Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Exterior Lighting: Brake Lights Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 2 of 3)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,730 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #23

Dec 012008

G6 6-cyl

  • 51,614 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated the brake lights would constantly illuminate unless the brake pedal was engaged. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the body control module was replaced. The manufacturer was notified and the contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 09V036000 (exterior lighting:brake lights). The failure mileage was 51,614 and the current mileage was 80,000. Updated 08/05/11 updated 08/15/11

- Apopka, FL, USA

problem #22

May 022011

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 G6 Pontiac. Consumer writes in regards to brake lights constantly staying on and recall the consumer stated the vehicle was taken to the dealer to have the recall performed due to finding information on the internet. When the consumer and his grandson arrive at the dealer, they were informed GM would not cover the recall.

- Mount Prospect, IL, USA

problem #21

Feb 252010

G6 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that when accelerating, the brake lights would illuminate intermittently causing following vehicles to believe he was braking. The vehicle was inspected by the dealer and they advised him that they would have to apply a special lubricant to the lights. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was also contacted but provided no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 85,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 3/28/11 updated 05/13/11

- Westchester, OH, USA

problem #20

Feb 012008

G6

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact was driving approximately 25 mph when the brake lights illuminated but she was not applying pressure to the brake pedal. The contact stated that when she applied pressure to the brake pedal the lights turned off. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the brake position sensor was reset and lubricated. The failure continued to occur. The vehicle was taken to the dealer a second time where the technicians replaced the brake position sensor. The failure occurred a third time. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where they performed a technical service bulletin sb-08-05-22-009A repair, service brakes, hydraulic switches, brake light and replaced the brake position sensor. The vehicle experienced the failure four times. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the service bulletin repairs were performed a second time. The contact stated that the traction control light also illuminated on the dashboard. The manufacturer was contacted and extended the warranty which covered the repairs. The warranty expired and the contact experienced the failure a five times. The manufacturer stated that NHTSA campaign 09V036000 ( exterior lighting:brake lights) was related; however, the VIN was not included. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 20,000.

- Gardner, KS, USA

problem #19

May 082010

G6 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the brake lights illuminated while she was driving and would turn off when the contact depressed the brake pedal. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that the vehicle was not included in recall 09V036000 (exterior lighting: Brake lights). The contact also stated that when the vehicle was shifted into park, she had to apply great force to the brake pedal to shift out of park. The failure mileage was approximately 110,000 and the current mileage was approximately 113,000. Updated 02/07/11 updated 02/14/11

- Crystal Springs, MS, USA

problem #18

Apr 052010

G6

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact was braking from approximately 65 mph when he discovered that the brake lights were not illuminating. On occasion, the brake lights would remain illuminated without the brakes being depressed. The contact was able to locate NHTSA campaign id number: 09V036000 (exterior lighting: Brake lights) but was advised by the dealer that his VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000.

- Fond Du Lac, WI, USA

problem #17

Aug 162010

G6

  • 43,380 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact was driving 35 mph when she was informed that her brake lights were sporadically illuminating when driving but when braking, the lights would not illuminate. The vehicle was taken to a local repair facility but the mechanic was unable to duplicate the failure. The failure would occur intermittently. In addition, the contact stated that she sometimes was unable to move the gear shift selector from park unless the brakes were firmly and steadily applied. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was able to locate a recall for the failure (NHTSA campaign id number: 09V036000- exterior lighting: Brake lights) but was advised that her VIN was not included in the recall. The failure mileage was 43,380 and the current mileage was 43,416.

- Madison Heights, MI, USA

problem #16

Aug 102010

G6

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph at night, she applied the brakes and the brake lights did not work. The dealer was contacted and stated that this vehicle was not included in the following recall: NHTSA campaign id number 09V036000, exterior lighting brake lights. The vehicle was experiencing the same symptoms that were in the recall. There have been no diagnostic testing and no repairs to the vehicle. The failure mileage was 64000 and the current mileage was 64074.

- Carefree, AZ, USA

problem #15

Aug 012010

G6

  • 44,100 miles
GM not recognizing a larger VIN # range for NHTSA campaign id number :09V036000 this involves brake illumination activating when brake pedal is not depressed and the brake lights to go off when braking. Issue is due to corrosion on wires.

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #14

Jul 042010

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving approximately 25 mph the contact was stopped by a police officer and informed that his brake lights were on. The contact viewed a brake light recall on the website which was directly related to the failure. An authorized dealer was notified and stated that his vehicle was not included in NHTSA recall id number 09V036000, exterior lighting:brake lights. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were unknown.

- Yazoo, MS, USA

problem #13

Jun 202010

G6

  • 47,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While the contact was driving approximately 45 mph, the rear brake light remained illuminated until the brake pedal was engaged. The manufacturer was notified of the failure which they informed that the owner would be responsible for the service repair expense. The contact stated there was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number 09V036000 (exterior lighting: Brake lights). The VIN was excluded from the recall defect. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was 47,000.

- Magnolia Springs, AL, USA

problem #12

Jun 182010

G6

  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving at unknown speeds, the brake lights failed. The dealer was contacted and advised they were unable to provide any assistance. There were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 87,000.

- West Chester, OH, USA

problem #11

Jun 022010

G6

  • 79,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated he was informed by another driver that his brake lights remained illuminated even when the brake pedal was not depressed. The manufacturer advised that although there was a recall for the failure, his VIN was not included in NHTSA recall campaign id number 09V036000 (exterior lighting: Brake lights). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 79,500.

- Audubon, PA, USA

problem #10

Dec 152009

G6

  • 55,000 miles
When I arrived at work, a person who had been following me drove up and informed me that the brake lights on my 2006 Pontiac G6 came on while I was driving and went off when I applied the brake. The cruise control also didn't work. I subsequently found out that there is a recall for 8012 Pontiac G6S (NHTSA campaign id number 09V036000) for the same problem. For some reason, my 2006 G6 isn't one of those vehicles. I had to pay 254 dollars at a GM service center to have the problem repaired. I'm curious why my G6 isn't also covered by the recall as it obviously suffers from the same !@#$% design..

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #9

Jul 112009

G6 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The brake lamps would not illuminate when the brake pedal was depressed. The brake light switch has been replaced three times by midas mechanic shop. A technician from the dealer stated that his vehicle identification number was excluded from recall # 09V036000 (exterior lighting:brake lights) the failure mileage was 99,000. Updated 01/05/10 updated 01/07/10.

- Ofallon, MO, USA

problem #8

Nov 172009

G6

  • 37,000 miles
My wife purchased a 2006 Pontiac G6 in Sept. 2007. 2 weeks after we purchased the car the brake lights didn't work correctly. They would either come on and stay on or blink off and on while driving. We've taken the car in at least 9 times and the problems still exist. This issue has become a safety hazard and I'm worried that someone will rear-end us while my son and daughter are in the back seat. We've contacted GM twice now and nothing seems to be done. They replaced numerous parts and nothing seems to fix the problem. There are a number of other G6 owners that are experiencing the exact same issue. GM has issued a recall, which they applied a lubricant to the wiring; this has not even began to solve this issue. To me this was the least expensive recall that could be issued and was accepted for some reason. Something needs to be done before this gets out of hand. What will it take for GM to accept responsibility for the poor product they produced? it's a no wonder why more consumers purchase foreign cars over our own. We don't stand behind our products. This is a serious issue and needs to be addressed. My 2 year old daughter and son ride in the back seat of this car. They are very important to my family. This needs to be addressed now.

- West Bend , WI, USA

problem #7

Oct 102009

G6

  • 60,500 miles
I drive a 2006 Pontiac G6 with a little more than 60,000 on it. In the last few weeks, my brake lights have come on without the brake pedal being pressed. The lights stay on until I press the brake pedal, at which time the brake lights go off. It's gotten to the point that the brake lights come on every 5-6 seconds, at which time I have to press the pedal to "reset" them. This problem -- the exact opposite of what brake lights are designed to do -- has nearly caused two accidents. On Oct. 19, 2009, I took my vehicle to the dealership where I bought it, and was told that the sway bar and tie rods needed to be replaced. I was told that would fix the problem. It didn't. I then was told that my brakes -- front and rear-- needed to be replaced. On Oct. 29, 2009, I replaced the front brakes but not the rear -- my brake mechanic said the rear brakes had at least 20,000 miles left on them. None of these repairs fixed the problem (and none of the old parts are available). This did not surprise me, as none of the repairs had anything to do with electrical wiring. Having done some research, I found that there is a GM recall for my very problem (recall # 09V036000). The recall began on Feb. 17, 2009. I called Pontiac about the problem and was told by customer service that because my VIN was not part of the recall, they were not responsible for the problem. I asked whether it was possible that another Pontiac G6, not listed in the recall, could have the same problem as those recalled. I was told that was not possible. The arrogance of Pontiac has baffled and upset me, and I am to the point where I have contacted legal counsel. If I am involved in an accident because of this problem, I could be at fault and I can't afford a lawsuit.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #6

Oct 152009

G6 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. She stated that the brake lamps illuminate when the brake pedal has not been depressed, or the lamps illuminate when the brake pedal is depressed. She contacted the dealer in reference to recall # 09V036000 (exterior lighting:brake lights), the technician concluded that because the vehicle identification number was excluded from the recall, she was ineligible for a free remedy. No repairs were made. She was awaiting a response from the manufacturer. The failure and current mileages were 40,000. Updated 12/22/09 updated 12/222/09.

- Brooksfield, FL, USA

problem #5

Aug 162009

G6

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the brake lamps remained illuminated when the brake pedal was not depressed. The contact had to apply extreme pressure to the brake pedal to shift gears into the park position. Brake lamps that are not operating properly could fail to warn another driver of the braking status and could also lead to a crash. She notified the manufacturer in reference to recall # 09V036000, exterior lighting, brake lights; however, they confirmed that her VIN was excluded and ineligible for a free remedy. No repairs have been made. The VIN was not available. The current and failure mileages were 58,000.

- Savage, MN, USA

problem #4

Jul 242009

G6

  • 74,000 miles
Please reference NHTSA campaign id number 09V036000. On 2/17/09, GM recalled 8,012 2005-2006 Pontiac G6 vehicles, because the brake lamps would not operate properly due to 0 corrosion in a wiring connector. Symptoms include brake lamps illuminating when brake pedal is not depressed, brake lamps failing to illuminate when brake pedal is depressed, cruise control will not engage and greater than normal brake force is required to shift vehicle out of park. I was informed that my 2006 Pontiac G6 was not included in this recall, VIN [xxx]. however, my vehicle is experiencing the exact problems as described in the recall notice. I contacted GM's owner center to try and get my vehicle covered. The GM representative (ted) advised me that I must first have the Pontiac (GM) dealer perform a diagnostic test at my expense, and that, depending on the outcome of the diagnostic test, GM may or may not cover my vehicle. Since this is a documented safety issue, I find GM's response to be completely unacceptable. I am therefore requesting that NHTSA require GM to cover the cost of needed repairs for any GM vehicle that has this problem. As noted in the recall notice, "brake lamps that are not operating properly may not warn a driver in a following vehicle of the braking status and could lead to a crash without prior warning". this is a serious safety issue and I find it unacceptable that GM would not repair, at their expense, any vehicle with this problem. Thank you. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Spring Hill, TN, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?