If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,001 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Nissan Versa brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Nissan Versa:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Nissan Versa Owner Comments

problem #7

May 292014

Versa

  • 3,912 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was getting ready to back my Versa into a parking space. I had my foot on the brake when I shifted the car into reverse the car engine revved up, brakes failed, and the car flew backwards into a wall causing considerable damage to the back end of the car. This could have been deadly if I was backing out of the parking space and not into it. Once I hit the wall the brakes came back on. Since the dealer was unable to replicate the incident they said it never happened. They also told me that it was impossible for the brakes to fail as they are a cable system. I also contacted Nissan motor Corp directly and was told this was not a warranty issue and I would have to go through my insurance and pay the deductible. I had mentioned to the Nissan dealer previously that I thought the brakes were funny prior to this incident as they would routinely go to the floor if I was traveling at slow speeds. I was told this was normal operation.

- St. Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #6

Jun 022014

Versa

  • 11,000 miles
4/5/14 car was purchased from a Toyota dealership with approximately 9,400 miles. 6/2/14 pressed on brake when approaching red light. Car did not stop. Slammed into another vehicle. Caused heavy damage, and the driver was hospitalized with injury. Airbags did not deploy. Car sustained more than $4,000 damage and was repaired by dealership. 6/27/14 damage repair completed and released to customer. 6/29/14 backed out of parking spot in a parking lot applying the brake. Car did not stop.

- Wilkes Barre, PA, USA

problem #5

May 222014

Versa 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
I read that NHTSA is investigating the 2013 + 2014 Nissan Versa and Sentra. I have a 2012 and have been having brake issues too. My rear brake shoes needed replacement due to loud noises coming from my rear brakes. Sometimes my brake pedal does not go down properly. It is suppose to go down smoothly, but sometimes it doesn't normally go down like it is suppose to and it feels like something rubbing the brakes making it harder to press on the brakes. Also, this has happened to me once which has concerned me where I am stopped at a stoplight and my car will still inch forward even though my foot is pressing on the brakes. My Nissan dealer could not find any issues with anything, but due to the excessive noise from my rear brakes, they replaced the rear brake shoes.

- Washignton, NJ, USA

problem #4

Oct 152012

Versa 4-cyl

  • 15,093 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Oct. 15, 2012, I was exiting the highway and while applying the brakes, the pedal went to the floor, making a clicking noise, with very little force, the car barley stopped, only when assisted by the use of the parking brake. It was taken to the dealer that day and I was told they could not replicate the problem and all mechanical components were in good shape, and could not find the problem. The same circumstances have been repeated on Feb. 13 2012, with 19841 miles and again on Oct. 28 2013, with approximately 29000 miles. The dealer currently (Nov. 1 2013) has the car and again says they cannot locate or replicate the problem. I have contacted Nissan corporate, and was told to receive a second opinion. Another dealership service manager was contacted and stated there was a known problem with the ABS control module from another model, however the dealership will not replace it because(quoting from a service adviser) "Nissan isn't in the habit of throwing parts at a car and hoping for a resolution". the dealer has stated that without replicating the problem there is nothing they can do.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #3

Jul 182013

Versa 4-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
I put my car into reverse and was unable to depress the brake pedal and had to put the car in park to get it to stop while nearly hitting another vehicle. The low lights also have to available settings but one doesn't work so it stays the same no matter which one you put it on. Also why would I have an oil leak at 35,000 miles. My whole transmission apparently needed to be changed due to a broken or missing cap.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #2

Aug 252011

Versa

  • 1 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Nissan Versa. The contact stated that the vehicle RPM idles high but the vehicle hesitated when the accelerator pedal was engaged. The contact mentioned that the brakes made a grinding noise when the brake pedal was depressed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times who was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 1 and the current mileage was 14,000.

- Denver , CO, USA

problem #1

Jun 122012

Versa 4-cyl

  • miles
I was given this car as a rental. I am an extremely safe driver with a perfect driving record. Within 7-8 minutes of driving this vehicle there was a crash! I drove in on the same busy street that the rental car was located and from the stop light the car switched into gear automatically and the brakes would not work. This cause caused me to hit a car from behind and since the brakes weren't working I hydroplaned into the back of another vehicle. Only one airbag was deployed, the one in the horn..not all six. I suffered a severe concussion and had to be hospitalized overnight. Luckily, the people in the other vehicles were fine. I am now under the care of a neurologist who is doing tests to help determine why I get frequent migraines and my short term memory is very limited as well as my balance. The Nissan Versa 2012 is not a safe car!

- Royal Oak, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?