in the mail this week: Recall 06V-459 about the airbag warning light flashing, seat belts not working properly, etc. My vehicle is having all of the problems listed so as instructed I brought my vehicle to the Nissan dealership along with the letter. They informed me that they would not fix the problem because it "was not in their system". stating they do not understand why I got a notice in the mail. Clearly my vehicle is having these exact problems and they are required to fix them, but they still refused to fix or diagnose for free as required by law. Very disappointing in Nissan for disregarding my family's safety...updated 08-07-13

- Gaffney, SC, USA

problem #8

Nov 152011

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Titan. The contact stated that the front passenger's side seat belt seized and became difficult to unlock. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician stated the seat belt was working properly. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000.

- Tiverton, RI, USA

problem #7

Jan 022013


  • 55,000 miles


The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Titan. The contact stated that the front driver's side seat belt webbing failed to automatically retract upon engaging. In 2006, the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 04V345000 (seat belts) even though there was not a defect. In 2013, the seat belt retractor malfunction occurred. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Cibolo, TX, USA

problem #6

Apr 012006

Titan 8-cyl

  • 65,022 miles
La marca del carro ES Nissan Titan 2004 el problma ES relasionado con las bolsas de aire Y los sinturones de seguridad, tengo encendida la luz que indica que existe un problema con las bolsas de aire Y respecto a los cinturones estos SE atoran haciendo mucha precion.

- Ceres , CA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #5

Feb 162005


  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Titan. The contact has experienced several failures with the vehicle since the date it was purchased. While driving various speeds and applying pressure to the brakes, the vehicle vibrated and the braking power was lost. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that the rotors failed. The vehicle was repaired. The entire braking system (rotors and brake pads) have been replaced three times since the original failure date. When adults use the rear seat safety belts, they become tighter as the vehicle is being operated. The seat belts cause a great amount of pressure to the neck and chest area and have to be released and reconnected for safety. The contact is in the process of notifying the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 8,000 and current mileage was 38,000.

- Dayton, NV, USA

problem #4

Dec 202007

Titan 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,000 miles


The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Titan. While driving 55 mph, the driver could not stop the vehicle after applying the brakes. The vehicle went over an embankment. As a result, the driver sustained fatal injuries. The contact was unsure if the airbags deployed. The vehicle is presently being held by the hwy patrol. The vehicle had been taken for brake repairs 7 times and was released to the contact saying that the brakes were fine. Prior to the crash the brakes had failed in October and the contact had the vehicle serviced and filed a complaint. The service manager told the contact that he believed that there was still something wrong with the vehicle and was fired from his position. During prior failures, the ABS warning light became illuminated. The contact has reported the failures to Nissan with no resolution. The current and failure mileages were 83,000. This is the second complain that the contact has filed. The prior incident reported was 10/07 updated 01/24/08 the dealer stated performed recall dealing with seat belt, heating and A/C is intermittent, vehicle is overheating and rear taillights inoperable. Updated 01/24/08

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #3

Jan 262007

Titan 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,490 miles
- the contact stated that all passenger seat belts on the 2004 Nissan Titan intermittently go to the child restraint mode when being used by in the adult passenger mode. The passenger must remove the seat belt, return it to the retracted position, and reconnect the seat belt. It happened most often on a bumpy road surface at 20 mph. Updated 03/02/07.

- Chester, VA, USA

problem #2

Mar 152006

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,090 miles
Since purchasing my truck in August of 2004 I have experienced several brake related issues. I've taken the truck to the same dealer for service on each failure/issue. The break issues experienced have been brake lights turning on, brakes shuddering, the truck not braking properly, brakes not working until the pedal was almost completely pressed. Recently the truck failed to stop resulting in a rear end collision. The dealer has replaced/resurfaced rotors, brake pads and replaced sensors during the past year and a half. However, I continue to experience issue after issue regarding the brakes. I have had other defects as well, but the brake issues have been the primary issue.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #1

Jul 122004

Titan 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
All passenger seat belts intermittently go to the child restraint mode when being used by in the normal passenger mode. The passenger must remove the seat belt, return it to the retracted position, and reconnect the seat belt. It appears to happen most often on a bumpy surface. This is a dangerous practice. Some vehicle owners will surely disable the child safety function. Others will endanger their passengers by having them remove the seat belts while the vehicle is in operation.

- Poway, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?