Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,447 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Nissan Titan drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Nissan Titan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Nissan Titan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #42

Aug 132016


  • 65,000 miles


Had transmission serviced and about 5000 miles or less later truck started hesitating and finally stopped. Investigated and found transmission fluid and antifreeze under truck. Had towed to nearest ammco station and they diagnosed problem as antifreeze in transmission smelled burned and said a complete re-manufactured transmission was recommended since all of the transmission components had been exposed to the anti-freeze and were burned or overheated. Talked with Nissan of gastonia nc. And they stated they could install a new re-manufactured transmission and radiator and external after market transmission fluid cooler for 5,100 dollars with a 12 month 12,000 mile warranty. They said they had a large number of frontier, xterra, and pathfinder problems with the internal transmission cooler inside the radiator failing allowing anti-freeze to leak into the transmission and destroying it. They said they had not seen the same problem with the Titans ans armadas. They had a campaign to help owners of the other models but not the Titans or armadas. The service manager for Nissan of gastonia said they could look at my truck but there would be a diagnose fee if I didn't let them do the work. The service manager at ammco said he would match Nissan's offer and give me a 36 month unlimited mileage warranty covering parts and labor, so I went with ammco. The service manager at ammco stated he had numerous Titan and armada vehicles come into his shop as well as the other models with the same problem. The internal trans/cooler lets anti-freeze leak into the transmission and it fries them. I just had my transmission serviced and the radiator flushed and filled. My 2007 Titan only has 65000 miles on it, and if Nissan knew they were having problems they could have warned me and I would have had the radiator changed out. This is really bad business in my opinion.

- Belmont, NC, USA

problem #41

Jun 262016


  • 105,000 miles
Replace passanger side axle seal at 94000 miles. Now I have a driver side axle seal leak at 105000 miles. Seems to be a problem after looking around on the internet.

- Pooler, GA, USA

problem #40

Mar 032016


  • miles
On two separate occasions the left and right back axel seal started leaking oil on to the back brakes and wheels. The seals and back breaks had to be replaced booth times would not pass state inspection because oil soaked break pads breaks had reduced stopping power.

- Nanticoke, PA, USA

problem #39

Mar 152014


  • 125,000 miles


Rear axle seals leaking causing lubricants to cause the rear brakes to fail.

- Floral City, FL, USA

problem #38

May 072014


  • 89,000 miles
Rear axle seals leaking all over break shoes (could cause fire) failed seals groved out axles. Need to replace seals and axles.

- Cushing, ME, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #37

Mar 202014


  • 53,139 miles
My 2007 Nissan Titan le 4X4 has experienced (3) rear axle shaft seal failures in addition to (3) front axle shaft seal failures all within about 20,000 miles of each other. The rear axle seal failures are a safety concern to me. The differential fluid leaks directly onto the rear brake rotors which causes a reduction in braking ability. It is clear after some research that this is a very common issue with multiple model year Nissan Titan trucks. Nissan should address this issue and offer a permanent solution so we would not be faced with this safety issue in the future. My first rear axle shaft seal failure occurred at 56,672 miles on 6/9/14. I had another fail at 62,930 on 11/4/14. The third on 8/23/15 at 75,000 miles. The front axle shaft seal failures occurred at 53,139 on 3/20/14, again in October 2014 (mileage not available), and then at 65,105 miles on 1/21/15. Btw, I have tried submitting this twice before and gotten errors so I apologize if this has actually worked all 3 times.

- Hawley, MN, USA

problem #36

Mar 252015


  • 83,545 miles


I recently bought a 2007 Nissan Titan and I love the truck. I was driving along and I started smelling brakes burning, I pulled over and my rear passenger wheel was smoking. I looked on the back side and rear end dope was on the back of my wheel. The wheel seal has went out. Come to find out looks like the rear differential has been sealed up before. So, its a problem with the Nissan Titan rear end seals and differential seal. It creates a safety hazard getting on the brakes. The wheel could catch on fire.

- Ellavile, GA, USA

problem #35

Jan 052015


  • 222,150 miles
This is now my 5th replacement axle seal and or bearing, I cant believe Nissan hasn't been made to correct this ongoing issue, yes they replaced the first one but it has been mine to replace ever since.

- North Port, FL, USA

problem #34

Jul 312014

Titan 8-cyl

  • 93,264 miles
Transmission cooling lines broke and sprayed transmission fluid all over. Engine would barely transfer power to transmission causing vehicle to barely be driveable. After being towed to dealership, not only the transmission cooling lines needed to be replaced but also the radiator hoses and the high pressure power steering line. Neither of those to my knowledge needed to be fixed when brought in but was told they were cracked or slowly leaking and needed to be replaced. After 2 weeks and 1500 dollars later I finally have my truck back.

- Midland, TX, USA

problem #33

Jan 132010

Titan 8-cyl

  • 34,617 miles
We purchased the Nissan Titan new in 2007. The first repair for the rear differential (axle bearing was leaking) was on 1/13/2010 34,617 miles. The second repair for the same issue was 3/29/2012 with 79,010 miles. The vehicle has now again been diagnosed with the same rear differential problem at 115,000 miles. This has been a consistent recurring issue every 35 - 40,000 miles and it is now recommended that a full replacement of the rear differential is needed to fully fix the problem. This is a huge problem that Nissan needs to address from both a safety perspective should the vehicle lock up and the expensive repairs.

- Lewiston , ME, USA

problem #32

Jun 022014


  • 92,244 miles


Rear axle seal has a leak. This leak is caused to incredibly poor ventilation of the rear differential. The check valve allows water into the case and does not allow for proper ventilation. This, in turn, causes overheating and seals to fail. This repair has happened on this truck for the second time now, with no acknowledgement form the manufacturer.

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #31

May 122010

Titan 8-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
Axel seals started leaking in 2010, the truck was taken to the dealership for repair cost was approximately 1000 dollars may of 2012 was told axel seals where leaking again and they have not been fixed.

- Leesville, SC, USA

problem #30

Nov 252013

Titan 8-cyl

  • 113,800 miles
At 1400 RPM there is a very distinctive rattle from under the truck. Upon throttle up in gear, you can hear a exhaust/manifold leak. After research, it is discovered there is a recall that the mfr is to repair. The recall extends to 8year 80K mi. Please advise on the course of action to resolve. Thank you.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #29

Mar 142012

Titan 8-cyl

  • miles
Rear differential is leaking oil on passenger and driver sides. The oil leak has the potential to deteriorate my brakes and cause an accident.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #28

Nov 162013

Titan 8-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
I drove my Nissan out of the driveway, it started slipping, grinding. The transmission fluid check light would not come on at all, ever since I had it. Turns out transmission fluid tank empty. I was on major highway, could go 40 miles an hour, jerked out of gear with traffic behind me. Had tow it to transmission shop and transmission burned out. Faulty transmission light failed to warn me of problems. Nissan owners manual does not instruct you to check transmission fluid. It directs you to dealership. Had no warning light to alert me. Could have gotten killed.

- Lumber Bridge, NC, USA

problem #27

Dec 042013


  • 86,106 miles
Rear differential axle seals are bad and leaking rear differential fluid on emergency and rear brake pads.

- Latrobe, PA, USA

problem #26

Nov 232013

Titan 4WD 8-cyl

  • 77,985 miles
Driving along below highway speed in 4 wheel drive on a steep uphill on snowy road. I lost 4 wheel drive and caused the rear wheels to start spinning and sending the vehicle side ways. Recovered by letting off gas. Look under truck to find the driver side axle out of the transfer case. Come to find out this is a huge issue from manufacturer from 04-07. Somebody need to get seriously hurt for action on this matter?

- North Tonawanda, NY, USA

problem #25

Nov 042013


  • 87,000 miles
Was driving down the road at 50mph went to slow down and there where no brakes so finally I pulled I've and looked around and oil was dripping out of the axle housing almost a bad situation. Come to find out on the Nissan Titan talk forum there are many many more of these like mine this should defiantly be a recalled item very dangerous.

- Converse , TX, USA

problem #24

Jun 012013


  • 66,000 miles
Rear axle seal leaking, again. Same seal was replaced 2yrs ago. Could be safety hazard if rear axle fluid gets on brake rotor.

- Jericho, VT, USA

problem #23

Dec 192012


  • 48,000 miles
Yet another Titan with leaking rear seals. If it leaks enough the brakes get covered in diff fluid and the rear end blow up.

- Waukau, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?