Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.9

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,007 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Nissan Versa fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Nissan Versa:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Nissan Versa Owner Comments

problem #12

Dec 142013

Versa 4-cyl

  • 71,822 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As has been documented in 29 previous complaints on this site, Nissan Versa has known failure of exhaust system flange within 36-48 months, resulting in muffler failure and dangerous levels of toxic fumes entering cabin and outside air. Potential loss of muffler while driving also creates risk of accident and injury to car passengers and/or other vehicles on road. Expense to repair via midas in this circumstance was $474, with this one location reporting this as "standard" issue with all Nissan's, for which they have completed "non stop" repairs. Nissan has refused to offer any assistance to customers on this issue. This is well documented, and a known safety hazard for both potential accidents and air poisoning dot needs to investigate and hold Nissan accountable for recall and repair of this flange.

- Oak Hill, VA, USA

problem #11

Oct 052013

Versa 4-cyl

  • 8,091 miles
The car it not start, I took it with a technical and he said is the gas pump, all Nissan Versa year 2009 they have the problem, Nissan they never make a recall.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #10

Nov 022011

Versa 4-cyl

  • 30,516 miles
July 2, 2013 - while driving the service engine soon (ses) light comes on. The rate of speed does not seem to have an impact on this problem. I have taken my car to the Nissan dealership on 7 different occasions for this problem. Each time the computer reveals the following code: P2A00 A/F sensor failed. So far the following repairs have been done: Replaced front air/fuel sensor (Nov 2011), replaced O2 sensor and reprogrammed the engine control module (ECM) (Mar 2012), replaced the A/F sensor for the 2nd time, and reprogrammed the ECM for the 2nd time (April 2013), replaced the fuel pump (May 2013), replaced the A/F sensor for the 3rd time (June 5, 2013), reprogrammed the ECM (June 18, 2013),and finally replaced the O2 sensor for the 2nd time (June 27, 2013). These repairs have not fixed the problem. The ses light has come back on after my latest service in June 2013. I am frustrated and feel that something else must be going on. Nissan is of no help and is not offering any further assistance other than to replace the same parts over and over and reprogram the ECM. Very frustrating!

- Grovetown, GA, USA

problem #9

Mar 112013

Versa 4-cyl

  • 57,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

To whom it my concern, the day March/11/13, I was driving my Nissan Versa 2009 at route 9 South, New Jersey, when my car stop running, at that time I got scared because it never happen before, I look at my dashboard and what I saw that it was power and gas but my Nissan Versa do not want to stare, after an hour trying, I called the towing truck to take my Nissan Versa to the mechanic, after a few hours my mechanic called me to tell me the fuse of the fuel pump blow up, I asked him the replace it wit a new one. With all that in place I. when back to drive my Nissan Versa. Now let me tell you that I used my Nissan Versa to go to work and to drive my family around. Now my second incident I was driving again on the route 9 South,06/28/13, but with the only difference that I was driving on the third lane my Nissan Versa with a heavy traffic and my family in the card, it happen again, no gas, no power, looking for to stay away of the traffic, trying to protect my family from to get hurt, now my question is "do I need to risk my life or my family every time that I driving my Nissan Versa 2009""thank god at these time I was capable park on the side of the highway and call the towing truck to bring my family and my Nissan Versa 2009 home, what about if was my wife driving", I know she wont have the strength to move the car with out power. Please help me to resolve these problem, for you it my not be a big deal but for me is my life in risk if I drive my Nissan Versa 2009. Thank you in advance. God bless

- Oldbridge, NJ, USA

problem #8

May 032012

Versa 4-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
Fuel pump failure at 36,000 miles.

- Humble, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #7

Nov 212011

Versa 4-cyl

  • 20,500 miles
Horn not reliable and will not always work or makes a low "sick" sound, had to have fuel valve replaced as car wouldn't start, had to replace battery, had to replace door panels as material on arm rests came out.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #6

Jun 102011

Versa

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2009 Nissan Versa. I have just over 40,000 miles. While driving on the highway at 65 miles per hour in the left lane, my car suddenly shut off and lost acceleration at an alarming rate. Due to a guard rail on my left, I needed to get over to the right lane quickly and was just barely able do so safely. I was almost involved in a very dangerous accident! my car was towed to a local repair shop and it was found that my fuel pump was dead and needed to be replaced. I had to pay for a very expensive repair on a relatively brand new vehicle ! I was told that this happens often. This is extremely dangerous and definitely unacceptable!

- Cockeysville, MD, USA

problem #5

Aug 152010

Versa

  • 44,000 miles
Fuel gauge on 2009 Nissan Versa completely stopped working. Looked on the net for advise on how to fix it, to my surprise there are 7 pages of people with the exact same complaint. Nissan says its not their prob. I say these people are pushing lemons and then when something fails they say its not their problem. There needs to be something done about this issue because it is clearly not an isolated incident.

- Winchester, VA, USA

problem #4

Aug 242010

Versa

  • 27,000 miles
I own a Nissan Versa 2009 and I am constantly having problems with starting the vehicle, like it is not getting enough fuel or something. Also, last week I was driving the vehicle and it suddenly would not go when I pushed on the gas. I took my vehicle to the dealer and on the way there it started working fine, I left it at the dealer anyways and they kept it for three days and called me up and said that they could not replicate the problem and therefore there is nothing they can do. My vehicle is still having problems and this time my wife was turning a corner onto a busy highway and almost got in an accident because the car would hardly move and the other car was going really fast. The dealer refuses to do anything about it unless they can replicate the problem, this is a serious safety issue and I have kids that drive in the car with me. They even charged me money to diagnose the vehicle and there was no diagnoses they said "there is nothing wrong with the vehicle."

- Yucaipa, CA, USA

problem #3

Jun 282010

Versa

  • 32,000 miles
At about 32,000 miles, the engine quit while in traffic, and the car (2009 Nissan Versa) was pushed into a parking lot. The car was towed to the dealership, and left overnight. The engine failure was caused by a fuel pump failure. The service advisor said it might have been the pressure sensor, but the entire fuel pump assy was replaced.

- Sahuarita, AZ, USA

problem #2

Feb 212009

Versa

  • 5,000 miles
I own a 2009 Versa with 5120 miles. Recently it has developed a problem that causes it to have a substantial delay in starting. It is intermittent during the day but happens at least once daily. I plan to have the vehicle serviced for this problem shortly, but wanted to register this problem as it has already happened to at least one other complainant.

- Riverside, RI, USA

problem #1

Aug 232008

Versa

  • 152 miles
Vehicle does not start right away. It occurs at least once a day. I took my vehicle to Nissan service department four times, no problem has been found. The service department replaced a fuel regulator assuming that was the problem, but the problem still have not fixed.

- East Orange, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?