Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 1
Average Mileage:
21,625 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Nissan Versa seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Nissan Versa:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Nissan Versa Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #48

May 232016

Versa

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Versa. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V349000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Hutchinson, KS, USA

problem #47

Jul 292016

Versa

  • miles
Takata recall I was notified last summer about a recall on the air bag and was told not to have passengers in the vehicle due to the potentially fatal flaw. This is my only vehicle and I have a family that needs rides. I contacted the dealer recently and was told they don't have the parts and that Nissan wasn't allowing them to order the parts. I contacted Nissan and they tell me the parts are not available until some time in 2017. This is unacceptable that they are aware of the risk and are not expediting this repair to be performed. They basically give me the impression they don't care and they are not in a hurry to get this done. I expected this potential fatal flaw in the vehicle to be repaired asap not when they feel like it. This needs to be expedited because if anything does occur and their is injury or death it is on you and Nissan for not getting this taken care of in a very timely manner. I also have the tire pressure monitor system which I understand now is a federal regulation to have equipped on vehicles. This system is very faulty and does not work and extremely expensive to repair. I think if the federal government is going to require this they need to make sure the equipment is reliable and not a high cost to repair.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #46

Apr 012016

Versa

  • 100,000 miles
I was informed in May 2016 of the airbag recall and Nissan still does not have the part to repair it, they said Jan 2017. And now the transmission has failed in the vehicle and Nissan wants to charge $4600 to fix it. I have spoken to several mechanics and Nissan has had a terrible failure rate with these to parts, also the front coil had to be replaced because of a recall. In the state of Virginia you have to pass an inspection and that was due in May 2016 and the airbag parts are not in till 01/2019. I had to spend money out of my own pocket to have the car pass inspection in order for my daughter to drive it without getting a moving violation for failed inspection. Nissan said they would be glad to give me a discount only I purchased a new vehicle- that is unjust

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #45

Apr 012016

Versa

  • 104,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Versa. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V349000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The failure mileage was approximately 104,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Belen, NM, USA

problem #44

Jun 012016

Versa

  • miles
Received a recall notice six (6) months ago from Nissan usa regarding passenger-side airbag deploying without warning potentially injuring or killing the passenger. Part(s) still unavailable according to our car dealer, sansone Nissan, neptune, NJ 07753. We need to use our car. When will the parts be available"?"

- Howell, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #43

Dec 122016

Versa

  • miles
Takata recall still no parts to repair. Suggested not use passenter seat. Unable to use seat since May. No repairs scheduled. Still waiting.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #42

Jul 012016

Versa

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Versa. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V349000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Brandenton, FL, USA

problem #41

Jul 012016

Versa

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Versa. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V349000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Warrenton, VA, USA

problem #40

Jul 012016

Versa

  • miles
I received a recall notice in July 2016 about the air bag sensors for the passenger air bags being faulty and requiring replacement. I've called my dealership and the Nissan headquarters numerous times about getting the part replaced. Each time I call, I'm told that I have to wait another month for the part to become available. This happened in July, September, October and now in December. The last time I spoke with Nissan, they told me that the part may not be available until January or February of 2017, a full 8-9 months after having received the recall notice. I haven't been able to seat anyone in the front passenger seat since the recall notice. I have kids and need to be able to use that seat. A huge company like Nissan shouldn't string along their consumers along for close to a year to resolve a safety issue.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #39

Aug 092016

Versa

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Versa. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V349000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms part not available.

- Wickenburg, AZ, USA

problem #38

Aug 012016

Versa

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Nissan dealer "clay cooley" austin tx has not responded to request for airbag recall NHTSA recall 16V-349. I have been waiting for 4 months for replacement parts.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #37

Jul 012016

Versa

  • miles
I received a preliminary recall notice in July 2016, and the dealer states they have no idea when replacement parts will be available. I think is too much burden to place on an unsuspecting customer.I do not have the use of the front passenger seat in a small car!Nissan hads last all credibility and ai will never purchase one, nor advise anyone to do so. The NHTSA should force the firm to find replacement parts rather than stall until no cars are left to repair.

- Collettsville, NC, USA

problem #36

Jun 132016

Versa

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Versa. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V349000 (air bags). The part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Geismar, LA, USA

problem #35

Oct 242016

Versa

  • 109,000 miles
The contact owned a 2008 Nissan Versa. While driving 30 mph approaching a red light, the brake pedal was depressed, but failed to stop the vehicle. The contact rear ended another vehicle. The driver side air bag deployed. A police report was filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic, but the cause of the failure could not be determined. The vehicle was destroyed. The contact stated that there were fragments inside the rear of the vehicle. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V349000 (air bags). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 109,000. Updated 12/23/16

- Laurel, MD, USA

problem #34

May 132016

Versa

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Versa. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V349000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Browns Mills, NJ, USA

problem #33

Oct 202016

Versa

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Versa. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V349000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Duluth, GA, USA

problem #32

Sep 102016

Versa

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Versa. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V349000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #31

May 242016

Versa

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Versa. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V349000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Concorde, VA, USA

problem #30

Jul 252016

Versa 4-cyl

  • miles
I received a safety recall notice from Nissan explaining the following: "continued exposure to areas with high levels of absolute humidity may cause the front passenger air bag inflator housing to rupture and deploy abnormally resulting in metal fragments striking the vehicle occupants causing serious injury or death." When I called Nissan in July 2016 they said they would be receiving the parts to fix the problem by either September or October 2016. I called Nissan again on October 17, 2016 they said they will not have the parts until December 2016. I have not received any follow-up notice of any kind and if I had not called Nissan on the 17th of October, they would not have notified me to let me know that the parts will now not be in until December 2016. I would like better communication and more updates from Nissan while this issue is resolved since I now cannot allow anyone to sit in the front passenger seat and it is an extreme inconvenience for me since I need to have that seat available for my family.

- Winter Springs, FL, USA

problem #29

Jul 012016

Versa

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Versa. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V349000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mims, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?