Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.4

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,960 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Nissan Versa electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Nissan Versa:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Nissan Versa Owner Comments

problem #10

Aug 102015

Versa

  • 57,080 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ignition lock cylinder failure.

- Vallejo, CA, USA

problem #9

May 262015

Versa

  • 98,000 miles
Check engine light came on, code was for a small evap leak, noticed smell of gas fumes inside the passenger cabin. Independent mechanic found and showed me a cracked fuel pump housing, additionally the electrical connection was black on the leftmost pin, evidence of arcing (sparking) from a short/poor connection between contacts.

- Matteson, IL, USA

problem #8

Dec 232010

Versa 4-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Nissan Versa. While driving approximately 40 mph, the front passenger side tire deflated without warning. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the front passenger coil spring fractured and punctured the front passenger side tire. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred on three other occasions on both front coil springs. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 12,000. Updated 7/21/15 the muffler, tire pressure sensor, blower motor and battery were replaced. The coil springs and tire pressure sensors were replaced more than once. Updated 07/30/15

- Springvale, ME, USA

problem #7

Mar 232013

Versa

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

All of a sudden the trunk won't open.

- Los Angeles , CA, USA

problem #6

Nov 282013

Versa 4-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
Front door power lock cable broken in actuator for second time in 3 years. Actions: Driver opens door using interior door handle while at the same time removing the key from the ignition and activating the automatic unlocking of all car doors. Result: Front door lock cable broken in actuator. Now the driver door stays locked while all the other doors are unlocked using the keyfob. This is a safety issue because I have to open my window to open the driver door using the outdoor handle and could not get out in an emergency. First incident was in 2011, it was fixed under the car original 3 year/36000 miles warranty. 2nd incident Nov 28 2013. Nissan estimates $295 to replace the actuator + cable.

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #5

Nov 022011

Versa 4-cyl

  • 30,516 miles
July 2, 2013 - while driving the service engine soon (ses) light comes on. The rate of speed does not seem to have an impact on this problem. I have taken my car to the Nissan dealership on 7 different occasions for this problem. Each time the computer reveals the following code: P2A00 A/F sensor failed. So far the following repairs have been done: Replaced front air/fuel sensor (Nov 2011), replaced O2 sensor and reprogrammed the engine control module (ECM) (Mar 2012), replaced the A/F sensor for the 2nd time, and reprogrammed the ECM for the 2nd time (April 2013), replaced the fuel pump (May 2013), replaced the A/F sensor for the 3rd time (June 5, 2013), reprogrammed the ECM (June 18, 2013),and finally replaced the O2 sensor for the 2nd time (June 27, 2013). These repairs have not fixed the problem. The ses light has come back on after my latest service in June 2013. I am frustrated and feel that something else must be going on. Nissan is of no help and is not offering any further assistance other than to replace the same parts over and over and reprogram the ECM. Very frustrating!

- Grovetown, GA, USA

problem #4

May 012012

Versa 4-cyl

  • 8,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving South on a local highway when another vehicle pulled in front of me from a side street. I immediately swerved to the right and attempted to warn the other motorist with my horn, but it did not work. I avoided this crash, but strongly believe a working horn would have helped a lot in this situation. The horn on the vehicle usually works if you hit it in the very center of the button, but only works about 50% of the time when it is pressed on either side where the horn symbols are. When we tested another 2009 Versa at the dealership, the horn worked even worse than my car. Nissan/North America and the local dealership assert the horn is working as designed. I believe they do not want to admit it is a design defect because they do not want to make repairs. I believe they should stand behind their product and honor their manufacturer's warranty. I hope this dangerous defect will be repaired by Nissan at their expense.

- Champaign, IL, USA

problem #3

Dec 122011

Versa 4-cyl

  • 27,400 miles
I was pulling out of a wawa after fueling up when the check engine light came on the car stalled in the middle of the road. I had to push it to the side. The road is normally busy thank god this did not occur during the busy time. I got the car to the dealership I explained to them my issues they repaired it by resetting the engine module thing. I just took the car back in middle of March due to the car riding rough service light back on and the engine is making a lot of noise. The car had 30379 miles on it at this point. The dealership demanded oil change receipts told me I needed a new motor. They told me I had to pick the car up and it was safe to drive. I later found out the vehicle was not safe to drive after dropping it back off again. There was a lower engine knock due to the pistons. I finally got the car 04/05/2012. I went to drive on I95 and the car was being slugish and it was hesitant with switching gears. The car is still noisy and riding rough. The car is vibrating at traffic lights like its going to stale. I now how have to take it back another time. The dealership claims they did a road check and safety check but there was no sheet that they could show me. I am now again without a vehicle. I am fortunate I didnt have my child with me. This car is not safe at all.

- Philadelphia , PA, USA

problem #2

Nov 212011

Versa 4-cyl

  • 20,500 miles
Horn not reliable and will not always work or makes a low "sick" sound, had to have fuel valve replaced as car wouldn't start, had to replace battery, had to replace door panels as material on arm rests came out.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #1

Jan 112010

Versa

  • 12,100 miles
Nissan Versa 2009 sl hatchback - car accelerator was irresponsive when the car was put into drive or reverse. Regardless of how much gas pedal was pressed, the car just rolled forward at approximately 5 miles/hr and did not exceed that speed. Car's RPM did not exceed more than 1100 even after the gas pedal was pressed all the way against the floor. Finally, the car was towed and taken to the Nissan dealer to diagnosis. The dealer told me that they were not able to properly diagnosed the vehicle. Once they received the car, they hooked it to the computer and found some defect in the computer code. Then they wiped the code (basically reset it) and drove the car around town for 3 days in an attempt to replicate the problem. However, car started driving just fine after that. The dealer did not repair any parts/electronics other than resetting the code and gave the car back to me saying that it was a computer code glitch.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?