Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
83,665 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Nissan Titan suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Nissan Titan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Nissan Titan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Nov 292011

Titan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Nissan Titan both rear axle seal are leaking axle fluid.

- Kingsville, TX, USA

problem #22

Jul 222011

Titan

  • 58,700 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Titan. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph making a turn, a loud clicking noise emitted from the rear of the vehicle. The failure progressed within a thirty day period. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, where they stated that the rear differential would need to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified and stated that there was not a recall pertaining to the malfunction. The approximate failure mileage was 58,700.

- Lyndhurst, NJ, USA

problem #21

Jul 232011

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • 97,455 miles
Tac-welds broke on left rear leaf spring shackle. Causing the rolled portion of the shackle to extend out causing the leaf spring to hit the underside of the truck bed. The left side rear of the vehicle dropped down approximately 3-4" inches causing handling difficulty.

- Auburndale, MA, USA

problem #20

Jan 012007

Titan

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Titan. The contact stated that while changing the rear brakes, he noticed that the seals on the rear axle were leaking oil. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the failure was not diagnosed, but the seals were replaced. The failure since recurred three times. After the first two recurrences, the vehicle was taken back to the dealer for repairs. The vehicle was not repaired for the most recent recurrence because the vehicle was no longer under warranty. The failure mileage was 30,000 and the current mileage was 98,000.

- Shirley, NY, USA

problem #19

Jun 202011

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
This is a 2005 Nissan truck with 85,000 miles used very lightly the truck started to make a noise, brought it in to be looked at $4000 repair needed for complete rear end replacement if not fixed it could cause rear tires to lock up is there any other complaints about this.

- Middleboro, MA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #18

Dec 012010

Titan

  • 106,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Titan. While driving approximately 10 mph, the contact stated that he heard a howling noise from the rear of the vehicle. When he attempted to change lanes, the rear end locked up and skidded about one hundred feet before it stopped, causing the rear drive axle to pop off. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where they performed a diagnostic test which concluded that the rear end needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified who informed the contact that his vehicle was no longer under warranty and offered no further assistance. The vehicle was repaired by a private mechanic. The current and failure mileages were 106,000. Updated 03/16/11 updated 12/20/11

- Merridale, NY, USA

problem #17

Nov 232010

Titan

  • 69,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Titan. While driving approximately 40 mph the contact began to lose control of the vehicle before it stalled. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where he was informed that the rear suspension broke in half. He was also informed that this was a known failure. The vehicle was being repaired when the complaint was filed. The failure and current mileages were 69,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Cotuit, MA, USA

problem #16

Nov 012010

Titan

  • 86,000 miles
Leaf spring shackle broke at weld, and rear passenger leaf spring pushed through the body of my pickup bed. It wasn't that distinguishable, it sounded like a clunk in the rear and that was it. I will contact Nissan and see what they say. However, I will be purchasing aftermarket shackles today for install.

- East Patchogue , NY, USA

problem #15

Oct 022010

Titan

  • 64,130 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Titan. When the contact pulled to a stop sign, the rear differential locked up. The veicle was towed to the contact's residence and was awaiting inspection by the dealer to determine the cause of failure. The failure mileage was 64,130 and the current mileage was 65,130.

- Monongahela, PA, USA

problem #14

Mar 192010

Titan

  • 60,000 miles
Rear axle seal leak.

- Hudson, WI, USA

problem #13

Jan 152010

Titan

  • 62,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Complete rear end failure of my 2005 Nissan Titan while driving 45mph on the highway. Failure happened at 62500 miles and is the first time to my knowledge (pre-owned). Rearend is being replaced by Nissan service center at a cost of $3500 that has to be paid personally as the truck is currently 2500 miles outside of the drivetrain warranty and it appears doubtful that Nissan will assist or even acknowledge the severe design flaw.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #12

Oct 202009

Titan

  • 26,000 miles
Right rear axle seal leaking.

- Lowell, MA, USA

problem #11

Sep 082009

Titan

  • 70,000 miles
Left & right rear seals leaking on my king cab 05 Nissan Titan. I had the 60,000 mile service done in early July 2009, at the dealership. The approximate mileage on my truck at that time was around 66,000 miles. Upon completing the job, the next day, most of the transmission fluid leaked out of my truck. The dealership came to my house and repaired the leak and topped off the transmission fluid. They said that it was a failed hose clamp. They took my truck back to the dealership to look it over to confirm that everything else was ok. They also check on a fan recall that was pending. They told me that no repairs were necessary. A couple of weeks ago I noticed that transmission fluid appeared to be leaking again from the front end. I took my truck in earlier this week and the dealership replaced a leaking transmission hose at no charge. They informed me at this time that my left and right rear seals were leaking very bad. They also informed me that I have a power steering leak. I don't understand why these issues were not addressed in July when the 60,000 mile service was done unless it just recently started. They told me how much it will cost to do the repairs and advised that I take care of it asap!

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #10

Mar 282009

Titan 4WD

  • 78,000 miles
I am a professional engineer seeking your office's assistance on resolving an issue related to the unexpected collapse of the rear suspension system on my vehicle, and also to bring to your attention the dangerous situation that thousands of owners and operators of these vehicles on the roads nationwide are exposed. I am the owner of a 2005 Nissan Titan pick-up truck purchased new in January 2005. The vehicle has 78,000 miles, is well maintained, and mainly used to commute to work. It is not driven off-road, nor it is used to carry heavy loads. A shackle supporting the left rear suspension leaf spring assembly failed. The assembly collapsed, perforating the truck bed as shown on the enclosed photos. ["fortunately", it occurred in my driveway and not while driving on a public road; otherwise the consequences could have been catastrophic due to the loss of vehicle control]. I immediately notified the Nissan dealer (1-860-448-0050). The technician indicated that the vehicle was out-of-warranty; therefore, he had to contact Nissan corporation for instructions. Please note that the vehicle is still under warranty for rust (60 months-unlimited miles). Furthermore, such a major structural failure is beyond any warranty coverage limitations because it is not supposed to occur. The vehicle has failed, within four years, to provide one of its major intended and implied uses, which is to provide transportation to its operator and passengers in a safe manner and furthermore, not pose a risk when operated on the roads by exposing other drivers and property to injury and damage. Other Nissan Titan owners had the same problem. Nissan was aware of the problem since it beefed-up the shackles on their 2008 models, but older models still have the problem. How can I email photos of the failure. Your intervention is requested.

- Voluntown, CT, USA

problem #9

Jan 272009

Titan

  • 69,500 miles
I was driving on highway heard a bong two days later I found a dent upward in bed of truck and found a broken shackle. After replacing part and looking how it was made you could see that it a poor design. Roll metal with 2 small welds that prevent metal from unrolling. All weight of back of truck and any jarring cause it to sap. If both side fail and I had to make any sudden move you could loose the hole back suspension I have digital pictures of fail part. ODI #10259337 I used wrong state.

- Haverhill, MA, USA

problem #8

Jan 202007

Titan

  • 695,000 miles
I was driving on highway heard a bong two days later I found a dent upward in bed of truck and found a broken shackle. After replacing part and looking how it was made you could see that it a poor design. Roll metal with 2 small welds that prevent metal from unrolling. All weight of back of truck and any jarring cause it to sap. If both side fail and I had to make any sudden move you could loose the hole back suspension. I have digital pictures of fail part in question.

- Haverhill, MN, USA

problem #7

Nov 142008

Titan 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Titan. Whenever the vehicle was driven over a pothole, the contact heard loud noises coming from the rear of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but they could not duplicate the failure. Approximately one week ago, while driving at an unknown speed, the contact heard a much louder noise and the vehicle drove as if it were trying to get away. The following morning, she discovered that the leaf spring punctured through the truck bed. The contact has photos available. The current mileage was 73,000 and failure mileage was 58,000. Updated 12/11/08. Updated 12/11/08.

- Sagel, ID, USA

problem #6

Oct 132008

Titan

  • 60,600 miles
When tuning my truck began to "clank" I was 60 miles from home. Whole rear differential went out and has to be replaced.

- Monon, IN, USA

problem #5

Jun 262008

Titan

  • 36,900 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Titan. While driving approximately 30 mph, the contact heard a loud noise. The rear of the vehicle on the driver's side began to sag. The contact lost control of the vehicle and maneuvered onto the side of the road. He discovered that the leaf spring failed and landed in the bed of the vehicle. The vehicle will have to be towed to the dealer. The current and failure mileages were 36,900.

- Bristol, NH, USA

problem #4

Jul 122007

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Titan. He noticed the rear end of the vehicle would shake. The dealer stated that fluid leaked which caused the rear differential seals to fail and the transaxle to corrode. The current mileage was 64,070 and the failure mileage was 62,000. Updated 09/06/07

- Gloucester, MA, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?