Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Steering: Electric Power Assist System Problems

2005 Pontiac G6 (Page 1 of 2) Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague Notes: The 2005 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2005 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2005 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for power steering problems, up to 10 years/100k miles.

As of early 2013 the NHTSA had 300+ steering complaints on file for the 2005 G6, with 12 crashes & 4 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2005 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2005 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,756 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #31

Apr 042014


  • 180,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while traveling 10 mph, the power steering warning light illuminated and the vehicle became difficult to steer. The manufacturer was notified. A private mechanic diagnosed the vehicle with an electrical power steering failure. The failure mileage was 180,000 and the current mileage mileage was 185,091.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #30

Dec 132011

G6 6-cyl

  • 118,000 miles
My daughter was at a stoplight getting ready to turn and the steering wheel completely locked up on her. She couldn't turn it at all. She turned the car off and started it again and it seemed fine. The issue occurred a second time in February 2012. It was diagnosed at the dealer as having a power steering assist issue. The car had 120,000 miles on it at that time so was not covered under the 'special coverage' GM has for the steering issue. We did have the car fixed because we felt it was too dangerous for her to drive. It cost $684.

- Liberty, MO, USA

problem #29

Nov 302011

G6 6-cyl

  • 114,500 miles
I have noticed that alot of people have been having problems with their 2005 and 2006 G6 electric power steering assists. I have two children and I was taking them to school when the power steering light came on. I could barely turn the steering wheel. I could not imagine if we were on the main road and I was going a little faster. I noticed that you did an investigation and closed it back in 2007. Well I bought my G6 a year ago and did not know anything about this problem or about the additional 70,000 mile warranty for system failures even after running a carfax report. This is not an early life problem as my G6 has 114,500 miles on it. This was very scary. I think this is a problem that GM needs to fix with a recall. This is very dangerous and could cause an accident. It would be different if this was a cheap problem to fix, but we are talking about $800 to $1,000 to fix. That is ridiculous.

- Troutman, NC, USA

problem #28

Aug 022011

G6 6-cyl

  • miles


2005 Pontiac G6 electric power assist motor. My power steering assist motor has failed intermittently and without warning repeatedly, locking my steering wheel while in motion and also while stopped.

- Waco, TX, USA

problem #27

Dec 012008

G6 65-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph the vehicle lost power steering. She mentioned that this was the second time the failure happened. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the power steering and module failed. The manufacturer was notified and refused to provide any assistance since they had done so once before. The failure mileage was 91,000 and current mileage was 148,000. Updated 03/24/11 the consumer stated the engine and rotors had to be replaced.

- Beacon , NY, USA

problem #26

Aug 302010


  • miles
A 2005 Pontiac G6- the electric power steering system failing sporadically. Contacted GM (phone) refused to accept repair/replace the unit, citing time/mileage.

- Cherry Valley, NY, USA

problem #25

Jul 222010


  • 97,370 miles


The electric power steering on my 2005 Pontiac G6 is going out. Its been happening daily since the first time and up to multiple times in a day. And im just concern because its happen with my 3 year old daughter in the car. It started like a week ago while driving my father home from work I was going to make a turn into my complex when all of a sudden the wheel locks up and almost made me hit a parked car. At first it happen while driving within the complex then 2 days ago it started while I was driving at round 35 to 45 mph. Which can be very dangerous if there are cars around me don't want to cause an accident or anything. I went to go buy power steering fluid but when looking under the hood I realized there was no pump for it. So I started doing web searches for electric power steering on my car. I came across several website talking about alot of people having the same problem with the same care. There were talking about how there problems with the same situation and how much they had to pay. And that there should be some sort of recall for this car because this is a serious problem and even more if its happening to alot of people.

- Tustin, CA, USA

problem #24

Dec 182007


  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. With 50000 miles on it. In December 2007, the contact received a warning notice from the manufacturer stating that the power steering may fail without warning due to electrical input signals in the steering column. The contact's vehicle was not included in the current recall 10V073000 steering:electric power assist system and she has not had any failures to date. The contact stated that she has the letter that she received from the manufacturer in 2007.

- South San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #23

Jul 112008


  • 34,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. While driving 40 mph, the electronic power steering stopped working. The contact managed to pull the vehicle over. He shut off the engine and restarted the vehicle. When the vehicle was restarted, the power steering worked fine. The contact did not take the vehicle into the dealer for inspection; however, through online research, he found a recall and number of complaints for the same failure. The failure and current mileages were 34,000. Updated 07/31/08. Updated 08/05/08.

- Payson, UT, USA

problem #22

Apr 082007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
I have had several instances where the steering wheel locks up while I'm driving and displays the message "power steering" across the stereo. I have seen several blogs on the internet that this is a problem and is being investigated. This is a very dangerous situation and would like more information as soon as possible. My dealership knows nothing of the problem.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #21

Jan 012008

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,600 miles


My 2005 G6 GT is equipped with electronic power steering and it randomly failed while driving down the street. Check engine indicator light illuminated, "power steering" was displayed on the console, and all power steering was lost. Luckily I was coming to a stop at a traffic light or else this could have been more catastrophic at high speeds or in a turn. Pontiac issued a bulletin stating that they have identified an issue and should only bring the car in for repairs if the problem has occurred. This logic is utterly ridiculous. Should a car company require you to have a near death experience before they accept that a dangerous defect exists in their product? steering column being replaced now but skepticism is high. Update (10/14/08): Dealership replaced the entire steering column and corrected the loss of power steering. The rack and pinion unit was replaced twice and the intermediate shaft was lubed once and replaced once, but they were just making noises and did not result in loss of power steering.

- Watervliet, NY, USA

problem #20

Aug 032007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,000 miles
Starting about a month ago I get unexpected power steering loss. Some times its fine other times it goes away completely. This is rather scarry becuase it is unexpected.

- Clifton Park, NY, USA

problem #19

Sep 102007

G6 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have a 2005 Pontiac G6 and are having problems with the power steering as well. The problems first began around July 07, when I would pull my car out of the drive way the steering wheel would automatically turn to the left and would veer left while I would drive. This problem made it difficult to steer straight and make right hand turns. It wasn't everyday that I had this problem but it would happen several times just out of the blue. The problems didn't end there, the power steering eventually went out as it did with everyone else filing a complaint. The first incident was when I was driving home from work on the highway and the check engine light came on, followed by the steering wheel completly locking up on me and the words "power steering" popping up on my radio. This completly worried me because I had my baby in the car with me and didn't know what more would happen. This is completly dangerous and should be fixed. And I don't mean at the expense of the owners, because with more than 40 complaints and im sure more out there, there is obviously a problem here.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #18

Sep 012007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,481 miles
Power steering locked up and would not free up untill car came to a stop and was turned off and restarted.

- Lorain, OH, USA

problem #17

Jun 182007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,981 miles
I own a 2005 Pontiac G6 GT. In June, as I was driving home on a state hwy., I noticed my steering wheel became extremely loose. As I turned a curve in the road, I completely lost my power steering. The icon on the dash came on and the message "power steering" showed up on my menu screen. Fortunately, I was able to get my vehicle home. It was a struggle to turn on the side street and into my driveway. The next day when I started it up, the steering was fine. I drove it in to work and called the GM dealership. When my husband went out to drive it to the dealership, the steering went out again. As long as it was driven slow, it was difficult but manageable. The dealership first re-calibrated the torque sensor. That worked for a few days. We then had to take it back in when the steering went out again. At that time, they replaced the power steering motor assembly costing $444.13. That worked for 2 months and then it happened again. This time I was almost rear ended. It went out and I was trying to turn onto another street. It was extremely difficult to manage the turn. I had to slow way down. When I did the car behind me came very close to hitting me. I was fortunate nothing happened. We took it back to the dealership and they said they would need to replace the torque sensor. This is located in the steering column and would normally be approx. $600+ to fix. Since we have always had the car serviced there and had this same problem just a few months earlier, they offered to repair it for $100. So far it works.

- Milton, IN, USA

problem #16

Mar 012007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the power steering fails intermittently. The failure caused his vehicle to pull to the left, forcing him to grip the steering wheel to regain control. He stated that there is an open investigation (PE07023) for this failure. The contact discovered nineteen complaints on NHTSA's website regarding the same failure. When he took his vehicle to the dealer to have it repaired, the mechanic stated that the cause of failure was the torque sensor of the component. As of August 9, 2007, the vehicle remains at the repair shop. The VIN, failure mileage, and speed were unknown. The current mileage was 45,000.

- Ames, IA, USA

problem #15

Jul 202007


  • miles
Power steering failure Pontiac G6- checked at dealers. Computer cleared and told to return if it happens again.

- Hudson, NY, USA

problem #14

Jul 172007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac G6. While driving 20 mph, the vehicle began to pull to the left and then lost power steering. A warning indicator appeared which stated there was a problem with the power steering. The road conditions were normal. There is an open defect investigation (# PE007023). The current and failure mileages were 40,000. The power steering module was replaced. Updated 09/05/07.

- Northbrook, IL, USA

problem #13

Jul 142007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,800 miles
When parallel parking on two occasions I lost the power assist of the power steering unit on my 2005 Pontiac G6. I had to turn off the engine and restarted it for the power assist to return.

- Mequon, WI, USA

problem #12

Jul 122007


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My complaint is about the power steering failure in the Pontiac G6 2005 sedan model. The problem has begun to happen very frequently. It first happened backing out of my yard. Then backing out at my job. The light comes on in the dash and on the radio screen showing a problem with the power steering. I was nearly in a accident this past week when it came on while I was driving down the road. I was barely able to get off the road. I'm going to have it looked at this week. I've seen similar complaints. I'm afraid that something will happen to me on the road again and I'll be unable to get out of the way and have a severe accident.

- Faison, NC, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?